X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Capital Backpackers Reviews

118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1298 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Would not recommend this hostel (if u wanna be able to sleep)! The beds were extremly uncomfortable and made loud noises when you moved an inch. The rooms were way too small for 8 beds, on the plus side they had security lockers though! On the first floor you could feel the beds vibrate from the very loud music from the hostel's bar and it was difficult to fall asleep before 2 am when the loud music stopped. The kitchen was really bad as well, dirty and not equipped enough. No free wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sad to hear you wouldnt recommend us. We are working on upgrading all our mattresses, you can always come down and let us know of anything wrong in the room, there is no issue to change rooms and we offer free earplugs for any louds noises heard. We offer free breakfast and dinner, because of this our kitchen is the right size for the hostel guests. No hostels in Wellington offer free wifi, but this is something we are working on. We would love to see you here again to make your stay much better than the last. Cody - Assistant Manager

100%

Great hostel overall. Basic clean room/bed and secure with lockers-always great. Good location-although a little far from the train/bus terminal, but right in town so you weigh the benefits. Great that they have a "FREE" pancake breakfast in the morning. Only thing I might ask for is if they could offer an hour free of wifi before you have to pay so that at the very least one can book onward travel and touch base with family and friends. All around great spot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your enquiry. Great you enjoyed the rooms and location. The train station is only $2.00 by bus away. We can book all onward travel for any travel needs required. Free wifi is not offered at any hostel in Wellington, but this is something that we are working on. We would love to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant manager.

74%

The location is great just around the corner from town and all the nightlife but my room was so noisy at night I could hear every single person in the pub downstairs. If you are planning on sleeping at night the hostel is not the best place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the location. Noise is always a touch one in any hostel in any city. We always offer free earplugs if there ever is an issue and it is not always loud from the bar. We would love to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant manager.

63%

I had one of the worst nights sleep in this hostel because I was on the first floor right above the bar connected to the hostel. The hostel specifically states how they "don't allow alcohol on the premises because they appreciate people want their sleep". Yet they put their rooms right over a bar which plays thumping music until 2am. I asked at reception if there was anything they could do, even to change my room but all they offered me were ear plugs which were unless. Poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your enquiry. Sad to hear you didnt have a great sleep. The reason we dont allow alcohol onsite is because we have the bar attached. We have tested the earplugs and they usually work perfectly in this case. Apolgies to here this didnt work for you. We would love to see you back here again. Cody - Assistant Manager.

97%

Mint-deluxe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Great to hear we were mint-deluxe. We hope to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant Manager.

94%

Very accommodating, good facilities and comfy beds

  • 7th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Great to hear everything was accomdating for you and that you enjoyed our facilities and were comfortable. We hope to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant manager.

89%

Had nice stay just annoyed at the need to pay for WiFi even though you could get free city WiFi when you step out the door

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. No hostels offer free Wifi in Wellington unfortunatley, but this is something we are trying to work on to change. We hope to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant Mananger.

86%

Excellent location, super easy access by bus from/to the airport. Rooms were clean, but a bit tight though. Was not easy to storage the backpack in a tiny room with two bunk beds. Would also consider installing some individual outlets for each bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our hostel, the location and you found everything clean. We are working on changing the configurations of each room and installing new outlets. We would love to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant Manager.

100%

Great hostel!! Good value for money and the staff is super nice and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our hostel and you thought it was good value for money. We think our staff are nice and helpful too. We would love to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant Manager.

51%

YHA from second night on well worth it. I was bike touring and spent the first night here. There are no bike facilities at all. The room, specifically the the sleep was dreadful. Stuffy room, loud music until very late at night and a lot of other people's stuff around so that no part felt like my space, made me feel my things were not that safe, everyone had locks on lockers (yes I know that's often an option, but I rarely see them actually used - there should be an of cleanliness and safety)

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Had some problems on the first night that the staff were very quick to sort out for me. Very clean, comfy and overall very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear all issues were sorted from our staff. Great that you found everything clean and comfortable. We would love to see you here again soon. Cody - Assistant Manager

91%

Great hostel, no parking although it's a lot to ask for in Wellington. No free wifi. It's a dry hostel so you have to buy drinks at the bar connected to it, which is kinda annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Yes unfortunately parking is bit difficult to find in Wellington and can be expensive but we always recommend coupon parking which is $7.50 per day and only 20 minutes walk away from our hostel. We offer a lot of great service but right now we cannot offer free WiFi. It is illegal for our guests to drink in the hostel because we have a bar onsite, its a one of the other type deal and we can offer much more to guests having the bar. Would love to see you back here again

86%

Excellent place to stay in Wellington. The staff are super helpful and friendly.


77%

Long way from the intercity bus stop and the ferry, but their is a shuttle that picks you up for the ferry just outside. Besides that the location was great. It was a fine place to stay. The kitchen and lounge area were okay; I think most people socialize at the bar next door. No wifi, but an okay place to stay.


54%

Kitchen is disgusting and tiny. Free meals where good though, and staff are friendly and helpful. Cleaners have little respect for the people paying for the room.


66%

4$ for 24hours of wifi and the free dinner is more of a starter, would rather have free wifi. Good location and they have a couple of free tours. You must be at breakfast for around 8 if you want any pancake batter to cook. Staff are really nice. All beds are very very squeeky and loud!!! Please update these urgently!!


77%

Good all round hostel, although no alcohol policy is rubbish! Tiny kitchen for the size of the place, but free breakfast (prepare for a crazy-busy kitchen) and dinner which is great. Bar nextdoor is really cheap, and it's fun if you like the NZ coach tour crowd. Toilets and shower are good. Not much atmosphere, probably due to the size


66%

Good location and large kitchen area. Decent showers


94%

Very happy. Would recommend the hostel to my friends.


80%

Really nice stay at this hostel. Stayed there two times but the second time most of the lockers inside the rooms were broken - so i could not leave my belongings in a safe place. Apart from that, all good.


(60 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback