Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Nomads Capital Backpackers Located at 118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington.
Nomads Capital Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 6011 118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247
81% 1468
-41.2898513 174.7769021
Nomads Capital Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Sep 2016
8.0

There is no free wifi provvided by the hostel. I have to go to the nearby library for wifi connection.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Sep 2016
5.4

The kitchen and the bathrooms weren't clean. The air in the dorm was pretty smelly because it wasn't possible to open the window. The mattress was really thin and the bed made a lot of noise. The location is really good and there is a shuttle to the interislander ferry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Location couldn't be better, right in the centre on Cuba Street, 5 minutes from the wharf and ten from the airport. Staff we mostly brilliant although some unprofessional behaviour noted. Facilities were great, hostel was clean and the free food is awesome! Would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Quite enjoyed this spot. Card security, tidy zones (perhaps excepting Herbert the kitchen pigeon, because a back door was left ajar), friendly staff, adjacent bar, pancake opportunity in the morning (with some occasional, amusing pyrotechnics :D ), and pub meal in the evening? Marvelous. Loaded with travel tips and pamphletty stuff all over. Great spot to crash.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Aug 2016
7.7

Great location, is right in the centre of town. Overall is good, but let down by a dirty onsuite (in room of 6) where the shower flooded the whole bathroom. Atmosphere a mix - are a lot of long term stayers looking for jobs so some were a bit older and heavier partying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the review. The cleanliness of your bathroom is disappointing. These do get cleaned daily, however when they are used by 6 people throughout the day we may need to looking at cleaning these bathrooms more often. Yes winter does tend to mean more long term guests, we like to hope that they were still welcoming and talkative, they are a nice bunch of people. We hope to see you back in the Capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

29th Aug 2016
8.9

The bathroom in our room wasn't cleaned well every day but the common areas are extremely clean. Great deal for location and the food they provide. Not the most social backpackers as there seems to be a curse in the common area where no one will talk to anyone. Very strange. It's also a dry hostel, which I don't mind as it's nice to have close access to bars but not have the partying be in the hostel. Though over, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, cheers for the review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. The cleanliness of your bathroom is disappointing and has been brought to the attention of Housekeeping. We have found that our TV room can be very quiet, but find that people are more open to chats when they hang out in the reception area. We hope your travels bring you back to Nomads Capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Aug 2016
5.7

Extremely rude reception staff. Was treated awfully, not good for a paying customer. Wanted to pay to upgrade my room to a smaller dorm, rooms were available but was told I wasn't allowed. People in room were upgraded for free to the room, I paid more than they did for the same room. No lockers for valuables. Was served dairy in the free meal even though I specifically told the wait staff I had allergies, didn't even get an apology. Stay somewhere else, don't waste money here. Recommend YHA.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the review. We attempted to upgrade you to another dorm after you complained about your roommates. However you stated that you had to rush to work and as such could not move rooms. We provide a free meal daily, this is the same free meal that each guest gets and it changes nightly. Unfortunately due to the fact that this is a free meal we cannot always guarantee that it will cater to every specific dietary requirement. We do have dairy free options on our main menu which you could have ordered from. Saoirse, General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Aug 2016
7.1

It's ok. Beds are noisy. Rooms are cramped. Room Was close to the bar. Very noisy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. We are in the process of replacing the last of our bunks, so noisey beds should no longer be an issue. The bar can get a tad loud at times. It is one of the down sides of being located in the center of the city. We do hope you make it back to Nomads Capital again in the future. Saoirse, general manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Really good hostel, would highly recommend. Free pancakes for breakfast as well as a free evening meal every day. The kitchen and general communal facilities are always kept in good order also. The staff are welcoming and always look to assist in any way possible, and make it a much more positive atmosphere to be in. In addition, the blend bar next door is great, free pool, cheap beer, and all the staff, at the bar and in the kitchen, are very hospitable. Definitely stay at this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel all around in my opinion. Only bad part is paying for wifi. Most go outside to use the free city wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, cheers for the review. it is awesome to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you make it back to Nomads Capital in the future. If you, please fill in the Free welcome pack form, as this gives you access to free wifi. Saoirse, General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.