Hostelworld.com

Oaklands Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
Oaklands Lodge Located at 5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Oaklands Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden
89% 664
-36.8807705 174.7631478
Oaklands Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

The best hostel in all New Zealand! Quiet, clean, with spacious rooms and hot water 24/7. You will meet lovely and interesting people. There is also a supermarket (Countdown) a couple of minutes from the hostel, and also plenty of lovely cafés and restaurants. The staff will always do it's best to help you! I have stayed in several hostels since my arrival in New Zealand, and I allways end up coming back to this one every time I'm in Auckland :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
10.0

Lovely staff! Johnny was delightful. Nice accommodation, quaint neighborhood setting in Mt. Eden. Clean bathroom and kitchen. I'd stay again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.7

This hostel feels like a home away from home. It's cozy, clean, has an awesome atmosphere and seems to attract nice people. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.1

Helpful staff, lovely spacious facilities and a peaceful atmosphere which makes this home a perfect place to relax for a weary world traveler :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.4

Relaxing...comfortable...welcoming...no getting drunk appreciated. There are heaps of bars and clubs close by if you want to do that. Top location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Great location if you have a rental car and need free parking. Busses downtown run frequently and the neighbourhood is great, lots of nice stores and cafes. Short distance to Mt. Eden is a big plus! We stayed there in the beginning of our trip and plan to do so again in the end!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Really lovely hostel to stay at. In the heart of Mt Eden, easy to get to. We got a private double room and it was really good, bed was comfortable. Bathrooms are really clean and there are hair dryers that you can use as well! Lovely staff! Really enjoyed our stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you comments. We are pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us and you shared your experience. We are located outside the city centre, but only with regular buses to the city and a bus stop only 50m away, we are perfectly located for anyone trying to escape the busy, noisy city. With cafes and local stores around us, you can always find a good coffee or feel free to stroll up to the top of Mt Eden volcano for spectacular views of Auckland.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Great place to stay in Auckland ! Super endroit si vous voulez découvrir Auckland ! And the staff is so friendly and nice :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in being extremely clean and make sure all our guests are happy while they stay with us. We are also very helpful if extra assistance is required and always here to help.

  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel at the foot of Mount Eden. 200MB of free WIFI but you have to pay for the rest after that. Very good kitchen facilities. Would liked to have stayed longer but it was fully booked the following night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Mt Eden. We give out a generous amount of Wifi, which easily lasts for your stay to check out the news, emails, etc. We do warn guests to turn off updates as this will easily use up your data. If needed purchasing more additional Wifi is offered at a very low cost. We always make sure we have all our common areas as clean as possible for all our guests to enjoy.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Very nice and quiet hostel. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The area was beautiful but a bit far from the city (although a bus takes you to the citycentre in 20 minutes).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the peace and quiet outside the city. The village has some lovely restaurants and cute little shops and you are just a 15 min walk/hike away from Mount Eden volcano with perfect views of the city, it is definitely a "must-see" for all our guests. With us being 50m from the bust stop (to the airport and the city) it is really easy access to the CBD and only $2.50. We always make sure we have all our common areas as clean as possible for all our guests to enjoy and that the rooms are always neat and tidy with fresh sheets.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.