Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1724 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1724 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th May 2017
5.7

THE GOOD: Friendly staff. Free pancakes every morning is a nice touch. THE BAD: Squeaky beds. Lockers are small (won't fit your laptop). THE UGLY: The floor I was on only had one toilet to share with two 14-bed rooms, you can imagine what that looked like! Carpets smell of feet. No working heating/cooling in the room I was in. You get what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for the review. We love hearing feedback from Guests. We're glad you enjoyed our free pancakes and lovely staff. Regarding the cleanliness and maintenance issues I've passed these on to my General Manager to action. We did want to mention however, that we only have the one 14 share dorm that has two bathrooms located in the room, and one bathroom located outside in the hallway. We apologise that the heating wasn't working in your room, we've had our Air Conditioning provider come out and fix any issues we had so this will not be a problem any more. We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.6

Generally okay. Though, I've got to say, it was a bit smelly. Not just in the dorms, but the hallways as well. Other travelers were nice. But the drunks on the street (who were also staying in the hostel) were so loud at like 3am, and we couldn't close the window due to the smell. Everything else was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had an okay time with us. I've passed on your messages of the rooms & hallway smelling - this is unacceptable for your stay and for that we are sorry. Regarding the drunks making noise - please always feel free to come downstairs and tell our Receptionist to move them on as it shouldn't have effected your stay. I hope you come back and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

13th Apr 2017
8.6

Pretty good hostel in a good location for Melbourne. Near the action and all the sights but on a quieter road that's not as busy as Flinders. All the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful, and the ambience is nice and upbeat. Nice sitting areas to chill out in. Kitchen is very small and not conducive for a lot of people at once. Dorm room was very small, felt like they crammed too much in because the door always hit the bunk. Noise from downstairs bar very loud at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you found our location and staff 10/10! Although we are more of a party hostel, our Bar shouldn't have affected your sleep so for that we are sorry. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2017
7.4

This hostel is definitely a party hostel! If your looking for some more quiet time then a 4 bed is worth investing in. The hostel in general is dirty, the bathrooms aren't the cleanest. But my 4 bed room was clean and comfortable for a few nights. It's a good place to stay as your so close to the centre and all the free trams are in walking distance. Free pancakes in the morning are a bonus! Staff are helpful with information and get the party going in the bar. Overall a good place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Great location, was lucky enough to be given an upgrade too which was ace! The bar was cool and offered free food most nights which was good as the kitchen was a little on the small side. GREAT live music on the Friday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such an ACE review :D We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
5.1

Overall very disappointed with nomads. Location and facilities the only thing going for it really, found the staff to be quite rude and not particularly helpful. Theres no need for the check in ipad service a pain in the arse to be honest. got the feeling that the hostel was just there to make money from you charging five dollars for a towel and six dollars to do a wash. The carpet in the room was ripped and the mattress was very soft felt like I was falling through the bed. wont be back!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for leaving a review, we take all comments, good and bad, and try to improve our property. Our aim is to accommodate the traveller, we want our property to be like a home to those staying with us. Management has taken on board all of your comments. If you would like to take this further then please feel free to call the hostel and ask to speak to management. If not, then we hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

15th Mar 2017
7.7

The staff are hit and miss. There is a clique that is hard to penetrate and I, as a solo traveler, felt a little bit as an outsider. The hostel was clean and the facilities were nice. The kitchen is very small. There is free wifi downstairs that is sorta spotty but there is no wifi in the rooms (unless you pay). The bar area is cool and there are some cool events like beer pond and trivia on certain nights. Seems like quite a party place so if you're into that then it's good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sad to hear you felt like an outsider as we really strive on getting people involved and having a great time. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay regardless of this - and if you ever come back let me know - there'll be a beer and a friend waiting for you at the bar! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.6

The bar in the hostel is good for meeting other travellers and has daily events. Kitchen was very small for the size of the hostel. Rooms were kind of stuffy and crowded. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review. We know our Kitchen is on the tiny side, so we offer free pancakes every morning as well as tea, coffee, sugar, rice and pasta. We're also hopefully upgrading our kitchen soon and we hope you come back and see it! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
6.6

Travel desk staff were very helpful but late both days I was there. I arrived and there here was a blanket and a pillow with pillow case on my bed but no sheets. Staff brought sheets but did not replace pillow case. Rooms needed to be vaccumed. Lockers were more just cubbies, they weren't very big but you could lock them if you brought your own lock. Bathrooms did not have shelves to set things on which made getting ready a little difficult. Bar/lounge made it easy to meet other travelers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We're glad that you found our travel staff friendly. We've passed on your messages about cleanliness to our Housekeeping manager. We're sorry that we failed you on this, and we hope you come back to Nomads Melbourne so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.9

Good room sizes, small cupboard to lock away valies. Really clean bathroom & toilets on our floor (5th). Good lovely atmosphere downstairs, not too pricey bar and good nightly events. Staff were helpful & friendly and created a good buzz about the hostel. Good work guys

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope you come back and join us again for our Trivia night or our Musical Bingo! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.