Hostelworld.com

Oak Hostel Zen

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Oak Hostel Zen Located at 3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku, , Tokyo.
Oak Hostel Zen
Japan
Tokyo 110-0003 3-3-3 negishi, Taito-ku
91% 866
35.7220139 139.7809007
Oak Hostel Zen
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

Just the location is a bit far away from city center, apart from that everything is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
9.7

We had a great stay at Oak Zen Hostel. We stayed in a Standard Double Private room which was clean and comfortable with own bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is close to a train station and it was easy to get to from the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
8.0

Very close to Uguisudani station on the JR Yamanote Loop Line. Great little restaurants nearby and short walk to Ueno Park. The hostel was very clean and comfortable. Didn't have much of a hostel feel, but they seem to occasionally have theme nights, though there weren't any on while we were there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
8.9

The staff are friendly and very helpful. Close to a station which is highly convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.6

Oak Hostel was great. It takes about a half hour subway ride to get to it from Shibuya and a couple of other places of interest for me in what I found to feel like central Tokyo, but it is located is Asakusa, which is a really lovely neighborhood that is a quiet and quaint respite from the hustle of Tokyo. Definitely appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the common area on the first floor is very atmospheric and sweet. Check out photos on my travel blog at Daisyoracle.com!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
8.9

Very nice place! Totally recommend to every backpacker!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • derikapowers8873
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
9.7

Awesome experience here! Got stuck in Japan an extra night and booked last minute. When we arrived there was a Sushi making party for their 2 year anniversary and the owner was there showing us how to make sushi! We met a lot of people and had a great time! We stayed in a private room and our friend stayed in a 6 bed dorm. Both were super clean! Our private even came with Kimono robes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rafaelzn3439
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
8.9

Good hostel, very clean and with good facilities as most Japanese hostels. Location is a bit troublesome for people who want to enjoy Tokyo's nightlife as the hostel is quite far from Roppongi/Shinjuku/Shibuya.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janjan1987
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.0

A great location and a clean hostel. We really appreciated the front desk being open until 1am as we arrived around midnight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Charleycamelia15
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.4

I had a wonderful stay at this hostel. I want to rate it more but for me it seemed a little quiet and personally atmosphere is the biggest thing when travelling. The lounge area was very quiet but the hostel itself was great! It's easy to find from Ugusudani ststion (I think that's how you find it) near ueno station (prepare a screenshot from google maps beforehand!). The staff welcoming and bed super comfy. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back here again when visiting Tokyo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.