Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Queenstown Reviews

Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1363 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


great hostel and all in good shape


One of the best hostels in New Zealand! A nice fireplace and directly in the centre of Queenstown. The staff is really friendly and everything is clean. I definitely recommend Nomads in Queenstown!


Perfect location and great facilities. This is a very busy hostel but clean and staff are very friendly and happy to help. I'd stay again for sure!


No open window in the dorm. Too hot at nights and very claustrophobic. Having to pay for a wifi option is a money maker should be included. The daily charges were high and didnt even work very well.


Only thing was that the fuse blew in the middle of the night and there was no light. I went down to reception first thing and had to repeat the room number twice and the girl still checked the wrong room and had to go check the fuses again.


It's very closed to the park around the lakeside, very convenient to walk around. Free dinner starts at 6pm with a long line of waiting. The room is very good but few plugs for charging. The public place is big and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.We are happy to see you had an enjoyable time with us in Queenstown. Our location is perfect making it easy to explore Queenstown, not to mention the views we get of the lake. Our free evening meal and breakfast are a crowd favourite and this sometimes means there can be a waiting line, especially on curry night. :) Thank you again for leaving your feeback, we hope the rest of your travels are going well.


Private room a bit cramped, with tv on side wall next to bed. Only real hassle was free wifi. It was only during the day and only in the lobby. So it got pretty crowded with folks piling up where ever they could find space. Then of course it slowed to a crawl.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Our rooms vary in shape and size and we are sorry to hear you found your room a little cramped. We are currently trialling the free wifi and are in the process of installing high speed fibre optics to increase the speed of the network. Until this network is launched, we do have Global Gossip available for purchase at reception. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope the rest of your travels are going well.


Great hostel, room is spacious, free dinner was a bonus, staff very helpful. Kitchen could do with a more frequent clean during day as its a pretty busy kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our free evening dinners are a crowd favourite and our staff are stoked to hear they exceeded your expectations. We have cleaning staff on 24 hours to ensure the hostel is kept to a high standard, unfortunately some people do not clean up after themselves. Wouldn't it be wonderful if they did. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.


One easy step to improve both security and facilities: install two big lockers underneath each double bed, so people can lock backpacks or bigger belongings. Other than that, the hostel was amazing, with good location and awesome staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time while you were with us in Queenstown. We do have the smaller lockers in the rooms for valuables such as laptops and cameras etc. Our central location makes exploring Queenie so much easier, not to mention the amazing views of the lake. Thanks again for leaving your feedback and we hope the rest of your travels around our beautiful country are going well.


I was a little disappointed because the last time I stayed at Nomands, it was the best experience I'd ever had. Perfect all around. But this time, the room and bathroom were absolutely disgusting. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a month, and the room smelled like a combo of feet and rotten food. Its a great hostel, and would recommend to others, was just a bit let down this time around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ashley, thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience as much as the first time - we clean the bathrooms daily as well as a deep clean twice a week to ensure they are kept to standard however sadly sometimes guests do leave a mess which isn't cleaned immediately. I have passed this feeeback onto our HK to ensure we spend some more time in these areas of concern. All the best for the rest of your travels :)


The bathroom were so clean, thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Monica, stoked you found our bathrooms to be very clean!


Nomads is a very clean and comfortable hostel, with really helpful staff. In a very central location. Whilst I was there they served free breakfast and a small dinner which was great. However this is a party hostel and so is noisy at night time, particularly on the first floor.


They should pay more attention at cleaning, especially for the price of the beds

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Louise, thanks for your feedback. We have a team of cleaners on 24 hours per day who constantly clean our communal areas such as the kitchen and bathrooms as well as housekeeping for the rooms during the day. Sadly not everyone cleans up after themselves so there can be temporary mess however our awesome team of Nomads Helpers keep ontop of this. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and the amazing place that is Queenstown. All the best for your future travels :)


Staff were an extreme let down here. They act like you completely don't matter to them. Such a shame to be honest. Really good location and queenstown is such a cool place but I wouldn't recommend nomads to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Emilie thanks for your feedback, I am sorry to hear you did not find the staff to be helpful. I have emailed you directly for further information as this feedback is very unusual - as per our other reviews our staff are usually the highest rated part of our property. Our guests are of most importance to us, we provide free activities, free meals, free drinks and everything possible to make sure their stay is the best one they could have possibly have in Queenstown.


One of the best hostels I've stayed at! Spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds and noise from the street was not heard despite us having a room with a balcony overlooking the main strip. Free dinner and lots of events organised from the hostel made our stay memorable, so we will definitely recommend this hostel to friends who visit Queenstown!


Clean, perfect location, helpful staff

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave yur feedback. We love our hostel and are so happy to hear that you do too. Our staff take great pride in their customer service and are glad to hear they exceeded your expectations. We hope the rest of your travels around our beautiful country are going well and we hope to see you again in the future. :)


The hostel facilities are quite good compared to the overall quality of other hostels in a busy city. Located right in the city center so it is very convenient to walk around. However, its kitchen is too small for its peak day with approximately 400 backpackers stay in. Above that, highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback and we're stoked to hear you enjoyed your stay. As our kitchen is on the smaller side for occupancy of 300 we introduced the free light brekkie and dinner to take the impact off the kitchen (and as an added freebie for our awesome guests if they're on a budget) however this can get rather busy during peak feeding hours :) We're stoked to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us - all the best for your future travels. Nomads Crew


I stayed in a private twin room with my friend. I think they upgraded us to a balcony room. It was like a hotel room (just smaller). Location is prime. Staff are great! Will most definitely recommend and stay again.


probably one of the best hostels ive ever stayed in. clean. new. staff were friendly. right on the beach of the lake. no curfew for leaving the command area. sociable as hell. met tons of people here. bike storage, and the safest in NZ (two door scans a lift and door lock to your bike). tons of night and day excursions. no brainier. stay here.


Rooms with their own clean bathrooms, what was excellent! Breakfast was ok, I missed something like muesli or fruits a little bit. The dinner wasn't that much, only a little bit for everybody, but what I had, was delicious! :) Location was great, not far from the lake and the shops ;)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)

View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback