Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads St Kilda Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
Nomads St Kilda Beach Located at 24 Grey Street, St. Kilda, Melbourne.
Nomads St Kilda Beach
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 24 Grey Street, St. Kilda
83% 227
-37.8602681 144.9782947
Nomads St Kilda Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Sep 2016
5.1

Unprofessional staff. The made me wait 3 hours for the check in. Then they made me change my room 2 times because they were changing the beds. It was a mess. Then I realized I was paying 4 dollars more by paying directly in the hostel instead of booking it by hostal world. 4 dollars per night! That's lot! The room was dark and had just one little window, so it was pretty smelly. Old bathrooms. No way I'm staying here again neither recomend it to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
7.4

Arrived at 11.30pm to the wrong room, no linen and in the morning a cold shower, so not the best start. However, credit to Jordan the manager who helped me not only change rooms without a fuss, but gave me my money back for the entire stay. Top customer service and exceeded my expectations. New beds with storage are being added which is good and on the whole a great hostel. Free dinner as well. St kilda in winter isn't the best place to be, but the hostel was good enough for 3 nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. All credit goes to to our super handsome Jordan, for sorting out your booking and arranged a refunded. That was very generous of him. The free dinner is always a hit for anyone on a low budget. Hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards NSKB

27th Aug 2016
8.3

Great location. We were upgraded to a private room with an ensuite (normally a 6-person room but two of the bunks were removed). I don't think we would've liked a multi-person room as there were no lockers. Staff were great and kept the place relatively clean. Only issue I would say is the guests need to - or staff needs to force the guests to - clean their own dishes. Piles of dishes are left in the sink until staff can get around to it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review. Great to hear that you got upgraded to a private room, very generous of the reception team. Hope you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards NSKB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Great staff, great faculties and all round welcoming atmosphere! Would recommend to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for the epic review, we would love to see you back here again soon

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
9.1

Amazing, clean and safe. Staff are super friendly and helpful and the atmosphere here is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Location is just out of the city center, only one tram away though. St. Kilda is an awesome neighbourhood to stay in. Would definitely recommend this hostel. They have free dinners five days a week and super comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thankyou for taking the time to leave a review and a comment, We are glad that you had a awesome time here and would love too have you back anytime

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
4.6

Upon arrival we were greeted at reception by unhelpful & unwelcoming staff.After waiting 2 & 1/2 hours for our private room to be cleaned we checked in to discover a box room with dirty towels, dirty walls,& a broken window.We got into bed after a long journey, to which it broke! We fixed it ourselves however the springs were extremely uncomfortable.The kitchen wasn't clean along with the toilets & showers, toilet roll wasn't replaced.Woken at 7:30am Sunday by very loud workers outside our room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for for reviewing. I am very sorry to hear that your experience wasn't as good as expected. We are actually upgrading all rooms in the hostel. We are repainted the walls and putting new beds in. It may be that the room you stayed in still need some work done. However, the reception greeting and costumer service should always be at the top. I will bring that up on the next meeting. You also mentioned that you had to wait 2 to 2.5 hours to check in? The normal check in hours are at 2pm for any rooms, that is because housekeeping need to go in during the day to clean the rooms. We are always trying our best to offer early check in on arrival. Hope you can give us another chance next time you in St Kilda and I promise it will be a great experience for you, Best Regards, NSKB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Cheap, clean, good vibes, good people and free food. not much more you can ask for!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for reviewing! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the free meals. Best Regards, NSKB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.9

The great thing about this hostel is they provide free meals 5 days a week! And they're not just any meals , they're delicious !! The location of the hostel is super close to the CBD and Luna park / the beach ! Great atmosphere where you can hang out of the rooftop, drink and socialise with others! Beautiful rooms and bathrooms as it's just been renovated !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am glad you enjoyed our free meals, some may say "the way to a travelers heart is through his/her stomach. It sure is a great place to meet other backpackers, and the roof top is a great stop for that! See you next time. Best Regards, NSKB

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
9.1

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed in in Australia, everything was clean, staff were great, and not only free meals, but free tea, coffee and pancakes, really good facilities here including a real nice bathroom and kitchen, really enjoyed my stay, would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for reviewing! Great to hear that you had such a good experience with the staff. I am sure they will be happy to hear from your positive feedback. It's also great that you liked the new renovated toilets and showers, it really makes a huge difference to the place. Best regards, Nomads St. Kilda Beach

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.