X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nuevo Horizonte Hostel Reviews

Avenida Brasil 723, Santiago, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
135 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Lots of permanent people live here, working in Santiago, which is good as they are all friendly and inclusive. Only downside is that going out is limited, if you want to party.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great Hostel! Laidback, cheap, good location, and when the right people are there it's a good time.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It is a small and nice hostel near the city. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. I liked it a lot being here. I extended a few days more.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place Good for relaxing everything around the corner

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I think that the hostel was really run down and it was very noisy. The hostel's dog was barking and our room was directly opposite the reception. The phone was ringing and doors were banging until late. Difficult to sleep. Noisy neighbourhood.


80%

Lovely hostel walking distance to many things down town. I liked this place and would stay here again.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice and small hostel, in a quiet but also a bit secluded area of the city. Fast Internet, a cosy dining area and living room. One of the only downsides is the gas heater of the shower that doesn't always work. Be sure to tell the receptionist that you're planning on staying more than one night if you just ordered one night, because it might lead to some misunderstandings.


69%

This hostel was perfect for the one-night, no-breakfast stay that I wanted. I would not have wanted to stay there any longer, though. In a sketchy area, far from the metro, and the bathrooms were just "okay". It has a very chill vibe. Good value for the money though- it's the cheapest hostel in Santiago that I could find.


80%

Located in a great neighborhood. Easily accessible to central Santiago. The Hostel is in an old building which gives it it's charm. The kitchen & lounge facilities are not cramped and even smokers get a place to light their tobacco. Do check out the street art around the Barrio.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Really nice staff and cozy atmosphere. I would reccomend to every body.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Nuevo Horizonte was a great, unpretentious hostel at a great price. It's kitchen and lounge area made it feel really homely, and it's small enough to be able to get to know everyone. The staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. It has a great location 5 mins from the metro. Would definitely recommend if you want to feel at home!


26%

This was, by far, the worst hostel I've stayed in all my trips. When I arrived, the front door was open, there was no staff anywhere and the reception was empty for anyone do whatever. I had to wait a while for a person who did not speak english and who had very little information about anything I asked. And it got worse when I saw the bedroom (with no windows or locks) and the bathroom (as clean as a sewer and with mold on the ceiling). After that I couldn't stay any longer. Don't go there.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Just ok for a night. The building is really old and doesn't seem well maintained. The rooms were clean and comfy though, but security wise the door must be left open if no one in the room. The showers could use a makeover.


37%

not recommended! Bad location, dirty kitchen, no atmosphere! There are a million better places to stay in bellavista or providencia, they may be more expensive but everywhere is in walking distance from there, you will save money on taxis. This was the only really bad hostel we had in three months in SA. Avoid!.


100%

Good place, friendly staff - a little bit cold at night but it was winter. kitchen well equiped, close to downtown areas, museums, parks. Cools bars in the area. surprisingly comfortable beds. only downside was tempermental hotwater system.


63%

It was not very clean.


60%

For one night absolutely suficiente, wenn missed a little bit the cleanness in this hostel but over all the price makes this hostel attractive


60%

A nice enough hostel but very quiet and staff aren't overly engaging when they're around. Very strong smell of air freshener which made me wonder what it was covering up. Nice big rooms and hot showers although they don't drain very well and probably need their pipes clearing. Located on bar street but not too close so it's not so loud. OK for a short stay but seriously lacks soul.


80%

Though a bit hard to find, this hostel is only short stroll from downtown and value for money is great. It was perfect for 2 nights.


77%

Small but cozy hostel. Comfy beds, nice living room, cool outdoor space.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Santiago Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback