Hostelworld.com

Nomads Melbourne

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
Nomads Melbourne Located at 196-198 A'Beckett st., , Melbourne.
Nomads Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 196-198 A'Beckett st.
74% 1467
-37.8100890 144.9573898
Nomads Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel!! All the staff are super friendly and I was upgraded to a 6 share with a bathroom from a 10 share. There was something fun in the bar every night, great atmosphere to meet others, especially if you're travelling alone. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming Melbourne way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
4.3

The most unsociable hostel I have ever been to, most people staying there seem to be long termers who aren't interested in talking to anyone outside of their already established groups. The kitchen is tiny and almost impossible to cook in once there's more than 5 people in there and there's also hardly any spaces for eating unless you want to sit outside in the cold. Very disappointed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There We're terribly sorry that you felt the hostel was unsocial in any way, this is definitely not our intention. We do host evening activities every night to encourage travellers meeting, we are sorry to hear that these were not fitting for you. Apologies for the kitchen, it can get a little crowded during peak periods, it's something we are working on. We're very sorry that you felt disappointed with your stay here, even after the free upgrade to an 8 share dormitory from the 14 share. If you choose to come back this way, please let us know as we'd love to make your stay more memorable Regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Great atmosphere in lounge/bar area - met some fantastic people. Loved the $6 jars. All staff friendly and helpful. Lack of 24 hour free wifi throughout the hostel was a downer, and the addition of bedside lights would be good so you don't get woken at midnight by a light going on right above your face when someone comes in. Would recommend :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the rad review!! So glad you enjoyed your stay here!! We've taken your recommendation on board about the bedside lights and are looking for quotes on such, thanks for the great idea. Please come back and visit again Regards Management

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

Excellent as always, thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the rad review bro, pleasure to have you here Hope to see you back some time soon!! Cheers, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
3.7

Everything is disgusting. Dirty rooms and kitchen..yes, with food all over the floor which no one cleans. Also dirty dishes, most of the guests don't wash them, and not enough forks and spoons for everyone. Very little space inside, where the bar and noisy music is, so if you want to eat quietly you'll have to do it outside in the cold. Also terrible bathrooms, with a horrible smell and cold water! Staff is quite helpfull, but I think no one is in charge of cleaning in that place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your time in reviewing us here. We have taken your points very seriously and have looked into the cause for such. We have a brand new team of housekeepers and we feel the place is looking much better, so if you wish to come back we'd love to make your stay a memorable one. We hope your travels are going well and that you are enjoying yourself Many Thanks and Best Wishes The Nomads Melbourne Team

  • jimb11778353
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
4.0

3/4 of the ground floor is taken up by the bar so kitchen is absolutely tiny & most of the equipment is dirty. There's very little room to eat too, again because of the room the bar takes up. The 'free' WiFi is slow and only accessible for 12hrs during the day when most people are out; and they annoyingly change the password daily. Most of the cleaners are also guests so the quality is poor - especially in bathrooms, which are very basic. No surfaces, so everything has to go on the dirty floor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for your time in reviewing Nomads Melbourne We've taken your feedback very seriously and have seen to the issues of cleanliness thoroughly. We don't mean to annoy people with the change of password for the wifi, it simply stops outsiders from stealing what the guests pay for, but we apologise for such. We also limit the wifi to encourage the events that we host daily and to encourage travellers conversing and meeting one another. If this wasn't for you then there is always the internet cards for sale at the front desk We hope this reaches you safely and that you travels are going well. Many thanks The Nomads Melbourne Team

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
7.7

Being a first time packpacker. ..I find it interesting but the first nite was terrible. .our booking somehow got mix-up...sharing with another guy...the next two days turns out fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the time in reviewing us Sorry that you found the first night unsatisfactory, but I'm glad we were able to turn this around for you. We hope you have been well and wish to see you back here in the future some time. Many Thanks The Nomads Melbourne Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2016
6.3

The bathroom had blood on it and was really dirty. The sheets smelt and the comforter had obviously never been washed. The bar and prices are decent. Location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review and we really appreciate your feedback. The cleanliness issues have been taken on board and dealt with. I hope we can see you in the future some time and show you a better time. All the best and good luck with your travels The Nomads Melbourne Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
3.4

Bullet points of all the things that were wrong. -Extremely poor staff (like talking to a brick wall) -Suspected theft from housekeepers. -Moved rooms 3 times for no reason, do not understand why had to move us. - Messing us around as wanted to stay long term but because of poor staff and were not very helpful decided to take our finances elsewhere. -Really loud outside due to roadworks in the middle of the night. -Very small kitchen and not a lot of places to eat food. Absolute Joke!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the time in reviewing us, we appreciate your bullet points. Some times we have to move people rooms in the case of others booking out entire dorms and pre-booking this before in house guests extend, we apologise for this discomfort. As we explained at the time, we took your group's missing items very seriously and did everything we could to locate them by searching lost and found, our security cameras and the 'suspected housekeepers'. Sorry that they never turned up Furthermore, we apologise for the noise of the roadworks, we could have easily moved you room but I imagine this would not have been to your liking. I recommend talking to Melbourne City Council if you wish to make a formal statement regarding the levels of noise. Wishing you a safe and enjoyable time in Aus The Nomads Melbourne Team

7th Apr 2016
7.1

Free pancakes are actually every day from 8-10 am, but don't expect them to be ready or even set up at 8. Free wifi is supposed to be from 8am-8pm, but the person who has the code wasn't there by 8 and isn't there on weekends so you'll have to ask someone else. The room I was in was disgusting - there were dirty dishes with old food on them and open packages of snacks, in addition to everyone's stuff strewn everywhere. Carpet looked like it was never cleaned. The lockers are tiny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Legend Thanks for the review, appreciate your time We've taken your review very seriously and have taken steps to ensure the unsatisfactory elements do not occur again. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and wish to make your next experience even better, so please let us know if you wish to return Cheers The Nomads Melbourne Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.