X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1310 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The location was PERFECT. We drove and it was a bit hard to find at first seeing that it looks like it's in a alley way plus we were driving at night but the staff were marvellous at guiding us over the phone. If you are looking to stay at a quiet hostel DO NOT stay here. This hostel is party central and since I'm a party person, I enjoyed every minute of it. I thought it was cool that every room had a balcony. The bathrooms however were not THAT clean & unisex but not the worse hostel bathroom


86%

We had a nice looking room with the sunset right at our balcony. Beds where comfortable and the staff was friendly and hospitable!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Chill vibe, clean and big rooms. Just not enough space in the kitchen and really not clean at all. Cant imagine how it is in high season.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are stoked you left your feedback with us and glad you enjoyed your stay!. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by our kitchen ! We clean the kitchen 4 times per day and close it down for deep cleaning for 2 hours per day during winter During the summer months we have staff doing clean checks hourly. We have signage and cameras in the kitchen to enforce backpackers to clean up after themselves but as the majority of travelers are in holiday mode they tend to forget! See you next time!

80%

Great location especially with the best coffee in Byron right next door! Line between staff and guests seemed pretty fluid, definitely a party place and probably best if you're under 25 I think. Bit noisy sometimes and rowdy e.g. staff yelling, turning music on/off volume up/down to suit their friends rather than the overall atmosphere. BUT might just be how they want to run it, all good if a 24/7 party's your thing :-) Facilities great, especially the hammocks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback legend! We are absolutely chuffed you enjoyed your stay with us and our awesome facilities. We definitely don't want to be stereotyped as a party hostel as our activity schedule caters for all types of globe trotters. Our activity crew can get a bit excited with the volume at times when their trying to create the vibe for each activity and we monitor this very strictly and we apologise if you felt this was over the top. We will hope to see you next time!

74%

The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly, even the night guy who helped give me directions to the lighthouse at 5am! The first floor was terrible for noise pollution both outside & within the hostel but chances are if you're travelling a lot you're used to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! We are stoked you enjoyed your time with us and our radical staff and prime location.The first floor can get a little noisy at times with our nightly events held in the common room. However by 10:00pm we ensure that the hostel is silent! Hopefully we see you next time! Much love from your friends in Byron Bay!

89%

It's a youth party hostel, with good facilities not many included services & good common areas. I was happy to have a 6 bed dorm just for myself. Free 30min wifi & 4AUS per 24hs... good location on a little town. They have a tourism agency in the hostel that can arrange tours & transfers for you at a reasonable price. Byron bay it's amazing itself so I think it will be hard to have a bad time there.


91%

Nomads have such an awesome vibe! The staff organised events every night, including movie nights and beer pong tournaments. Such a fun, awesome hostel! Would 100% recommend, and I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Byron.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend! If we could send hugs through reviews we would give you the biggest hug ever ! We work so hard on our overall vibe and we are so stoked you enjoyed it ! See you next time :)

89%

Great hostel, the staff were great and really helpful. The kitchen was a good size. The rooms were big. Only negative was the hot tub wasn't on for the whole time I was there :/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend! Thanks so much for your positive feedback, we are so stoked you enjoyed the hostel and our radical staff! As for the Hot tub , it is currently a cold tub and we are in the process of getting this nice and toasty for the winter months! Hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay. Much love :)

100%

Could not wish for a better place! Only thing is that the music was sometimes a bit to loud on daytime.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your oustanding feedback you have left! We are absolutely stoked! We will definitely look into the music issue you have mentioned and thanks again for the review! See you next time your in our beautiful town!

80%

Pretty good hostel although it is very big so something to consider. The only issue was the room smelt really strongly of urine and then generally really bad the whole stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend! Thanks so much for your positive feedback, we are so stoked you enjoyed the hostel. We are extremely sorry about the smell in the rooms - it's definitely something we will look into! Hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay. Much love :)

86%

Only here for one night but good impressions overall. Clean and spacious dorms, great kitchen facilities, free wi-fi in the lobby, plenty of showers, central location - can't go wrong with this hostel. The staff was super friendly too. Have to pay a deposit for mugs - you get it back, but it can be a hassle. Toilets are unisex.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We are stoked you enjoyed your stay here in beautiful Byron Bay and the awesome staff here at Nomads. We certainly hope you come back and visit sometime soon. Big Love from the Nomads family x

63%

It was probably the most anonymous hostel i've ever been too. It's a huge building with lots of rooms on three levels. The jacuzzi's look nice... theroretically... but i never saw anyone using them. Most of the plates in the kitchen don't work anymore. It would be a nice hostel actually if it wasn't for the price and the weird staff (we had to stop listening to music one day, while they were really strict and own the other day they allowed some douches to yell in the corridor at 3am.


80%

Decent hostel. Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with balcony which was a bonus and the bathroom was pretty clean. There were a few things that bothered me such as $5 deposit for a mug, lack of towels and hooks in the bathroom. Other than that it felt safe, very close to the beach, cafes and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend!! Thanks so much for you awesome feedback about our great rooms and even greater hostel. We are stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about having to take a deposit for mug hire, unfortunately some silly sausages don't return them sometimes. Make sure you come back and visit our awesome team next time you visit our paradise!! BIG love x

80%

just cleaning the bathrooms were not very good.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your awesome rating for our beloved property here at Nomads Byron Bay. Cleaning the bathrooms more efficiently is something we will look into. Keep it Real, love the Nomads Family x

69%

smelled like urine in our room.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review here at Nomads Byron Bay. Our apologies about the smell, we will be sure to keep note of this. Hopefully you come back and visit us next time your about beautiful Byron Bay. Cheers Legend!

83%

Great stay overall, staff lacked knowledge about what to do and didn't give us a good handle on the activities surrounding Byron bay (told us to surf and go see the lighthouse...) meanwhile you can hire a car and drive to Nimbin which is a beautiful drive (Nimbin isn't much though, not a great place). Other than that not bad and definitely one of the most popular hostels in Byron


80%

Second time we stayed here on our trip. Not at lively as last time but it was heading to be out of season. Got upgraded to a 6 bed dorm with ensuite which was nice. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We are stoked you enjoyed your stay here in beautiful Byron Bay and the awesome staff here at Nomads. We certainly hope you come back and visit sometime soon. Big Love from the Nomads family x

91%

Only had one night in Byron unfortunately but the hostel was great, all relatively clean, staff were very friendly and excellent facilities. Only thing I would point out was that there was a used jonny in the shower in the morning, but that's Byron for you and not the fault of the hostel. Very friendly atmosphere met some great people there and I would definitely return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend! Thanks so much for your positive feedback, we are so stoked you enjoyed the hostel and our radical staff! Big apologies about the surprise in the showers. Hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay. Much love :)

69%

Location is good. Bathrooms are clean and nice. Only paid wifi in rooms. Free wifi in lobby only but its weak. When wifi didnt work at all they made me pay for the PC's. If the alternative of the PC (wifi) doesnt work at all then its only fair to offer PCs for free. Worst thing is the staff. They are so "amazeballs" they forget they are working. I'm all for fun but the staff's priority should be the service they provide, having fun should be second.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback, we are stoked you enjoyed our awesome location and facilities. As for the free wifi this is only a recent upgrade for us and we are still working out the kinks. We try our best to be a positive,vibrant hostel and we only employ those that suit those surroundings. After all we are in Byron Bay :) We apologise immensely that you felt this over powered our customer service and we hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us next time. Thanks again

80%

The deposits for everything were a bit silly and annoying otherwise I really enjoy this hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback