X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

OKI's Inn Reviews

542-2 Furukawa-cho Higashiyama-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
117 Total Reviews
  • 98%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really good one..staff is so friendly and good location nearby subway.


100%

it's amazing to live in a historical hostel. The hostel is clean and nice. I love the big living room very much.


100%

What a holiday! Taka and Yuka are the perfect host of a hostel. They give you advise, help you everyday with your schedule and your visit. About the hostel itself, the location is excellent, you can do everything by foot if you like to walk, or by bike ( they rent them) or the station is 1' walk. The bathroom and sanitary are very clean. I had an excellent stay!!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

My wife and I stayed at Oki's Inn for 3 nights and had the most wonderful time. Taka and Yuki made us feel comfortable and welcomed right away. The Inn is just a short walk from downtown, bicycles are available for rent and there is a living room where you can relax (with lovely cats in the evening). The Inn itself is beautiful, traditional, with a modern style restroom (for those who wonder). Oki's Inn is the 1st location I would go back to. It does not get any better than that folks, trust me.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Have stayed at OKI"s Inn for 2nd time. Location is great, short walk from bus stop & subway. This place is very clean and warm environment , like stay at home. Taka & Yuka had managed this place by their heart and alwasy willing to give information & tips to travel in Kyoto. Their litte cat is the great receptionist at OKI's inn too. Wish to go back to stay at OKI's Inn again.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

the absolute sweetest owners ever. friendly and warm welcome, and efficient information to everything you need! The old building make you feel like experiencing the history itself. If you like homey family feel, love cats and tatami and futons and don't mind thin walls then this is the place to stay. I would always wanna stay there!!!


91%

Very nice location, enormously friendly and helpful staff. The place is very small, so not the best for meeting people or partying, but perfect for an interesting time in Kyoto and the building itself great.


86%

Taka and Yuka are very nice young owners of this guesthouse. Since they used to study in Australia, so they can speak great english, and they are happy to give you advice for sightseeing or dinning or even onsen. They got three cute cats you can play with. Its just like home, you can sit in the warm table and chitchat with each other. I really had a great time in OKI's. Thank you buddy.


97%

A friend and I were traveling in Japan and stayed for two nights at Oki's in Kyoto. The guesthouse itself was very traditional and pretty, but the stars of our stay were Taka and Yuka. The proprietors of this wonderful hostel were extremely warm and kind, and consistently offered up useful tips and information. They are both fluent in english which was vey helpful (our japanese is nonexistent), especially in getting us to our next destination. I wish we could have stayed longer at Oki's. A+

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed her for New Year's Eve and we got the best help ever for our stay. The place is in a great location, the place is charming and so are the hosts. A great stay! Will definitely stay again.


97%

Fabulous location and friendly, helpful hosts make this charming, comfortable, atmospheric hostel my family's favourite place to stay during our journey through Japan. Laundry is just around the corner, outdoor bathroom was absolutely no problem to older or younger members - great hot water!- great hang out area. Taka and Yuka procured more bikes for us (7 people) and their suggested bike routes around Kyoto were the highlight of our trip

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Our stay there was very comfortable, like most Japanese people, the couple that owned the place were very hospitable and did everything they could to assist us with any info we needed

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The guesthouse was amazing! The hosts are so sweet and friendly and they will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home! We even got home-made lunch to the airport. The location was right next to the subway and 15 min. walk to the heart of Kyoto which was perfect. The house is so unique and a good experience to sleep in traditional Japanese manner. See you soon again!


94%

Love the nice couple!


100%

We loved staying with Yuka and Taka at Oki's Inn! They were so available to help and made our stay relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. We wished we could've stayed longer! Thank you so much guys :)) Asha and Geoff.


94%

It is a lovely hostel very easy to find and where you can discover a real Japanese house. The owners are really nice and helpful and you feel definetely like at home.


89%

This place is recommended! Taka and Yuka were very gentle and nice to me. Perhaps I can suggest a full-length mirror in the women's dorm :-)

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great small Ryokan run by a lovely young couple. They were extremely helpful and accomodating. Good location, very close to the temple walk and the Gion district.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely to meet tge wonderful couple that runs this place. Highly recommended.


100%

This was one of the best guesthouses I have ever stayed in. It is traditional, perfectly clean and has a wonderful vibe. The owners, Taka and Yuka, are incredibly peaceful and hospitable. They have a genuine and personable approach - it was an absolute pleasure to meet them. Also, great location!

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback