X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Queenstown Reviews

Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1252 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

nice hostel. free breakfast, free dinner, room is clean and friendly staffs. everything is perfect


83%

A very nice place to stay. The staff is so nice and friendly! (Hugo, girl with dread, girl.with the fake knife lol). It was cool.


57%

The pantry was perpetually full and disorganised and I lost my groceries the next morning after storing them in the fridge. Seemed to only see staff flirting with residents, and the cooking area would be left in a mess. When I entered the shared dorm there was a person lying on the empty bed meant to be mine, and he wasn't even bunking in that dorm. Good place to meet many youths and young adults though, and location wise was relatively good.


89%

Good but strict on alcohol. "Dry Hostel"

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback Richard, although we used to be a 'wet' hostel sadly due to continuous issues involving alcohol we had to change our policy to dry. We do have a free drink available for each guest every night at The Find and we're surrounded by awesome bars so hopefully this didn't disrupt your stay too much. All the best for your travels, Nomads Crew :)

83%

The hostel is good for people who likes to be social while travelling(which is my case) if you want to meet new people at random and spent a great time with them. This is definitely the place.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

AWFUL! The lockers in our room majority had broken doors. Our room was located at the back of the building &each night until 4am the nightclub outside can be heard, felt like I was trying to sleep in a nightclub! The front desk staff were ok but some of the people working for free were some of the rudest people I have ever met, only cared about partying and eating the 'free' dinner each evening. Working for free eat all the dinner. Toilets & kitchen not clean, no clean clothes to dry dishes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Deirdre - I am so, so sorry to read this feedback and feel terrible we couldn't have fixed this problems during your stay. We last week had a huge deep clean on all bathrooms and the kitchen as you're absolutely right, these were not clean enough. Our maintenance manager is currently going through every room as many lockers are damaged which we're doing our best to get up to standard as soon as possible. I have also addressed the meal issue with our hostel helpers as this isn't good at all.

63%

Expensive!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice and cozy common area, I was glad to be upgraded from 12 to 6 dorm. Modern dorm. Great that dinner and breakfast is included, even though breakfast only is toast, butter and jam.


89%

Great location for being in centre of Queenstown near everything you need. However all the girl dorms are over the street with bars in it so it's noisy at night. A shame because the 4 bed girls dorms are lovely, hotel standard bathrooms. Really nice common areas. Half hour of free wifi. The free meal is nice touch but is more snack size.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback Victoria, glad you had a good stay with us. As we are located in the centre of town there can be a bit of noise especially on the weekends however we do offer free earplugs for all guests as well as triple glazed glass windows/black out sheets. Apologies for this and I hope you had a great stay in Queenie - Cheers, Nomads Crew :)

77%

I decided to leave as every backpacker did not shut up about the bungee jump.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback Nick, bungy jumping is pretty popular in Queenie isn't it! Hopefully you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town despite this annoyance. All the best for your future travels - Nomads Crew :)

83%

Compared to the other hostels I've stayed at in New Zealand, this is definitely one of the best. It's huge and more like a hotel, but it has a big kitchen, lots of bathrooms, and is in an excellent location.


89%

Overall, a really good hostel..free breakfast and evening meal, which always helps!


77%

Location is perfect. Middle of queenstown but isnt every hostel? Its an oke hostel, clean rooms, a bit small, big kitchen and common areas.. It does the trick and perfect for some nights out in qt! Although i think for that money they dont offer anything special. A few smaller hostels in qt which are really worth staying at for the same money or even cheaper. But then again nomads is always a great place tp meet people


89%

Great hostel, loved this place! Bathrooms were kept clean in the dorms and great atmosphere!


83%

Good location. Nice staff. Very sterile hostile with no atmosphere. The no drinking policy leaves less people conversing and hanging out. More people just sitting on the internet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The no drinking policy was put in place due to consistent complaints about silly people ruining everybody elses stay. There are plenty of bars just a stones throw away to hangout and enjoy yourself also. Thanks again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown

91%

Really enjoyed my time in Nomads Queenstown! The hostel's structure is great! Also it is very close to the city center, perfect for the daily activities and for the nightlife around :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you again! Kindest regards Andre @ Nomads Queenstown

86%

Great staff and amazing location !


69%

We stayer at a 4 bed dorm w/ private barthroom and never had our bathroom cleaned. Just had some more toilet paper, but nothing else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Your bathroom should of been tended to, however if staff were informed then we would of been more than happy to clean your bathroom during your stay. We apologise for the inconvenience. Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown

71%

A good hostel in an excellent location in Queenstown town centre. Had a comfortable stay with clean rooms and a comfy dorm bed. A little expensive relative to the rest of NZ but then everywhere in QT is. Very much a 'large' hostel, so will depend on what you're after; facilities are excellent but perhaps lacking in the atmosphere of smaller, more communal hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :) Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown

89%

Great location. Probably a bit on the 'older' side to have stayed in this hostel. We didn't really use any of the facilities, eg brekkie, dinner etc.

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :) Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback