X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Notting Hill Hostel Reviews

63 Prince's Square, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
381 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

OK the price is low for London, but the quality of this hostel is pretty bad. The room and the bathroom were really dirty (we decided not to use the bathroom as we stayed one night only). There were only 5 bathrooms/toilets for the whole house. Our room was really small and smelled of tobacco. The kitchen and the living room were also too small for hosting so many people. The luggage room was unorganised and dusty. The good points were the friendliness of the staff and location in a nice area.


57%

Not a fan of the facilities, the bathrooms are so small you can't even get properly dressed after a shower and the pillows are ridiculously tiny - bring your own if you want to get some sleep. The kitchen was also tiny and badly equipped, so be prepared to eat out a lot. Cleaning wasn't done too great either. Apart from one member of staff, the others seemed quite indifferent and I can't say there was a very cheery atmosphere at the hostel. Location is relatively central and fairly quiet though.


83%

The reception staff were very helpful and flexible. I got a clean quiet room on the floor I wanted and the common room was comfortable and clean. Good basic accommodation in an excellent location. :) Kate

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

I wasn't expecting luxury, it was an old typical british type of building, but to call a small room with two reaaally old beds and no sensation of cleanless at all, that is beyond the meaning of cheap. We didn't even stay at the hostel even though we had already paid.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff all round, very friendly and the rate is more than fair. Newly renovated room was finished to a high standard all in all very happy with my stay.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Television never worked in all the time there. Toilets smelled of rats and urine.


80%

A charming, centrally located hostel that is marred only by the inconsistent application of (an excessive number of) house rules that favour some guests over others. Warning certain people that their behaviour will result in being asked to leave but asking others to leave without warning for the same behaviour, is not only unfair but morally wrong - it's as simple as that!


63%

The bathroom felt a bit dirty, but overall it was a night in a hostel. We weren't blown away but it was what we got for our money.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The location and the Staff was nice but the rest wasn't nice at all....Everything was dirty and smelly. We booked a room with bath en suite and we got a room with 3 beds and a dirty shower in the middle of the room. we had to use disgusting toilets which were not clean at all. So it was one of THE worst hostels I have ever been....

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Unfortunately it was not clean (neither room nor bed linen or toilets/shower). It was smelling like urin in the floor. Two nights we had problems with overbooking and therefore discussions in the night...


80%

Our crew was especially impressed by the multifunction sanitary installation in the room.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

was to basic

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Because the staff is helpful and nice, the hostel is always clean and the showers are the best.


100%

Nice place. Allways coming back

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayed at Notting hill hostel for 1 week. Amazing location and value for money, convenient too as open 24 hours. This was also best value for money, and staff were very friendly and always helpful. Very basic amenities but it all worth it. Will stay here again, good experience!


97%

Lovely hostel in a convenient location.


97%

I loved everything about the hostel, but you could consider doing something with the luggage room so it is more organised and cleaner :)

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Montenegro
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. Luggage room is now clean and organised :)

57%

Stayed in a triple room, very cheap but this is reflected in the facilities, decor and cleanliness. Beds were clean more the general state of the building which is not the fault of the staff, who were more than helpful and polite, small common room had stained sofas, hardly any kitchen facilities in the tiny kitchen, no cooker. Website stated breakfast facilities but I couldn't even find a cup or cutlery, let alone cereal, bread and tea/coffee/milk. Some long standing residents who were polite.


89%

Charming hostel, the room where I was had some cupboard and everything, you almost feel home.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Having needed a quick place to stay whilst having a quick meeting. I decided to stay here as it said it would be good quality, clean, and pretty much good value for money. Unfortunately it was more like a refugee centre, disgusting interior, so messy, unclean everywhere you can imagine. I stayed in a private room, thank god for that as it sounded as though everyone was up all night snorting their life savings away. The toilet hadn't been cleaned since Notting hill was founded! Awful for £60!

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback