Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.3
Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar Located at 341 Lake St, , Cairns.
Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar
Australia
Cairns Queensland Queensland 341 Lake St
77% 421
-16.9049616 145.7610869
Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • LotteKoerhuis
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
5.1

The facilities are good, the pool area is decent and the bar is a nice place to hang out and meet other people. The rooms : dusty/messy. There was stuff lying around from people that had left and even though the room was vacuumed (with a vacuum cleaner that doesn't work) the carpet was still dirty with hairs everywhere! The bathrooms are absolutely gross. We arrived on a Saturday night and no cleaning had been done until Monday! Ok for a night but definitely not longer!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
4.0

Our room was filled by the most disgusting smell of old food rests (especially vegemite), old underwear and clothes of guests everywhere & the stuff did not do anything against that and was not even friendly or helpful! The facitilies (kitchen, pool, bar) are nice, but the bar means no BYO drinks and pool tables, etc have to be paid extra! Its a huge hostel so they obviously can afford being unfriendly and not caring about disgusting rooms! I would never go there again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
6.3

I don't usually leave reviews but I hate this hostel Positives: Free ping pong, volley ball court, the pool is really good and pool tables Negatives The amount of flies in the kitchen is extremely disgusting. It was hard to prepare food without it being carpeted in flies. Just put some bloody fly paper up. The "staff" all work for accommodation and they are cliquey unwelcoming and unproffesional. There were exceptions but over all the staff were poor. We left because of the poor service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.9

Free WiFi does not work Typical party hostel with music playing whole night so if you wanna good night sleep don't stay there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
8.9

Only stayed one night but they picked me up from the airport for free. Bed was comfy, bathrooms were very clean, shower was warm, no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.0

Good vibe and facilities, except for the tiny kitchen. Loved their discounted meals and the free breakfast. Worst part was the stinky rooms. As there is no air flow into the rooms, the air is quite disgusting. Great value for money if you take advantage of the cheap $3 meals, or free meal with a drink over $5, bargain!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th May 2016
7.1

Ok place, friendly enough and has everything you need like kitchen and cheap meals. Dorms were basic but fine, good for what you're paying and quiet enough to have a good sleep! Only real annoyance is location although there's a regular shuttle into town so you don't get too isolated.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2016
8.9

One of the private rooms has a very noisy and physically shaking vibration because it's next to a plant room. It felt like there was an earthquake going on through the night, which made sleeping difficult. Staff tried to move us but didn't have space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
8.0

Except for location, Nomands provide nice accommodation for reasonable prices. Staff was extremely nice, good music plays in the background, nice bar. Kichen's a little bit small for this amount of people, but still good. Room was clean and Air conditionined. No free Wifi though (4$ for 24Hrs).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks very much for your review. we are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again sometime soon. Thanks Nomads Cairns management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Not sure I'd stay here again despite the cheap rooms - there's not really any atmosphere and the staff tend to be quite cliquey, and the bathrooms seem clean enough but they smell and there were always flies in there!! I ended up staying for a few weeks for lack of funds but if I'd had a higher budget would probably have moved. Kitchen was grim unless someone was actively cleaning it, but it's better than not having one, and the free breakfast was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.