X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Zen Reviews

3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
347 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Staff were friendly and helpful. The closest JR station is on the Yamanote line which is quite convenient. Good hot showers! Great place overall!


97%

Oak Hostel Zen is only a year old so all the facilities are brand new and very very clean. I was very impressed with the dorms which had comfy beds, petitioned walls, en-suites and hairdryers. A relief to be in such an orderly kitchen. Good quiet location which is close to the train station and in walking distance to a lot of the sights. Very helpful staff with good English. Strong wifi. Thank you


83%

Oak Hostel Zen is a mix of hotel and hostel. Problem is, for a hostel, it feels rather sterile (no real common room), for a hotel I image it to be to loud. This is written from a backbackers perspective. Has a large, well equipped kitchen. Showers are very good. Beds in doorms are solid build and comftable. Security very good (24h reception, electronic card keys, large rubust lockers). All rooms were very clean. I met four staff members; all of them were very freindly and helpful.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

No complaints-basically the perfect hostel. Keycard locks, great staff, and close to akihabara and Tokyo station by JR rail.


80%

Very clean and well organised hotel with all toiletries provided. use of the kitchen is great.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was extremely nice, the place was clean, and there was plenty of room for two in the private double bed room we got. Only downside was one day they had the power short out in our side of the place, but I think it was just a fluke.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean accommodation and had a ice atmosphere!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed in the female dorm. Atmosphere was great. It was easy to meet people and make new friends. Oak Hotel Zen has fully equipped kitchen. They even have a rice cooker. If you're staying for over a week, you can definitely do some grocery shopping and keep your food in their fridges. The hostel was very new and very clean. It had modern Japanese shower/bath and shampoo/conditionner were provided. Half-sized lockers were accessible but most people left their luggage in the dorm room.


97%

Great hostel! Very clean and good facilities, nice personnel. Not directly in the city center, but close to a subway station that can bring you to almost all the big places.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely and clean, well-appointed and conveniently located hostel. Only complaint is with people having showers at 1am because the place isn't super sound-proof.


91%

The real highlight of this accommodation has to be the staff. 100% helpful and it really makes a difference to be told 'welcome home' at the end of your day. The accommodation itself is top notch. If it weren't for the dormoitory room... It would be just like a very very nice hotel! There were some rules such as no washing clothes between 24:00/07:00, and also not using a hairdryer on normal settings. There was no curfew however, and these rules weren't really restrictive. See you again!


100%

This hostel was amazing! Came here with my best friend and we loved it. Everything was basically new and very clean. The beds in our dorm were extremely comfy especially their fluffy blankets, every bed had a power outlet and light stand as well as curtains for privacy. Simple to get to by train (about a five minute walk from uguisudani st). Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.


100%

Oak Hostel Zen is a wonderful place to stay in Tokyo. Several staff members speak English. It's convenient to public transportation. It's in a quiter part of the city, but only a short subway ride from the nightlife and hustle of Shibuya and Shinjuku. The hostel is very clean, it is up to date, and I liked the added privacy of having curtains around the bunk beds. I highly recommend staying here.


69%

It was a clean and new hostel. Kitchen was fine, bathroom too (although small, but this is Tokyo). There was not a lot of atmosphere or conversation between backpackers. Would have been nice if there was a living room, tv or game room to be in contact with others. Staff was helpful! Nice to be just outside busy Ueno. Don't expect a lot of restaurants though, you have to take the train/metro. Be cafeful if you're a tall person, the beds are very small (again, this is expected, as this is Tokyo).


86%

It's a great hostel in terms of facilities and staff. If you're with family/friends, then it offers a great hotel like atmosphere with friendly staff. But as a backpacker and solo traveler, the atmosphere was not there like other commenters suggested. People in my mixed dorm rarely talk to one another. There's a small lounge area where people just look up information on desktop provided or mind their own businesses.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

More like a hotel with shared rooms than a hostel, this a pretty nice place to stay. The staff were all friendly and it was easy to find. The location could be more convenient in relation to things to do in Tokyo, but it's not too difficult to get around from the hostel. You won't find that 'homey' feeling here - the atmosphere isn't as warm and friendly but if you're just looking for a place to stay it's solid. Bunks have individual curtains and the lockers have built in locks which was great.


100%

All the staffs are very nice and helpful, will stay again for sure. Will recommend to friends.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • kwan_yu1028
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a GREAT hostel. Fabulous facilities with a very helpful staff. They all speak excellent English as well. I highly recommend Oak Hostel Zen. Best hostel I have ever stayed in.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We booked a Family Room with 2 children of 10 and 13 yrs old. Location are great just a walking distance to a nearby JR Station. Lots of eateries nearby and very clean. Room are big for Tokyo standard and comfortable. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.Definitely will stay at Oak Hostel Zen in Tokyo again.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This was more like a hotel than a hostel, fantastic facilities, clean and safe. Would highly recommended this place to others.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(138 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback