Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2017
5.7

This hostel raises their prices with demand so I payed 50$/night (a weeknight!), because everything else in Wellington was booked out. I find that a really unethical method, this is a youth hostel not an airline! They charge 4$/day for internet and 2% extra for credit card use, this is ridiculous! The 6 bed room was small, smelly and stayed hot all night long. The mattress was not good, felt like lying directly on the metal. They are just after your money, I would not stay there again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
5.4

Facilities were very small, kitchen was dirty and overcrowded with dishes. Only one fridge for the entire hostel, which had no room for new people's food. You have to pay for a towel, wifi, etc. Dorms were extremely smelly and overheated, fans that were provided did nothing to alleviate the hot weather in Wellington. Unpleasant experience, would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.7

The windows are not a good quality, I heard the pub next door. But the rest was really nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, For the most part i'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We agree our windows are pretty thin we are a heritage building therefore we are unable to change them. We have a great relationship with the bar next door so please next time you stay be sure to let reception know that is it to loud and they will get them to turn it down. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Laraz
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
5.1

Overall very dirty hostel. Kitchen and living area smells and the rooms are extremely hot with little ventilation. Would only use this as a stop over.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Great location. Air was hot and stuffy. Communal bathrooms were tiny.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.7

Good location, nice staff, decent beds. Have to pay for Wifi, lockers don't have clasps on them so can't all be locked (wtf), not enough bathrooms/showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. For the most part glad to see you enjoyed most of your stay, we like to see our staff made the stay even more enjoyable. If you fill out our welcome pack you can get free wifi. We do have padlocks that are available for hire in reception. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

14th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location and super-clean rooms. Excellent key-card security. The free dinner is pretty mediocre, but what do you expect for the price? You'll need to cook your own pancakes in the morning (I prefer cooking for myself). Good bicycle storage, especially for being in the middle of the city. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. So glad to see you enjoyed your stay here we hope to see you again soon. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
10.0

Ideal location close to the ocean, museums, and the notoriously hip Cuba streets. The Nomads' bar "Blend" offers great prices for backpackers on a budget (woo $5 tap beers). Highly recommend this place. No free wifi, and the dorm rooms are tight, but very clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.3

Very clean room and great location. No free wi-fi. Because every other hostel was booked out they raised the price for a dorm bed to 62$ a night. I stayed two nights in the same room and paid 62$ for the first night and 35$ on the second night for the same bed. Maybe that's just how nomads does business and it sure is profitable but considering its a budget accommodation it doesn't seem right. It's impossible to check in before 2pm and luggage could only be left in the very unsecured lounge.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. For the most part we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. Yes our rates are on a day to day basis. We do offer a luggage room for all our guests to use so therefore you can go enjoy your day and come back when you wish to check in from 2pm. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Happy with everything. I cant control people making noise in my room during the night, but I wondered if the doors could have something to stop them slamming as people go in and out. The don't shut quietly, and each time they slam, the would wake me up so a good sleep is hard to come by! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.