Hostelworld.com

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1,264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1,264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.6
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Located at 38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland.
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
New Zealand
Auckland 38 Fort Street, Downtown
64% 1264
-36.8460405 174.7682762
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2016
7.1

This place has the potential to be great- central location, friendly staff, the female dorms had a lounge/dining/kitchen area attached which made it a really social hangout. But the cleanliness aspect of the communal areas.....ouch! Grubby carpets, questionable showers- that much mould does not grow overnight. A couple of us were locked out when our key became desensitised, reception quickly fixed it.The rooms were above a nightclub, so bring your earplugs- thank god the beds were comfortable!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
4.6

This hostel is always very dirty, and the facilities are not that usable. The ratio between bathrooms to people is terrible. Only good thing is the camel bar downstairs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
4.3

Worst hostel I've stayed in. Was very dirty, beds were awful. Rooms had no windows or fans so was impossible to sleep at night. Luckily was only there one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.3

a good hostel, with a nice bar downstairs. have to pay for WiFi which is a bummer but there's a burger king down the road and internet cafe's nearby if your desperate. it's right in the middle of Auckland and near to lots of interesting things. Overall a nice hostel I would stay in again, the dinner deal is really good value for money too. only suggestion would be free WiFi :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
6.9

Hostel was split in to different little apartment type units which was strange and not as social able as other hostels as when cooking etc you only get the chance to interact with others in your 'apartment' area. However this was also a plus in that it wasn't as busy so it was easier to cook. Rooms were fine, however the lockers didn't really work. Food and drinks in the bar were cheap. The receptionist helped us organise our taxi to the airport. Overall we preferred the other nomads hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
5.1

I am not fussy in the slightest when it comes to hostels but this is one of the worst I have stayed in. The location was great but that was it. The flat area I was in was pretty disgusting, the fridge was hot, not just room temperature - actually hot! It was dirty and he bathroom was awful, flooded and hair everywhere. Massive cockroach in the room, very flat pillow and uncomfortable bed. I would not recommend staying here to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
5.7

Property needs a really good scrubbing. Quite grubby. Didn't go for a shower because it was that gross, there was about 30cm of mould growing up from the bottom of the shower curtain. Everything needed to be repainted and refurbished.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • carolenaisby501
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
6.9

Adequate for a short stay. Staff friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2016
4.9

the kitchen was disgusting, the fridge was so unclean and the facilities didn't work, which ment we ate out the whole time we were there. The toilets had no soap in them, so if people were going to the toilet then cooking, i am surprised no-one came down with a stomach bug. I heard it was supposed to be better than base, but i would have rather have gone back to base.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2016
6.9

Cheapest hostel we could find in Auckland, room with no windows. Kinda creepy and muggy, but the beds were really comfortable and clean. Staff is really cool and helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Andrea, Ha ha never heard our 4 bed no window dorms been described as creepy before :oD Glad everything else was good for you though. Have a great trip. The Fatty Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.