X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

NosDa Studio Hostel Reviews

Despenser Street, Riverside, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1301 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Lovely staff, brilliant hostel lovely location! Cheap and clean! Staff really helpful a stress free stay

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great people, great atmosphere and a great location (very close to Cardiff castles, yummy restaurants and pubs, and nightlife). I would definitely stay here again.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your rating & review, glad you enjoyed your stay at NosDa & your visit to Cardiff. We think it is pretty special too!

83%

Some improvement comments: 1. hot water for shower is scolding hot. the girl at the hostel said it is because they set the heater at maximum level. but there is gonna be something to be done about this. can barely take shower! 2. the mattresses need to be replaced with new ones. 3. egg and ham for breakfast maybe? not only cornflakes and bread :)

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great atmosphere , super location with stunning views of Wales Millennium Stadium


89%

Very helpful staff, all you need is there for a short stay. Bonus, it even has its own private car park. Saved all the hassle of finding expensive on street parking or a 24hr car park. Perfect location, just a short 5 minute walk across the bridge and your in the hussle and bussle of the city centre.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your rating & review, glad that you had a good time in Cardiff & enjoyed your stay at NosDa. Look forward to seeing you again!

94%

Wonderful place to see in the Mew Year, superb views of the Wales Millennium Stadium and The Taff Rover

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your rating & review, the location is pretty special, we agree. Cardiff is a lovely city anytime of year, hopefully we will see you again.

74%

Clean room with a great view of the river and stadium. Great location and very pleased to be able to park on site. However, bed was very soft and uncomfortable. Felt more like sleeping in a hammock at times. Few other details like glasses left in the hallways and stains on the carpets but it is a backpacker hostel after all.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is an amazing view isn't it, thanks for your rating & review. I am sorry that your bed wasn't comfortable, we will check this out and see if it is the mattress or the bed. We are hoping to refurbish this hallway in the near future so the carpet will be replaced, but thanks for letting us know. Look forward to seeing you again.

94%

The bed was SO comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thanks for your review, hope to see you again!

94%

Love it! Couldn't be a better location. Clkean, comfortable and friendly. A great value.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Susan, Thanks so much for your comments! Great to hear you've had a lovely stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

77%

It's a pretty good location for a hostel with a car park, which was why we chose it. Only about a 10 minute walk into the centre. The hostel was virtually empty the whole time we were there so can't really say about the atmosphere. Facilities were good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Esther, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We hope that you will choose NosDa again the next time you're in Cardiff. Maybe you should come over during a Rugby season, the atmosphere here is amazing as we're so close to the Millennium Stadium and we get loads of international rugby fans in. And otherwise our summer season is usually pretty chilled out with friendly backpackers.

97%

Very polite staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Brian, Thanks for staying with us and we hope you will choose NosDa again in the future!

51%

+ great location + friendly, helpful staff - unclean and unhygienic - extremely small rooms w/o lockers - no storage room of any kind anywhere, neither in the rooms nor in the bathrooms - not enough showers and toilets Overall - way too expensive for what you get

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Verena, Thanks for your comments and good to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful. We do offer storage space, keys for the lockers are available at the reception desk and we also offer a free luggage storage room. If there aren't enough showers available you are welcome to use the showers on one of the other floors.

46%

overpriced beds in tiny, smelly rooms with unpleasant room mates. I mean really, I wouldn't be complaining if it was like 15 quid a night for something like that, but your 26 quid fee is a rip off. Location is good and central though

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Colin, Thanks for your comments and we're sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. Our dorm rooms differ in size and we tend not to use our smaller dorms unless we are really busy and have no other rooms available. However, when you choose to stay in a room sharing with other people, it is not within our power to know what your room mates will be like. It might be better to book a private room with us next time, so you don't have to worry about room mates.

94%

The perfect place, everything is very convenient for travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sophia, Thanks for your review. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!?

97%

this is one of my best hostell-experiences ever, and I'd like to go back just for that. Perfect distance from the main street of cardiff (a two minute walk, and you won't hear any of the noise).

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Cleanliness of room wasn't brilliant but must compliment you on excellent, powerful and efficient showers. A good stay, thanks.


83%

My only concern was that there were no lock up cupboards or cages in the dorm I was in. It was a 6 bed dorm and probably should have been 4 with security cages. Apart from that it was an excellent hostel, close to the city centre and station. The staff their were fabulous.


100%

In summary, NosDa is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Cleanliness: My room (34, facing the MIllenium Stadium & River Taff), kitchen, lounge, furniture and reception area were clean. Security: A key card is required to access the building, kitchen & rooms. The reception is manned 24/7. Location: Bus & train stations are five minutes away. City centre is five minutes away. Breakfast: Fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, orange juice. 1 gripe: Shower curtains are too close to the shower.


83%

My first time at a hostel. It was for one night and it was a good experience. I was given a bed with five french males. The location is in a wonderful place; right next to the millennium stadium and train stations. There are shower facilities which was nice! Downstairs is a chilling area with sofas and a TV and you can chat to other people. Free breakfast is given. If you're not bothered with noise, then you should stay here.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Room's were a little small but beyond that everything was great!

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback