Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

North Hotel No 2 Reviews

5B Tam Thuong Street, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained


59 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The staff was very nice, especially writing an email before. The Location is good, slightly off the big street, so that it isn't so noisy. Our room was nice and big.


Probably the cheapest option to stay in Hanoi so we became what we expected: tiny room with used mattresses in a very small hotel but everything was clean and half of the staff spoke English and was able to help! Definitely an option to spend 1-3 nights on low budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Joana Weber, Thank you for your frank comment. As you can see our hostel is a very small and owned by family not rented but we always try keep it clean. Maybe you told with a girl who is cleaner in our hostel, she can't speak English :) Anyway if the guests needs any help we will try our best to help any guest. Best Regards, NORTH HOSTEL N.2


It was a very basic room and the toilet kept bubbling up water!! However, it was cheap and you get what you pay for! The owner was lovely and was very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alice Ong, Thank you very much for your nice words about our hostel and staff. Yes, our room is a very basic but the toilet in this room is already fixed! As your plan we hope you have nice trips to Sapa and Ha Long Bay. Best Regards. NORTH HOSTEL N.2


A cheap place where you get what you pay for. The room isn't bad but the bathroom wasn't really clean. It's very small. No insonorisation at all. Couldn't sleep because of our next door neighbourgh chats. Kids shouting in the place... So, considering the other positives reviews, I thought it was a nice place and I was very desapointed.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating and review about North Hostel N.2. We apologize the bathroom was not really clean and we are really sad if you was very disappointed...In fact our room is not perfect if compare with what you expected but a private room with inside bathroom with hot/cold water with the US$ 7 for 2 persons, we think we offer you the lowest price in Hanoi Old Quarter. But anyhow we will try our best to improve our style of work and the quality of North Hostel N.2. Best wishes!


It's a good little place just off the main busy road. Very basic, no communal area. Room was quite small but great value for money. Staff are very nice.


Nice hotel, good location in a quite little street. Staff friendly.we reckond you to ask for a room with aircon.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comment. We are just a small family hostel, but we will try to meet the trust of your booking. We wish to see you here again. Best Regards, NORTH HOSTEL N.2


With the cheapest price among hostels in Old Quarter, I can not ask for more. Though we did not have air-con, free water but the room was quite comfortable, enough hot water and towels for two. The room was small but cozy while staff were very friendly.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rating, comments and instruction for our hostel's services. We have learned it and we tried our best to improve our style of work and the quality of our North Hostel N.2. We would like wish you all the best! And we hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards, NORTH HOSTEL N.2

View all Hanoi Hotels

Please give us your feedback