X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1090 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Exactly what you need as a tourist. Plenty of maps and information, small but adequate rooms and decently located. No frills but who needs them when you are out all day. The one draw back was there were limited food options for English speakers very close to the hotel. We got over it.


94%

Staff extremely nice, english is spoken very well. Clean, prices are good and it's very close to the subway. Super

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Smallest rooms than I thought (and bath was so narrow...), but very friendly and helpful people.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was very informative and kind and the hostel resembled a western style hostel. Inaricho station which is close-by gets you quickly to most of your tourist attractions and to the city during the evenings if you are planning to go out. Most definitely a hostel to consider!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the room was clean but it was smelling like every thing was wet ( i don't now the world in english, sorry) appart from that the staff was really good and nice, perfect!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything is ok but my room is very smelly

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very charming place. Very clean and sure. Great staff.


97%

Great for the price, very helpful staff!


77%

Location is great, close to Ueno and Asakusa area. Rooms were small but clean, in the bathroom there was a strange plastic smell. Common area could be bigger and the kitchen needs some more equipment. Hostel staff was very friendly and nice, but unfortunately it's more like a shared room "hotel". Anyway the people at the receptions are well-prepared for travellers and they have many suggestions and brochures to spend a good time in Tokyo!


83%

Nice location, not a long walk from subway and the train station. Two stops away from Akihabara. Staff were super helpful and the single room I had was well worth the money.


94%

I loved everything about my stay. The staff was kind and helpful, the room was great, well stocked, and cleaned daily, and the location couldn't have been better! The only minor negative was the loud AC unit on the building next door that was audible at all hours even with the window closed (hardly the hotel's fault though). If I go back to Tokyo I'll be sure to stay at the Oak Hostel again!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I hope there is public bathroom.


100%

Excellent place to stay in Tokyo for sure....


89%

I like this place. Staff of this hotel are very kind. The hotel is near Tokyo metro station I think it easy to go to travel by train. I love this hotel. I think I'll be back soon.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice area, had trouble at first trying to find it. It is a couple of blocks past Inaricho station on Asakusa dori pay attention to signage on street and community maps. I'll definitely stay there again.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Loved the directions to the hostel. It helped immensely. Had everything we needed and helpful staff


77%

Tiny room, hard bed, but otherwise decent hostel.


94%

Just 3 min walk from inaricho station. Great experience staying in the tatami style room


91%

Wonderful small hotel with extremely kind and helpful staff! I regret having only stayed there for one night, but return at any moment staying in Tokyo. Calm environment, but only 10 minutes walk to Ueno station.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Quite convenient location to get around Tokyo and other city near by. The staff is really nice and helpful.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(104 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback