X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Zen Reviews

3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
623 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

When you look for a hostel to meet others, this is probably not the place to go. However, Oak Hostel Zen can easily compare to a hotel: The rooms were very spacious and had private facilities, everything was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming - I doubt you will get more for your money anywhere in Tokyo. The neighbourhood however has a slightly dodgy feeling to it, it's certainly not as nice as Asakusa.


89%

Love this place! The service and facilities are significantly better than any of the K's hostel branches!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel with friendly informative staff. Close to the station so easy to move through the city to see all Tokyo has to offer.


100%

I'm really, really happy to stay at Oak Hostel Zen in Tokyo. Very nice place and gentle staff thank you very much next time i will return here!!!!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved my stay here. Check in and out was simple and it was a great facility. I will definitely be coming back. Thanks for the wonderful service.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great taste in interior decoration (in the common area), the room was comfortable and it has a really razonable price. The area is near from various love hotels so the north exit of the JR station is really creepy. We had a private room so every day have to clean the room but usually i find that they only do the bed and not always clean the floor. But is still a really good place to stay.


100%

Best hotel like hostel I have ever stayed at! Fluffy blankets and good area!! The staff was so helpful and it was SO CLEAN. And lots of showers and bathroom space. Totally will stay here again!!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing! The facilities were unlike any I'd seen before; so clean and well-organized! The bathrooms are incredible, the rooms are very nice (stayed in a 12-person female dorm), and the kitchen is gorgeous. Also well-located, right off the JR Yamanote line (takes you directly to Tokyo station, Shibuya, Shinjuku, etc...). Just not a very social hostel, and the average visitor was much older (a lot of couples and families).


97%

Great place with very polite and helpful staff! Though not in the city centre it's to a train station and very very clean definitely recommend :)


91%

Great location. Helpful staff. Clean facilitates. If you're looking for a quiet place, then look no further. If you're looking to meet fellow travelers, have some drinks and party until the trains open then you may want to pass. It just depends on what you're looking for!

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Re ally nice experience, thank you!


80%

Very clean and quiet hostel. It's a good acsess to go to to Narita airport.The reseptionist is kind and friendly.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Oak Hostel Zen was very professional and had all the amenities that I could ask for in a hostel. In fact, it almost felt like staying in a hotel! Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever seen! The events that were suggested were great, and the movie night was terrific for all ages. Whether traveling alone, together with friends, or as a family, Oak Hostel Zen is the perfect place to stay in Tokyo!

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The double bed was quite small, otherwise I don't have a single negative comment. This is a great hostel.


97%

A thoroughly excellent hostel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the lounge was nice, and of course the staff were helpful and friendly. If I had to be very critical the only minor negative would be the location. It's a bit far from any attractions, and the nearest train station is a bit of a walk as well (~7 min walk). But this is a VERY minor negative. I've been spoiled by hostels where the train station is visible a few steps from the exit..haha.


94%

Very nice hostel, superclean very close to JR and subway station. Full of places where to eat nearby. very nice and helpful staff


94%

It provided nice, clean, comfortable place for couple. I like the sofa in each floor, people could chat anywhere. Also, the service sir is very nice and friendly. It’s a good place to stay in Today, Japan.


97%

Cleanest and most well organised hostel I've been to! Really liked it and I'd stay there again!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a great stay, the hostel had a good environment. It was less then 10 min away from a JR station. Overall it was awesome.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel definitely had a hotel feel to it but it wasn't bad at all, it was actually kind of nice. There are common rooms where you can talk to people but you can also have your own peace and quiet. Everything was nice and clean and well kept and there are enough showers and bathrooms for everyone. The dorm room is huge but it's partitioned well and the staff were really nice.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback