X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1146 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This place is great value for money.


86%

Great stayover at Oak Hotel as staff were friendly and were able to answer all of our questions. Location is adequate but room cleanliness can be improved!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We didn't get to spend much time at the hostel, thanks to a busy schedule, but our double room was just what we needed! Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall, this place is good value for money but we were disappointed to find bits of rubbish underneath the beds, shows a lack of proper cleaning.


89%

This was a great place to crash. Not to hard to find. The location is great because it is very close to everything you need, food, transport, etc. They have everything you need, bed, wifi, washing places, but the place is rather small.


100%

The staff are very nice. The location is very good. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the metro. I will consider this hostel first next time when I plan to go to Japan again.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The air condition in our room 515 is not cool enough. It is only wind blowed out.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff was nice and we got towels everyday, but the supply of shampo was just a small package of shampoo with rinse and a small soap bar. The shower curtain had black stains and a really bad smel. The upper futon had red blood stains on it. When we told the staff they removed them, but something like that should not happen if there is a cleaning staff that comes in everyday.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

In a good location to see Northern Tokyo, the Ueno and Akusaka area. It's close to a few subway lines and only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the JR line. The staff is really friendly and helpful.


80%

A very nice little Hostel with very helpful staff. Third time we have stayed here, which says it all! Rooms cleaned very well every day! Only 8-10 mins walk from Ueno station so very handy for getting around Tokyo on the Yamanote line or accessing the Shinkansen high speed trains and Narita airport. Lovely large park just the other side of Ueno Station. Lots of nice streets and temples near to the Oak Hostel so you do not have to walk far to enjoy yourselves.


89%

The atmosphere could be a little livelier, however the quality of facilities and service is very good.


86%

We had a great stay at Oak Hostel, and would definitely recommend it! Although it is not right in the center of Tokyo, it's great value and helpful staff more than make up for it.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We stayed here for one night while in transit from Kyoto to Sapporo. We had a twin room that had very little space to put our bags, but was ok for the one night. Bathroom was tiny - we had to have the door open when we used the toilet! The hostel is a short walk from the nearest station, and nearby to a selection of restaurants. The staff were very friendly, and we were able to hang out in the common area after checking out before we needed to head off for our flight.


89%

This hostel it's now oak hotel is not the easiest to find it's just off the Main Street down a short(well lit) alleyway. The receptionist have good English. The room was clean. It's near the skytree and a shrine apart from that there is not much else around, however you'll be using the subway all the time to get to see other areas. Tokyo is HUGE!!!!!!


83%

Good hostel with great staff. Staff speaks good english and is very focused on helping you out in any matters. The common room is a bit small and close to sleeping rooms, so conversations at night are difficult. I stayed in a single room, which was decently sized for being Tokyo & a hostel and even had a TV. It was not very beautiful and the bath room was a bit smelly, but it was cleaned every day and still a good value for money. Good Wifi was available everywhere.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

good value for money


91%

The dorm style rooms can feel cramped if occupied by 4 people. Sharing a bathroom with 3 others can get complicated and messy. The bunk beds have padding, but no mattress, so it felt like sleeping on the floor. I had to put the comforter underneath me to get any sleep. I anticipated this, so I booked a single room for the later part of my stay in advance. The dorm style room will save you money, but if you plan on staying more than a few days get a single. Your back and bottom will thank you!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

A bit small place. However, the location is excellent.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Keep in mind this is a hotel not a hostel. It was close to Ueno which was great. Also the staff very helpful :)


69%

Should it really be labelled as a hostel? The rooms are similar to a hotel, there is no designated common area and hence very little interaction between the guests. So if you somewhere to sleep, this is awesome, not for socializing. I guess it is a question about definitions but it can be worth bearing in mind.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(119 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback