X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ô de Casa Hostel Reviews

Rua Inacio Pereira da Rocha, 385, Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
446 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Lovely staff, very helpful. Location in Vila madalena is much like shoreditch in london- über cool night life.


86%

Really clean and fun hostel, were really helpful staff, great breakfasts etc. Location was amazing, all within a few blocks of some excellent places to eat and drink. The hostel bar was really good too! Only issue we had was our room was in the second building, which was accessed down an alley where there was typically a car parked. This meant access, particularly with Backpacks really awkward....minor issue though.


94%

great place! we stayed an entire week, staff is amazing & really sweet & helpful! they seem to really care & want to make friends. location is great, tons of bars restaurants in area, 15 minute walk to metro. lockers were a little flimsy, but overall I would HIGHLY recommend this place. the bar in front always had great specials on drinks, live music one night, & gives you easy access to new friends & a good atmosphere without venturing too far!


20%

Avoid this hostel. When we arrived they had lost our reservation, and they said that they had sent an email about it (which we could not find). They promised our money back, and to cover our expences for parking, but when we called back two days later they now said it was not their responsability. One thing is to make a mistake: Another is to promise to make it up but then going back on your own words. All in all a very unprofessional hostel and for us a lousy experience.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Nicole, We are really sorry that you haven't stayed with us and had only this very bad experience. We recentrly changed our system here at the hostel and indeed some reservation went missing, but now all is back in order. We tried to reach you with no success. We just wrote you an email to make sure we take care of any extra expenses you had. Again, we are really sorry for this and will make sure this won't happen again. Best,

91%

Nice hostel, attentive staff.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

This hostel is great! I enjoyed it very much. The only big problem it has is that the bedrooms are not ventilated well. So it gets very hot, even at nights and you can barly sleep... they really should buy new fans for the bedrooms...


97%

Nice place run by fellow travellers, good location, well maintained hostel, great customer service.


89%

Good property, great neighborhood, clean. Just wish they promoted more activities at night at the bar, it would be a great way to build up a cool atmosphere. Overall good choice!!!


74%

Our stay here was ok. Myself and a friend made São Paulo our first stop. Although friendly upon approaching, we both feel stagf didn't go out of their way to suggest things to do in the city or promote events going on in the hostel. On two of our three days, the showers didn't work which was frustrating. Our private room was across the road from the hostel. The metro was a 10-15 minute walk which we accidentally stumbled across! Breakfast of a toasted sandwich and fresh fruit was nice :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bad on us, we will make sure we are more "agressive" when suggesting stuff ;) Sorry for the showers, São Paulo is going trought a severe water shortage that suprised us in january. Now we have reservatories all over. Best,

100%

I stayed for quite a long time as I liked the friendly atmosphere. It's a clean and social hostel with a beautiful green entrance area and a hostel bar where you can meet easily other travelers. It's in a safe, central location and the most entertaining area of Sao Paulo. The owner and the staff was super friendly and very helpful. There were some things which needed improvement but the owner is solving it and welcoming advises of the guests. I loved my stay and would always come back.


71%

We stayed in a private double room with new year and maybe the staff had a hard time because the busy period, but we didnt enjoyed our stay. Just a lot of things in a row that were dissapointed for us: room not ready, and after 10 hour travelling... The room was Nice and clean but the showers weren't working. There was supposed to be a little resto but we didn't it see it open during our stay. At the 1st of January they didn't serve breakfast while its included and nothing was open in the area.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This hostel is in a great location in a fantastic and in a very safe neighbourhood in São Paulo. The atmosphere here was ok, but the staff didn't really speak a lot of English, which made it hard for them to give me much help on what to see around the city. They seemed more interested in talking to each other and their friends than anything else. Breakfast was pretty good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our bad, Bianca! Staff's been warned and things are back to normal. Please read our recent reviews. Thanks for letting us know ;) Best,

74%

Very nice staff at this hostel. Very knowledgeable about the local area


66%

Nice athmosphere, lots of guests who are also working behind the desk, they were very helpfull all the time. Unfortunately most of the lockers were broken, the beds were really thin and covered in sweaty plastic, showers and toilets were hardly cleaned. Breakfast was nice for the price. Overall a reasonable stay when your expectations are low and you don't want to spend so much.


80%

I had fun time at here, met nice people n stuffs. I recommend here to stay n relax


89%

good environment and friendly staffs. the only complaint i have is that they do not allow people to bring in drinks even after they closed the bar.


83%

Very good location with a nice environment, friendly and helpful staff.


80%

Great location, friendly staff, decent room, perfect breakfast for us- overall very pleased with our stay.


89%

Perfect, the rooms get humid real easily though.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good place to stay. Good price and a cool atmosphere. The only 'but' is the breakfast, in my opinion. No options, really closed menu (1 ham&cheese sandwiche, 1 small juice glass, 1 small coffe) nothing else! But I´m sure that´s something really easy to fix! Hope to try the hostel again!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(241 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback