Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.0

My stay was great. Other than a few roommate issues but the staff was very helpful in fixing the issue to make my stay better. A main reason for booking at nomads was for the bar but when we arrived it was under repairs so it would have been nice to know it was not open online. It also would have been nice if it was clear that to watch movies in the cinema you needed your own laptop. Beds were squeaky. Otherwise the stay was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day! We are glad that you found our staff helpful. Apologies about the bar, we hope to have it opened by the end of this month, we hope that you get the chance to come and see it!

29th Jul 2017
6.3

I booked a 4 bed and the room was not available. I had to stay in a 10 bed. The room was stinky. Looks like a 200years old cheese was inside of the room. Also lockers are too small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day! Apologies about your booking, unfortunately you and someone else booked out our last 4 share dorm at the same time. Luckily we had a spare bed for you to stay in. The lockers are for any valuables such as passports, phones and laptops. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2017
7.7

Wi-Fi it's so bad and the cleanliness as well The rest it's good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.6

Great location, close to tram stops, shops etc. The kitchen is tiny. Any more than 4 people trying to cook it's cramped. Beds were usual hostel squeaky and uncomfortable. But clean. Staff were helpful and could give you the run down of the basics, didn't felt they were too bothered beyond that. It was always clean and tidy, and showers were warm. Essentially, a pretty standard Nomads.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a review. We understand our Kitchen is tidy, but we do offer free tea, pasta, rice, coffee & sugar to all guests; as well as free pancakes every morning. We hope you come back & join us again :) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

17th Jul 2017
8.3

The whole place was clean, warm and comfy, rooms were decent and comfortable beds - loved that there were doonas/duvets! There wasn't much atmosphere and people seemed to keep to themselves but it is winter so I imagine it'd be more lively in summer. Really appreciated the free pancakes for breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for leaving us such a great review. We're really glad you enjoyed yourself here and we hope you come back in Summer! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

13th Jul 2017
8.6

Good hostel, only stayed one night so can't speak for the facilities really. Private room was big and clean, nice bathroom and good location. Found having to check in on Tipi really annoying, but other than that all good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your one night stay with us. I've passed on your comments regarding using Tipi to check in to our Head Office :) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

4th Jul 2017
8.9

It was annoying how everyday I had to get my key card fixed because it kept deactivating. Wifi wasn't working well either. But otherwise the stay was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We're sorry that your card kept on deactivating. Sometimes this happens due to keeping your keycard too close to your credit cards or phone. I've taken on your comments regarding the WiFi - was this the free WiFi or the $4 per day unlimited WiFi that you had issues with? We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • gmanrobbins4732
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

Great place. Friendly and helpful staff !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • lisa4279
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.9

Free WiFi is limited which is ridiculous.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for your review! Not many people know what the 'S' in Hostel stands for - it's for Social. That's why we turn off our WiFi at 7pm! To get all you travel bugs swapping stories, numbers and cooties and getting a real feel for travelling. We do offer premium unlimited WiFi for $4 for 24 hours if you absolutely cannot part with your phone which you can purchase at Reception. Best wishes & safe travels! Georgia

  • trudge89
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
7.7

Nice enough room. Had an issue with food going missing and there being no cameras in the area with all the fridges. The downstairs bathroom as well as the kitchen were always a mess which made it really difficult to cook. Only part of the jobs worked in the kitchen. I actually had to go get a lighter most of the time as only 2 jobs actually worked properly. Very very loud in the middle of the night. The staff were super friendly and helpful with everything. Loved the USB plugs in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and will find out why our hobs aren't working - they've only been replaced recently so should be in fine working order. The cleanliness of the bathrooms & kitchen have been noted, although they are cleaned 5 times a day by staff. Unfortunately it's usually other guests that make a mess of the kitchen in the mean time which makes it difficult to cook. We're really glad you found our staff friendly! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.