X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1296 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly, even the night guy who helped give me directions to the lighthouse at 5am! The first floor was terrible for noise pollution both outside & within the hostel but chances are if you're travelling a lot you're used to it.


89%

Great hostel, the staff were great and really helpful. The kitchen was a good size. The rooms were big. Only negative was the hot tub wasn't on for the whole time I was there :/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend! Thanks so much for your positive feedback, we are so stoked you enjoyed the hostel and our radical staff! As for the Hot tub , it is currently a cold tub and we are in the process of getting this nice and toasty for the winter months! Hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay. Much love :)

100%

Could not wish for a better place! Only thing is that the music was sometimes a bit to loud on daytime.


80%

Pretty good hostel although it is very big so something to consider. The only issue was the room smelt really strongly of urine and then generally really bad the whole stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend! Thanks so much for your positive feedback, we are so stoked you enjoyed the hostel. We are extremely sorry about the smell in the rooms - it's definitely something we will look into! Hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay. Much love :)

86%

Only here for one night but good impressions overall. Clean and spacious dorms, great kitchen facilities, free wi-fi in the lobby, plenty of showers, central location - can't go wrong with this hostel. The staff was super friendly too. Have to pay a deposit for mugs - you get it back, but it can be a hassle. Toilets are unisex.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We are stoked you enjoyed your stay here in beautiful Byron Bay and the awesome staff here at Nomads. We certainly hope you come back and visit sometime soon. Big Love from the Nomads family x

63%

It was probably the most anonymous hostel i've ever been too. It's a huge building with lots of rooms on three levels. The jacuzzi's look nice... theroretically... but i never saw anyone using them. Most of the plates in the kitchen don't work anymore. It would be a nice hostel actually if it wasn't for the price and the weird staff (we had to stop listening to music one day, while they were really strict and own the other day they allowed some douches to yell in the corridor at 3am.


80%

Decent hostel. Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with balcony which was a bonus and the bathroom was pretty clean. There were a few things that bothered me such as $5 deposit for a mug, lack of towels and hooks in the bathroom. Other than that it felt safe, very close to the beach, cafes and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend!! Thanks so much for you awesome feedback about our great rooms and even greater hostel. We are stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about having to take a deposit for mug hire, unfortunately some silly sausages don't return them sometimes. Make sure you come back and visit our awesome team next time you visit our paradise!! BIG love x

80%

just cleaning the bathrooms were not very good.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your awesome rating for our beloved property here at Nomads Byron Bay. Cleaning the bathrooms more efficiently is something we will look into. Keep it Real, love the Nomads Family x

69%

smelled like urine in our room.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review here at Nomads Byron Bay. Our apologies about the smell, we will be sure to keep note of this. Hopefully you come back and visit us next time your about beautiful Byron Bay. Cheers Legend!

80%

Second time we stayed here on our trip. Not at lively as last time but it was heading to be out of season. Got upgraded to a 6 bed dorm with ensuite which was nice. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We are stoked you enjoyed your stay here in beautiful Byron Bay and the awesome staff here at Nomads. We certainly hope you come back and visit sometime soon. Big Love from the Nomads family x

91%

Only had one night in Byron unfortunately but the hostel was great, all relatively clean, staff were very friendly and excellent facilities. Only thing I would point out was that there was a used jonny in the shower in the morning, but that's Byron for you and not the fault of the hostel. Very friendly atmosphere met some great people there and I would definitely return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Legend! Thanks so much for your positive feedback, we are so stoked you enjoyed the hostel and our radical staff! Big apologies about the surprise in the showers. Hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay. Much love :)

69%

Location is good. Bathrooms are clean and nice. Only paid wifi in rooms. Free wifi in lobby only but its weak. When wifi didnt work at all they made me pay for the PC's. If the alternative of the PC (wifi) doesnt work at all then its only fair to offer PCs for free. Worst thing is the staff. They are so "amazeballs" they forget they are working. I'm all for fun but the staff's priority should be the service they provide, having fun should be second.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback, we are stoked you enjoyed our awesome location and facilities. As for the free wifi this is only a recent upgrade for us and we are still working out the kinks. We try our best to be a positive,vibrant hostel and we only employ those that suit those surroundings. After all we are in Byron Bay :) We apologise immensely that you felt this over powered our customer service and we hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us next time. Thanks again

80%

The deposits for everything were a bit silly and annoying otherwise I really enjoy this hostel.


80%

Friendly staffs, nice and clean room and bathroom.:)


94%

It's a good hostel. The location is just perfect, it's few minutes by foot to the beach. The staff was nice and helpful. the rooms were clean and in alright quality. There small lockers in the room, but it's enough to keep laptop, camera and passport. The only bad thing is wifi. Both free and paid wifi's are just terrible. We are in 21st century, wifi is not something luxury.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive feedback we are absolutely chuffed you enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely look into the wifi issue for you, We have been recently undergoing some upgrades to ensure our wifi can handle the high capacity so hopefully this resolves the issue brought to mind. Thanks again!

86%

hot tubs and space for surf boards! had an awesome stay! thank you

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel will definetly be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend, See you next time!

77%

I was very disappointed on arrival when being told that the person who I was travelling with and I were being separated into different dorms...on different levels. When booking online, it said that out of a 6 bed all girl dorm there were 4 beds remaining. I booked 2 of those beds together on the one booking & assumed we would be placed together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! It was really unfortunate to hear you were disappointed on arrival, that's definitely not the first impression we want to give. We are a very busy hostel particularly on weekends and it does state in our terms and conditions that we cannot guarantee you to be in the same upon booking. However we do try our best and its pretty rare we do have to split bookings. We glad you enjoyed other aspects of you stay and hope to see you next time :)

63%

Byron bay is expensive, even in hostels. Weekend top up - very uncool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us and we are glad you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. in regards to the weekend rates this is pretty standard across Australia and New Zealand as most tourist meccas fill up over the weekends. We do this as we have to increase security and staff to handle the higher than usual influx of guests over Weekends. We apologize immensely that you were not aware of this and found it uncool as we pride ourselves on being the coolest hostel in Byron :)

94%

Could do with more sockets in the rooms!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your positive feedback with us and we always love feedback to help us improve! We are so sorry for the lack of power sockets in your room, there's nothing worst then searching far and wide just to charge your phone/laptop! All bunks generally have 2 x sockets each and we are sorry this did not suffice. thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback. Much love from your mates in Byron Bay!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback