Hostelworld.com

Oak Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,745 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,745 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Oak Hostel Located at 6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Oak Hostel
Japan
Tokyo 110-0015 6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku
86% 1745
35.7115717 139.7846531
Oak Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

the hostel is ok in relation with the price, but i would like to say that the staff who work there is great. They are always trying to help you. I was traveling with a big luggage and they help me to moving it out to the room, and the most impressive thing is even after i left the hostel, i met the one of the guys of reception in the subway, and he help me with my luggage to change the line!!!! .. so i recommend the place. it was such a great experience. best regards and thank you again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.4

Oak Hostel is definitely one of the best buys in town. The staff, who all seem to speak excellent English, were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect: a 10-minute walk from Ueno Park with its excellent Tokyo National Museum and other attractions, and about the same from two major railway/subway stations. This includes the terminus of the Narita Airport Express. Numerous restaurants and quik stop grocery stories are very close. I would gladly return there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Eine
  • Russia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Apr 2016
9.1

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Oak. The good thing is that it's only 3 minutes away from a subway station, and the wonderfully positive guys on the reception. However, I didn't like the room very much - it was small, had no space to place one's belongings, extremely humid and with almost no sunshine because it was close to the next building. I don't mind all those minor problems and I don't expect really much from a hostel, but I'm not sure if such a room is worth 11500 yen per night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Great value for money. Our first room on the 5th floor very average our next stay we were on the 2nd floor and much nicer room. Little disappointed considering we were staying for 5 nights that the room was a bit rough around the edges. I did notice that the twin rooms on the same floor were much nicer. Room on second floor was very noisy as it was over the front door and we were woken by it opening and closing. Next time we will specify a quiet room... and yes we will definately return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janjan1987
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.1

We had 6 nights stay at oak hostel in a double room with ensuite. The bed was pretty hard but we overcame that by sleeping on top of blanket with sheet over the top. Ensuite was a small pod type but sufficient for our needs. The washing machine was great but you will need a couple of spins in the dryer. No dramas. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location, really good price for what you get. I stayed in a Japanese styled room and can only recommend that: Futons are just so comfy. Bathroom is small, as is the room, but it's clean and I was fine with that. The staff is so friendly and helps you whenever help is needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Hotel was clean. Staff pleasant and spoke excellent English and explained everything very well. Never had any problems with the hotel or it's facilities. Location is excellent as it was only 3 mins walk away from Inachiro station (on the Ginza line) or a 10 mins walk away from one of the main stations (Ueno) where you can get a JR line pretty much anywhere! Something to note: hotel rooms are small and bathroom is tiny but functional - be aware if you are 'large'. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Starrzan
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Great staff. Very helpful. You can rent an electric-assisted bike, which is great for exploring the city. Good location between Ueno and Asakusa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mikkegood3801
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.9

The hotel is near Ueno JR station and Ueno park as well Asakusa district (10min walking), near by cheap restaurants as well convince stores :) The room is very nice private bathroom nice space for bags and shoes and a small balcony to let fresh air in the night. The key to the room its very strange as it goes bad when its near a credit card, cellphone, camera, electric devices, this is my negative review because everyone has that and then the risk of the key to go wrong is high :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
5.7

Rooms are too small and not comfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.