Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1733 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1733 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lisa4279
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.9

Free WiFi is limited which is ridiculous.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trudge89
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
7.7

Nice enough room. Had an issue with food going missing and there being no cameras in the area with all the fridges. The downstairs bathroom as well as the kitchen were always a mess which made it really difficult to cook. Only part of the jobs worked in the kitchen. I actually had to go get a lighter most of the time as only 2 jobs actually worked properly. Very very loud in the middle of the night. The staff were super friendly and helpful with everything. Loved the USB plugs in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
7.7

The rooms were clean, however, we were advised that the duvet covers were not washed after used midway through our stay. Very lazy on the hostels part I must admit. Otherwise, a decent hostel with a good location. Be sure to check out the possums in Flagstaff Park not far from Nomads. Best time to go is at night, they're all over the place!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2017
5.7

There was no quiet in the evening.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
5.7

THE GOOD: Friendly staff. Free pancakes every morning is a nice touch. THE BAD: Squeaky beds. Lockers are small (won't fit your laptop). THE UGLY: The floor I was on only had one toilet to share with two 14-bed rooms, you can imagine what that looked like! Carpets smell of feet. No working heating/cooling in the room I was in. You get what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for the review. We love hearing feedback from Guests. We're glad you enjoyed our free pancakes and lovely staff. Regarding the cleanliness and maintenance issues I've passed these on to my General Manager to action. We did want to mention however, that we only have the one 14 share dorm that has two bathrooms located in the room, and one bathroom located outside in the hallway. We apologise that the heating wasn't working in your room, we've had our Air Conditioning provider come out and fix any issues we had so this will not be a problem any more. We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.6

Generally okay. Though, I've got to say, it was a bit smelly. Not just in the dorms, but the hallways as well. Other travelers were nice. But the drunks on the street (who were also staying in the hostel) were so loud at like 3am, and we couldn't close the window due to the smell. Everything else was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had an okay time with us. I've passed on your messages of the rooms & hallway smelling - this is unacceptable for your stay and for that we are sorry. Regarding the drunks making noise - please always feel free to come downstairs and tell our Receptionist to move them on as it shouldn't have effected your stay. I hope you come back and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

13th Apr 2017
8.6

Pretty good hostel in a good location for Melbourne. Near the action and all the sights but on a quieter road that's not as busy as Flinders. All the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful, and the ambience is nice and upbeat. Nice sitting areas to chill out in. Kitchen is very small and not conducive for a lot of people at once. Dorm room was very small, felt like they crammed too much in because the door always hit the bunk. Noise from downstairs bar very loud at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you found our location and staff 10/10! Although we are more of a party hostel, our Bar shouldn't have affected your sleep so for that we are sorry. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Only one thing that bothered me was a very tiny bathroom, thats all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2017
7.4

This hostel is definitely a party hostel! If your looking for some more quiet time then a 4 bed is worth investing in. The hostel in general is dirty, the bathrooms aren't the cleanest. But my 4 bed room was clean and comfortable for a few nights. It's a good place to stay as your so close to the centre and all the free trams are in walking distance. Free pancakes in the morning are a bonus! Staff are helpful with information and get the party going in the bar. Overall a good place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Great location, was lucky enough to be given an upgrade too which was ace! The bar was cool and offered free food most nights which was good as the kitchen was a little on the small side. GREAT live music on the Friday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such an ACE review :D We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.