Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 5.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 5.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bellajansen
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.0

Not the best hostel I've stayed in by any stretch of the imagination! Room was damp and sticky and smelt horrible- made all my clothes smell like that. My cool bag in fridge got moved around so much one day I just couldnt find it so had to buy extra food- not enough fridge space for the amount there! It's also really far out and they do shuttles mostly every hour but when you just want to go buy food you have to spend at least an hour there which is a pain. Staff and facilities both really good

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
8.3

really nice place, staff were great, everyone friendly, convenient having a bar and kitchen to have a beer and buy dinner at the same time. pool right next to it. only downside is its a bit far from town if you want to party but there is a regular shuttle bus so not really a problem. and the aircon could do with an upgrade or servicing? seemed it wasnt working enough to keep the room cool enough. other guests said the same thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
5.4

The location of this hotel is not ideal. It's situated a good 10 minute drive to the middle of Cairns but the hostel provide a shuttle service through the day and into the early hours of the morning. The rooms are not so good either. We had to change rooms a few times due to some of the beds not being able to sleep on or due to the foul smell in the rooms. The faculties are good in terms of what they provide but lack cleanliness. In addition, the Hostel staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
7.4

Good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing staff, very helpful with lots of great tips. Room was nice and clean and the whole hostel had an amazing vibe. Will definitely be back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.6

Clean, more than enough toilets/showers, great pool and chill out areas. It had everything you want in a hostel. Hostel is about 30 min walk into cairns central but they have shuttle buses quite regularly. I had a car so it didnt bother me but if you want to party each night better off staying closer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

Walking distance to the CBD, helpful staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marijn_van_houdt2499
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Dec 2016
4.9

Big building, no atmosphere, old beds and dorms, not enough electricity for charging, paid wifi, too long waiting for reception, and too far from the center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

It's close to the airport, so if you're keen you can walk. Pickup from the bus station or airport is free, which is great! A drop off to the airports only $15. The atmospheres great, there's been events on during both of my previous stays, which always make for a late night before I fly out. The drinks are cheap and the crowd usually pretty good. The showers on my floor smelled a tad of mildew, but were clean otherwise. Not much past a minor nuisance during your ten minute shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - we definitely ask that all guests use our free airport pickup service as there is no pedestrian safe way to walk to the airport so it can be dangerous! We are glad you enjoyed the free activities!

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2016
5.7

bad smell, dirty bathroom, broken sink

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.