X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Reviews

38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1092 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Everything in the hostel looks very outdated en was extremely dirty. They "cleaned" it every day though. The room i stayed in was so small that we couldn't move around properly. Other then that the staff was great, allways helpfull and happy.


94%

Great value for money. I would stay here again anytime


94%

I loved this hostel. The common room is awesome and I love that reception is 24 hours. The separate apartments are really cool and a good idea.


40%

Bed Bugs; absolutely awful showers; 1 bathroom for 16 people; luggage room unsecure

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Benny, Thanks for placing feedback on your stay and we are devastated it did not live up to your expectations. We have had no bed bug issues at all in the room you were staying in and nothing was reported at the time or since? Our housekeeping manager has had a look through this room today and found no trace? Perhaps it was mosquitos or another type of bug? There are also bathrooms on every stairwell and I hope the staff made you aware of this.Our luggage room is locked and on the 1st floor

83%

No air conditioning. Room too warm to comfortably be in. No fans in bathrooms either, so very uncomfortable after a shower. Two lockers with broken space for a lock. Basic, workable, friendly staff, worth it given the price.


83%

I liked the apartment style layout of this hostel where there are 3-4 rooms with 2 bunks sharing a living room, kitchen with big fridge, 2 showers and 2 toilets. I think there were 2 apartments per floor. The guy at the front desk was really lively and welcoming. Didn't visit the bar but it looked decent with cheap drinks deals and a free food taster every night. Bathroom could have been slight cleaner. Great location! I stayed in 3 hostels while in Auckland and this way by far the best!


77%

I would only recommend this hostel for a short overnight stay in order to catch your bus, or for having a great night out in the city centre. The hostel has its own bar and is surrounded by bars which makes it very noisy until 3am.


94%

This is the best value for money hostel in downtown Auckland and it gets booked out pretty fast. The hostel is unique that it is actually an apartment and inside the apartment separate rooms house separate dorm. There is two common area, one is at the living room outside the room where there is also a kitchen that is only shared within that apartment so not too crowded where like other hostel all people share one kitchen. The hostel also gives out free foods at 7pm everyday at the bar.


60%

They really should warn that you're going into a windowless (and completely ventilationless) room. Who knows what you're breathing while you sleep! Gross. Luckily I only arrived at 11pm and had to leave again at 6am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hannah, Our budget rooms do not face on to the street and have windows and that is why we sell them cheaper than our other rooms. Some guests really like them as they are quieter and cosy in the winter. We are awaiting a long promised renovation of the entire hostel by the building owners which will see the end of any windowless budget rooms! Kind regards

69%

Staff were nice


77%

One of the cheapest hostels of Auckland (when I searched on internet), good location, good facilities to cook, watch tv or have a drink. But the room was quite small for 8 people, no place for the bags, and internet is not free and it's expensive.


77%

Great location, and nice atmosphere. Clean enough. Helpful and nice staff. Average facilities: small kitchen, and noisy iron beds.


63%

I forgot to tell you, when I was staying there, but I think there might have been bed bugs in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Emelie, Our housekeeping manager has had a thorough look through the room you were in and found no trace and we also have no record of anyone else being bitten in this room. Thank you for letting us know as we take these matters extremely seriously and we hope it may have just been mosquito's which do start to arrive in Auckland around October ! Kind regards

71%

The place is a bit rough around the edges but it is cheap. The staff are very helpful and is a good place to meet people.


86%

Had A really good stay here!! great hostel defiantly recommend! and free food at the bar :D


43%

Too many beds fit in to a small room, feels old and dirty, allot of things need updated for a large city hostel, there sister hostel was of a higher quality. The snack was good, it felt like they were making up for something.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Steven, Thanks for placing feedback on your stay and we are stoked you enjoyed the free snack meal in the evenings! You are right in that the Fat Camel is our budget Auckland property with our newer hostel located just down the street giving people an option. We are awaiting a long promised renovation of the hostel by the building owners which should see a completely new look hostel! Kind regards

74%

Small room but nice hostel


37%

The hostel was conveniently placed near the bus stop but it was a dodgy area surrounded by strip clubs, escorts, and homeless people. The entire first floor smelled like cigarettes because the door to the street was always open. The bunk beds moved and squeaked with every breath and the mattresses were lumpy and uncomfortable. The kitchen area was small and full of old, unlabelled food. The bathrooms were gross. The living area was uncomfortable and smelly. Avoid at all costs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Katy, Thanks for placing feedback on your stay and we are devastated you did not enjoy the experience. Fort St is in the middle of a transformation from the dodgy area of town to the trendy hub with new restaurants, bars and attractions. You will be happy to know that one of our dodgy neighbours has closed since your stay which has taken care of a lot of the noise and characters you talk about. We wish you happy travels!

54%

The kitchens need a makeover. We found no frying pan that was complete. We did not use the fridge, but if we had done that we would have been disappointed. Everything was a mess in there. The rooms were really packed with beds and no power sockets. The staff was nonchalant towards us. It was cheep but this was the only thing that was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rasmus, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are disapointed it did not meet all of your expectations. The entire building is being promised a renovation by the owners which unfortunately keeps getting delayed and will take care of most of the things you mention. We do cutlery audits of the hostel every month and replace what is needed and our staff are usually rated really highly but I will look into both of these points! Kind regards

83%

The staff was seriously excellent! We didn't arrive until after 11pm, and the guy working the desk was so friendly and helpful. Super close to bars and nightlife, so great if you want to go out. Rooms and bathrooms average, but good value for money.


(44 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback