X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Queenstown Reviews

Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1365 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel, very central and friendly. Bathrooms could have been a little cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, stoked you had a good stay with us in Queenstown! As we've gotten a lot busier lately we have now put on some extra shifts to clean the kitchen and bathrooms as these are also much busier which has helped keep ontop of the cleaning. This should definitely make a difference, thanks again for your feedback :)

100%

Stayed for 3 nights/4 days, got upgraded when I checked in; staff was SO friendly and energetic. Free breakfast/dinner. It felt like I had checked into a hotel, I was so impressed with it. Left

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We had an awesome time here at Nomads! The intern Farah checked us in and explained us everything we needed to know about going around in Q-Town :-). TV room was awesome (big screen), they have a free sauna to relax and around 18:00 they serve a small free dinner (pasta, curry, patatoes and meat orso) Def recommend Nomads in Q-Town!

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Noisy all the time. Between the music playing in the hallways all day and the loud music from the bar next door at night you can't ever get any peace and quiet. If that's what you are looking for then this is a good plane.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback Christiana, very sorry to hear you found the property to be noisy. We do play music from 11am until 9pm in the hallways and communal areas for a bit of vibe however we ensure this is all switched off at 9pm each night. As we are in the centre of Queenstown some rooms are closer to bars than others however we have a 24 hour reception available in the event you cannot sleep so we can change your room as well as free ear plugs available to all guests. Thanks again.

100%

Really awesome hostel, gives out free breakfast and dinner! Perfect location, wifi decent with hotspots all over as this is a large hostel. They upgraded our room for free which was nice too! Would stay here again.


89%

Really nice Hostel! Big kitchen and nice chillout area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback Marc, stoked you had a great stay with us!

94%

Nomads in queenstown was great! Our room was upgraded without even asking and it was very clean! We were very happy and comfortable in the hostel.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad to hear you had a great stay with us, all the best for your future travels :)

100%

Great hostel. Free breakfast and free dinner a big plus when travelling on a backpackers budget.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

The bathrooms were regularly cleaned and there were lots of showers and toilets on each floor. The kitchen was huge and has lots of seats and settees. I was in a 10 bed dorm which had a balcony and ensuite and lots of space. When I returned I was in a 6 bed but this was a cramped crowded room unfortunately. Location was excellent.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

2nd stay at Nomads Queenstown and still a pretty good hostel! Free nightly dinners, a good social area and definitely in the heart of the city.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed here for a total of 8 nights and it is the best hostel we have stayed in in NZ. From the beginning the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful and even upgraded us. We would like to mention Hugo, Chris and Will especially, not all guys would be able to put up with me ranting about men at them or be willing to carry my drunk friend up the stairs whilst she hits him with her show. I'm sure the girls in room 210 wont be forgotten for a while... enjoy the balloon elephant! His name is

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the hostels I stayed at in New Zealand. Clean, Location, Food, nice people around. Travel desk very helpful ask for Denny. Dislike Cleaning staff ignorant and rude. A little loud if your near the tv room. But you can ask to change room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback - stoked you had a good time with us in Queenstown. Very sorry to hear our cleaning staff weren't friendly, we have now addressed this. Thanks again for your feedback.

100%

Great bar attached


83%

As an aged grey nomad (77 yo) I was a little dubious about staying in a dorm with six young folk. I need not have worried, as they were very quiet and considerate for the 'old chap', making it an enjoyable experience.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

the stuff was quiet unfriendly, the other people not very nice. queenstown is a small town so you are close to everything. the free dinner was really good! but at least, i wouldnt come back!


100%

Ended up staying for 11days. Really big hostel, so you'll meet a lot of people. I haven't had a slightest moment of discomfort with staff nor people living here. Lived in a 6 bed dorm with shower. If you aren't too be going out every night, you'll need earplugs. Pubs/nightclubs everywhere. Lovely!!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your feedback, we are stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us at Nomads Queenstown. Hopefully see you back in Queenstown soon. Cheers The Nomads Crew

89%

Overall a good hostel to stay at.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was OK, but the hostel is so close to everything that on Friday night it was very noisy and lots of people like 2 meters away on the street.. (Maybe soundproof windows would be awesome)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback, we are glad we enjoyed your stay with us at Nomads Queenstown. Unfortunately because we are in the centre of town in can sometimes get a bit noisy. We do have triple glazed windows to combat this and free ear plugs are available at reception 24 hours a day for all our guests. Good luck for your future travels Cheers The Nomads Crew

100%

This was awesome. Really clean and good facilities in the heart of Queenstown. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Got upgraded which was great and the staff were very friendly, only issue was wifi was a bit dodgy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, stoked you had a great stay with us! Global Gossip has just changed our wifi server as it was playing up - really sorry about this and hopefully this issue is now nipped in the bud. All the best for your future travels and hope to see you here in Queenstown again one day :)

(948 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback