X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Zen Reviews

3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
123 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Fantastic place. Very clean and pleasant staff. Great stay and would go back in a heartbeat

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It is a great place to stay, but it feels like you are more at a hotel where you stay with others rather than a fun hostel where you can meet people from around the world.


60%

The first impression is great: very close to a subway station, the location is great (although asakusa is a bit far from major touristic spots in tokyo) and the reception hall is modern, clean and beautiful. But once you get to the rooms, a different hotel is revealed: really small bedrooms (even for tokyo measures), poor light, dirty rooms, no facilities. Certainly would not stay here again.


97%

Really nice hostel forma it's price. Close to the subway station and convenience stores. Friendly staff with a good English. I loved the living room and kitchen, very well equipped. I definitely recommend this hostel

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place! Clean, well-maintained, super easy! A 10+ bed dorm can be a nightmare (definitely had a few of those on my trip) but this was awesome. The beds and dorm are spacious. You're in a bunk bed, but you aren't crowded. There is lots of space to store your bag, hang towels and clothes, a big locker, and black-out curtains all around your bed. Sighh.... so nice! The staff are very nice, and there is a ton of local info available.


100%

The biggest hostel I stayed in in Japan, but everything was excellent and the atmosphere was still really good.


94%

This place is great! Was my first hostel at a two month trip- Stayed for five nights and it was worth every minute- and the price is great. The staff was really nice and helpful for everyrhing I needed. And met some cool people there too. The hostel is two minutes walk from the train station, but not in the middle of the city. The area is more quite than shibuya or shinjuku, and its great to relax there and go to ueno park and zoo which are a walking distance too. Highly recommended!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed at girls dorm for 4 nights - it was quite a new building so facilities were clean and nice. Also if you are not interested in using Tokyo metro during your stay, I strongly recommend this hostel - which is super close to JR Yamanotesen. I liked it so much, if I visit Tokyo again I will definitely stay here again.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very happy. Clean and friendly staff! Made my stay welcoming. Would recommend to others. No problems at all!


97%

The staff was nice, friendly, helpful and good looking!


89%

Oak Hostel Zen is a great place, especially for the money. The showers were hot with great water pressure, the bedding was incredibly comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Definitely worth a look if you're in Tokyo!


77%

Staffs are friendly. Location is good. Rooms are clean.


94%

Really great value hostel! Everything was very new and clean, and the staff were quite helpful. Only about a 10 minute walk from the subway station, although a little tricky to find. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Not only is this the cleanest hostel I've ever been too, but you can't beat this price for a quality stay in Tokyo. I love how comfortable the beds were and that each bed had its own curtain for privacy. It's not the place to stay if you want to be super social and meet other travelers to hang out with, but everyone was generally friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice hostel! Clean and well laid out. A little out of the way but very easy via trains. Also- location was great because it was not in the heart of downtown. A little more quiet and very easy to get too. The staff was very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!


74%

If you're looking for a hostel in which you can connect with people this is the wrong place. If you're looking for just a place where to spend a night - it's great. Easy going, they mind your luggage even after check out. Facilities are good, clean hostel. But don't expect more.


97%

The description of how to get to the hostel from the airport was very helpful. The staff was English speaking and both friendly and service-oriented. The bed was nice and clean, with a curtain to get some privacy in an 8-man bedroom. Furthermore, the showers were very clean and it is possible to rent a cheap towel. My only complaint is that I found only one toilet on the floor I slept. But it was rarely a problem.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Delightful hostel. Neat, clean, organised. Wifi was great; accessible everywhere. Great Air Conditioning. The one flaw: the hot water takes a long time to adjust to get your shower just right. On the Yamanote Train Line; ideal for getting around Tokyo.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Was a big fan of Oak hostel Zen. It was clean, comfortable, well run. I liked the location, it's on the green line that runs in a circle around the city. Would definitely recommend staying here.


74%

Small, but very pretty rooms and great to arrive in as the first hostel in Japan. It's close to Uguisudani station and easy to find. The beds were very good and the rooms were clean. A lot of things were provided: towels (big and small), hair dryer, yukata, toothbrushes, body soap/conditioner/shampoo, etc. If there's a problem with the rooms, tell the staff and they will solve it the same day. The staff was very helpful. They can also give you directions to nice restaurants or other locations.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(67 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback