X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Reviews

38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
959 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Large comin areas on each level with kitchen.


66%

Too big. No place to chill and meet people staying there except the bar. Clean

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Cheap, nice staff and nice location, but unclean, untidy ficailities and the beds are terrible.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Damian, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed the staff and location. The Camel building is getting old now and is awaiting a long promised renovation by the building owners which will see brand new facilities and beds as well as the bar and exterior! Kind regards Nemo

77%

Good location except for the prostitutes, but cheap and get ur own kitchen. Would stay here again if on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at The Fat Camel and I had to laugh at your review. We are hoping the business next door does close down soon which is looking likely and Fort St in general is really cleaned up and looking great. We would love to have you stay with us again! Kind regards Nemo

77%

Great location for access to the city, 2 minute walk from Queen street and the waterfront. Situated next door to a 'massage' parlour and gentlemen's clubs, so if u turn your nose up to that, don't stay here. It is as described, a party hostel, so it's loud at night and people coming in all night, but u get what you pay for and the free snack meal is a nice touch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed the location and the free snack meal. Fort St is being redeveloped and nearly all the 'late night' operators are now gone which is great with one of those you mentioned not to far away from closing down also which is great. WE would love to have you stay with us again if you are passing through Auckland! Kind regards Nemo

80%

The location was amazing.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Linus, Thank you fort taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards Nemo

51%

We walked in to a kitchen that smelt like urine, the fridge was sticky and the paint was coming off the walls. The room looked slightly better but the mattresses were awful and the secure lockers were all broken. The 'free WiFi' was only available from the shop next door so you had to stand outside to get it. This was one of the 1st hostels I stayed at and comfortably the worst.

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

this is a party hostel, don't come on weekends if want to have a good night sleep, and see your room fisrt. Some rooms don't have a window, you will not be a able to sleep. No free Internet.. Bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hamarneh, You are correct in that the Fat Camel is our budget, more social hostel and that we do have some rooms without a window. These are the budget rooms and are priced accordingly. The reception staff should have let you know we offer 30 minutes free daily WIFI at our Mad Travel Shop located just down the road! If not I apologise KInd regards Nemo

23%

Awful. Dorm had no windows. It was loud and dirty. Mattress was slim and soft, the metal of the bunkbed was hurting my hip. Do not stay there.


54%

We had a double room without windows and the toilet and especially the shower was crappy. But the location is great!


86%

It was great, such good value for money, I would definitely recommend it!

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Party Hostel! If you are looking for a wild backpacker hostel with clean rooms and decent facilities this is your place. Staff are cool. Only problem is the internet scheme is ridiculous. $3 for 1 hour? C'mon!


97%

Absolute brilliant

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel in the city centre. The original set up of each hallway having a kitchen is really great and feels like an appartment.


1 2 Next » last »
(34 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback