Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads St Kilda Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
3.4

Terrible staff

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback. Secondly I am sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience here with us at Nomads. We are working extremely hard everyday to ensure that our customer service is above par and that we continue to exceed customer expectations. If you are heading back this way we would hope that you keep us in mind and hopefully have a much better stay. Good luck with your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
5.4

Realy loud there, You Can hear everything from The Floor... Shower was not repaired, small rooms, kitchen was not well organized and dirty It was very cold at night and they had no heater Beds are new, i like the charger over the bed, but bed is very loud, when a Person moves a lot at Night ....x base at st kilda is much better!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback. At the moment we are under going some renovations, so hopefully if you get a chance to come back all of the minor things that made your stay unsatisfactory will be rectified. Base St kilda is more of an upmarket backpacker hostels which reflects on the price, we pride ourselves on a budget accommodation. Cleanliness is something we take seriously here at Nomads St Kilda, and gradually we are increasing our levels of cleanliness. We are the first backpackers to have these pod bunks and they are proving to be very appealing to backpackers, the charge port, the private curtain and the light on every bed is certainly a winner all round. Thanks again for your feedback, hopefully we will see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.0

Overall the stay was good! But it would have been nice if there was more space for all the food. And I found a lot of boxes with food from march.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. I glad you enjoyed your time at our hostel. I also had the samje concerns as you and I have modified our kitchen storage space to rectify this problem. We would love to have you back some day to check out our new and improved Kitchen space. From all of us at Nomads St Kilda Beach we wish you a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
4.0

By far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The room we had was nothing like the pictures at all. It stunk, had to have the window open all the time so got to listen to the junkies and pristitutes outside. Check in was slow and the staff were rude at both check in and when we left. Prices are steep at $100 a night. I'd seriously avoid!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Firstly thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate you taking the time out your day to give us some feedback. Secondly I sorry to hear you had such an unpleasant experience, cleanliness is something that we take very serious here at the Coffee palace, and we are working extremely hard everyday to better our already clean property, I'm very intrigued to know if at any point you came to reception and told them of your issues with the room? Our reception team are pretty awesome at sorting out guest issues and making sure that all issues are resolved with of course the customer being happy. As we have had an amazing summer he in Melbourne and it has extended all the way through to April our prices are dependent on the demands of the business- We always make sure we are the cheapest in comparison to other hostels in the area as we are a budget accommodation. If you are heading back this way give us a holla and we will be sure to sort you out. Sorry again and hopefully we can make it up to you some day soon. Good luck with your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2017
5.7

Check in took 15 mins despite us being the only ones there. It was a new guy operating the computer - his senior collegue just stood there and laughed and called him an idiot whilst he made mistakes (i just wanted a bed after a long flight). They also tried to make us pay the full amount - disregarding the deposit we paid. "Clean" bed sheets were covered in hair & stains. Was put in a 7 bed dorm instead of the 6 we booked, with o reimbursement. I thought you were only allowed to be upgraded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback. When did you check in? All of our staff here are fully trained on reception and we have not had any new staff in the last 2-3 months so I'm curious to know who it was that checked you in. Our 6 bed dorms do have 7 beds, however at no given point are there 7 people checked into the room, we don't have 7 bed dorms on our system. Our beds are made clean everyday, with fresh linen put on every bed, annoyingly some backpackers sit on already made beds instead of climbing on their own, which you can imagine is really hard to monitor, we do our best though. Thanks again for your review and good luck with your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
7.4

Love the curtains (gives you privacy no matter what kind of room you're staying at) and the plug sockets within your bed space. Social life not great as people tend to hang around in their own group. However I have enjoyed my stay so far.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! your input helps us to make our hostel as good as possible. Our new pod beds are fantastic and we are so glad you enjoyed them. we look forward to seeing you again in the future and wish you a awesome onward trip Regards NSKB team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.7

Great location for commuting into the city. Most bunk beds have privacy curtain and powerpoints above your head to charge phone whilst you sleep. Very vibrant hostel, however perhaps too full? Space in the fridges/drawers is a rare and kitchen could do with another surface to work on. Overall a good experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is really important to us to show us where we can improve. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our great new pod beds. I am looking into making the kitchen work more efficiently. We hope to see you back at Nomads St Kilda in the future

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
5.4

Did it live up the rating I expected. Room smelt horrible and shower was either scolding or freezing. The beds were good but not enough to want to stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. The beds are relatively new, we are the first hostel to have beds of it's kind- which is rad! As you would have noticed it is a really really old building so the water pipes are pretty old too, however we find if you tend to leave these running for a couple minutes or so the water fixes itself and you get a consistent flow of temperature. In saying that also, we are going through renovations so hopefully you come back and see us sometime soon, so you can see how far we have come. Thanks again for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
6.9

Didn't love it here at all. No wifi in the rooms and only for a limited time in main area, no AC, one fan which was useless if you were on a top bunk. The kitchen/fridges for food were a disaster. Bathroom was clean but outdated. Beds weren't very comfortable at all, pillows are flimsy and I had to fold it over to get any use of it. Location was fine. Some staff were lovely but some were fairly short and unhelpful. They do offer lots of services for traveling and working however. Wouldn't return

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review! Much appeciated, it helps us move forward in bettering our hostel and we can concentrate improving our hostel to cater for backpackers like yourself. We do however have wifi in rooms- you can get it for just $4 per day or even better $12 per week- which averages out to be $1.71 per day. We have also got a stack of new pillows so if you where unhappy you could have come to see one of our reception or house keeping guys and I'm sure they would have sorted you out! We have just started renovations in our property and as you can imagine this can take sometime but we are doing the best we can with what we have for now. Would love for you to come back sometime and see us and the changes made to the property. Thanks again for your feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Pleasant stay. Good location for st kilda and close to the tram to get into the city centre. Great pod beds for some privacy with individual plug sockets and light

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.