Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oak Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,788 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,788 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Oak Hostel Located at 6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Oak Hostel
Japan
Tokyo 110-0015 6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku
85% 1788
35.7115717 139.7846531
Oak Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.4

Place is a little old, but still clean. Facilities sufficient, but the best part is that the staff are warm and friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.9

Very friendly, welcoming staff, basic 'hotel' style rooms. Close to subway line that is one stop from the large Ueno railway station. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.0

Room was ok, the beds are a bit hard to climb on, and the magnetic key is extremely sensitive, so you have to be careful not to be locked out of your room. I don't like that the bathrooms are inside the rooms, because it may disturb the other people in the room if you wake up early, etc. Also if someone is using it, you don't have another one you could go to. Towel rental is more expensive than in any other hostel I've stayed, at 200 yen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
4.6

There is better value for money around it felt run down old would only stay here out of necessity

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
7.1

The dorm wasn't very clean. There was a lot of dust and also hair of other people everywhere. In my opinion it's not practical to have the bathroom inside the room because of the noise people make while other people like to sleep or rest. Nevertheless, very friendly staff and good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • berry1422
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.7

Very good location, clean and very good bedroom. I stay in female dorm bed share room with other people but feel very privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.4

My third stay at Oak and it is still great. Friendly people and clean, affordable rooms. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.3

Very good location and price and the staff are lovely. Very good for a couple of nights. Only issues are atmosphere, limited kitchen and lounge facilities and the whole place is in need of a bit of a refurb!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • tomaskohout4963
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Have stayed in this hotel for few times in past. I like the Japanese tatami rooms. Convenient quiet location close to Ueno station, clean, good value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marycatt
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

Everything was perfect for the only exception that the the share rooms don't include complementary soap in the toilet or at least coffee in the kitchen, the rest was really good reception was always happy and helpful I really like this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.