Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oak Hostel Zen

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 982 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 982 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.3
Oak Hostel Zen Located at 3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, , Tokyo.
Oak Hostel Zen
Japan
Tokyo 110-0003 3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku
92% 982
35.7220139 139.7809007
Oak Hostel Zen
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.4

Had a great night here. Wish I had stayed here my entire time in Tokyo. Really clean room and facilities. Super helpful staff and even able to use the shower once I had checked out before my flight. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Probably the best hostel I stayed at in Tokyo. This was an actual hostel with a kitchen you could cook and store food and also had a common area where people could hang out and meet other travels. Staff were awesome and friendly !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
9.7

Oak Hostel Zen was the first place we stayed when arriving in Japan. Since then we have stayed in a hostel in Kyoto, airbnbs in Osaka and Tokyo as well as the Crown Plaza in Hiroshima. We only stayed at Oak Zen for 2 nights but wished we could have stayed more as it was one of our favourite places during our time in Japan. It was very clean and comfortable and it's location made it easy to get to the JR Uguisidani station. It was also in walking distance to the tourists attractions in Ueno. ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
5.7

My stay here was pleasant, facilities are nice (though there are roaches around property) and location is good for transiting and walkable to Ueno park. However, a 1000 yen key deposit was taken when I arrived and when I left and asked for it back they said there was no record of a deposit taken and after much delay they said they would not be able to return it. This made my stay here of much less value than I had expected and left me questioning the integrity and organization of the staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

If you have JR Pass this is at a very convenient spot. Good facilities. Clean. Friendly enough staff. Nothing super unique but a good solid place to stay. I recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Aug 2016
10.0

This is by far the nicest hostel that I've ever stayed in as a backpacker. I've been to many hostels around the world and this was the nicest ever! I already went back for a second time and love Oak Hostel Zen immensely! Thank you for such wonderful hospitality!! I had an incredible stay here and would definitely recommend it to anyone out there!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Aug 2016
9.1

Very clean room and facilities, super friendly stuff. Unfortunately no real hostel atmosphere because most of the guests are Asian and don't really want to speak English. One thing that really disturbed me, that the hostel is not responsible for of course!, is that I could not really sleep at night because every night some Asian girl would start wrapping her stuff in endless plastic backs and re-pack her suitcase, making a hell of a noise at 3 am. So better bring earplugs ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Aug 2016
5.4

Clean and beautiful hostel, BUT unsafe! The staff opened my locker (the locker worked with a code, you can't use your own padlock), took all my important things and brought to the reception. According to them, other people wanted to use it... It was not check out time and they didn't move anything from my bed. So why opening my locker?? Also, if you take the flexible reservation (witch you need to pay more) and decide to cancel your check out date 24h in advantage, you won't be refunded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

I would 100% recommend this hostel as a great base for your time in Japan. The room was cleaned daily and sheets and towels were replenished daily. The staff were very welcoming and were very happy to offer advise on where to go to eat and what to see etc. Location is great and very close to the JR Line. Surrounding area and the hostel were very quiet so we always got a good nights sleep after hectic days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.9

good hostel close to yamanote line station. Everything you need, clean, dorms sometimes noisy due to 8 beds. Not much socialising going on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.