Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oak Hostel Zen

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • taldstadt
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

The stay and the staff was amazing! It was super clean and very friendly, I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
9.1

Stayed here for 1 night. Had an early flight the next day so only spent about 12 hours in the hostel. However it was very clean, great showers and beds were comfy. Staff were very helpful and chatty. I can't comment on atmosphere as I only slept but I imagine it would be good as not a bad common area. Nice big kitchen if you want to coin food and huge fridges as well. 2 min walk from main train station. I Recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Mar 2017
9.4

Stayed in the female dorm with 16 beds, was a bit crammed but ok. Quiet and personal lockers a plus. Clean and nice hostel in a near proximity to a JR-station which is good for JR-pass holders! Quiet area. The hostel arranged hanami but unfortunately I didn't have time to join!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2017
10.0

Stayed one night in the double bed ensuite - staff were very friendly and the room was perfectly adequate. Very close to metro station / Ueno park as well which was handy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
8.6

The location description provided was very simple and precise. Really a big help for first time users of the hotel. Of course it helped that we are familiar with the Yamanote cirlce line already and the city's metro. But once you get your bearing, the place is walkable to and from the flwg nearby places: UENO Museums and parks, Ueno Station, and Hibiya Metro Station. The common spaces of the hotel is very simple but gives a clean, new and japanese ambience . Wifi is strong.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.4

The Hostel is close to Uguisudani station, which is quite handy if you have a JR pass. There are big lockers to leave lots of stuff, and also smaller and more secure lockers for your most valuable possessions for a refundable 100 yen coin. Showers and toilets were clean, good water temperature and pressure. Common spaces were big and comfortable. There's also a couple of computers you can freely use. Staff was very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.7

I highly recommend this hostel because they covered everything we need during our 3 nights stay. Word of caution though: yes the hostel is near a JR line but the stairs going down or up might be a problem especially if you have bulky luggage with you. If you are up for the challenge to take several flights of stairs, this might not be an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.1

A nice well-run place. Good dorm beds with curtains reading light outlets etc. Ample common space. Convenient to get on both jr train and subway, a reasonable walk to both stations. Staff was nice and helpful. My only complaint was that there were communal computers in lobby but internet was not working properly when I tried to use them. (There is of course wifi in hostel though)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
10.0

The ten-person women's dorm is divided into three sections, so each part could control our own lights, heat, etc. Very clean building, big kitchen and friendly staff who spoke excellent English. Close to Ueno station, but there are many good restaurants and convenience stores in the area. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Very modern facilities with helpful staff that spoke great English. The beds were comfortable the room was quiet and the bathrooms/showers were very clean! Free use of komonos and towels were a nice touch too, very impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.