Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
Nomads Capital Backpackers Located at 118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington.
Nomads Capital Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 6011 118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247
80% 1537
-41.2898513 174.7769021
Nomads Capital Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Nov 2016
5.1

There is no free wifi (unlike Wellington YHA that has amazing wifi), the kitchen is incredibly small (I mean tiny), and even after asking, we couldn't get the sink and shower cleaned in our room (the girls who were already in the room said they hadn't had it cleaned either). They emptied the garbage but didn't touch anything else. The shower drain was clogged so the bathroom would flood after a minute of shower. The 10-year old school group took over the kitchen and common room. Don't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.1

We had free snack the hostel served at dinner, and free pancakes (make your own) in the morning, which was really convenient since we have a really late arrival and wanted to rest a bit before going out for dinner. Room was clean, shower was great with sufficient water pressure :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.4

Uncomfy beds, plenty of storage place, unsocial hostel, no drinking allowed anywhere (so people have to go to the bar partnering with the hostel next door), quite, clean, no free wifi !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sadafmalik27202
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

Great location!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.7

Overall a fine place with all the facilities you need, but since the hostel is that big, it has no soul. Squeaky beds and loud music from the bar downstairs make it noisy to sleep. But if you are a party kind of person, this is your place ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Nov 2016
6.0

Average hostel but a little over priced for what you get. The rooms are cramped and ours was very smelly. We stayed there during the earthquake and we were appalled when the price of beds in dorms went up by $10 after the quake. The staff were nice and there was decent space to chill out but it the common area was very loud and attached to the reception or kitchen. My advice would be to go to YHA for too many reasons to list! We moved there and have had a far better experience all round.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to see that you found your room cramped and smelly as this should not have been the case. This has been discussed with our housekeeping team to ensure this does not come up again. We reduce our rates each Sunday, it is not that Monday's prices were increased, rather they were reduced on the Sunday. We hope your travels bring you back to the capital in the future. Saoirse-General Manager

  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
10th Nov 2016
7.4

Great location for exploring, shopping and going to bars in the evening. The free meal in the evening is small but as it's free you can't complain too much. Free pancakes in the morning were great, it just gets a little busy so you need to be patient. The hostel is reasonably expensive for what you get, but staff were friendly and willing to help with recommending things to do around town. The kitchen was a little small and the beds incredibly squeaky, but lockers in the room were a plus!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Great location , some staff I found treat you like cattle market or like I'm on a 18/30's trip which I did not like but other staff members were really good . The first night I stayed In a four bed dorm tiny could not swing a cat in there located right on top of the bar so might aswell of been laid on the bar . 2nd room I got was an 8 bed dorm which had no ventilation which meant when I walked in my eyes watered with the smell of sweat. 3rd room was ideal - luck of draw I think

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Awesome location next to Cuba St., Te Papa Museum, and the bay. Free pancake breakfast and dinner is nice--dinner is at the pub next door, not all that big but it did the trick for me. The staff were mostly friendly although there were a couple desk assistants that were a *tad* snooty. Only real downside was that the rooms get quite stuffy even with the windows cracked, and the beds are super super creeky. Tiny issues though, I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. It is awesome to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back in the capital in the near future. Saoirse, General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
6.9

Some staff were nice.. Elliot was very helpful. The Manager went out if her was to be as difficult as possible. Not just with me but other people too

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.