X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Queenstown Reviews

Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1266 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Ended up staying for 11days. Really big hostel, so you'll meet a lot of people. I haven't had a slightest moment of discomfort with staff nor people living here. Lived in a 6 bed dorm with shower. If you aren't too be going out every night, you'll need earplugs. Pubs/nightclubs everywhere. Lovely!!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a good hostel to stay at.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was OK, but the hostel is so close to everything that on Friday night it was very noisy and lots of people like 2 meters away on the street.. (Maybe soundproof windows would be awesome)


100%

This was awesome. Really clean and good facilities in the heart of Queenstown. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Got upgraded which was great and the staff were very friendly, only issue was wifi was a bit dodgy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, stoked you had a great stay with us! Global Gossip has just changed our wifi server as it was playing up - really sorry about this and hopefully this issue is now nipped in the bud. All the best for your future travels and hope to see you here in Queenstown again one day :)

69%

Looks like they could benefit from having a more motivated or incentivised staff - pay them more? Cleanliness was let down a bit - needs to be more thorough. Perhaps use more detergent in the mop buckets too. Otherwise it sucks that you can't drink alcohol. Wifi sucks pretty bad. Kiwi buses bring loads of people keen to maintain their bus crew every two days as well which inhibits social interaction. Free dinner and bread for breakfast is handy though. Night clubs downstairs pumped pretty hard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel - thanks for your suggestions and feedback, sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us however when you are asked to leave a property I'm sure it does affect how you feel about it. All the best for your future travels :)

94%

Amazing hostel right in the center of town and easy to get to the Remarkables and Coronet Peak. There is free breakfast and dinner, a sauna, a cinema and a nice lounge. There is a ski/snowboard locker which is great to store gear in after coming back from the slopes. It is a 'dry' hostel but the front desk gives out free drink vouchers for a bar nearby (The Find). The bathrooms are very clean. I am staying there again this weekend, it is an awesome place!! Would definitely recommend!!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel very clean (room, kitchen, and bathroom). enjoyed free snack and sauma after Snowboarding. but it needs to be more social and less industrial.


100%

nice hostel. free breakfast, free dinner, room is clean and friendly staffs. everything is perfect


83%

A very nice place to stay. The staff is so nice and friendly! (Hugo, girl with dread, girl.with the fake knife lol). It was cool.


57%

The pantry was perpetually full and disorganised and I lost my groceries the next morning after storing them in the fridge. Seemed to only see staff flirting with residents, and the cooking area would be left in a mess. When I entered the shared dorm there was a person lying on the empty bed meant to be mine, and he wasn't even bunking in that dorm. Good place to meet many youths and young adults though, and location wise was relatively good.


89%

Good but strict on alcohol. "Dry Hostel"

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback Richard, although we used to be a 'wet' hostel sadly due to continuous issues involving alcohol we had to change our policy to dry. We do have a free drink available for each guest every night at The Find and we're surrounded by awesome bars so hopefully this didn't disrupt your stay too much. All the best for your travels, Nomads Crew :)

83%

The hostel is good for people who likes to be social while travelling(which is my case) if you want to meet new people at random and spent a great time with them. This is definitely the place.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

AWFUL! The lockers in our room majority had broken doors. Our room was located at the back of the building &each night until 4am the nightclub outside can be heard, felt like I was trying to sleep in a nightclub! The front desk staff were ok but some of the people working for free were some of the rudest people I have ever met, only cared about partying and eating the 'free' dinner each evening. Working for free eat all the dinner. Toilets & kitchen not clean, no clean clothes to dry dishes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Deirdre - I am so, so sorry to read this feedback and feel terrible we couldn't have fixed this problems during your stay. We last week had a huge deep clean on all bathrooms and the kitchen as you're absolutely right, these were not clean enough. Our maintenance manager is currently going through every room as many lockers are damaged which we're doing our best to get up to standard as soon as possible. I have also addressed the meal issue with our hostel helpers as this isn't good at all.

63%

Expensive!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice and cozy common area, I was glad to be upgraded from 12 to 6 dorm. Modern dorm. Great that dinner and breakfast is included, even though breakfast only is toast, butter and jam.


89%

Great location for being in centre of Queenstown near everything you need. However all the girl dorms are over the street with bars in it so it's noisy at night. A shame because the 4 bed girls dorms are lovely, hotel standard bathrooms. Really nice common areas. Half hour of free wifi. The free meal is nice touch but is more snack size.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback Victoria, glad you had a good stay with us. As we are located in the centre of town there can be a bit of noise especially on the weekends however we do offer free earplugs for all guests as well as triple glazed glass windows/black out sheets. Apologies for this and I hope you had a great stay in Queenie - Cheers, Nomads Crew :)

77%

I decided to leave as every backpacker did not shut up about the bungee jump.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback Nick, bungy jumping is pretty popular in Queenie isn't it! Hopefully you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town despite this annoyance. All the best for your future travels - Nomads Crew :)

83%

Compared to the other hostels I've stayed at in New Zealand, this is definitely one of the best. It's huge and more like a hotel, but it has a big kitchen, lots of bathrooms, and is in an excellent location.


89%

Overall, a really good hostel..free breakfast and evening meal, which always helps!


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback