X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nuovo Ostello di Bergamo Reviews

Via G. Ferraris, 1, Bergamo, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1241 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The directions left on the website to arrive at the hostel were incorrect and sketchy. We had to call the hostel twice and both times he was unhelpful beyond telling what we already knew on the website. He even hung up the phone on the second call before we could find the place. The screws on the door frame were loose so you couldn"t always close the door unless you manually tightened them. And the place was in the middle of nowhere, which is not the impression I first had when booking.


94%

for the price there's no need to complain, but it would be good to get the shower fixed in rm. 211

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great lounge area and terrace with view of city. Breakfast is nice; can not complain. Staff is mostly Italian speaking, but definitely manageable to communicate. Distance to Citta Alta (main touristic area) is about 40 minute walk, for sure. Never took bus. I prefer walking to see more of the city. Be sure to try Casoncelli (Bergamos dish of pasta: type of sausage tortellini cooked with bacon and oil/butter)


86%

The balcony and rooftop terrace add value to the place. Nice staff, mostly Italian speaking.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

It was bit uncommon hearing that payment has to be done only by cash, anyway the accomodation was after all ok.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean and friendly hostel. Quite far away from the center and airport, but if you plan how to get there earlier, it's easy to do so. Staff is very helpful and speak english. You dont have to pay extra for towels or sheet. Nice breakfast included!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I liked a lot of the hostel and the staff; they are very kind. I liked the mood of the bold man with white hair in his suit, very nice.


94%

Very nice place; with a decent bathroom, a good breakfast and a free internet point ! A bit far from the station, next time I will take the bus !

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The temporary receptionist at the front desk was quite the character... talked my ear off a bit. Other than that, the facilities were fine (the sheets were a little scratchy), breakfast was fine (it really is continental as they tell you), and the plugs aren't right by the beds, which was a tiny bit inconvenient. All in all, however, it was a good night's sleep and a good start to the next morning.


60%

The staff were very kind, but overall we did not have a great stay. We arrived late and tried to find somewhere to eat, only to get bad directions and having to return to have microwave pasta. Our room had six beds and only two chargers for the entire space. In addition, we were told check-in ended at midnight but someone came into our room between 2 and 3am (he had not been there before). It's a place to stay, but we didn't have a great visit.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Far away, clean, some of the staff will say nasty things behind your back. As if Italian is hard to understand.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good accommodations for budget price. Would definitely recommend to fellow budget travellers.


83%

Really nice staff, really helpful

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Pretty average hostel. Was practically empty. Far from most things. Was there on an overnight layover, and had to pay €20 for a taxi, 'cause the buses don't run very early. Neither locker nor bathroom locked. Everything else was average. Not really worth it for just a layover, especially due to location.


83%

Pretty good experience overall! maybe if you could provide some locks for the lockers in the rooms it would be even better. Also if there was a more extensive description on how to reach the hostel by bus (including routes and bus stops-and working hours) that would help too.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I only stayed here one night, but the hostel was a good place to crash. The staff at the desk was very helpful with directions to different locations in Bergamo as well as how to get to the airport. The showers and rooms were very clean. The only negative thing that I can say is that it is away from the city center and takes a bit of a hike to reach. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area.


77%

Everything very fine, except: Due to some older men the atmosphere was not very good. One of them got a little aggressive when someone made a remark about the tv programme he chose. The other one was sleeping in the same dorm as I was and showed some antisocial behaviour. Peeing standing with the bathroom door wide open, brushing his shoes very loudly at 7.45 am... Of course that's not the hostel owner's fault, although it seemed that he was living there, and he was certainly not young...




View all Bergamo Hostels

Please give us your feedback