Hostelworld.com

O de Casa Hostel Bar

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Feb 2017
7.4

This was a nice hostel in a great location but the rooms were very hot and full of mosquitos... they had ceiling fans but aircon would be much better in such a hot city. We were there on a Monday night so the place was pretty quiet but I'm sure it would pick up later in the week. The staff were nice and helpful but not super social. You get half price caiprinhas which is great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KRUMINSKI
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.1

This was the first hostel I stayed in during my time in South America and they set the bar high! Their greatest attribute has to be their staff. Especially Noah who instantly puts you at ease with her big smile and the lovely Charlie! The team were always happy to help, whether it be directions to a restaurant or making you a complimentary Caipirinha. The hostel had all the amenities, it always felt secure and even had a rooftop terrace to sunbathe by day and stargaze by night. Big Love X

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.7

Everything was perfect (except the wifi).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cwmillermk7543
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice place to lay your head, and comfortable TV room. Other facilities are lacking. No kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
6.0

The private room is too raw, lacks a cupboard or anything to put your stuff. It's mouldy and the ventilator is so loud that you cannot sleep. I also tried ear plugs, to no avail. Suggestion: fix the gaps in the door for mosquitos not to enter the room and change the fan. Also, breakfast should start before 9h. Positive aspects: great atmosphere, bar, location, nice room for hanging out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Fantastic hostel with fantastic staff who are so helpful and half price caprihinas is good too! Shame it doesn't have a kitchen! Would defently stay here again and recommend to anyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
9.4

I stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas and had a wonderful time! Marina and all of the hostel employees were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay. They had great suggestions for things to do around the neighborhood and organized several activities / outings while I was there. The location is great, right in the heart of Madalena, close to many fun restaurants and bars. If I am ever back in Sao Paulo, I will definitely be staying at O de casa again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.0

Very lovely and helpful staff. Great central location in Vila Madalena. Pretty secure, with the need to buzz in at night. Decent cleanliness. Absence of a kitchen was a bit of a shame. Bar had cheap caipirinhas but I found the atmosphere to be pretty lacking - but maybe it was just quiet season or the people who were staying there at the time. Got utterly demolished by mosquitoes too - the place is in desperate need of mosquito nets over the beds. Otherwise pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.7

I had a great stay at O de Casa. Nice atmosphere and very helpful and friendly staff. The neighbourhood that it's in is absolutely the best part of Sao Paulo, if you'd ask me. I would strongly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.1

Excellent hostel. Good location, a short walk from a metro stration, a lot is going on in the neighborhood and arround and the streets are pretty safe. The staff is very nice, talkative, friendly, helpfull. The bar serves food all day long, it's nice when you want to eat something quick before going out. Menu offers varity of things. I enjoyed the place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.