Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jun 2017
9.4

I think it's necessary lock in the room, and wifi free

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
6.9

Considering Nomads have a reputation for being one of the most social hostel chains I was disappointed with the atmosphere of this hostel. It was very antisocial and largely dead. The facilities and hostel itself are fine and it's location is good to explore the city but do not expect to meet people if you stay here. The staff dealt well with an incident with one of the customers in my room who was making other guests uncomfortable but I would not recommend this hostel based on my experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
9.1

Got a free upgrade from a 10 bed room to a 6 bed en-suite which was only half full on my birthday, so was very happy with that! Bed was comfy - very squeaky but 2 pillows in a hostel is pretty unheard of and definitely appreciated. Overall a good stay with nice bathrooms and lounge area. Would have liked to see lockers, as the Nomads in Auckland did. Didn't wake up early enough to get the free pancake breakfast and didn't stay at the hostel in the evening for the meal so can't comment on them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see our staff looked after you very well and made your stay nice we do hope to see you again in the near future! Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
8.3

I've stayed here 3 times now & eacg time has been really good. It's in a really good location! so close to the shops and bars. Also, even though it is a dry hostel, the bar thats joint is really good! $5 house drinks and its always lively on a Friday and Saturday. Last time i went for my birthday, they upgraded us to a 4 bed dorm with an en suite when we had booked the 8 bed dorm and shared bathroom. The receptionist could do with being a bit more friendly but apart from that its a great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, for the most part we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads and we do hope to see you again in the near future. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.0

Gutted about the no alcohol policy in such an expensive city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • RandomMooseMeat
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.3

The beds are incredibly creaky. But aside from that, it's a pretty good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, Our bunks are on a rotation out apologize for one that is on the way out, for the most part so glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again, Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
28th Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, clean bathrooms, they even provide some free food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon, Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.7

Good, standard hostel - pretty good atmosphere and facilities etc Pancake breakfast isn't actually made, you have to make it yourself with limited pots and pans and the mix takes a while to cook. Still free breakfast but allow time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future, we hope you also got to enjoy our free lite evening meal we offer as well. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
7.4

Internet $6/day or $12/week. Pancake batter made daily for people to cook themselves Free tea&coffee, and dinner, often very similar from night to night (lasagna esque). Beds squeaky but comfortable. Rooms and bathrooms cleaned regularly, but there is no screen on the open window or door in the kitchen and often a pigeon would walk around the floor and on the countertops. However the whole kitchen and common area were cleaned regularly. Kitchen small. Central to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, our wifi is $4 for 24 hours and we do offer free wifi in our welcome packs, for the most part we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay we do agree our kitchen is small therefore we do offer two free meals for every night that our guests stay. We do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
5.7

This was definitely overpriced for what it was. I would rather pay less and miss out on the free dinner and breakfast. I was in a 10bed dorm - never stayed in a dorm that big before. There were too few showers/toilets and they weren't great- the sink was out of order in the one closest. Only stayed here as the hostel I was in was fully booked that night but I returned to it the following night (and paid $10 less for a smaller and cleaner room).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, We do apologise for the sink needing to be fixed. Being in a bigger dorm room can be messy with a lot of guests in the room booking a smaller dorm would minimize that issue. We do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.