Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads St Kilda Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.7

Great location for commuting into the city. Most bunk beds have privacy curtain and powerpoints above your head to charge phone whilst you sleep. Very vibrant hostel, however perhaps too full? Space in the fridges/drawers is a rare and kitchen could do with another surface to work on. Overall a good experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
5.4

Did it live up the rating I expected. Room smelt horrible and shower was either scolding or freezing. The beds were good but not enough to want to stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. The beds are relatively new, we are the first hostel to have beds of it's kind- which is rad! As you would have noticed it is a really really old building so the water pipes are pretty old too, however we find if you tend to leave these running for a couple minutes or so the water fixes itself and you get a consistent flow of temperature. In saying that also, we are going through renovations so hopefully you come back and see us sometime soon, so you can see how far we have come. Thanks again for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
6.9

Didn't love it here at all. No wifi in the rooms and only for a limited time in main area, no AC, one fan which was useless if you were on a top bunk. The kitchen/fridges for food were a disaster. Bathroom was clean but outdated. Beds weren't very comfortable at all, pillows are flimsy and I had to fold it over to get any use of it. Location was fine. Some staff were lovely but some were fairly short and unhelpful. They do offer lots of services for traveling and working however. Wouldn't return

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review! Much appeciated, it helps us move forward in bettering our hostel and we can concentrate improving our hostel to cater for backpackers like yourself. We do however have wifi in rooms- you can get it for just $4 per day or even better $12 per week- which averages out to be $1.71 per day. We have also got a stack of new pillows so if you where unhappy you could have come to see one of our reception or house keeping guys and I'm sure they would have sorted you out! We have just started renovations in our property and as you can imagine this can take sometime but we are doing the best we can with what we have for now. Would love for you to come back sometime and see us and the changes made to the property. Thanks again for your feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Feb 2017
5.4

Akward tee pee long in system, people were drinking in the dorms, very dirty room. All in all, not great for the high prices.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review. The tipi is a new thing that has been introduced. It's actually really beneficial for you and us, as it is so new some staff have still to familiarize themselves on it, but training has been given and everyone is now very aware of how it works. Cleanliness is something that we take very seriously here, we have been putting a massive focus on the cleanliness of room and there has been a massive improvement. Hope all is well and see you soon sometime. Thanks again.

16th Feb 2017
6.9

Probably too big a hostel and the wifi is very bad but the hostel is all about the people you meet there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. it is small things like this, that help us make big improvements going forward. The wifi in the hostel if I'm honest is usually pretty good, however depending on how many people are connected, can sometimes slow it down(technology aye!) we do have paid wifi that runs a lot better. The people here are second to none and they add to your whole experience, hope you enjoyed hanging out and meeting new buddies,good luck with your travels and thanks again for the review!

10th Feb 2017
6.3

Okay hostel with tonnes of rooms. Dining area is large with free wifi on the ground floor. Bunks are good with lights and individual USB charging points. Prices go up a lot around weekends

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the review we do appreciate you taking the time to write this for us! Our dining room is massive, we love the fact it is big enough for everyone to come together and create great St Kilda memories! The bunks are pretty awesome- I reckon that's what makes us stand out from other hostels. In summer time prices are due to fluctuate indefinitely with the high demand of backpackers and events in and around Melbourne. Again, thanks for the review and hope to see you sometime in the near future!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
9.7

this hostel is the best place to meet new people. You can bring your own drink and the new pods are amazing! They have power points lights and a privacy curtain, super comfy! Lajka was very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home! They have a pub crawl on Friday nights that was super fun. There was a weird old guy handcuffed to a small Irish girl that I was concerned about but he told me later that they were married. So it all worked out! Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thanks for the review. It's people like you that make us love our job, we are stoked you had an awesome time with us and hopefully see you again soon my friend!

6th Feb 2017
10.0

I have only good things to say about this place! The beds were amazing and the hostel was pretty clean. My favourite part was probably the rooftop patio, everybody seems to get together there during the evenings and you are allowed to bring in your own alcohol! Did the pubcrawl which was well worth doing as well. Will be back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Legend. Thanks for the review we really appreciate you taking the time to send positive vibes our way! Great to hear you had a wicked time. The rooftop is the ideal location for chilling, catching up and making memories over a summer bbq. The pub crawl- I'm interested to know how you made it out alive! Never the less thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Booked into hostel world

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thanks for the review, it is much appreciated, by the looks off it you had a great time. Hopefully see you sometime soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
9.4

I really liked this place, it has awesome people that run the place. Its clean and the rooftop is the best of all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review we do love it when people take the time to let us know what they enjoyed and where we can improve. The famous rooftop, what can I say? It's pretty sick aye! Cleanliness is something that we take very seriously, so glad to hear that our team is still as awesome as ever! Hope your travels are going well and maybe see you again soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.