X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Capital Backpackers Reviews

118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1159 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The music from the hostel bar was unbearably loud in the first floor. The floor was vibrating and even earplugs did not help. When people were very noisy in the common area the personnel joined them rather than calming them down. Backpackers not with Stray or another "fun company" will feel a little lonely as mostly those groups come to the nomads. The groups were already formed and did not let some outsiders in. We were just not cool enough... Free food is great and the facilities we alright!


86%

This was a nice hostel to stay in although I was only there for one night. The staff were helpful and there was even the opportunity to have pancakes for breakfast and a free light dinner in the evening. It is within easy walking distance of the city centre. Overall I would recommend this hostel.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I really like the Nomads branch as everything is spot on. Only problem with this one was the kitchen was tiny and the noise was ongoing throughout the night as I had a front room


83%

I only had a one night stop-over so didn't hang out in the kitchen or common areas much, rooms were nice and clean - got a little warm overnight with 8 people in the room but that's just back-packing, Beautiful old building, great location and good value for money for a quick stopover


54%

We made bookings for 2 nights through 2 different transactions, however they failed to inform us that we were going to move rooms so they took all our stuff without any consent or heads up. Our packs and items were poorly transported/taken care of. There's also no lockers for your packs so my adapter and charger were stolen along with my food. The second night our new room we moved into was overbooked leaving one of us without a bed. Luckily the staff was nice and upgraded us to a 2 bed private.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

There's basically no oxygen in this hostel. The further up you go inside the building the harder it is to breathe. The hostel was ok, nothing special.


69%

There was a serious lack of fresh air in the dorm room, as there was only one small window opening that ventilated too little. The breakfast pancakes were awesome!


94%

This hostel is a great fit for a short stay: situated right in the heart of Wellington, it takes 5 minutes to get to the waterfront, restaurants/bars, and all fun stuff in town. For this reason it might also be quite loud outside at night. Rooms aren't very spacious, but clean and pretty nice altogether. Everyone at the reception was really friendly and helpful. The only thing that sort of threw me off is the number of senior tour groups staying there (so not exactly a backpacker kind of vibe).


66%

It is super loud and I wasn't able to sleep as the music from the bar next door continues to whee hours. The two rooms I stayed were tiny, but clean. Kitchen is a mess, too small for the amount of people using it, always short of dry tea towels, which gets annoying.


94%

I stayed in a double room which turned out to be a twin with a double bed, score! Room was light and airy, ensuite bathroom was nice aswell. The free snack sized meal is a nice touch too, worth upgrading if you're feeling hungry! 2 bucks for dinner, shouldn't be sniffed at! If your room is situated over the courtyard, take earplugs. It was loud til about midnight on a Sunday with the windows open (it's summer, so obvs!), I imagine it's louder on Friday/Saturday nights. P.S. get a better elevator

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have an issue with the lift breaking down for a while on Sunday so apologies if that caused any inconvenience to you, thankfully we were able to have it back up and running again soon. Hope to see you back in Wellington again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager

80%

Free Pancakes and 2$ Dinner are nice, and in the 3rd floor its not so noisy, even if the others are partying all night :) Bathrooms are small, but ok. Best of the Hostel is the location and the i-SITE is just across the street!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments. It is good to see that you enjoyed your stay. we are very lucky to be located in the heart of Wellington CBD. It is good to see that you enjoyed our free meals and that the late night partiers did not keep you awake. We hope to see you back in the Capital in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager

77%

No free wifi, issues with shower drainage, quite a few disrespectful and loud guests. Overall the hostel was ok but the other guests were mediocre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review. I'm sorry that you experienced some issues with other guests, this is not normally the case and I'm sorry that they affected your stay with us. I hope you spoke with the Reception team as they would have been more than happy to help or offer another room if this would have helped. I hope it didn't affect your stay too much and that we will see you again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager

91%

As with most nomads, has pretty much everything you need. Even lockers in the room. Doesn't have free wifi, again as with nomads. Free morning pancakes, free meal (needs $2 upgrade for real meal portion). Excellent location, in city heart. And close to port area and train station/bus depot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. As the team have all backpacked themselves we make a conscious effort to provide as much of what travelers need as is possible. We hope you make it back to Wellington in the future. Saoirse, Hostel manager

91%

Nice little hostel in Wellington. The hostel is close to everything, I enjoyed my stay here.


69%

One of the better Nomads in NZ. Free/discount food & drink are very good. Lounge is nice and everything works. Rooms have good beds with power points. However, lack of windows & good ventilation is terrible. Kitchen facilities are also far too small for a hostel this size (can’t store food or cook very well). Staff & Booking system need improvement as guests often have to change rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a fairly small kitchen but find that the free meal in the evening does help to alleviate some of the pressure particularly at busy times. Food storage hasn't been an issue for us so I will be sure to look into this and see if there is something more that we can be doing to help that. Hope to see you back in Wellington again. Kate, Hostel Manager

83%

It's a big chain that churns travelers through impersonally, and is also overrun with Stray/Kiwi Experience people, so it can be difficult to meet others. Doesn't give much feel for the city, but it's a fine place if you just need somewhere to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to see that you feel we are a big chain that churns through travelers. We like to think that we make an effort to spend time with and get to know our guests. We frequently arrange activity days in the hostel and the bar hosts nightly events to encourage guests to hang out and get to know one another. We do hope you make it back to the Capital in the future. Saoirse, Hostel manager

89%

You kept getting locked out of your room but the staff fixed the problem with your key. Great staff! You feel very safe and secure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great team here so I'll be sure to pass your comments onto them. We did have a fairly old key system which we were experiencing some problems with this but it is being upgraded this week (almost complete as I type this!) which will make those problems a thing of the past! Hope to see you back in Wellington again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager

80%

Good hostel, good vibe, friendly staff...all round thumbs up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back in Wellington in the future. Saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

I liked this place. No complaints really

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for you comments. I am happy to hear that you liked your stay with us. We hope to see you back in Wellington in the future. Saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager

83%

Awesome atmosphere and friendly staff! It is a dry hostel so alcohol cannot be consumed in the premises :( The bar next door is alright. They offer free dinner which is only a snack. You have to get up early to get some pancakes for breakfast. The dorm I was staying in was disgusting. Tiny window, bad smell, boiling, carpet, cheap metal beds. Had to turn on the fan the whole night. You should expect a bit more for that price. Still had a good time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about your room. This is not normally the standard to which we keep our rooms, so this is something which I will chase up with housekeeping. Hope to see you in Wellington again. saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager

(731 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback