Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1728 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1728 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.4

The hostel's rating is boosted by their security which , in fairness, was elite. But there were 2 plugs in a room for 4 people, the individual bed lights weren't easily accessible from the bed and the water in the en suite sink didn't go down the drain for minutes. The free pancakes were nice but no butter to cook the mixture with and both toasters were broken. Also, it would be great if wifi was freely available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
6.3

I originally booked a 8 person room for friends and I, we got put down to a 6 person room which was not enough to accommodate all of us, and since my partner and I was last to arrive we had to book a private room for two since you're company policy is that u can't have any extra people in a room. It was very annoying because I ended up spending an extra $75 then originally expected. The room I stayed in was okay, although on some of the towels provided there was black hair all through them.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, My apologizes for this I was unaware of this situation I will send you an email looking at your booking this is on my staff and I will be bringing this to there attention. We do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.6

Nice hostel right near Cuba Street. Clean and secure with friendly staff and free pancakes for breakfast. Also the free light dinner in the pub next door was good. I didn't like the tv ways on in the common room and the advertising everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and we do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • jamiesmart199
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.1

Great bed and nice security with the key cards. Free dinner was nice touch but wouldn't rely on it to fill you for the night. Not enough washers/ dryers for the size of the hostel with 1 out of order when we were there. Overall a very good hostel though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and up date we have fixed our washer, we hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

Very squeeky beds, some beds with very thin matresses. Hard to get a good nights sleep in 10 bed dorm, much better in the 6 bed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, due to high usage in our bigger dorms they are on a rotation out we apologize if you got a bunk that was on the rotation out and glad you enjoyed your other nights stay, we hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

30th Jun 2017
8.9

Haha oh wow dude this is a dank hostel nestled deep in the most accessible part of Wellington. You want to see Te Papa? Five minute walk. You want to see Mount Victoria? Ten minute walk. What about the Beehive? That's a cool fifteen you're walking. Also pretty close to the train station, if you're so inclined. Good hostel/10 Alright take care, friend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to see you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

29th Jun 2017
8.6

Stayed during British Lions trip.Great location,close to city centre,bonus of a bar with 5 dollar pints.Would recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jun 2017
5.1

The staff here were not friendly or welcoming, disappointing because elsewhere in NZ I had been really impressed. Wifi was expensive and very poor. Toilets where filthy, I left the hostel to use toilets elsewhere because the ones on my floor were gross. Bed extremely squeaky. The room was also very expensive, especially considering it was a 10 bed. Fantastic location and really nice duvet, but I would never stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are sorry about your experience baring in mind the hostel was fully booked when you were staying and it can be hard to have everything 100% when so many guests are staying in our hostel, we do hope your stay is more enjoyable next time you are in, Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jun 2017
5.7

The amount of paperwork you have to do on checking in is really frustrating. Free dinner only til 18:30. Pancakes are a vat of batter but the hobs and pans in kitchen aren't reLly good enough to cook the pancakes on

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.4

I think it's necessary lock in the room, and wifi free

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we do have lockers in the room and padlocks our guests can hire, we do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.