Hostelworld.com

Nomads Melbourne

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
4.3

The only good thing about this hostel is the location. The customer service is awful, I got stuck in the hostel lift for over 1 hr when it broke down and not one member of staff apologised, let alone ask me if I was ok. The room door was broken so could never close it, key didn't work. Always a massive queue at reception and staff were not very friendly. kitchen is tiny, full of mouldy good. heard other guests talking about bookings not processed properly for shuttle buses etc. Don't recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we do remember you getting stuck in our lift, which must have been terrible. We also remember our housekeeping supervisor speaking with you multiple times to make sure that you were okay. Reception staff called the lift company multiple times to try and get them come out as soon as possible. Once you were let out of the lift, you did not come down to the reception desk or to management, thus making it quite difficult for us to offer you any sort of compensation. Management does room checks every day and we have still not noticed which broken door that you are speaking about, it is much easier for us to fix issues if you report it to us. The issue with the shuttle bus was the guest demanding a refund even though they had not purchased a ticket with us, thus making it impossible for us to refund anything to them. Enjoy the rest of your travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
6.3

There was one fan in a room, and it was broken to move left and right. So, I had to use my blanket to block the fan. Next morning, I moved to another room and that was okay, but still only one fan for 8 people! This is kind of a party hostel, there is a pub under the rooms so sometimes it's noisy. Great location but really small kitchen and dining area. For Wifi you need to fill the tour form to their kind of travel agency. In the night, Wifi is not free. So, I never used for 5 days.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving a review. As stated on the hostelworld website we offer free wifi in selected areas at selected time. We do have a great bar with lots of fun games and activities to get involved in. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
3.4

The room disgusting and not accessible through the elevator. It was in an old section of the building.There was a toilet next to the room but through my entire stay I wasn't able to use a soap as there was none even though i had been asking the staff the entire week for several times a DAY.The sheets were also not very clean and had stains on them. I took a peak into the kitchen and that was enough to make me decide NOT to cook in there. I have stayed in a few other nomads but this was the worst

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving a review! Sorry to hear that you felt that our rooms were not up to your standards, this is so disappointing to hear. Our rooms are cleaned every day by our lovely housekeeping team and sheets can be changed on request of the guest. We really hope that you get a chance to stay with us again soon to see that we are actually one of the best Nomads properties in Australia!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.7

Room was ok. Staff was great! Atmosphere was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so glad that you think our staff are as awesome as we do! We really hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

Great atmosphere and centrally located just off Queen Street, would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Woohoo! We're glad you liked us. We hope to see you again here soon :-) Cheers, Georgia

17th Jan 2017
8.3

Good location and nice big dorms, the 6 bed was huge! A good bar downstairs and security was perfect. Kitchen was a bit small and oddly located. I usually avoid nomads/base, but would stay here again for sure. Probably the best nomads I've been to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gosh! What a compliment. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you feel. We really hope you come and join us again here at Nomads Melbourne :-) Cheers, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
6.0

The rooms were good, the toilet and bathrooms were good, the kitchen was far too small, it was a very noisey place because of the music played at a ridiculous levels and there were no quiet rooms. This was my worst experince in six weeks. The five previous weeks were in New Zealand where I stayed in many YHAs and bakpacker establishments

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thanks for giving us some feedback. We are more notoriously known as a party hostel, which maybe wasn't what you were after. We hope you still enjoyed Melbourne as a city :-) Cheers, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Nice hostel. Good location. Clean room and clean bathrooms. The kitchen was very small, with only one sink so was very busy at popular times. My room was right above the outside courtyard so at times it was very loud in the evenings. Would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day! Thanks for leaving us a review. We're glad that you'd like to come back and stay with us again! Cheers, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location, short walk to the middle of the city and about 20 min walk to the Yarra River and trendy Fitzroy. Great atmosphere, good entertainment. Felt really safe. Rooms were clean but very hot and stuffy when the weather was hot. Bathrooms also in a good state. Nice beer garden and bar area. Negatives: some (not all) long term residents and workers were extremely unfriendly to travellers, appearing cocky, miserable and unhelpful. And the kitchen smelt horrendous - very unpleasant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I'm really surprised that you found (some of) our staff unfriendly. Would you be able to send me an email to elaborate on who it was in particular that made you feel that way? My email is Georgia@nomadsmelbourne.com. We hope you come back again and give us another shot! Cheers, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2017
3.7

Horrible hostel, room was filthy and hot. Showers were dirty and grimy. Staff were quite helpful but this didn't make up for the horrible room we stayed in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, We appreciate you took the time to leave us a review. We really apologise for how awful your stay was - did you contact management? If you would like to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations please contact me on Georgia@nomadsmelbourne.com. Cheers, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.