X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oak Hostel Reviews

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1384 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

good place to stay, near Ueno a big station where you can find a famous Ichiran ramen in the station :)


86%

bathroom is too small but all the rest are wanderful.


94%

I stayed there 3 nights. It was easy to find (thanks to instructions provided) and close to many interesting places (Ueno park, Asakusa, Skytree). Bathroom was a little small, but overall I enjoyed staying there.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, close to Ginza line subway (Inaricho) and about a 10 min walk to Ueno station which is a really handy connecting station to go just about anywhere in Tokyo and redeem JR Shinkansen Passes. Plenty of small convenience shops between the hotel and Ueno station. Room was obviously small but quite poorly lit and had a bit of a funny smell to it (kind of moisture mouldy smell that you get from the damp and not enough air flow).

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

we stayed at OAK already the third time now - great place to stay

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Young, friendly, helpful staff with excellent English. Older place - bathrooms older but everything worked, good shower pressure, our room was cleaned daily, towels changed etc, hard bed (like most in Japan) but comfortable enough. A/c.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff speaks great English, there's free Wi-Fi, and there are computers to use in the lobby. I forgot my phone charger, but there was one of those lying around in the computer center to use. Excellent!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The room was a bit small, we had some difficulties managing our stuff. And the hairdryer didn't work.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A fantastic value for money hotel with awesome friendly staff that are very helpful. Have stayed at the Oak a number of times now and will definately stay there again next time in Japan. Would easily recommend this hotel to any family or friends wishing to visit Tokyo. Have never had a bad experience with any of the times we have stayed and can't wait to return to Tokyo. The lovely staff were always happy and helpful and helped make our trip a very enjoyable and pleasant stay.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Bed was very small for two people but that's normal in Japan I guess. In general it was a good place with friendly staff and very quiet at night.


74%

Good location and WiFi. Very small rooms but that's what you get in Tokyo.


86%

The staff speaks good English. And they are very helpful.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(92 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback