Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oaklands Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
8.3

I spent 3 nights at Oaklands Lodge after a long flight to New Zealand. The hostel is very quiet and is directly at Mt Eden, where you can have a great view on the Dowen Town of Ackland. The room was fine and the bathroom was great because it was a normal bathroom you had not have to share.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th May 2017
7.4

Oaklands lodge is in the lovely area of Mt Eden, easily accessible to airport and short bus to centre. Good size kitchen, friendly staff & lovely living room (lots of films!). The facilities and furnishings are all tired and basic. My dorm was really cold both nights and they also daisy-chained four extension leads together which is potentially unsafe. There was only two showers and one toilet for the whole floor which meant queuing to use the facilities (including sink). Free parking is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your honest review. We are striven for a warm, safe and tidy atmosphere for all of our guests. Oaklands lodge is a historical house with lots of character and history in a wonderful area called Mount Eden Village. Beds are provided with one duvet, for the once that are in need of one more we are happy to provide them. In our cosy lodge we provide 5 bathrooms and 5 toilets so there is always a shower for everyone at anytime. Hope to see you again one day. Happy travels!

9th May 2017
9.1

Pleasure staying, great kitchen, coffee/tea would be nice to tag along with cost :). One thing I'd like to add for improvement is that the gents' staff (ladies were super) need to work on the hospitality skills part in starting conversations. Simply say "hey, where are you from" to get that open and engaging vibe going. I could have stayed longer, but figured there was something better to offer around town...which was my gamble, however the stakes weren't made that high here. Take care, Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your friendly review. It is our striven to make all our guests feel welcome within a warm, nice and tidy 'family atmosphere'. Bottemline is act is we all are coming from far away and are in the same 'travel' boat so interacting should be a standard thing. We would be very pleased to welcome you again one day. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
3.4

Charged for old damages made to room. Staff were distant and cold. The hostel was dirtyl the toliet and showers filthy. The room was dirty smelling, bed covers were old and musty. The notice was horrible and the smell. Will not be recommending to anyone nor will I go back there

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
9.7

This place is so great! The atmosphere was amazing and everyone is super open to making friends and socializing. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Big kitchen to cook in. It is a little bit of a distance always from city centre, but just get a hop pass and you'll be set for the busses. Mt Eden is a cute little village to stay in/explore around. For sure would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

Staff were nice, the location is alright but I wanted to be more in the centre, but a good location for people who want to chill and be further away from the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.9

very good place to stay...!! not too expensive not too cheap, I would say average value for money. The Staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and no issue with it whatsoever. Location is good. close to Mt. Eden. you can climb up for about 15-20 min. that's kind of cool. Kitchen is very nice. big with all facilities. only thing I was looking after was the Price for dormitory. for me was a bit high. rest is very happy experience. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
8.3

Stayed for 6 nights. Good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • k-b143376
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.7

Loved it! Free parking right on the street outside, lovely rooms and big kitchen/lounge/dining areas which were all super clean. The location was quite a way out of central auckland but a really cheap and quick bus ride and Mt Eden Village itself has plenty of cool shops and cafes. Friendly atmosphere and sad I could only stay one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the great review! Were glad you enjoyed your stay here. We pride ourselves on ensuring the hostel is kept to a high level of cleanliness at all times so is nice to hear positive feedback. We're in a great location just 10 minutes from the City Centre and surrounded cool bars, restaurants and of course the beautiful MT Eden. We hope we can welcome you to the hostel again soon!

3rd Apr 2017
9.1

Great location- just outside city- great for parking! Beautiful village, friendly locals. Green, scenic, safe! Loved our stay. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the nice review! Our hostel is perfectly located in the heart of MT Eden and ideally placed just a minutes walk from MT Eden itself. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having a great atmosphere here and are always looking to uphold a harmonious environment. Hopefully we can see you again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.