Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
8.0

We had a really good stay with Nomads. All the staff were really friendly and the place was very clean too. Our only issue was that we felt our room was very small for six people and there wasn't loads of space to put our things. When other people came to our room who were also staying in the hostel they said our room was so small compared to the rest of the rooms. Also there was one plug socket for six people to use which isn't ideal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cestdanae7639
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st May 2017
5.7

On a positive note the pool is really pretty. I've stayed at Nomads before so I don't mind a little grime for the sake of friendly chill vibes, but those were lacking. I think this is partly due to the staff being unfriendly + cliquey. Carpets were disgusting and the bathrooms are consistently flooded from the showers on floor 3. In the kitchen there was no bowls to use so I ate my soup straight from the pot. The location is a 30+ minute walk from the city center, so not ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2017
8.0

Not free wifi, only free 30 mins. $4 a day or 7days for $12. Location not central but they provide a free bus to take you into town and pick you up. Rooms are clean unless backpackers are messy. Bathrooms are cleaned regularly. Kitchen is cleaned about 3 times a day but travelers are reluctant to keep it clean. Defiantly a cheap and good place to Cairns , especially if you want to party in Cairns and then relax in the day back at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
4.3

Bathrooms were disgusting all day, every day. Room smelled musty and gross. The shuttle into town is nice but often full and they have to make multiple trips, and you're on their schedule. Really just wish this place was cleaner and closer to town.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
3.7

Only gives you 30 minutes of free wifi a day. When we booked the hostel it stated that there was a free light breakfast included but when we arrived they played dumb to it and we had to argue to get it. The location isn't great and they do have a free shuttle but it's a very small mini bus which has to do multiple trips in order to accommodate everyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.3

Only stayed a night there and was all good but wouldnt return to stay for a few nights! Reception was a wee bit slow, kitchen closes at 9pm and a bit of a general lack of info! However, for the price its good! The promo staff were cool and the shuttle was good!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

very good. The environment there is very clean. They provide free pick-up from the airport even it's too late( i arrived at the airport at 10:30).The bathroom is big enough to share. But i couldn't get connected with the wifi there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Apr 2017
2.0

Such a bad hostel. All nomads have such low standards. Never staying in nomads again. Hostel is super far from center! Need a shuttlebus in there! Can not recommend!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • helenelk
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
4.9

We couldn't use the locker in our room so we had to store all our valuables in our car. There were not enough outlets in the room (2 outlets for 6 persons, really?) . The staff in the reception were really slow and not to helpful, looked very stressed. they also gave us a occupied room, so we had to change room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
6.6

this was among the least favorite of my hostels. Bathrooms were disgusting, somehow always sporting a variety of bodily fluids. Everything everywhere is persistently damp. Rooms smell like feet and mildew, mattresses are the most uncomfortable I've experienced (and that's saying something!) bar is loud all through the night. If you want a cheap place to crash and party and don't care about comfort or cleanliness, this is your place, otherwise look elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.