X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1148 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Keep in mind this is a hotel not a hostel. It was close to Ueno which was great. Also the staff very helpful :)


69%

Should it really be labelled as a hostel? The rooms are similar to a hotel, there is no designated common area and hence very little interaction between the guests. So if you somewhere to sleep, this is awesome, not for socializing. I guess it is a question about definitions but it can be worth bearing in mind.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Exactly what you need as a tourist. Plenty of maps and information, small but adequate rooms and decently located. No frills but who needs them when you are out all day. The one draw back was there were limited food options for English speakers very close to the hotel. We got over it.


94%

The room and shower were not exactly spacious, but everything was clean and the staff were kind and helpful. I feel this is the best value you can really get; short of the infamous capsule hotels and I would say that, for the extra comfort and security you get, it is worth it.


77%

A little bit out of the way. Their printed directions are hard to follow. Tiniest bathroom and shower I've ever seen with a 40 watt bulb for light. The female staff member was very helpful.


94%

Conveniently located within walking distance of Ueno Station and the Ameyoko market. Also not far from Akihabara (electronics shopping). Friendly and forthcoming staff. Excellent value for money.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Our stay at the Oak Hostel was great - staff were very friendly and willing to give advise and information. They were very accomodating with our luggage and the room was clean and cosy. The location was good - about a 15 minute walk from Kesei-Ueno station or just one stop on the metro. Great local imenities and close to lots of great sightseeing locations.


91%

Great Staff :D

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff extremely nice, english is spoken very well. Clean, prices are good and it's very close to the subway. Super

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Smallest rooms than I thought (and bath was so narrow...), but very friendly and helpful people.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was very informative and kind and the hostel resembled a western style hostel. Inaricho station which is close-by gets you quickly to most of your tourist attractions and to the city during the evenings if you are planning to go out. Most definitely a hostel to consider!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the room was clean but it was smelling like every thing was wet ( i don't now the world in english, sorry) appart from that the staff was really good and nice, perfect!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great stay at Oak Hostel. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were a decent size with everything you needed. Wi-fi was fast and they provided computers also which you could use free of charge. The communal area isn't a huge amount to speak of - so not sure it is 100% the best place to meet other travelers - but other than that a super hostel who will take care of you well and good value for money.


83%

very helpful staff, clean, good location (a bit far from Ueno st, 15min by foot, if not taking JR, Inaricho st will be better), room was small, but it has a sofa and very cozy. the bed is made by wood, so wasn't noisy at all all the time up and down (it was very pros thing for me). went to Tokyo to see my friends, and for weekend holiday. so wanted to stay a hostel just for a sleep, and saving my money. but I was very satisfied with this hostel. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything is ok but my room is very smelly

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very charming place. Very clean and sure. Great staff.


97%

Great for the price, very helpful staff!


77%

Location is great, close to Ueno and Asakusa area. Rooms were small but clean, in the bathroom there was a strange plastic smell. Common area could be bigger and the kitchen needs some more equipment. Hostel staff was very friendly and nice, but unfortunately it's more like a shared room "hotel". Anyway the people at the receptions are well-prepared for travellers and they have many suggestions and brochures to spend a good time in Tokyo!


83%

Nice location, not a long walk from subway and the train station. Two stops away from Akihabara. Staff were super helpful and the single room I had was well worth the money.


94%

I loved everything about my stay. The staff was kind and helpful, the room was great, well stocked, and cleaned daily, and the location couldn't have been better! The only minor negative was the loud AC unit on the building next door that was audible at all hours even with the window closed (hardly the hotel's fault though). If I go back to Tokyo I'll be sure to stay at the Oak Hostel again!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(121 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback