X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

O de Casa Hostel Bar Reviews

Rua Inacio Pereira da Rocha, 385, Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
542 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Beautiful hostel, nice bar, nice people


71%

Nice hostel. Good location. Breakfast not included but you can buy breakfast from the bar. Stayed in a dorm even though carnival was going on outside we didn't hear it. Would stay here again.


60%

bathroom always dirty, toilet seats all broken, very poor lightning (as in the room). no smoking in the bar, only in terrace where there are no ashtrays or lights, so pitch black in the late evening/night. lockers pretty small. metro not too closeby (10/12 blocks). there is a big terrace but you cannot whatsoever hang anything to dry tere. on the bright side, very well located, area is super nice and full of bars and restaurants. staff is nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Irene! Well, let’s start from the easy part: metro is only 6 blocks (5.5 actually) away from the hostel. You can easily see that on a map. Smoking indoors is forbidden all over brazil, and you can easily check this info on Google. And yes, our terrace is for leisure purposes only, and hey, we would all hate to go up there to smoke a cigarette along with stranger’s underwear hanging for drying, wouldn’t we? ;) Thanks for your review!

80%

Great staff, clean hostel... The best part, from far, it's the location, the best neighborhood of the city, and close to subway stations...


100%

This was my 2nd time at Ô de Casa. I think I dont need to say that how much I like it.


86%

staff is great, great location, no breakfast though, bar was completed by my arrival time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing. We have a very decent breaskfast from R$7 (ham and cheese sandwich, cake, fruit, 400ml of fresh Orange juice, coffee and tea), and indeed it’s not included. Also we have other brazilian stuff available at our cafe, such as tapiocas, pão de queijo & açaís bowls. We care a lot about breakfast here and decided to provide a seriously good one. Give it a try next time you are around, you won’t regret.

100%

Arrived late on Christmas Eve and was worried I'd have a terrible Christmas. Could not have been more wrong, met the coolest people at the most welcoming and inclusive hostel with some amazing staff who really help you out and feel as much like backpackers themselves as they are employees of the hostel. Many awesome bars around the area and the graffiti in the area is top!


86%

Great hostel with a great atmosphere. If you like to go out and enjoy the nightlife, this hostel will definitely facilitate that! Once the bar is completed in sure this hostel will be that much better!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to announce that now the bar is finally ready and rocking! Sorry for all the inconveniece then!

100%

Really good!


63%

First night stayed in a dorm which was really small. They were renovating the lounge room so no place to relax except the kitchen. Then moved to a 4 person room across the street, make sure you get a room there, way better!! Breakfast was more like a tiny lunchbox for kids okay but not great. A lot of people working there were traveling as well so easy to make contact with and really friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to announce that now the bar is finally ready and rocking and now there’s plenty of common areas and delicious options for breakfast ;)

63%

Currently no bar or chill out area. Basically a corridor with bedrooms coming off it. Pretty good wifi and breakfast though. Charging double on weekends isn't ideal for backpackers...

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, there must have been a misunderstanding here, cause we don’t charge double on weekends :( . Sometimes we do have promos, and they can happen weekends or weekdays. Bar is finally ready, and we are really happy for that. Sorry for the inconvenience it might have caused.

80%

Great location! There was one outstanding staff member a guy who was super helpful!! Only issues were the upper bunkbed has no ladder making it difficult at the best of times (especially after a few drinks)! Would benefit from a chillout couch/ tv area. Bar in construction process.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the tips. We’ve been renovating our hostel, but now our bar is back, our terrace is back, and we are all very happy to have all our commom areas back for everyones’s leisure. Sorry for the inconvenience.

83%

The girl working in the morning was very nice and friendly. The rooms are situated in a weird spot and don't have proper doors so you can hear everything outside (kitchen, washrooms)... I woke up in the middle of the night to people laughing in the kitchen. Very clean but no great place to hang out and chat with others. This might change when construction is done? Location is in a really cool part of São Paolo!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the tips. We’ve been renovating our hostel, but now our bar is back, our terrace is back, and we are all very happy to have all our commom areas back for everyones’s leisure. Sorry for the inconvenience.

51%

Let me start by saying this hostel has an amazing location. Unfortunately it was the most depressing hostel I've ever been to. Firstly the bar is closed for refurbishment (would've been nice to know as it is used as a major selling point). Also, 75% of the people staying there are volunteers who all know each other (why so many volunteers!?) making the little atmosphere there was very cliquey. Would recommend if you were in a big group of people or don't like social interaction, not solo travele

Owner Comment (Hide)
Uhm, this review hurts. Indeed we have been renovating, but now it’s all finally ready and back to normality. Depressing sounds a bit agressive, since the vibe has been one of our main aspects in all those years. Can we just assume you were having a bad day? That happens sometimes :(

89%

My days in Sao Paulo were wonderful because of the hostel. A safe place to stay, well located in a sensational neighborhood with incredible people to meet and interact. Staff exceeded my expectations, always being very helpful, friendly and willing to provide great moments. I traveled alone and it was worth staying at the hostel. I was in a wide room with 8 beds, which was cleaned every day (as well as the bathrooms). I definitely would recommend the hostel, and I'll for sure stay there again :)

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A really nice, small hostel in the cool Vila Madalena neighbourhood (definitely the best area with countless restaurants, bars, graffiti and also safe). Staff are helpful, the place is secure, and the breakfast is nice but simple. There is one main block of showers/bathrooms which is a bit insufficient. Not much of a vibe, and sound transmits the entire way through the hostel. Wifi doesnt really work anywhere - makes it hard to plan


97%

Loved this hostel! Beautiful and charming place. Rooms very comfortable with lockers and towels included. Lots and nice commun areas.


80%

The hostel is in an excellent location. It's a small hostel but it's really nice. It's under reconstruction which makes it a little inconvenient at times but nonetheless nice. Most of the staff were nice and helpful except for one guy that seemed annoy with the presence of people there. He was rude the whole time to us. He would stare at all the guests as if they were not supposed to be there. He was very annoying... Aside from that the stay was excellent!!!

  • 19th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Were happy to announce that now the bar is finally ready and rocking! Sorry for all the inconvenience then!

71%

Nice Hostel but the construction work gave it a weird atmosphere .

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to announce that now the bar is finally ready and rocking! Sorry for all the inconveniece then!

74%

We really liked it in some respects but we're less impressed in others. We felt the rooms could have had locks on the doors given that the lockers weren't even large enough for a rucksack. Also the breakfast could have been imlroved, namely by some water! Overall it was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the tips. Lockers usually for important stuff, such as computers, documents, and indeed it won’fit a backpack. And good news is that breakfast has been improved a lot since then ;)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback