Hostelworld.com

Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar Located at 341 Lake St, , Cairns.
Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar
Australia
Cairns Queensland Queensland 341 Lake St
78% 407
-16.9049616 145.7610869
Nomads Cairns Hostel & Serpent Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st May 2016
8.0

Except for location, Nomands provide nice accommodation for reasonable prices. Staff was extremely nice, good music plays in the background, nice bar. Kichen's a little bit small for this amount of people, but still good. Room was clean and Air conditionined. No free Wifi though (4$ for 24Hrs).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks very much for your review. we are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again sometime soon. Thanks Nomads Cairns management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Not sure I'd stay here again despite the cheap rooms - there's not really any atmosphere and the staff tend to be quite cliquey, and the bathrooms seem clean enough but they smell and there were always flies in there!! I ended up staying for a few weeks for lack of funds but if I'd had a higher budget would probably have moved. Kitchen was grim unless someone was actively cleaning it, but it's better than not having one, and the free breakfast was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2016
5.1

The facilities were dirty , damaged... one Toilette was leaky over the wohle bathroom. IT smells disgusting. the Showers were moldy and Not really cleaned the five days we stayed there. In the Kitchen Most of the stuff was damaged or broken or dirty...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't lift up to your expectations. Our communal facilities get cleaned numerous times a day. There is nothing broken in the kitchen - all equipment is functioning but we did have a flood caused by an outside intruder that left us with a half flooded hostel and therefore we had a lot of cleaning up to. The flood would have also caused the smell due to wet carpet. We hope your ongoing trip will be great. Thanks Nomads Cairns Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Mar 2016
5.4

Hostel is located a 45 min walk to town or a shuttle bus. Not that much of a bother but just means that you have less flexibility. Not that clean the bathrooms generally don't look like they get cleaned. Air con either not working or too cold. Food at the resteraunt wasn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. we are sorry to hear that you didn't feel as flexible during your stay with us. Our shuttle bus runs from 10am until 3am in the morning into town for free so that no one is missing out on any excitement in town. Our communal areas get serviced numerous times a day but with guests using the facilities around the clock it is a constant job. Our airconds can get turned up or down in temperature to make it comfortable to sleep. The restaurant and our food usually gets great feedback we are disappointed that this didn't happen for you. We wish you a great time travelling and see you again some time soon. Thanks Nomads Cairns Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
4.9

My dorm stank of urine, v unpleasant. I used the shuttle into town a lot, thought it was a very good idea. It would really encourage me to stay here again if i wanted cheap accommodation. The hostel kitchen was actually cleaner than I've known a nomad's hostel to be. Some of the staff on reception are unfriendly and pretty clueless about backpacker's needs such as allowing a customer to print a boarding pass! Having said that Darrell at the mad travel desk was exceptional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • SKeeley55
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.6

Great place, friendly people, cheap food and beer, great rooms and comfy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Jan 2016
7.7

best thing was the a/c in the room, it was very cool. nice big pool area although the water was to hot. bathrooms should be cleaned more often, one day on all 6 toilets were no tissues left, so it seemed like for 2 days nobody took care of the bathrooms. You only get 2 pieces of toast for free at breakfast. not enough space in the fridges. Far away from city center but the free shuttle bus runs frequently. All in all for 17$ it is a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jan 2016
10.0

the best hostel i was in australia

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2015
9.1

Great hostel with lots of backpackers, nice pool, bar and realax area! Only the location quite far from the city center is less convenient! However the shuttle bus runs every hour until 3 am, which is great! Sometimes a bigger bus would be needed! Great stay in total and very helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Thanks Nomads Cairns Management

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Dec 2015
7.1

Nice hostel, but its a bit far from the town centre. If you don't mind walking,it's a nice 30min walk along the promenade,and there is a free shuttle service into town. Good clean bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you have a great time travelling on! Thanks, Nomads Cairns Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.