X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Reviews

38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1056 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The place is a bit rough around the edges but it is cheap. The staff are very helpful and is a good place to meet people.


86%

Had A really good stay here!! great hostel defiantly recommend! and free food at the bar :D


43%

Too many beds fit in to a small room, feels old and dirty, allot of things need updated for a large city hostel, there sister hostel was of a higher quality. The snack was good, it felt like they were making up for something.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Steven, Thanks for placing feedback on your stay and we are stoked you enjoyed the free snack meal in the evenings! You are right in that the Fat Camel is our budget Auckland property with our newer hostel located just down the street giving people an option. We are awaiting a long promised renovation of the hostel by the building owners which should see a completely new look hostel! Kind regards

74%

Small room but nice hostel


37%

The hostel was conveniently placed near the bus stop but it was a dodgy area surrounded by strip clubs, escorts, and homeless people. The entire first floor smelled like cigarettes because the door to the street was always open. The bunk beds moved and squeaked with every breath and the mattresses were lumpy and uncomfortable. The kitchen area was small and full of old, unlabelled food. The bathrooms were gross. The living area was uncomfortable and smelly. Avoid at all costs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Katy, Thanks for placing feedback on your stay and we are devastated you did not enjoy the experience. Fort St is in the middle of a transformation from the dodgy area of town to the trendy hub with new restaurants, bars and attractions. You will be happy to know that one of our dodgy neighbours has closed since your stay which has taken care of a lot of the noise and characters you talk about. We wish you happy travels!

54%

The kitchens need a makeover. We found no frying pan that was complete. We did not use the fridge, but if we had done that we would have been disappointed. Everything was a mess in there. The rooms were really packed with beds and no power sockets. The staff was nonchalant towards us. It was cheep but this was the only thing that was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rasmus, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are disapointed it did not meet all of your expectations. The entire building is being promised a renovation by the owners which unfortunately keeps getting delayed and will take care of most of the things you mention. We do cutlery audits of the hostel every month and replace what is needed and our staff are usually rated really highly but I will look into both of these points! Kind regards

83%

The staff was seriously excellent! We didn't arrive until after 11pm, and the guy working the desk was so friendly and helpful. Super close to bars and nightlife, so great if you want to go out. Rooms and bathrooms average, but good value for money.


83%

Good, cheap place to stay in Auckland. Nice staff, nothing to complain about


86%

noisy bar and music directly under dorms .staff great.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

One of the staff( Called G) was texting While i was tried to speak to her. She FIRST answered after she was done texting.. So rude!!! The double room was like Being in prison. No Windows. The pay for thise rooms are not fair. Offer a Much lover Price for that bad room!!! The kitchen was nasty. People don't clean up after Themself. The kitchen was Way to small. You could only cook one person. The kitchen smelled because there was no Windows either. So bad hostel. DONT GO THERE

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel does exactly what it says on the tin! Although not the cleanest or most welcoming, it is perfectly placed in the centre of Auckland and has everything a backpacker needs plus a decent bar/nightlife.


86%

We only stayed for one night but I think the apartment layout would be good if you were staying longer term. Double room OK size, bathrooms a little small. Excellent location, close to main street and airport bus stop. Free (small) evening meal is a bonus. Staff friendly and allowed us to check in early with no extra charge.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

A little worn around the edges but still good for the money, plus free small meals each night

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was alright, definitely bang for your buck because it's not to expensive. Isn't to much going on, I only stayed there for 1 night but it didn't seem to lively (could of course be because I wasn't there long enough) Facilities and rooms are alright, beds are not to great but it works. Has a bar downstairs with FIFA World Cup matches and $10,- great breakfast which was good.


91%

Staff were great and very helpful. Great backpackers


77%

Cheap convenient hostel with good location. I wouldn't stay more than 1-2 nights.


89%

I like the location.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The camel's team was awesome !!! I stayed there for a while and they we're really friendly and helpful ! They became more than staff but friends. It was cool to feel like home. I will highly recommend this hostel for backpackers.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Should have free wifi at the hostel


69%

Stay in the all female dorm was much better than previous stay in mixed.


(700 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback