Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 5.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 5.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Apr 2017
4.3

Bathrooms were disgusting all day, every day. Room smelled musty and gross. The shuttle into town is nice but often full and they have to make multiple trips, and you're on their schedule. Really just wish this place was cleaner and closer to town.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
3.7

Only gives you 30 minutes of free wifi a day. When we booked the hostel it stated that there was a free light breakfast included but when we arrived they played dumb to it and we had to argue to get it. The location isn't great and they do have a free shuttle but it's a very small mini bus which has to do multiple trips in order to accommodate everyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.3

Only stayed a night there and was all good but wouldnt return to stay for a few nights! Reception was a wee bit slow, kitchen closes at 9pm and a bit of a general lack of info! However, for the price its good! The promo staff were cool and the shuttle was good!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

very good. The environment there is very clean. They provide free pick-up from the airport even it's too late( i arrived at the airport at 10:30).The bathroom is big enough to share. But i couldn't get connected with the wifi there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • helenelk
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
4.9

We couldn't use the locker in our room so we had to store all our valuables in our car. There were not enough outlets in the room (2 outlets for 6 persons, really?) . The staff in the reception were really slow and not to helpful, looked very stressed. they also gave us a occupied room, so we had to change room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
6.6

this was among the least favorite of my hostels. Bathrooms were disgusting, somehow always sporting a variety of bodily fluids. Everything everywhere is persistently damp. Rooms smell like feet and mildew, mattresses are the most uncomfortable I've experienced (and that's saying something!) bar is loud all through the night. If you want a cheap place to crash and party and don't care about comfort or cleanliness, this is your place, otherwise look elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2017
4.3

the portable airconditioner in my room was leaking so the floor was wet. the courtesy bus picked up every hour and the poeople getting off were loud even at 3am so i got no sleep'

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • bellajansen
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.0

Not the best hostel I've stayed in by any stretch of the imagination! Room was damp and sticky and smelt horrible- made all my clothes smell like that. My cool bag in fridge got moved around so much one day I just couldnt find it so had to buy extra food- not enough fridge space for the amount there! It's also really far out and they do shuttles mostly every hour but when you just want to go buy food you have to spend at least an hour there which is a pain. Staff and facilities both really good

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
8.3

really nice place, staff were great, everyone friendly, convenient having a bar and kitchen to have a beer and buy dinner at the same time. pool right next to it. only downside is its a bit far from town if you want to party but there is a regular shuttle bus so not really a problem. and the aircon could do with an upgrade or servicing? seemed it wasnt working enough to keep the room cool enough. other guests said the same thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Mar 2017
5.4

The location of this hotel is not ideal. It's situated a good 10 minute drive to the middle of Cairns but the hostel provide a shuttle service through the day and into the early hours of the morning. The rooms are not so good either. We had to change rooms a few times due to some of the beds not being able to sleep on or due to the foul smell in the rooms. The faculties are good in terms of what they provide but lack cleanliness. In addition, the Hostel staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.