X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1291 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location, friendly staff, super clean and best of all it was extremely affordable! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oak Hostel! Highly recommend to all :)

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff were friendly. They helped me book a table at a place and i had a lovely stay. 8/10


80%

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location!! The rooms are very small and our bathroom was unclean, but we enjoyed our stay :-)

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Booked this room because of the greate reviews. Such of a disappointment! Dirty, small and old.


89%

Staff were lovely and helpful! More of a hotel than a hostel, so not much of an atmosphere, but clean and comfortable and good value. We stayed in Japanese style double room with en suite. It had a mini fridge, tv (CNN), yukata, and tea making facilities. Walking distance from Ueno park and from the Kaminarimon and Senso-ji, plus several transport links. We even walked to the Skytree from there. Would recommend :)


83%

The hostel staff were friendly, helpful, and had a solid command of the English language. The room I had (4 bed male dorm) was basic, but good enough for my requirements and the cost. It also had a good safety locker which was easy to use. The location was fine, but a bit of a problem when the metro closes at midnight-5am. The hostel held a hallowe'en party, and the staff made a big effort to make it a very fun occasion :) The 10am check out time was a struggle, but I managed :D

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A small and cosy hostel, a little lacking in facilities though (no handsoap in the bathroom). It was a little difficult to find, but follow the worded directions and it should be fine. Keep an eye out for the bright hostel sign! (I managed to miss it completely)


63%

No power outlet for each bed in female dorm. And some lights did not work.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

good place to stay, near Ueno a big station where you can find a famous Ichiran ramen in the station :)


86%

bathroom is too small but all the rest are wanderful.


94%

I stayed there 3 nights. It was easy to find (thanks to instructions provided) and close to many interesting places (Ueno park, Asakusa, Skytree). Bathroom was a little small, but overall I enjoyed staying there.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, close to Ginza line subway (Inaricho) and about a 10 min walk to Ueno station which is a really handy connecting station to go just about anywhere in Tokyo and redeem JR Shinkansen Passes. Plenty of small convenience shops between the hotel and Ueno station. Room was obviously small but quite poorly lit and had a bit of a funny smell to it (kind of moisture mouldy smell that you get from the damp and not enough air flow).

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

we stayed at OAK already the third time now - great place to stay

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Young, friendly, helpful staff with excellent English. Older place - bathrooms older but everything worked, good shower pressure, our room was cleaned daily, towels changed etc, hard bed (like most in Japan) but comfortable enough. A/c.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff speaks great English, there's free Wi-Fi, and there are computers to use in the lobby. I forgot my phone charger, but there was one of those lying around in the computer center to use. Excellent!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The room was a bit small, we had some difficulties managing our stuff. And the hairdryer didn't work.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A fantastic value for money hotel with awesome friendly staff that are very helpful. Have stayed at the Oak a number of times now and will definately stay there again next time in Japan. Would easily recommend this hotel to any family or friends wishing to visit Tokyo. Have never had a bad experience with any of the times we have stayed and can't wait to return to Tokyo. The lovely staff were always happy and helpful and helped make our trip a very enjoyable and pleasant stay.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Bed was very small for two people but that's normal in Japan I guess. In general it was a good place with friendly staff and very quiet at night.


74%

Good location and WiFi. Very small rooms but that's what you get in Tokyo.


86%

The staff speaks good English. And they are very helpful.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(98 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback