X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Capital Backpackers Reviews

118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1143 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Free Pancakes and 2$ Dinner are nice, and in the 3rd floor its not so noisy, even if the others are partying all night :) Bathrooms are small, but ok. Best of the Hostel is the location and the i-SITE is just across the street!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments. It is good to see that you enjoyed your stay. we are very lucky to be located in the heart of Wellington CBD. It is good to see that you enjoyed our free meals and that the late night partiers did not keep you awake. We hope to see you back in the Capital in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

77%

No free wifi, issues with shower drainage, quite a few disrespectful and loud guests. Overall the hostel was ok but the other guests were mediocre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review. I'm sorry that you experienced some issues with other guests, this is not normally the case and I'm sorry that they affected your stay with us. I hope you spoke with the Reception team as they would have been more than happy to help or offer another room if this would have helped. I hope it didn't affect your stay too much and that we will see you again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager

91%

As with most nomads, has pretty much everything you need. Even lockers in the room. Doesn't have free wifi, again as with nomads. Free morning pancakes, free meal (needs $2 upgrade for real meal portion). Excellent location, in city heart. And close to port area and train station/bus depot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. As the team have all backpacked themselves we make a conscious effort to provide as much of what travelers need as is possible. We hope you make it back to Wellington in the future. Saoirse, Hostel manager

91%

Nice little hostel in Wellington. The hostel is close to everything, I enjoyed my stay here.


69%

One of the better Nomads in NZ. Free/discount food & drink are very good. Lounge is nice and everything works. Rooms have good beds with power points. However, lack of windows & good ventilation is terrible. Kitchen facilities are also far too small for a hostel this size (can’t store food or cook very well). Staff & Booking system need improvement as guests often have to change rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a fairly small kitchen but find that the free meal in the evening does help to alleviate some of the pressure particularly at busy times. Food storage hasn't been an issue for us so I will be sure to look into this and see if there is something more that we can be doing to help that. Hope to see you back in Wellington again. Kate, Hostel Manager

83%

It's a big chain that churns travelers through impersonally, and is also overrun with Stray/Kiwi Experience people, so it can be difficult to meet others. Doesn't give much feel for the city, but it's a fine place if you just need somewhere to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to see that you feel we are a big chain that churns through travelers. We like to think that we make an effort to spend time with and get to know our guests. We frequently arrange activity days in the hostel and the bar hosts nightly events to encourage guests to hang out and get to know one another. We do hope you make it back to the Capital in the future. Saoirse, Hostel manager

89%

You kept getting locked out of your room but the staff fixed the problem with your key. Great staff! You feel very safe and secure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great team here so I'll be sure to pass your comments onto them. We did have a fairly old key system which we were experiencing some problems with this but it is being upgraded this week (almost complete as I type this!) which will make those problems a thing of the past! Hope to see you back in Wellington again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager

80%

Good hostel, good vibe, friendly staff...all round thumbs up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back in Wellington in the future. Saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager

83%

I liked this place. No complaints really

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for you comments. I am happy to hear that you liked your stay with us. We hope to see you back in Wellington in the future. Saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager

83%

Awesome atmosphere and friendly staff! It is a dry hostel so alcohol cannot be consumed in the premises :( The bar next door is alright. They offer free dinner which is only a snack. You have to get up early to get some pancakes for breakfast. The dorm I was staying in was disgusting. Tiny window, bad smell, boiling, carpet, cheap metal beds. Had to turn on the fan the whole night. You should expect a bit more for that price. Still had a good time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about your room. This is not normally the standard to which we keep our rooms, so this is something which I will chase up with housekeeping. Hope to see you in Wellington again. saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager

80%

Good place to stay in Wellington, if you want a bed in a very (!) central location... not outstanding, but just fine for exploring the capital. Staff is very friendly & helpful, kitchen & lounge quite small an very crowded, because it's the best place for internet reception. Dorms and bathrooms are okay. Free dinner & breakfast is a trick to give you a (too) small bowl and charge you any additional food. The bar next door has a discount, but is just too noisy at night for a drink&chat.


80%

Very good downtown location near Cuba But I don't like their fundamentalist attitude to alcohol. You can buy all you want in their bar, but they can thryou out without refund, if you bring a botle of wine from the supermarked to your room.


100%

Located in the centre of the city, can be a little noisy at night due to music from the Blend bar next door. This does however stop at midnight. Staff great and very helpful, room good size (4x female dorm with ensuite) and clean. Free tea and coffee was a bonus. Wifi is not free, but only $4 for 24 hours. If you're in Wellington to enjoy the city life, this is a great place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great team here so will be sure to pass on your comments to them and hope we will see you back in Wellington again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(53 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback