Hostelworld.com

Oak Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Oak Hostel Located at 6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Oak Hostel
Japan
Tokyo 110-0015 6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku
86% 1773
35.7115717 139.7846531
Oak Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • berry1422
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.7

Very good location, clean and very good bedroom. I stay in female dorm bed share room with other people but feel very privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.4

My third stay at Oak and it is still great. Friendly people and clean, affordable rooms. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.3

Very good location and price and the staff are lovely. Very good for a couple of nights. Only issues are atmosphere, limited kitchen and lounge facilities and the whole place is in need of a bit of a refurb!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • tomaskohout4963
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Have stayed in this hotel for few times in past. I like the Japanese tatami rooms. Convenient quiet location close to Ueno station, clean, good value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marycatt
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

Everything was perfect for the only exception that the the share rooms don't include complementary soap in the toilet or at least coffee in the kitchen, the rest was really good reception was always happy and helpful I really like this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
7.7

i love japanese style room. yukata to wear at night. staff friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
9.1

Great helpful staff, and the room was nice. We did not use the kitchen but it looked small and they definitely need a new dryer. I put my clothes in the dryer for over an hour and everything was still damp. The staff was aware of the problem and warned me but it still was not helpful to me to have to deal with damp clothes to carry in my backpack. If they can get a new dryer that would be great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th May 2016
9.1

The wifi definitely wasn't great (had to stand in the doorway), but overall a great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

the hostel is ok in relation with the price, but i would like to say that the staff who work there is great. They are always trying to help you. I was traveling with a big luggage and they help me to moving it out to the room, and the most impressive thing is even after i left the hostel, i met the one of the guys of reception in the subway, and he help me with my luggage to change the line!!!! .. so i recommend the place. it was such a great experience. best regards and thank you again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • derikapowers8873
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.9

The front desk people were great! We came back to a clean room and made bed every night which was a treat! It wasn't that the atmosphere was bad or negative, it was a lack of atmosphere and hostelers didn't mingle at all. Decent location...about a 10 minute walk to main Ueno station and about 15 minute walk to the Asakusa area that has a lot of restaurants and the Sensō-ji Temple.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.