X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Zen Reviews

3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
387 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Warm and nice place!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

very close to the train station, check in available until late, spacious dormitory room.


97%

The hostel is a very beautiful hostel. The atmosphere and the design of the hostel makes your stay in Tokyo very pleasant. The hostel is perfectly clean. They have very knowledgeable and friendly staff. The location is also good because it's near Ueno, a cultural hub, and the train station to the airport. One thing I would like to see in this hostel is a bigger locker that can fit my luggage and a locker that does not make a lot of noise. But overall, this is an excellent hostel!


97%

I would like to commend all staff for making my stay unforgettable. They were so accomadating and sushi party was so fun. As for the hotel, their facilities are relatively new and well maintained. Kitchen and shower rooms were always clean. Rooms are very spacious and beddings are in good quality. Keep up the good work Oak Hostel Zen!

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was initially wary about booking a hostel and not a hotel since it was my first time going on a far away trip, but any concerns I had vanished the moment I checked in. The staff was super friendly and everything was totally clean. On top of that I had a restful and refreshing nights sleep each night I stayed. I was also worried about security but since there were key cards on the doors and lockers it was never an issue. For my next trip to Japan, when I go to Tokyo I know where I'm staying :D


91%

great place to stay, the beds are comfortable, the showers clean and good, good Internet but dont expect to meet a lot of people here is a quiet hostel.


100%

Was a great place. Will definitely recommend to other students at my university.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff are really helpful. The hotel is very clean and safe. I really love my twin private room!


97%

The staffs are very nice. The place is very clean located closely to Uguisandani JR station which is 1 station away from Ueno Metro, another major hub. Worth every yen I had spent! :)

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This was one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Nothing bad to say at all.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nicest and most helpful staff i have probably come across throughout my travels of staying in Hostels, thank you for making my time in Japan such a pleasant one!


91%

This is not a party hostel, but is a really nice place to stay if youre looking for calm and relaxing. The place is spotless, the staff are really friendly and helpful, and the beds are really comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. Really easy to find from the train station and Airport, and is on the same train line as all the main places to visit.


94%

The nicest and cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in!! super nice checkin and even nicer staff

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was good, the staff, location and the bed. The only thing wrong was the guest at midnight they made too much noise.


91%

Almost perfect. The hostel is close to both JR and Tokyo Metro lines and boasts strong wifi, helpful staff and clean facilities. Was easy to get to for someone new to Tokyo. One quip: noticed I could smell cigarette smoke in the main hallway a lot from the guest smoking area- perhaps this could be fixed somehow. All in all would definitely recommend. Met some great people and staff were super helpful in recommending things to do in Tokyo. Thanks Oak Hostel!


97%

Staff were friendly and helpful. The closest JR station is on the Yamanote line which is quite convenient. Good hot showers! Great place overall!


83%

Nice and clean hostel! Having a good quality like a hotel more than a hostel. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. All front-desk staffs I met speaks English. Good quiet location which is really close to the JR and metro station. I stayed in a twin room on 2/F. Beds are comfortable and spacious for me. There are 3 bathrooms on 2/F (while 2 are for female only), and around 6 on G/F. Kitchen on G/F is fully equipped. It will be even better if there is a electric pot at every floor's common area.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • xxxfish
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Oak Hostel Zen is only a year old so all the facilities are brand new and very very clean. I was very impressed with the dorms which had comfy beds, petitioned walls, en-suites and hairdryers. A relief to be in such an orderly kitchen. Good quiet location which is close to the train station and in walking distance to a lot of the sights. Very helpful staff with good English. Strong wifi. Thank you


91%

nice hostel. Not a huge social atmosphere but great location, really nice rooms and helpful staff.


83%

Oak Hostel Zen is a mix of hotel and hostel. Problem is, for a hostel, it feels rather sterile (no real common room), for a hotel I image it to be to loud. This is written from a backbackers perspective. Has a large, well equipped kitchen. Showers are very good. Beds in doorms are solid build and comftable. Security very good (24h reception, electronic card keys, large rubust lockers). All rooms were very clean. I met four staff members; all of them were very freindly and helpful.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback