X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1090 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Room and bathroom were extremely tiny. Seemed to pay a lot for a private room. Not good bang for buck.


63%

Not really a hostel...more of a business hotel. Decent value. Unfortunately, our whole room, especially bed/futon, felt very damp and smelled strongly like mildew. Probably would not stay here again.


80%

Really friendly and helpful staff - brilliant after arriving on a long flight with only a couple of hours sleep


51%

Didn't feel clean. The room smelled a bit like bathroom. The window is strange and the layout of the room is very strange also. Something on the wall just had a duck tape. I wanted to leave the room as soon as possible. They need to update the rooms.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a very nice stay here for 6 days and am hoping to return later in the year it was a very nice location and easy to get around the city and to and from the airport nice and clean and staff very friendly . I found it good value for Tokyo


66%

Please fix the dryer !!!!!! Everyone was practically complaining about it, not working properly.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The room is small, and the private bathroom is even smaller but after 15 days traveling in Japan you notice this is the standard for bathrooms around the country, so in that case, is perfect. 2 minutes walking from the subway.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good hotel for a stay in Tokyo with easy access to subway (5min walk to Inaricho) and JR-Lines (15min walk to Ueno). Room, especially the bathroom, was very small but clean. Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

New and very clean hostel. Helpful and friendly staff


74%

Nice enough hostel. In a great area of Tokyo with lots happening near by and quick walk to the Metro. Facilities were decently clean. There were lockers in the room. They have free computers. You can also print for pretty cheap. The biggest problem here was a lack of good common spaces that made it hard to meet people and relax during down time.


89%

Cozy hotel conveniently located close to a Ginza line station. Friendly staff. Room was small, but considering the price and the fact that it's in Tokyo, it was pretty good.


97%

Great place!!! Highly recommended for trvelers


57%

Friendly and helpful staff. The lounge is not really a lounge, just a table a some chairs, which is a shame.


89%

Excellent! A good place to explore Tokio from, a subway station very close by and in walking distance from Ueno, shops in the street (7/11). I had a twin bedroom with its own toilet and shower and housekeeping (clean towels, etc.) each day. Somewhat difficult to meet other backpackers here because there is not really a bar in the hotel where you can hang out and have drinks, nevertheless, I would visit this place again, because it is safe, computers with free internet, clean, luxurious.


89%

Clean convenient hotel with good service. I arrived early, but they let me check in since my room was ready. The tatami mat room was small with a closet-sized bathroom, but the room was comfortable and I was satisfied with the facilities. This place has great value and the location is conveniently near Ueno station and is within walking distance of landmarks like Sensoji.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great service, god location, great staff!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Fine hostel, good room. Small bathroom (arent they all in Japan?). Only stayed one night. Wifi reception in our room was little.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

if I have a free time , I will book this hotel again . Thank you all staff who make me feel happy on my birthday period . Hotel look like my home when I stay here. I'm look forward to see Oak hotel staff again in next time. Regard....... A.K. TG staff

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staffs are very nice ; Excellent service , Good in English and room is clean.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wifi not really work in the room.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(103 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback