X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1193 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great location! Would stay there again. Really easy to meet people.


83%

The beds were very squeaky and all he plug sockets were hidden and not very easy to get to. The communal spaces were also not that great, both the Tv room and kitchen could have done with being bigger and that would have helped the atmosphere. The attached bar was very nice though and it was always clean with hot powerful showers.


89%

Eines meiner besten hostels. Lage direkt im zentrum. Mehr als genug toiletten und duschen. Küche mit dachterasse!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully you were able to make use of our free daily activities, facilities like free Spa and Sauna and 30mins Wifi. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

97%

Friendly staff with a travel shop next door. Much more happening than Base and make the most of the hot tub on the roof!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Schlimmstes Bett allerzeiten!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review!We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.We are in the process of looking into getting new mattresses and if you come back to us anytime soon we would like you to try one of our King ensuite rooms with different mattresses. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

80%

not enough fridges from the amount of people staying or food storage areas kicthen to small as well very crowded at night . also 10 people in small room with peoples bags on floor lockers under beds to small for backpacks they need WALL LOCKER SO PEOPLE USE THEM

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location but can be noisy until late due to surrounding bars. Great views from kitchen (top floor). Rooms clean and tidy.


69%

No free luggage storage facilities. Laundry is insanely expensive Doubt that rooms comply with fire regulations. 8-bed dorm is approx. 4.5m X 4.5m. With all the luggage on the floor it would be very hard to get out if there was a fire. Does not seem safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback. We offer free 24hrs luggage storage for our guest before and after checkin/out. We only charge for longer storage.Our laundry is $4 which compared with other places is a common rate.Our rooms all vary in sizes but we can assure you that we get regular checked by fire services to comply with regulations. We supply storage underneath the beds but unfortunately we can't control how guests put their luggage in rooms. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

69%

Wir hatten ein Doppelzimmer mit Badezimmer, welches an sich auch in Ordnung war. Leider war unter unserem Fenster das Aggregat der Klimaanlage. Das hat, gerade Nachts, zu einer ziemlichen Lärmbelästigung geführt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by a noise which must have been the fan from the bathroom as we don't have an air-conditioning in the hostel.We hope you were able to make use of our free ear plugs from reception. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

Great location and facilities. However, due to it's size, it's harder to meet/talk to other travelers ( in comparison to smaller hostels) Friendly staff and same price as other hostel in the area;

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you were able to make use of our daily free guided walking tours where you can actually meet travelers and explore the city together! We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

100%

really enjoyed our stay recently during the Springsteen gig! clean, cheap and great location cheers guys!!!


80%

Excellent location. Large backpacker hostel so dnt expect any home luxuries that you'd get at a smaller indie hostel. Staff on training were friendly and helpful. Always smiling! Night guy was helpful! Bar attached was just as expensive as any other on the road, if not more, so not appealing for backpackers! Beds were comfy and showers/bathrooms very clean!


83%

The housekeeper on my floor was so thorough that she was cleaning the walls when I arrived. Impressive. Co-ed bathroom was spotless. Kitchen became crowded easily and most pots pots and pans need replacing. Friendly front desk staff. Excessive street noise on weekend nights, as it is near multiple bars and clubs. Bring earplugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass on your comments to our staff! We have to re-stock our kitchen on a monthly basis due to guests taking dishes etc. with them when they leave. We will make sure this is up to standard again. We are surrounded by bars etc. but we actually offer free ear plugs from reception. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

Very good hostel, great location, very clean. The only bad point is that it's a dry hostel. Meaning you have to sneak alcohol in, the bar on site is good for a few beers too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we don't have a license to allow drinking in the hostel but the bar on Level 1 is a great place to hang out and they also offer backpacker specials. We hope to see you again or maybe you might stay in one of our other Nomads NZ hostels in Wellington or Queenstown. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Buenisimo! Como todo nomads. Si queres estar comodo ni lo dudes.


89%

Awesome location, with a really cool bar/restaurant on the 1st floor. And a kitchen/outdoor/spa area on the roof. It's a very bog hostel which leave you feeling a little bit like you're in a hotel, but there's a good vibe about the place with a travel shop for advice downstairs and some good food place's down the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and made use of all our great free facilities. We hope to see you again in the future! Enjoy your travels, Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

60%

Die Küche ist dreckig und viel zu klein, das Geschirr ist schmutzig und viel zu wenig Ausstattung. 2 Toaster waren in der Küche dabei funktionierter einer nicht. Die Duschen sind soweit ok aber bei den Toiletten bekommt man selten Toilettenpapier. Die Zimmer sind auch ok aber es gibt nur 2 Steckdosen in einem Mehrbettzimmer. Die Lage ist gut nur zu teuer für solche Ausstattung. Ich werde es nicht mehr buchen.


74%

If your room's looking over the courtyard, unlucky! Very little sleep because of too much noise from the bar downstairs. Was in a great location, generally secure but no lockers in rooms. Facilities were ok and it was mostly clean. I wouldn't stay here again


91%

Very frendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

Decent hostel until I went to checkout. During checkout I asked to leave my suitcase in the luggage room. The lady at reception told me the luggage room was not open yet, but that she would transfer it for me. When I returned to the hostel later in the afternoon to retrieve it it was still in front of the reception counter! They were so busy that i rolled it away and none of the staff even glanced at me! Fail. UNBELIEVABLE! I am extremely lucky. Not staying with Nomads Auckland again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your luggage wasn't moved to the luggage room immediately. This is not how we deal with our guest's belongings! We can assure you that we will speak with the staff member involved as this is not common practice for us. Please contact me and we would like to offer you a free upgrade for when you are next in Auckland. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback