X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1228 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

This was a really good hostel to stay in! Really great location and really friendly, helpful staff! The kitchen was a little small with not all the cookers working very well. Other than that this was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone!


80%

Bathroom wasn't cleaned in 4 days and it was pretty dirty. Some of the staff were unhelpful when trying to sort out problems. Other than that enjoyed my stay


20%

We had to reschedule our booking day twice because our car was in the shop and we couldn't get to Byron. They wouldn't let me switch it the second time because that's their "policy" and we had to forfeit $70 for our booking. That is a complete backpacker rip off policy. We probably would have stayed at this hostel for another 5 days at least, but they will not be getting our money when we get to Byron.


66%

Friendly staff and great location. Clean linen provided and beds were comfortable. The corridors were carpeted and smelt really bad particularly down near where my room was (111), I saw a cleaner in the morning walking along spraying the carpet I guess to try and get rid of the smell, probably not the best solution, maybe a different surface would be better? In the room the windows had to be kept open for ventilation and unfortunately it was very loud.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us, we really appreciate the information ! We have plans on re-decorating the hostel in the pipeline and this includes new carpet in the halls and to restrict the noise. In regards to the spray this is simply a deodorizer for carpets prior to vacuuming. We generally get the Carpets steam cleaned monthly and deodorize in between steams. Were stoked you enjoyed other aspects of the hostel and welcome you back anytime! Much love from your mates in Byron Bay!

94%

Had a cracker time... More people needed to dress up for Paddy's day 😜👒

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, were stoked you enjoyed your stay! We decorated the reception area and played relevant games for St paddys and did our best to set the vibe for the night. Unfortunately most backpackers are on a strict budget and don't have the spare funds to purchase dress up attire for one night. If they did we would do dress ups every night of the week! See you next time legend!

100%

Clean bedrooms withblockers next to the beds. Bathrooms and kitchen spotless Everytime I used them. Big social areas and can drink there good wifi downstairs too. Party place but if you want an early night don't worry everyone gets kicked out at 10pm


71%

Big and modern hostel with air con in the rooms which is great, 10 bed dorms are a bit too hectic if you want to get a good sleep and 4 bed dorms with ensuites are only a bit more so would recommend them, daily activities are good and the outside terrace is chilled. Would recommend for backpackers that like a party and a big hostel atmosphere. Only real con is that some friends had their food stolen from the fridge and the staff didn't care, didn't even check the cam footage for them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are stoked you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on the atmosphere we create and we are glad you enjoyed it. Its frustrating to hear that our staff didn't investigate this matter further during your time with us. We clean our fridges daily and as we have such a high turn over of guests. If the food is not labeled properly unfortunately it will be dispersed of. However that's no excuse for the lack of initiative from our staff. We apologies immensely for this :(

60%

Staff were sooooooo rude I almost didn't check in, the place is alright... kitchen and bathrooms were pretty clean, seemed like the had a going out activity every night but looked like it was more for the staff than anyone else. Idk it was nothing special, I'd probably recommend staying somewhere else because the staff really are just AWFUL

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback! It was absolutely gut wrenching to hear that our customer service was not immaculate. We pride ourselves on having amazing staff here and only take on the best and brightest personality's. Id love to get more information from you regarding this as id love to rectify this issue immediately. Ive contacted you with your email provided and hopefully we can get to the bottom of this! Much love from your friends in Byron Bay!

80%

A good party hostel.Some of the staff were not too helpful but others were so it balanced out as average i guess.


54%

The Location and staff are great but it's a party hostel and therefore extremely noisy and dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, It was great to hear you enjoyed our great location and awesome staff. We try our best to cater for all types of travelers and i'm so sorry you felt it was just a party hostel. In regards to the cleanliness issues , its very disappointing to hear, as we have cleaners on 24 hours a day monitoring and cleaning the communal areas. We hope you can come and stay with us again at Nomad Byron Bay so we can prove we are a clean, vibrant hostel that caters for all travelers :)

86%

Clean hostel with good AC in the room. Staff were generally helpful and enthusiastic. Great location close to the beach and the heart of Byron. Only a fleeting visit so cannot comment on the facilities outside of the room as I didn't get a chance to use them. Male, travelling solo, March 2015.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend, See you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay!

91%

Great party hostel! Bathrooms/ toilet are clean. In the middle of town, close to everything. Would stay here again.


83%

Overall had a great stay here, my friend and I had a private twin room. Pros - excellent location, very secure, staff were really friendly and we loved the courtyard/pool area to hang out. Cons - very loud at night (more so than other hostels I've experienced) with people coming home late at all hours past midnight, our bathroom was not very clean when we arrived (hairs around toilet and floor a bit mucky). Doona's could do with a clean, but all in all had a great stay and would return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend, We are stoked you would come back and stay with us again :) We do our best to ensure its quiet after 10:00pm by not allowing any drinking or visitors in the hostel and by closing all communal areas by this time. We also have security on from 10pm -7am every night to keep the noise at a minimum. Thanks again for your feedback and see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay!

86%

Sooooo much fun! Best hostel on our east coast trip.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend, See you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay!

57%

Had to say in 3 different rooms over our stay as the air conditioning was broken and the rooms were roasting at night

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your feedback and for staying with us at Nomads Byron Bay. We apologise immensely for making you move multiple times during your stay. Know one likes roasting up at night. is there anything worst? We are so sorry you had to deal with this and hope that this doesn't deter you from staying with us again. We currently have all of our rooms with working air con units as expected and will ensure that any future guests wont have to go through the same experience as you ..

89%

Staff very friendly. Communal spaces and jacuzzis could do with a better clean 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend, We will definitely have a look into the cleanliness issues you brought up as we have cleaners on 24 hours a day 7 days a week and the communal spaces should be immaculate always! See you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay! Much love from your mates at Nomads Byron Bay

49%

Kitchen was disgusting on all the days we were there- sinks were flooded, washing pilled high and nothing to actually clean plates etc with. bins pilled high and kitchen waste all over the floor. Whilst staff were in the kitchen this didn't seem to bother them at all. Carpet in dorms were filthy and smelt. Met some good people here and courtyard was a good social area but overall really disappointing stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was gut wrenching to here about your stay with us, We have kitchen cleaners on 3 times a day and this communal space should never of been left in this state. In regards to the carpet issues in your room we are currently in the process of replacing the carpet in every room are are nearly finished :)We apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us and we hope this doesn't to deter you from staying with us again and hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay :)

86%

Well first of all it would be nice if asked to make a review they'd spell your name right! But anyhow, the hostel was I fact really nice we even extended it buy another night. And was upgraded to a lovely small dorm with ensuite. They had events/nights out nearly every nights- which was good for meeting people. Only downside were the man on reception who was rude, slow, and very unwelcoming. Was a complete a** tbh

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rosanne, Thanks so much for your feedback. We are stoked you enjoyed your overall stay with us! In regards to the spelling; the reservation comes in live from the website and however its been input. So sorry if this caused an inconvenience. We are glad you enjoyed your upgrade and we do our best to do this if the beds are available :) Its very disappointing to hear that our staff were rude we only pick the best of the best for our flashpackers and this will be investigated !

57%

Fully appreciate this is a budget backpackers hostel but at $49 a night better facilities and a higher standard of cleanliness would be expected. Rooms filthy and carpets so dirty they are sticky. Kitchen fridges were really smelly and clearly hadn't been cleaned out for some time - basic utensils unavailable - had to go to reception to pay a deposit just to get a mug. Co-ed toilets fine but again need to be cleaned more frequently.


77%

Great hostel well located wth good equipment but to avoid if you are not party oriented


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback