Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
Nomads Capital Backpackers Located at 118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington.
Nomads Capital Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 6011 118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247
79% 1570
-41.2898513 174.7769021
Nomads Capital Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.3

No free wifi. Lack of lockers. Besides that do note that it is a dry hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay if you want something quiet! Very clean also. I stayed only one night and it was perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Like the only hostel that charges for wifi in wellington which is a shame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.6

Great place to stay! Rooms are super tiny. Bathrooms are always kept clean and the guy on the front desk was super friendly and helpful! Overall good stay. Loved the free dinners and the bar next door. Only issue was there were people sleeping on the couches in the common area and my friends were yelled at by a woman for sitting on "her" couch that she was going to sleep on... super awkward and weird.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are stoked to hear that you all enjoyed your stay. We are lucky that our building is listed as a heritage building, but it does mean that we are unable to make alterations to the structure of the building, which does mean that unfortunately some rooms are smaller than others. We are disappointed to hear that your friend was shouted at by somebody for trying to use a couch in our communal lounge. You are right, it is awkward. We do try our best to prevent guests for sleeping on the couches and will endeavour to improve on stopping something like that happening in the future. We hope to see you back in the capital sometime soon. Ryan - Assistant Managert

25th Nov 2016
5.1

There is no free wifi (unlike Wellington YHA that has amazing wifi), the kitchen is incredibly small (I mean tiny), and even after asking, we couldn't get the sink and shower cleaned in our room (the girls who were already in the room said they hadn't had it cleaned either). They emptied the garbage but didn't touch anything else. The shower drain was clogged so the bathroom would flood after a minute of shower. The 10-year old school group took over the kitchen and common room. Don't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our housekeeping team do clean all bathrooms and bedrooms each day before check in, however we will endeavour to try and find out if something different happened throughout your stay. We do hope that as many people come and explore this great city no matter what the age, and we are lucky to be able to accommodate school groups from time to time and do hope that they use our facilities and take advantage of our free evening meal and pancake mix in the mornings, as we try to encourage all our guests. We hope that your travels brings you back to the capital in the future. Ryan - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.1

We had free snack the hostel served at dinner, and free pancakes (make your own) in the morning, which was really convenient since we have a really late arrival and wanted to rest a bit before going out for dinner. Room was clean, shower was great with sufficient water pressure :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do try an make sure that all our guests have the best time here at Nomads as possible. We hope to see you back in the capital at some point in the near future. Ryan - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

The 8 bed dorm room we stayed in was excessively hot, even when we had the door open and fan on as much as possible. It led to really poor nights sleep and an uncomfortable stay. We complained to reception, the staff at the time were not overly helpful on the second day but when I spoke to the manager on the third day she agreed to refund us our final night so we could move hostels which was appreciated. I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. If I can correctly recall your check in, you were unhappy that you were required to pay more than the other passengers on your bus due to the fact that you have booked externally and not with your driver. We provided you with an upgrade to a smaller room than that of the room that you had booked as a gesture of good faith. Given your frustration, and our lack of availability in other room types, the General Manager did indeed agree to refund you. However we would love to see you back at Nomads Capital in the future. Ryan - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.4

Uncomfy beds, plenty of storage place, unsocial hostel, no drinking allowed anywhere (so people have to go to the bar partnering with the hostel next door), quite, clean, no free wifi !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that you found the hostel to be unsocial. We endeavour to try and make our hostel as inviting and unique as possible. Blend Bar is attached to us, and due to licensing laws in New Zealand, we are a dry hostel. Whilst we would love all our guests to go into Blend and experience all the great food and drinks that they have to offer, Wellington is very lucky to have over 350 different bars, restaurants and cafes in it's CBD which all our staff encourage to explore. We do have WIFI throughout our building, which is at an additional cost as well a free meal for all guests in the evening and free pancake mix for all guests in the morning, which Blend are more than happy to provide each day. We hope to see you back in the capital at some point in the near future. Ryan - Assistant Manager

  • sadafmalik27202
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

Great location!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are chuffed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in the Capital at some point in the future. Ryan - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.7

Overall a fine place with all the facilities you need, but since the hostel is that big, it has no soul. Squeaky beds and loud music from the bar downstairs make it noisy to sleep. But if you are a party kind of person, this is your place ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to see that you found the hostel to be impersonal, we try to make it as welcoming and unique as possible. Sometimes the bar can get loud, but we always endeavour to help our guests get the best nights sleep possible, whether it be providing free ear plugs or moving rooms where possible. We hope your travels bring you back to the capital in the future. Ryan - Assistant Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.