X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
951 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice hostel; lots of facilities; close to metro & easy to find. Lockers in dorm room were nice touch.


89%

Enjoyed our longish stay (9 days) at the Oak due to it's location for getting to places of interest and proximity to quality low cost food / shops and ease of getting transport to Narita Int'l Airport. Room was a bit too small for a long stay but can't complain when judged against the price for being in Tokyo (not the cheapest of places in the world). Staff could not be nicer, more friendly of more helpful – good staff makes such a difference. The acid test is I would recommend the Oak to friend

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Hotel's wifi is not stable. It often out of line.

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value for the money. This is a pretty typical business hotel within about 5 minutes walk from Inaricho stn. Our room was clean and had fresh towels and bathroom amenities delivered daily. I'd stay here again.


71%

Was a bit run down and could definitely have been cleaner. In Japan especially, you expect a higher level of cleanliness than hair on the bathtub. Having said that, it was an en suite which was nice, very conveniently located close to subways, the Ueno station and the huge park and the bed (Japanese style) was very comfortable. For Tokyo, it was good value for money!

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very friendly staff!!! The room and the facilities were very clean. The only I was missing was a bigger common area and a bar. All in all I would stay there again!


94%

We were very happy about our stay in Oak Hostel. The staff was very kind, the room was clean and the furniture ok. We liked the facilities: hair dryer, fridge, tv, tea, soap and we could borrow an adapter to plug our camera battery. The location was fine: less than 5 minutes from a subway line and 10 minutes away from a JR station. It was rather quiet and there was a supermarket nearby. So to sum up we really enjoyed our stay and will recommand this place to our friends! Thank you!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Oak Hostel is quite clean and well located, but its furniture and room equipment (especially the bathroom!) is old and worn out. We had 2 twin rooms, both windows facing the wall. I would recommend this hostel for not demanding backpackers only.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Not bad but lacked atmosphere as far as meeting people. Location is ok - not great.


86%

Dryer needs replacing, takes forever to dry even the lightest things


71%

Imagen a small bathroom. These ones are smaller.


100%

Cozy and conveniently located in the heart of Ueno. The best place to stay when visiting Tokyo! The staff was great, too!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great atmosphere created by a manager and staff who really work hard to create friendly welcoming international atmosphere. The staff have a high level of English proficiency which is really valuable and many have been backpackers themselves and live to share stories. Oakhotel also provides loads of really useful insider tips.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

lovely hotel complete with basic necessities and very good support staff


100%

Very nice stay in the Ueno district of Tokyo. About a 10 minute walk from JR Ueno station - an extra 5 minutes or less from Keisei Ueno station. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the vicinity of the hotel, including a great udon/soba restaurant literally just around the corner. Rooms and bathrooms are small, but that is to be expected in any metropolis such as Tokyo, and given the price of the rooms they were surprisingly well equipped. Would highly recommend, and will stay again in Tokyo!


86%

Nice and quiet and a good area that's away from the hustle and bussle. Short walk to ueno station can get to other areas very easily. Staff were happy to help with directions or call places for you. They clean your room every day. Small bathroom but easy enough for a regular size person. Only thing was pillow was rock hard so made it hard to sleep but overall good place to stay and would most likely stay again when I return to Tokyo.


97%

Great location, there is a subway station close by with many transfer lines, ueno. Delicious Japanese restaurants around, the hostel provides many information to visit tokyo. Very good English from the staff, also very polite.


74%

Everything is good but it quite far from Ueno station(but not far from metro). I won't recommend if you have big luggages and have to use JR pass.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good place

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

First time in Tokyo and really enjoyed it! Nice hostel, very clean and close to a few stations on the Ginza line so great to get about! Only a short walk to Asakura and into Ueno park! Room was cleaned everyday and was comfy! Thank you for my stay! Sidney 19 London x


(61 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback