Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,619 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,619 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.2
Nomads Melbourne Located at 196-198 A'Beckett st., , Melbourne.
Nomads Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 196-198 A'Beckett st.
77% 1619
-37.8100890 144.9573898
Nomads Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Nice hostel. Good location. Clean room and clean bathrooms. The kitchen was very small, with only one sink so was very busy at popular times. My room was right above the outside courtyard so at times it was very loud in the evenings. Would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location, short walk to the middle of the city and about 20 min walk to the Yarra River and trendy Fitzroy. Great atmosphere, good entertainment. Felt really safe. Rooms were clean but very hot and stuffy when the weather was hot. Bathrooms also in a good state. Nice beer garden and bar area. Negatives: some (not all) long term residents and workers were extremely unfriendly to travellers, appearing cocky, miserable and unhelpful. And the kitchen smelt horrendous - very unpleasant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
3.7

Horrible hostel, room was filthy and hot. Showers were dirty and grimy. Staff were quite helpful but this didn't make up for the horrible room we stayed in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.9

Staff we super friendly, the room and bathroom very clean. Short walk or free tram into central. So all in all great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

Had a really good stay there. Staff were friendly and helpful and lots of travellers so meeting people was easy. Dorm rooms were spacious and kept tidy. Kitchen may be a little small so avoid at peak meal times and some residents wouldn't clean what they used which is annoying. Not the hostels fault though although maybe measures should be taken to ensure people do clean after themselves. Free pancakes each morning was a bonus also. I would happily stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
3.7

The staff where unhelpful when I was checking in as the system had changed since my last stay at nomads and was just told it's over there I was not the only person she spoke like this either, I was in a 10 dorm which looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks there was a lot of stuff that people had left behind and no one had cleaned it up at all under the beds looked like they hadn't seen a Hoover forever the staff just shrugged there shoulders when told, both fans where broken as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
5.4

Staff and location amazing. What's really lacks is social interaction, unless you are already have friends expect for hard work. Kitchen is tiny! Way too small for how big a hostel and no aircon in kitchen and rooms + no fans in a very humid Australia. It's not awful but you certainly don't want to stay long if your a solo traveler.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
5.7

Hostel was okay, nothing special. Not much atmosphere going on, not much of way to intergrate with others especially from other countries like it is with others. Cleanliness of the showers and toilets were par. Always the odd strand of hair somewhere and always seemed to be flooded. The beds were squeaky as hell and if you moved a little bit on the top or bottom bunk the whole bunk bed would move massively and most likely wake up the other person. Had to listen to one girl getting fingered one n

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.0

Overall an OK Hostel. If I were to stay in Melbourne again I would certainly look at other options. Staff were generally just people who were staying in the hostel as opposed to actual trained staff. The rooms have minimal secure space for baggage. No aircons in the rooms, which in Australia is hard to believe(it's hot here in summer, like really really hot). One small elevator for 5 floors.. takes quite a long time. They do offer carparking for $10 per night which is very reasonable in Melb.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • canadianray
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
4.3

I was super disappointed with this hostel. Probably one of the dirtiest I've stayed at, considering what we paid for it. Rooms were insanely hot, bathrooms/showers were disgusting, front desk workers were rude and disinterested in anyone other than the long term stayers. Rooftop deck was chill, bar was reasonably priced. Wouldn't stay here again though!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so disappointed that you were not happy with our hostel. Bathrooms and showers are cleaned by professionals every day. We are exceptionally disappointed with the rating you have given our staff. This is something that we take very seriously and as you can see from all of our other comments, people are normally more than happy with our service and their friendliness. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.