Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

ONCE in Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2017
9.7

I think i never had a better stay at a hostel in my life. the evening activities were lots of fun and the perfect opportunity to socialise! the rooms were clean. The Hostel offers a nicely decorated terrasse and bar, where you meet up with locals and other travellers. Just the perfect place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
8.3

Party hostel. Great place to meet people and they organize good events. Facilities are also pretty decent. But had unique bad experiences with the bathroom when the people the night before me threw up in the shower and clogged it, and a roommate brought people back to the room. Just know the risks of booking a party hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.3

It is a nice place to stay if you want to party all the time, cause it is a Bar with rooms upstairs. The parking was kind of fulll, but we finally get a spot to park it. The rooms are very well equipped with mini lockers in each bed where you can plug your devices to charge them. The best of the hostel is the location, near the restaurants and bars to go out at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
3.4

Bugs! Loud, no chillout areas, no Backpackerflair at all! Worst Hostel on my whole trip in SA!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel was soooo impressive. The staff were the best i have come across so friendly up for a laugh and so knowledgeable. They persuaded me to do the table mountian hike and i was so glad i did. There are 2 bars that are reasonably priced with plenty of options. They both had a great atmosphere and served really nice food. The dorm room was spacious and had a code to get in and your own charging points. Everything was spotlessly clean. Best stay in Cape Town! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
8.9

Great spot for socializing and meeting people. Staff are lovely and helpful, great youthful energy. Only drawbacks are hot dorm rooms and the bar noise if you're near. Overall a great spot though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.7

A great hostel and very social if you don't mind hearing music playing from the bar area. If you are looking for a quiet place to crash then look somewhere else. Kloof Street is a lively street any day of the week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.0

Good rooms and staff. But some rooms (like the room I had) is close to the bar and is loud from 9:00am to 10pm everyday with party people and drinkers, you will not be able to sleep during this time. No air-conditioning in these rooms so very hot. So if you open the window you will be exposed to the loud noise and cigarette smoke. Ask for a room away for the bar area on level 1. I got some kind of insect bites all over my body from sleeping from sleeping in Room: 108, bed:108C.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
8.6

ONCE is a great place to stay in Cape Town - great location, helpful staff, and a really nice café/ bar on the ground level. The grab and go breakfast is really light, but you can also redeem your breakfast voucher for R20 and upgrade your meal. The music at the bar does play loudly each evening, but is shut down promptly at 11pm. The only complaints I have are that there was no key for the safe in our room and there were cockroaches in the bathroom!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.