Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
Nomads Melbourne Located at 196-198 A'Beckett st., , Melbourne.
Nomads Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 196-198 A'Beckett st.
76% 1476
-37.8100890 144.9573898
Nomads Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Alex_TZ102
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic people, high quality service. Thank you and will come stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Our stay was great- the room was clean and had snuggly blankets. ^_^ The people working reception were very helpful with tips on things to do around town. They had free unlimited pancakes in the morning and in prime location. My favorite part in the hostel was the rooftop lounge. Definitely recommended =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Very clean. Easy to meet new people. Very nicely located to experience melbourne

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel!! All the staff are super friendly and I was upgraded to a 6 share with a bathroom from a 10 share. There was something fun in the bar every night, great atmosphere to meet others, especially if you're travelling alone. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming Melbourne way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
4.3

The most unsociable hostel I have ever been to, most people staying there seem to be long termers who aren't interested in talking to anyone outside of their already established groups. The kitchen is tiny and almost impossible to cook in once there's more than 5 people in there and there's also hardly any spaces for eating unless you want to sit outside in the cold. Very disappointed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There We're terribly sorry that you felt the hostel was unsocial in any way, this is definitely not our intention. We do host evening activities every night to encourage travellers meeting, we are sorry to hear that these were not fitting for you. Apologies for the kitchen, it can get a little crowded during peak periods, it's something we are working on. We're very sorry that you felt disappointed with your stay here, even after the free upgrade to an 8 share dormitory from the 14 share. If you choose to come back this way, please let us know as we'd love to make your stay more memorable Regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Great atmosphere in lounge/bar area - met some fantastic people. Loved the $6 jars. All staff friendly and helpful. Lack of 24 hour free wifi throughout the hostel was a downer, and the addition of bedside lights would be good so you don't get woken at midnight by a light going on right above your face when someone comes in. Would recommend :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the rad review!! So glad you enjoyed your stay here!! We've taken your recommendation on board about the bedside lights and are looking for quotes on such, thanks for the great idea. Please come back and visit again Regards Management

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

Excellent as always, thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the rad review bro, pleasure to have you here Hope to see you back some time soon!! Cheers, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
3.7

Everything is disgusting. Dirty rooms and kitchen..yes, with food all over the floor which no one cleans. Also dirty dishes, most of the guests don't wash them, and not enough forks and spoons for everyone. Very little space inside, where the bar and noisy music is, so if you want to eat quietly you'll have to do it outside in the cold. Also terrible bathrooms, with a horrible smell and cold water! Staff is quite helpfull, but I think no one is in charge of cleaning in that place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your time in reviewing us here. We have taken your points very seriously and have looked into the cause for such. We have a brand new team of housekeepers and we feel the place is looking much better, so if you wish to come back we'd love to make your stay a memorable one. We hope your travels are going well and that you are enjoying yourself Many Thanks and Best Wishes The Nomads Melbourne Team

  • jimb11778353
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
4.0

3/4 of the ground floor is taken up by the bar so kitchen is absolutely tiny & most of the equipment is dirty. There's very little room to eat too, again because of the room the bar takes up. The 'free' WiFi is slow and only accessible for 12hrs during the day when most people are out; and they annoyingly change the password daily. Most of the cleaners are also guests so the quality is poor - especially in bathrooms, which are very basic. No surfaces, so everything has to go on the dirty floor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for your time in reviewing Nomads Melbourne We've taken your feedback very seriously and have seen to the issues of cleanliness thoroughly. We don't mean to annoy people with the change of password for the wifi, it simply stops outsiders from stealing what the guests pay for, but we apologise for such. We also limit the wifi to encourage the events that we host daily and to encourage travellers conversing and meeting one another. If this wasn't for you then there is always the internet cards for sale at the front desk We hope this reaches you safely and that you travels are going well. Many thanks The Nomads Melbourne Team

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
7.7

Being a first time packpacker. ..I find it interesting but the first nite was terrible. .our booking somehow got mix-up...sharing with another guy...the next two days turns out fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the time in reviewing us Sorry that you found the first night unsatisfactory, but I'm glad we were able to turn this around for you. We hope you have been well and wish to see you back here in the future some time. Many Thanks The Nomads Melbourne Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.