X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1454 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very well located and helpful staff. At the hostel has indications of the best walks around Tokyo, I had no trouble finding things. Great cost-effective.


66%

Bathroom was out dated and needed some up keep. There look fo be mold starting to show in some places in the room and bathroom. Staff was friendly but did not seem to know their area of town very well. When asking for suggestions they often could not answer us and had to look it up but they were always willing to help. I also found the commen area a bit dark and un-inviting.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The kitchen and lounge area was small so not much community

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Oak Hostel is a nice place to stay and it was definitely nice to have the amenities (private room, good shower, cleanliness) after being on the rough-and-tough SE Asia travel loop for a month. However, the place definitely has more of a hotel than a hostel vibe. There's a small common room but travelers typically didn't gather there to socialize. Also, if you want to experience the nightlife in Shibbyua or Shinjuku and stay out past midnight, prepare for a $40USD cab ride home.


97%

Staff is very friendly and helpful. and I found many info at front desk. A good place to discovery Tokyo.


97%

only a ten minute walk from JR station with Yamanote line, many eateries available around the premise.


94%

a safe in the room will be very usefull.


91%

good place to stay in any reason. Cheap price , nice staffs, clean room (but quite small bathroom) and flexible. The hostel located on the good place ,less people no busy traffic and also have the bicycle for rent !! Moreover Its near the subway and JRrailway staion within 3-5 minutes walked

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very easy to find. Staff vey helpful and friendly. We stayed just for one night though.


94%

Great staff!! Staff was very friendly and helpful, they took care of everything I asked for and made me feel wonderful! The kitchen is a bit small but fully equipped.


91%

Staff was extremely kind and helpful. Perfect service We got the best information on any question we asked. Quiet environment without ny disturbing noise at night time.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly staff, professional, good services.


94%

This was a good small hotel. Very close to everything and trains to go elsewhere. Easy to find. The only downside was that the beds were extremely firm, but I think that's just the way beds are in Japan.


80%

It's a nice, quiet and clean space that is about 10 minutes walk away from JR Ueno. I recommend considering Oak Hostel in Ueno if you are looking for convenience and easier access to the Yamanote Line in JR. The bathroom and toilet space is small, but is standard for a Japanese hostel. Love how they provide yukatas daily for guests. I will however ask Oak Hostel to consider putting up more hooks for people to hang their coats and other clothes on.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Hotel incorrectly labelled on Hostelworld as "Oak Hostel" this is actually the "Oak Hotel" - which is a completely different place.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean and practical. A decent location, although needing to call it a hostel (for hostelbookers.com) and then finding it called Oak Hotel on the building confused me a little bit. Safety was good, and a good nights sleep. Love that they have so many maps and restaurant recommendations at the front desk.


97%

the staffs were totally awesome!~

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We only stayed one night but it was perfect for our 26 hour layover. We walked to the izaykaya and in the morning were a short walk to Sensoji temple and markets. Very close to Ueno train station which got us to other areas of the city quickly. Room was small but had everything we needed.


86%

I have stayed at the Oak every time I'm in Tokyo. Place is clean and friendly and reasonable. Being so close to Ueno is a HUGE plus as it is a very handy station with access to many important lines. Heartily recommended

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel, a lot of travel tips and good location.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback