Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads St Kilda Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
Nomads St Kilda Beach Located at 24 Grey Street, St. Kilda, Melbourne.
Nomads St Kilda Beach
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 24 Grey Street, St. Kilda
75% 270
-37.8602681 144.9782947
Nomads St Kilda Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
8.0

Security was good, though I would like to see one camera in the luggage room as well. Location is great because it is two minutes walk away from the beach, but it also has a lots of junkies. Staff was really nice but I have noticed that they are allowing everyone to enter the place with the alcoholic drinks. This place attracts tradies and backpackers. You could get rid of stink in the rooms and hallways if you force everyone to keep their dirty laundry and shoes in plastic garbage bags. Bosnian

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time for leaving a review,We do have a camera showing the entry/exit of the luggage room and we will investigate about installing one within the room itself, We just installed a rack outside under cover for all those dirty boots, so thanks for the feedback!! would love to see you back here soon

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
7.4

Overall great stay. Pod beds were nice, I liked having the curtain for privacy. Staff were cool, after two days I asked for clean sheets and they immediately brought them up. It does have a bit of a party scene so if you're not into that this probably isn't the place for you. I had ear plugs and that worked fine for me. Facilities were cleaned daily and easy use of the kitchen. Locked room to store your stuff + lockers in room- just bring your own lock. Close to beach and 30 min tram to CBD

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! I am glad that our staff were able to make your stay a good one Come back soon

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
3.7

Cluster in the room was horrible. Stank of sock 90% or the time and weed the remaining 10%.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
5.7

The overall cleanliness of the hostel was poor, bathrooms were dirty and corridors and bedrooms had a terrible smell! There were blinds missing from the bedrooms that meant a poor night sleep. The hostel looked nothing like the pictures. The internet - which you can only use downstairs - is not free past 7pm and you have to pay to use it past this time. The location is ok in terms of getting public transport but it is not in the nicest of areas and is a distance away from Melbourne City.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! The smell from the rooms we believe was down to guests work boots! We will try as hard as we can to make sure that we get them placed into bags in the future! Any issues are welcome to be brought to the attention of our staff via reception, so that we can make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
5.1

Food all over the floor of my room. The weekend was a crazy mass of drunk people. Trash cans knocked over in the hallway, broken glasses in the kitchen. No TP in the bathrooms on Sunday. Shower fluctuates between super hot and really cold. Who knows when the last time the fridges were cleaned. Don't open a fridge door cause it reeks. There's no room so people line the floor with their groceries. Only good thing is decent wifi. Terrible stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it sounds like that you arrived on a massive weekend, We have taken your review on board and the toilet paper is now being checked every 2 hours and our kitchen cleaners are cleaning the fridges daily. The smell was actually from a guest who had fish left in the bottom of one of their bags, which has thankfully been removed now. We have also just installed extra cupboards for people to put there belongings in.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

Cleanliness is what you would expect from a large, busy hostel! The rooftop is a great place to meet good groups of people and chill out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
8.6

My room was clean and quiet and you can't beat the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a great review, you are welcome back anytime, yes the location is great, short tram trip to the city and a short walk to the beach!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
9.7

My stay went really well here. I stayed for about 2 weeks total. Only one of my nights was booked on Hostelworld. I did work for accommodation and it was well worth it. I made friends with a lot of truly awesome people and enjoyed the room bunks. Each bunk allows you to charge your phone and laptop! Cooking in the kitchen was a pain because everyone swamps it at the same time. I wish more large burners were available for that reason. Bathrooms were clean, especially the new ones! Thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here, the guests that we get tend to end up being part of a big hostel family, We are glad you enjoyed the new beds they were a big effort building them, our guests really seem to be enjoying them! Yes the kitchen can become busy around dinner time, **watch this space, we have some exciting news coming soon regarding our kitchen

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay at Nomads! The beds were super comfortable with curtains and plugs for every bed. The staff will make you feel welcome as soon as you check in. Booked the great ocean road trip through the hostel and it was one of my best days in Australia - make sure you do the pupcrawl as well, so much fun! Overall a really good and clean hostel - cant recommend this place enough, I will come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review, we really appreciate the feedback, We are really glad that you had such a great time and would love to see you again soon! We have some exciting news soon that will take place after the summer season!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
4.9

Kitchen cramped and rooms stunk of weed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review, we really appreciate the feedback! The kitchen can become busy at lunch and dinner times, but everybody is always happy! The hostel has a strict no drugs policy, any issues are always welcome to be brought to our attention via reception, so that we can help to fix them and make your stay as enjoyable as possible

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.