Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

O de Casa Hostel Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
O de Casa Hostel Bar Located at Rua Inacio Pereira da Rocha, 385, Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo.
O de Casa Hostel Bar
Brazil
Sao Paulo 05432-011 Rua Inacio Pereira da Rocha, 385, Vila Madalena
84% 654
-23.5605647 -46.6903281
O de Casa Hostel Bar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jan 2017
6.0

The private room is too raw, lacks a cupboard or anything to put your stuff. It's mouldy and the ventilator is so loud that you cannot sleep. I also tried ear plugs, to no avail. Suggestion: fix the gaps in the door for mosquitos not to enter the room and change the fan. Also, breakfast should start before 9h. Positive aspects: great atmosphere, bar, location, nice room for hanging out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Fantastic hostel with fantastic staff who are so helpful and half price caprihinas is good too! Shame it doesn't have a kitchen! Would defently stay here again and recommend to anyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
9.4

I stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas and had a wonderful time! Marina and all of the hostel employees were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay. They had great suggestions for things to do around the neighborhood and organized several activities / outings while I was there. The location is great, right in the heart of Madalena, close to many fun restaurants and bars. If I am ever back in Sao Paulo, I will definitely be staying at O de casa again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.0

Very lovely and helpful staff. Great central location in Vila Madalena. Pretty secure, with the need to buzz in at night. Decent cleanliness. Absence of a kitchen was a bit of a shame. Bar had cheap caipirinhas but I found the atmosphere to be pretty lacking - but maybe it was just quiet season or the people who were staying there at the time. Got utterly demolished by mosquitoes too - the place is in desperate need of mosquito nets over the beds. Otherwise pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.7

I had a great stay at O de Casa. Nice atmosphere and very helpful and friendly staff. The neighbourhood that it's in is absolutely the best part of Sao Paulo, if you'd ask me. I would strongly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.1

Excellent hostel. Good location, a short walk from a metro stration, a lot is going on in the neighborhood and arround and the streets are pretty safe. The staff is very nice, talkative, friendly, helpfull. The bar serves food all day long, it's nice when you want to eat something quick before going out. Menu offers varity of things. I enjoyed the place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
3.7

I hated my stay here. The location is awful for someone who doesn't want to spend a ton of money because it's one of the most costly streets in Sao Paulo and it doesn't help that the hostel charges you for every little thing they can. The private rooms are hot and full of mosquitoes and I didn't sleep well both nights. The rug in the bathroom was soiled and wasn't cleaned properly so the bathroom smelled bad. I would not stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We still struggle trying to find out how someone from USA comes to a hostel in Brazil, pays R$84 (US$25??) for a double private (with towels included, so we didn't charge those), R$7 (US$2) for a beer and complains about pricing... But ya, some people do. And we are sorry if neither our hostel or Vila Madalena - which is known to be the place to be in SP - satisfied you. :/

15th Nov 2016
8.6

We stayed at the annex property and not the hostel itself. I have to say the location is outstanding. Right by all the bars, restaurant's and Becco De Batman. The rooms at the annex property were excellent and very spacious as well as comfortable. Staff are excellent and more than happy to help. The hostel itself was also good for a drink and bite to eat. Highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.0

Lovely staff here. Very accommodating and sell nice food at the bar. We would have liked to have had a kitchen and a place to store our food but this was not possible. Very clean and good atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.9

Hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived during a major storm so there was no power for our first day but they still made it comfortable with candles and upgraded us to a six bed dorm. Great atmosphere and although there was no breakfast it was worth a little extra to buy off the menu. No kitchen facilities to use which is a pain. Good vibes in the communal area which is away from the dorms so you can rest well and a sweet rooftop! Good clean showers and lots of hammocks. Loved it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.