X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

NosDa Studio Hostel Reviews

Despenser Street, Riverside, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1225 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The location was great for everything but the state of the rooms left a lot to be desired! There was rubbish on the floor around the beds that had gathered dust it had been there so long, and they were very small! Properly cleaned rooms would have gained them a better rating! Facilities looked adequate, and the bar was a bonus but beware music went on til 2am on a Monday! Breakfast was also adequate!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Me and my friends had a little trouble to find the hostel because we are completely helpless with maps, but once we found it, it was easy to remember. It's near everything, the atmosphere is lovely, and they have a playlist playing all day with awesome songs! As for the rooms, ours was pretty cool. The temperature of the shower was a bit too high but we never stayed long under the water because it was 27°C outside. Breakfast's delicious (and included, and that's very cool). Anyway it was awesome

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. Had a brilliant time and would defiantly recommend.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Convenient backpacker hostel with all amenities. Great location just a short walk from Cardiff centre, the castle, railway and bus station, and the Millenium stadium. Easy to find, free parking in locked backyard is a huge plus. Kind and helpful staff. Comfortable and spacious common areas, good selection of beers at the bar. Negatives: the hostel is a bit worn and could use a little fresh paint/refurbishing and the bathroom of the ensuite rooms are cramped. Would definitely stay there again.


54%

Water pressure with the showers way too high- to the extent where taking a shower was a painful experience! Very unpleasant especially when having a 5 year-old with us! Reported the problem but no assistance was provided other than a suggestion to use the communal showers with the kid. Would I have booked an en-suit room if I wanted to shower my kid in a communal bathroom? Ridiculous!


74%

I was unlucky to visit Cardiff on the day of a big football match - that included expensive room-rates, scarce availability of beds. The hostel staff was very nice with the commucation through e-mail beforehand. There was two strange things: 1) they could not tell me, in what kind of a room I will stay at (female/mixed/how many beds) 2) they wanted all my credit card details (not just the number, but expiry date and the secret code) for booking the room. But in general, it was a nice hostel.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Had to book desperately for a Saturday when 1 direction swarms massive hordes of hyperactive hormonal teenage girls and nosda offered 1 night for 30quid. For just somewhere to sleep in between my work shifts, 30quid is excessive. I was alright to book it since breakfast is included. The b-fast was alright but not as good as riverhouse backpackers. The showers worked better in nosda than riverhouse though, which is a huge thumbs up.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I am a big fan of NosDa Studio Hostel. Not only was it clean and cheerful with a rainbow comforter on the really comfortable bed, but the view from the window was the banks of the River Taff which the hostel is right next to. The shower was very clean and had hot water and great water pressure...amazing! There were great kitchen facilities and a nice bar downstairs where good food was available for purchase. Thank you for a wonderful stay:)

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome hostel. Really laid back and welcoming atmosphere. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The bar was great in the evening, lots of different people socialising and enjoying a drink together. Private room was great, clean and comfy. We didn't use the kitchen, but it looked fully stocked and had everything you'd need to cook a good meal. Definitely recommend to anyone travelling to or through Cardiff :)

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Could do with more regular checks of the bathrooms. No toilet paper in one of the cubicles from mid-evening through to mid-afternoon the following day.


97%

I came by car and found it difficult to find it as the road Riverside doesn't turn up on some satnavs. There is secure parking and is 10 minutes walk to the excellent Cardiff town centre. The beds were comfortable but I did wonder if there should be more fire exits from the rooms near the top of the house. It was a bit of a maze of corridors and narrow. The hostel has a pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. It is very good value for money and has a good kitchen. I just used the toaster/kettle.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing place with great atmosphere, wonderful staff and a great location. Can't wait to go back.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

In the city Center ,walking distance from big bus station ,big cinema ,stadium and many shops I will definetly stay there next time

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed in cardiff on a stag do, the place was fantastic. The staff were brilliant, would recommend to anyone and I'm sure we will be back.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice atmosphere Good facilities Good breakfast


83%

Pretty much what I expected from the hostel- a good value and clean.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

My only complaints are about the size of the bathrooms, which is probably an American thing, as it was equal to most of the places I saw during my trip, and the fact that the wifi could not be reached from the lounge area, much less the rooms. I had expected to not have it in the room, but not being able to get an acceptable signal anywhere but the dining room was not pleasant in the evening when the dining room got rather loud. But it was all very clean, and decent breakfast options.


71%

The room was good. Only issue is there's no cylinder on the door, so at night when people come in, or you goto the washroom the doors slam right loud. The breakfast area is the the bar area at night. There's a smell of stale beer in the breakfast / entrance area is unpleasant in the morning, which leads me to believe that the bar area needs a little tlc. They have a cooking area and a tv area and really close to the centre of town. Walkable to bus. I'd stay again.


100%

had an awesome time! :)

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Only one thing to say : Do not change anything, it was awsome !!! Thanks


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback