X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Capital Backpackers Reviews

118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1143 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

My matress was awful and rhwre ere no lockers in the room!!!


89%

The free pancakes are AMAZING!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We stayed for one night and it was perfect for our needs. Nice staff and rooms, free dinner was pretty good too!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Unfortunately the women-only dorm rooms were on Level 1 directly above the bar so there was loud noise pumping till at least 11pm on a weeknight. Other than that I had a lovely stay


86%

I loved every minute of it! There was a great vibe about the place and staff were awesome. The Hostel was clean and comfy. The free meal in Blend bar was above average for what you would expect (especially the curry) but pay the $2 upgrade if your peckish. This is definitely a great hostel for any age range, whether its for short or long stays. Location is spot on for the museum, water front, shopping and nightlife! All in all one of the best stays iv had in a hostel!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. We think we are pretty awesome too. We hope to see you back in the Capital soon. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

80%

With a lot of these bigger hostels I've noticed you get a less intimate feel and this was no exception. The facilities and location were great but not a great place to meet new people.


71%

nice hostel, but over-priced

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the hostel but am sorry to see that you found us to be over priced. I hope you made the most of the free meals we offer to all our guests while you stayed with us. Many guests have commented that offering free meals really helps when traveling on a budget. We hope to see you back in the Capital, Saoirse, Hostel Manager

91%

Very friendly staff

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. The team are pretty friendly bunch. We hope you make it back to Wellington in the future. Saoirse, Hostel manager

91%

Fantastic place to stay, helpful and friendly staff, bar beside is a great time (kareoke, beer pong tourney, good deals). Facilities, rooms and common areas all great. Dinner/breakfast also good. Definitely would stay again.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We hope you do make it back to stay with us again. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

80%

The bed were SUPER squeaky and the noise rok.the bar travels far on any day of the week. Definitely needed my earplugs. The room was clean and I loved having a bathroom in the room. The wifi is not free which really sucks when you are traveling on a budget. But thankfully the city has wifi everywhere so the minute you step outside you're pretty much connected. The Fantastic location right near Cuba street and the information center. I'd definitely stay again, but not without my earplugs!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. Yes, Blend Bar likes to party all night every night. I hope we supplied you with free earplugs (available at reception if you need for your next stay). We are very lucky with our central location, and we like to hope that our awesome housekeeping team keep the rooms in a good condition. We are in the final stages of replacing the squeaky beds so I hope this wont be an issue for your next visit. We hope to see you again soon. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

77%

My window was broken at the top leaving about a 5 cm gap from where it should be molded together. I tried to explain this to the front desk and get this fixed since the smoke from the smokers and the noise of the bar underneath was prominent but it never got fixed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. You will be glad to know that this window has now been fixed. I hope that upon informing reception of this problem you were offered another room. I also hope that this did not impact too negatively on your trip to Wellington. We hope to see you back in the Capital again soon. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

94%

Very clean, very helpful staff, great facilities and great location.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. We like to think we are pretty awesome too. We hope to see you back in the Capital again soon. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

77%

Really cool Hostel! Was clean and good location. :) The kitchen and the seating area was really small but still okay. The staff was average because they were mainly backpackers who didn't care too much about what they were doing. For this reason the mad travel shop wasn't helpful at all because they could't even help us renting a car. All in all it's a really good hostel though :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I am however disappointed to see that our staff were not as helpful as they should have been. There has been a change in our team since your stay. I sincerely hope we can be of more assistance to you if you make it back to the Capital. Saoirse, Hostel Manager.

74%

Good hostel. Nice.and close to.town. went down a treat with a hangover :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located. We hope you make it back to the Capital again in the future. Saoirse Hostel Manager

66%

Dorms and bathrooms very nice and clean, but the staff was not very helpful or friendly. Felt like we were bothering them when asking simple questions. Kitchen was dirty and way too small. Free pancakes for breakfast were nice, but again not enough space so the line was always very long. The free dinner was good but came in very tiny portions (more like starters), and again not enough tables&seating considering the size of the hostel.


80%

add lockers in rooms please!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. Most of pour room do have locker available and we can always hold valuables in the office if need. I am glad to see that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in the Capital in the near future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

83%

Just the Kitchen was very dirty after breackfast


63%

The kitchen is very small for a big hostel like this. The rest is all right for what you pay. You can make your own free pancakes for breakfast.


89%

Everyone was friendly, free dinner was great, good location and a really good atmosphere, pretty chilled during the day! Noisy at night because of the bar, but to be expected as the next night was Paddy's day!!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I had a good stay but when I came home on sat nite from a nite out I found someone else in my bed and I when down to complain and they didn't do anything but give me another room after 45 mins wait from another room plus was kicked out of that room at 10 in the morning and have to wait ontill half 4 for my new room and I was not one but happy bout it cause I more less paid for for someone else to stay In my room and I don't think I will got back to nomads hostel in Wellington

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback