X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1282 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Decent hostel. Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with balcony which was a bonus and the bathroom was pretty clean. There were a few things that bothered me such as $5 deposit for a mug, lack of towels and hooks in the bathroom. Other than that it felt safe, very close to the beach, cafes and restaurants.


80%

just cleaning the bathrooms were not very good.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

smelled like urine in our room.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Second time we stayed here on our trip. Not at lively as last time but it was heading to be out of season. Got upgraded to a 6 bed dorm with ensuite which was nice. Good location.


91%

Only had one night in Byron unfortunately but the hostel was great, all relatively clean, staff were very friendly and excellent facilities. Only thing I would point out was that there was a used jonny in the shower in the morning, but that's Byron for you and not the fault of the hostel. Very friendly atmosphere met some great people there and I would definitely return.


69%

Location is good. Bathrooms are clean and nice. Only paid wifi in rooms. Free wifi in lobby only but its weak. When wifi didnt work at all they made me pay for the PC's. If the alternative of the PC (wifi) doesnt work at all then its only fair to offer PCs for free. Worst thing is the staff. They are so "amazeballs" they forget they are working. I'm all for fun but the staff's priority should be the service they provide, having fun should be second.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback, we are stoked you enjoyed our awesome location and facilities. As for the free wifi this is only a recent upgrade for us and we are still working out the kinks. We try our best to be a positive,vibrant hostel and we only employ those that suit those surroundings. After all we are in Byron Bay :) We apologise immensely that you felt this over powered our customer service and we hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us next time. Thanks again

80%

The deposits for everything were a bit silly and annoying otherwise I really enjoy this hostel.


80%

Friendly staffs, nice and clean room and bathroom.:)


94%

It's a good hostel. The location is just perfect, it's few minutes by foot to the beach. The staff was nice and helpful. the rooms were clean and in alright quality. There small lockers in the room, but it's enough to keep laptop, camera and passport. The only bad thing is wifi. Both free and paid wifi's are just terrible. We are in 21st century, wifi is not something luxury.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive feedback we are absolutely chuffed you enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely look into the wifi issue for you, We have been recently undergoing some upgrades to ensure our wifi can handle the high capacity so hopefully this resolves the issue brought to mind. Thanks again!

86%

Great hostel will definetly be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback you absolute legend, See you next time!

77%

I was very disappointed on arrival when being told that the person who I was travelling with and I were being separated into different dorms...on different levels. When booking online, it said that out of a 6 bed all girl dorm there were 4 beds remaining. I booked 2 of those beds together on the one booking & assumed we would be placed together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! It was really unfortunate to hear you were disappointed on arrival, that's definitely not the first impression we want to give. We are a very busy hostel particularly on weekends and it does state in our terms and conditions that we cannot guarantee you to be in the same upon booking. However we do try our best and its pretty rare we do have to split bookings. We glad you enjoyed other aspects of you stay and hope to see you next time :)

63%

Byron bay is expensive, even in hostels. Weekend top up - very uncool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us and we are glad you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. in regards to the weekend rates this is pretty standard across Australia and New Zealand as most tourist meccas fill up over the weekends. We do this as we have to increase security and staff to handle the higher than usual influx of guests over Weekends. We apologize immensely that you were not aware of this and found it uncool as we pride ourselves on being the coolest hostel in Byron :)

94%

Could do with more sockets in the rooms!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your positive feedback with us and we always love feedback to help us improve! We are so sorry for the lack of power sockets in your room, there's nothing worst then searching far and wide just to charge your phone/laptop! All bunks generally have 2 x sockets each and we are sorry this did not suffice. thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback. Much love from your mates in Byron Bay!

86%

Fantastic hostel, had a wonderful time

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so stoked with the feedback you've left us on Hostelworld and always love it when our guests have an awesome time ! Thanks again and see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay!

71%

They close lounge, kitchen and garden at 10pm but I wasn't informed. I have to eat my dinner in the street. No free wifi. Tipical commercial hostel. They make you pay for everything. You need a key to get in using lift but the stairs' doors are always open so anyone could get in. Very unsafe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us ! It was so disappointing to hear about your stay with us and we apologise for this. Unfortunately due to noise restrictions we have to close our common areas at 10:00pm so our guests that want to have an early night can sleep well. We have a 24 hour lobby/common room with free wifi, couches, bean bags and multiple hang out points. All patrons must have ID to enter the facility after 11:00pm and we allow no visitors after this time. Thanks again !

80%

Good hostel with everything we needed in a great location. Could play less drum n bass at breakfast time


74%

The staff are useless. I gave them my ID as a deposit for a surfboard and they LOST MY DRIVING LICENSE!! After 4 days of allegedly looking for it, I finally spoke to the manager who had more sense then the rest of the staff put together. He offered me two free nights and costs for a new license. Nice hostel, but the staff are terrible. They also threw my friends food bag in the bin after reading the date wrong. Great location but i moved to YHA round the corner, just as nice and it was cheaper.


51%

We booked the King room as it was the only private room available at this hotel. The room was quite expensive for what we got. The bathroom was dirty, carpet stained, smelly room and uncomfortable single mattresses pushed together to make a 'king' bed. Probably fine if you want to stay in a dorm with a bunch of other kids and don't mind the mess.. Unfortunately it wasn't the right choice for us..

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! It was gut wrenching to hear about your stay and we are so disappointed you felt the room was not upto standard for what you paid. We have taken note of the issues brought to light and will action them accordingly to ensure our future guests don't have the same experience as you. Have a wonderful day and thanks again.

77%

Carpets are dirty and need changing. Good atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! We are stoked you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the feedback left on hostelworld. We have recently been working on redecorating the entire hostel and cannot be more excited. This obviously involves new carpet . We hope to see you next time your in beautiful Byron Bay :)

63%

Party hostel. Good option of you want that. Get a room away from the dorm areas if you want a nicer shared bathroom. Or get an ensuite.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback