X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Reviews

38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1228 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Would not rexcomend - gross bathrooms, my key card kept breaking and locking me out of my room (once at 5am having gone to the bathroom) and the 'free meal for everyone' is not for everyone - out the 7 days of the week, there are a grand total of 0 vegetarian options available.


57%

No atmosphere, four rooms each containing at least 6-8 girls and one very small fridge. My first night it looked like the bathroom had not been cleaned and there was mold up the wall and on the ceiling because the fan was broken. It's fairly centrally located, real close to britomart and the harbor. Would reccomended only for a bed to sleep in.


34%

Upon getting to our rooms in the hostel, we were dissatisfied on many things. One, it hadn't been cleaned properly. The bathrooms had not been cleaned for at least two days. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The pillows were so thin they were basically non-exsistent.


91%

The staff is great. The matress are very bad they are no a real beds those beds are for a babies! The hostel need to be upgraded in all the furniture and facilities!!


49%

Location was the only good thing about this hostel. The smell in the room was awful, the beds were awful, the showers were dirty and awful and so was the kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Georgia, I'm so sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable. I can have taken up these matters with our housekeeping team and I can assure you that this will be taken care of. We really do appreciate feedback like yours as this is the only way we know if guests are unhappy and this gives us a chance to rectify the situation. Thanks again and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Nomads Fat Camel Crew

86%

Really good location, free meals on evenings, the apt there a good furniture, I could cooking my food! The only thing is not free wifi, but definitely I'd stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Mandy, Yeah unfortunately we don't have free wifi here but we have just decreased our rates to only $4 for a day and $12 for a week which I hope will help a little. Glad to hear you were happy with everything else though. Enjoy your trip buddy and hope to see you again soon. Cheers Fat Camel Crew

91%

I have stayed in this hostel for a night, it has a good location and staffs are very friendly. you can easily get around in this area. And the bed is so soft and warm especially in winter. Definitely I will stay there again if I am in Auckland

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Ramona, Nice to hear you had a warm and cosy night at The Fat Camel. Our staff love working here and I think that really shows, so glad you noticed it too. Thanks again for the great review and please be sure to come and say hi if you're ever back in Auckland. Thanks The Fat Camel Crew

71%

Need a lot of improvements and better cleanliness. The place need to be renovated very bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Gilberto, You are 100% correct buddy. The poor Fat Camel hasn't had a face lift in some time now, but we have started with this process and already painted and cleaned up 6 out of the 10 apartments that we have, so hopefully the next time you're in Auckland you'll give us another go and see what improvements have been made. Have a great trip. The Fat Camel Crew

94%

Free food is great, even with no free wifi it is the best located and has the best value of the hostels in auckland

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Riley, Really glad you enjoyed our free evening meal....and we're working on upgrading our wifi :o) Thanks for the review and have a safe trip. Nomads Fatty Crew

1 2 Next » last »
(29 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback