X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1692 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice little hostel. Our stay was short, but staff was very friendly and the accommodations were on par with many hostels I've stayed at. They also had a good amount of information posted for things to do around Tokyo.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was great! Awesome location, the staff was extra helpful, I actually refer to them as concierges! The atmosphere was good, clean. I'd definitely stay there again and recommend to people.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place at excellent location. It took me few minutes to understand how to use hot water but this is Japan - surprises come from everywhere!


69%

It is cheap, and in a city like tokyo its great tohave a place like this. It is near ginza line so you can go anywhere in the city by metro, also really close to Ueno station so its great if you come or go from Narita. Atmosphere sucks, there is no one in the common spaces and most people go directly to their room so if you are a solo traveler look another place.


94%

Rooms are nice - bit smaller than you would expect but pretty nice overall . The location is topretty notch and not too hard to find. Keep in mind that is is a small alley off the main road so make sure you look down the alley after the picture of the busstop

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Thank you! I enjoyed the stay. I would only request that a sheet be supplied. I wasn't too comfortable using only the comforter.


83%

The staff is very kind, helpful and speaks very good english.


71%

Oak Hostel was a great place to stay during our vacation in Japan. It was a little hard to find, but it was in a good location. We are very thankful for a great stay!

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This was more like a hotel type. But loved it, it was very close to a train station and it was easy to get around from. The size of the room was great for the two of us in a double room.


86%

Very clean place, organized and pleasant

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • benlerner95
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved it there! It is an affordable way to stay in the city. It's located in a quaint, safe part of town, and there are metro stations within walking distance, so you can easily travel to other districts. The staff was very friendly and helpful! We had a private, ensuite room. We were on our honeymoon! We plan to stay there every time we transfer through Tokyo.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed in this room with a friend and it was great, as it came with towels, soap and other necessities. Futon was comfortable and it was a small room but much better than the dorms as we had our own space and could hear the room when we wanted when it was cold. Staff were very friendly and helpful! They had computers in the reception area which was good. The dorm room was basic with no towels, but the private room was a lot better!

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The Oak Hotel 'transformed' a few of their regular rooms into dorms by replacing the rooms' beds with simple bunkbeds. Not a big problem an sich, but the issue here is that the rest of the room - that is, the bathroom - is not fit for sharing with strangers. The small bathroom features a toilet, sink and tiny shower, making it very cramped and uncomfortable to use. (it is almost impossible not to touch the toilet with your towel after taking a shower). Kitchen&common room lack atmosphere.


100%

The best of places to stay if you're in Tokyo! I never ever ever had a complacomplajn whatsoever. Totally recommended!

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We didn't notice that we have to check in before 12:30 am, but we're glad that the staff gave us our key when he woke-up at the middle of the night. Thanks a lot.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Pretty good hotel, i just wish they had a better toothpaste and shampoo. The toothpaste was litteraly like half an inch big and the shampoo was in a packet . I was also hoping they had an iron but they didnt .

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Cleaning was done well but the building itself is somewhat worn. Excellent location just off the Metro station and easy access to Akihabara and other places along the Ginza line. Our room had a weak AC/heater. Staff gave us another heater/humidifier standing on the floor portable. It's a little cold in the Entrance and common areas. Easy to find.


100%

The staff were nothing but helpful all of them were great people. I complain a lot but here I couldn't! 5 Star

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place- would stay again!


91%

It was clean and a nice stay


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback