Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oaklands Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
10.0

My stay was very short, but all around great. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! I felt safe there, and it was super easy to get there from the airport! Would definitely recommend it, and would stay here again. I had the private single bedroom, and it was the perfect size. Although the room is cold initially, they have a heater in the room, as well as a heated blanket in mine which made it very cozy. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
9.4

This is a really lovely hostel, everyone was friendly and welcoming. Located slightly out of the CBD but has everything you need. Frank was really helpful and made the stay a lot of fun. Had a great time and will be back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words. Making our guests feel welcome in our 'Family Lodge' is a high standard. The place is definitely recommended for travelers that like quiet time but at the same time not to far away, although Mount Eden Village has a lot to offer as well. Look forward on your return to us. :)

  • amccarthy48381
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

Oakland's lodge is like a home away from home. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The facilities are so clean and you can see that staff work hard to keep these standards.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words, we really enjoyed having you guys staying with us. Keeping the place clean and tidy is one of our priorities as well as providing a family based atmosphere. We wish you safe travels through Chile.

23rd Jun 2017
10.0

EXCELLENT FRIENDLY HOSTEL WITH GREAT HOST, NICE LOCATION, GOOD AMENITIES

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Lived my stay and if i come back to Auckland I won't look anywhere else. The staff were so friendly and helpful, so not a "Hostel" and more of a "Warm and friendly"

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your good review! We really appreciate it and we hope to see you again some day.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2017
10.0

Kia Ora! This was our first experience of staying in a hostel and the staff made us feel so welcome they are fantastic. The people staying there are awesome all so friendly, we made some great friends and certainly plan to return. If I could have given this hostel a higher mark than 10 I would have. Love Kieren & Jodie ❤

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
8.3

I spent 3 nights at Oaklands Lodge after a long flight to New Zealand. The hostel is very quiet and is directly at Mt Eden, where you can have a great view on the Dowen Town of Ackland. The room was fine and the bathroom was great because it was a normal bathroom you had not have to share.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th May 2017
7.4

Oaklands lodge is in the lovely area of Mt Eden, easily accessible to airport and short bus to centre. Good size kitchen, friendly staff & lovely living room (lots of films!). The facilities and furnishings are all tired and basic. My dorm was really cold both nights and they also daisy-chained four extension leads together which is potentially unsafe. There was only two showers and one toilet for the whole floor which meant queuing to use the facilities (including sink). Free parking is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your honest review. We are striven for a warm, safe and tidy atmosphere for all of our guests. Oaklands lodge is a historical house with lots of character and history in a wonderful area called Mount Eden Village. Beds are provided with one duvet, for the once that are in need of one more we are happy to provide them. In our cosy lodge we provide 5 bathrooms and 5 toilets so there is always a shower for everyone at anytime. Hope to see you again one day. Happy travels!

9th May 2017
9.1

Pleasure staying, great kitchen, coffee/tea would be nice to tag along with cost :). One thing I'd like to add for improvement is that the gents' staff (ladies were super) need to work on the hospitality skills part in starting conversations. Simply say "hey, where are you from" to get that open and engaging vibe going. I could have stayed longer, but figured there was something better to offer around town...which was my gamble, however the stakes weren't made that high here. Take care, Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your friendly review. It is our striven to make all our guests feel welcome within a warm, nice and tidy 'family atmosphere'. Bottemline is act is we all are coming from far away and are in the same 'travel' boat so interacting should be a standard thing. We would be very pleased to welcome you again one day. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
3.4

Charged for old damages made to room. Staff were distant and cold. The hostel was dirtyl the toliet and showers filthy. The room was dirty smelling, bed covers were old and musty. The notice was horrible and the smell. Will not be recommending to anyone nor will I go back there

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The guests seemed quite happy while they were here. They booked a twin room but when they checked out we found they had moved a bed so that the beds were next to each other. However, the room was narrower where they put the bed and was tightly wedged so it took two people to move it and after moving it we found a hole in the wall. This hole had not been there before they checked in. We charged them for fixing the hole. They were obviously unhappy with this hence the negative review. If they wanted a double room they could have booked one.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.