X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads St Kilda Beach Reviews

24 Grey Street, St. Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
73 Total Reviews
  • 59%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Amazing hostel, wonderful staff! Love the free meals.


100%

Ash on reception as manager and Emily from the travel shop made my stay AWESOME !! they both were so helpful and friendly!!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

really chilled place and good vibes for going out.


94%

The staff at coffee palace were very helpful. The rooms were the cleanest I have stayed in in any hostel. Decent mattresses too! A functional kitchen which was open till late. Emily at the Mad Travel Shop was really helpful. I would really reccomend this place and trams into the CBD were only 20 mins away..

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The people were great! There's three free meals during the week and free pasta and rice in the kitchen. The outside rooftop had a great atmosphere, and the drinks were cheap! Even though the weather was pretty bad, it was awesome to be right next to the beach too.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I do not normally write reviews but I felt compelled to after staying at The Coffee Palace. The staff are incredible!! Having recently become a lone traveller the staff made me feel like part of the family, instantly. Free food night was amazing, a delicious Thai green curry. Fantastic location and so easy to get around the city by tram. Renovations are currently taking place and it will only make The Coffee Palace even better... I will return!


91%

I recently stayed at Coffee Palace for a girls weekend. Located in a charming building in the heart of St Kilda within steps of the beach, bars/restaurants & a tram that ran directly to the Melbourne CBD. Yes, the building is in the midst of a massive renovation - but the staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable. Facilities were reliable, tourist information and advice readily available & a free bbq on Sunday to top it off! Special mentions to staff Yeboah, Jordan and Kim.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice to see improvements since the last time I stayed. Really enjoyed yoga and the free meal was pretty great. Met some great crew on the rooftop. Probably going to stay on their weekly rate when I get back from the Great Ocean Road. Pretty good deal. Bar Crawl was ace

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Toilets were blocked for are full stay. Showers well if you would call them that only one working on are floor. And not in a fit state to use!!! 8 bed dorm with 1socket! Not a very good place to say at all...

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive stay at the Coffee Palace. We are under huge renovations at the moment to fix up this beautiful old building. Bathrooms are next on the list! Hopefully next time you are back in sunny St Kilda, you can come check out our new improved hostel. Love the Coffee Crew!

26%

The worst hostel ever!!! Rooms and bathrooms are dirty, the whole place stinks and the staff is incompentent (took them 20 mins to do the check-in)!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for the review. We have a brand new housekeeping manager who is going to make sure the Coffee Palace is gleaming to the best of it's ability. We do need to train new reception staff from time to time. Thank you for your patience while they are learning. Love the Coffee Crew!

77%

The staff were quite friendly, but sometimes they were very busy at reception and we had to wait about 20 minutes just to pay for another night. Pretty cool hostel, good location right by transit in St. Kilda, right near a supermarket. Lots of nice people there, not too loud at night, we definitely got a good sleep. I'd definitely recommend this hostel, but it is just a bit pricy for our budget so we could only stay a couple nights before we switched to something cheaper.


26%

staff , cleanliness, value for money ( very expensive, do no apply member reductions, ) never seen a so bad hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us at the Coffee Palace. Our rates sometimes go up on the weekends for big events in St Kilda and Melbourne. I can see that you stayed over one of these weekends. I hope you can come back and stay with again soon so you can see all the improvements that we've made! Love from the Coffee Crew!

43%

Two kettles in the kitchen: neither work. Showers: not enough of them. Dirty. Water temp changes from 5 degrees to 95 degrees in seconds. Laundry: closed from 6am til 6pm. Ridiculous. Staff: I extended for 2 extra nights as had limited choice elsewhere. When I came to check in was told no reservation had been made. Thankfully there was a spare bed. Location: good for access to st Kilda but on a street full of druggies, prostitutes and alcoholics.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your review! We are in the middle of huge renovations and bathrooms and kitchen are top of the list! We now have industrial washers and dryers so laundry is available to guests 24/7. Hope that you can come back to St Kilda soon and check out our improvements. Love the Coffee Crew!

66%

Room 5 for weed

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great time here. Room was brand new and spotless, staff were awesome (Kim at the travel desk was great!) Free drinks and food on occasion, wifi is a bit iffy but everything else was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Kim was very happy with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Love The Coffee Crew!

57%

Stayed in 3 Hostels in Melbourne over 5night, and out of the three this was last and paid more than others because its Saturday. In my room only to sleep for about 5hrs but checked out the facilities. Check in/Checkout was quick and friendly for me but noticed the less experience staff rolling her eyes when asked about service they can't provide at that time (Laundry). Inspected kitchen and eating area and feels dirty. No Lockers but have luggage area. Location is good. Currently Renovating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your review! The Saturday you stayed was over whitenight so accommodation was a bit more expensive. We now have industrial washers and dryers so laundry is available to all guests 24/7. We will have brand new bathrooms and kitchen very soon. Watch this space! Hope you can come back and check it out! Love the Coffee Crew!

54%

A lot of work has to be done and actually, they started already. room: fair, 6 beds and one plug.. clean linen: not perfectly clean kitchen: dark, a bit dirty, taps continuously dripping leaving room: old armchairs and sofas, a bit melancholic toilettes: horrible at the 1st floor, fair enough at the 2nd staff: ok position: cool value for money: bad! I paid 45AUD because of the whitenight but definitely too much. I hope they are all being use for the renewing.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thanks heaps for your helpful review! We have started improvements on all parts of the hostel. Every room will have a socket for each bed. All bathrooms and kitchen are getting a complete re-fit. New sofas have already been delivered. Hope to see you in St Kilda again soon so you can see our sexy new building. Love the Coffee Crew!

34%

Very poor facilities here. Didnt even have the basics. No sink in the toilet to wash your hands. Most toilets and showers were out of order. Long queues for toilet. Bunk beds had no ladder. So you are stepping on other people's bed trying to get to your bed. Worst hostel I've been to in Australia

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are right in the middle of renovating this beautiful old building and bathrooms are next on the list. Thank you for your feedback on the bunks, we will look into fixing this problem. Love the Coffee Crew!

49%

Nothing seems to be working properly. Kitchen is not really clean, toilet not flushing, one of the two showers out of order, other shower is full of water constantly. Definetly not worth the money

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are right in the middle of renovating this beautiful old building and bathrooms are next on the list. You will see all the bathrooms as beautiful as our white tiled second floor bathroom on your return to St Kilda. Love the Coffee Crew!

91%

We had a great stay! There were a lot of renovations going on during our stay but the free BBQ and pub crawls were pretty fun. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the location was great, right near the beach and famous Acland Street. Because of all the renovations and change, there were new mattresses and linen. We met so many wonderful people too mostly everyone was very friendly and great fun. The travel store inside was especially helpful. We'll be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for your great review! See you soon in The Coffee Palace.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback