Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Located at 38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland.
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 38 Fort Street, Downtown
68% 1331
-36.8460405 174.7682762
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
5.4

First of all, I was wondering what would happen if there was a fire. There are no sprinklers in the room with NO WINDOW. Isn't that a fire hazard? Second, we stayed the night of January 15th. The person in the room next to us talked extremely loud on his phone and to others in the room all night. They were slamming doors, and leaving lights on in the common area at night. There appears to be no information upon checkin regarding expectations for common courtesy toward other guests. Would help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.3

Really enjoyed my stay, it was a very social atmosphere and I got to make some good friends very quickly. I was only there for 2 nights and sad to leave. Other than the social aspect it could be better, you've got to pay for the wifi $4 a day or $12 a week. But you can get on the free wifi across the road but it's a pain. Free small meals (full meal $3, meal and pint $5) in the evening are great as long as they aren't cancelled. Dominoes pizza 2 mins walk away for cheap pizza.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Dec 2016
7.1

No free wifi! (And the wifi you buy there isn't very good) Great location, some really helpful friendly staff, free snack meals and deals in the bar, very secure place to stay ( although no lockers), luggage room so you can leave bags before and after check in, and two well stocked small kitchens shared on each floor. Noisy at night as the rooms are above the busy bar (which is great fun if that's what you're in Auckland for!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Dec 2016
9.1

Friendly staff during check-in, great value for money, really liked the kitchen for the dorms. :-) stayed only for one night, would book again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
4.6

The place was pretty dirty when I arrived, which was after 10pm. There was fried rice all over the kitchen, the floors didn't look swept and the washroom/shower floors were soaking wet. Not even sure why the rooms had doors since no one closed them. I'd keep waking up in the night to the room door wide open, anyone could've just walked in and taken things. Staff at the front desk seemed disinterested in being there and didn't really provide any information at check in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
6.0

Pros: Good location and pretty decent atmosphere for a NZ hostel. Cons: Only paid Wifi. Rooms and beds are laughably small. Most importantly, they say that they have security lockers but they do not. Reception can hold your stuff in the office if you ask them to but if you want to keep something safe in your room you're out of luck. I don't usually leave harsh reviews like this but I would not stay here again unless I was desperate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
4.9

Staff members at the front did not seem like they wanted to be there and their customer service skills were well below par. The bathrooms and communal spaces were rough and unclean looking and some things were obviously in bad condition. Good location to town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Oct 2016
6.0

Rude receptionist -not trying to help. No lockers in room, no windows. Wifi costs extra. The rest was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
5.7

The room was so smelly and there was no ventilation system and we went down to the reception and complained about it but they didn't do anything about. The mattresses were really thin so you feel the slats!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
7.7

It's cheaper to book online than it is to book directly with this hostel! And they have no special deals on long term stays, so you might as well always just book online. There are 2 common rooms on each floor so you don't meet everyone staying here, but only the people in the dorms next to yours. The vibe is nice though, many long term stays, and it feels like a shared flat. The internet is expensive, and not very good, but probably the same as most other hostels here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.