Hostelworld.com

Oak Hostel Zen

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
Oak Hostel Zen Located at 3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, , Tokyo.
Oak Hostel Zen
Japan
Tokyo 110-0003 3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku
92% 891
35.7220139 139.7809007
Oak Hostel Zen
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.0

This hostel is well situated close to JR and subway stations and has a good quality price ratio, however wifi was hard to get in the rooms and in the kitchen at certain hours. The kitchen was well equipped, but with a strange smell. I would recommend this hostel for families as they have private rooms and you can cook meals in the kitchen, therefore reducing your travel budget by a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
10.0

This was my second stay at Oak Hostel and just as fantastic as the last! Super friendly staff and the place is always spotless. It feels like a 3 star hotel, not a hostel! Will be back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel with very clean rooms, manned by amazing staff. We stayed in private double room. We were there during festival to carry Mikoshi. The hostel helped organise both the group staying in our hostel plus other oak capsule hostel plus clothing to fit. Also we were led all the way back after festivities by the very helpful Yuki. All in all, had an amazing time during stay would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lukasvinkler1522
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.7

Very high standard of accomodation, very good security including lockers and entry cards, well organized. I only miss to be more Japanesse, do we feel like in Japan starting with changing shoes ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
10.0

nothing to complain about this place! very clean, you can get as private as you like, very well equipped storage room, kitchen, very private big enough shower unlike other hostels. the only would be internet wasn't stable during the night but it's minor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel is one of the absolute cleanest I've ever stayed at and its really close to the metro line which can take you almost anywhere in Tokyo. Only downfall is we didn't meet many people, must be just the time we were there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.7

It was a really pleasant experience! I stayed in the 16 bed female dorm, and even though there were a lot of people in the room it was very comfortable. Everyone has their own area, and the bathroom, showers, and sink area offer lots of privacy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke both English and Japanese. The location was awesome too. It was about a 5 minute walk from Uguisudani station and a 15 to 20 minute walk from Ueno Station, but it was still very quiet. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
9.7

The location to the JR is fantastic-6 minute walk! There are lockers in the dorms with number locks. There's lots of space, but the hostel feels like a hotel in comparison to other hostels. Also, there are no eye-catching signs so if you arrive at night be extra diligent to your map.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.4

The staff was really helpful, the room and the facilities were nice and clean (double room with shared bathroom).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

I loved this hostel, so much so that I booked in again for my final night in Japan! I had a private room with ensuite and I thought it was lovely and really great value. The shared facilities were clean and well equiped. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location is walking distance to Ueno Park and easy access to Uguisudani station. I would recommend staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.