Hostelworld.com

Oaklands Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
Oaklands Lodge Located at 5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Oaklands Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden
89% 656
-36.8807705 174.7631478
Oaklands Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.4

Relaxing...comfortable...welcoming...no getting drunk appreciated. There are heaps of bars and clubs close by if you want to do that. Top location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Great location if you have a rental car and need free parking. Busses downtown run frequently and the neighbourhood is great, lots of nice stores and cafes. Short distance to Mt. Eden is a big plus! We stayed there in the beginning of our trip and plan to do so again in the end!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Really lovely hostel to stay at. In the heart of Mt Eden, easy to get to. We got a private double room and it was really good, bed was comfortable. Bathrooms are really clean and there are hair dryers that you can use as well! Lovely staff! Really enjoyed our stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you comments. We are pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us and you shared your experience. We are located outside the city centre, but only with regular buses to the city and a bus stop only 50m away, we are perfectly located for anyone trying to escape the busy, noisy city. With cafes and local stores around us, you can always find a good coffee or feel free to stroll up to the top of Mt Eden volcano for spectacular views of Auckland.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Great place to stay in Auckland ! Super endroit si vous voulez découvrir Auckland ! And the staff is so friendly and nice :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in being extremely clean and make sure all our guests are happy while they stay with us. We are also very helpful if extra assistance is required and always here to help.

  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel at the foot of Mount Eden. 200MB of free WIFI but you have to pay for the rest after that. Very good kitchen facilities. Would liked to have stayed longer but it was fully booked the following night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Mt Eden. We give out a generous amount of Wifi, which easily lasts for your stay to check out the news, emails, etc. We do warn guests to turn off updates as this will easily use up your data. If needed purchasing more additional Wifi is offered at a very low cost. We always make sure we have all our common areas as clean as possible for all our guests to enjoy.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Very nice and quiet hostel. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The area was beautiful but a bit far from the city (although a bus takes you to the citycentre in 20 minutes).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the peace and quiet outside the city. The village has some lovely restaurants and cute little shops and you are just a 15 min walk/hike away from Mount Eden volcano with perfect views of the city, it is definitely a "must-see" for all our guests. With us being 50m from the bust stop (to the airport and the city) it is really easy access to the CBD and only $2.50. We always make sure we have all our common areas as clean as possible for all our guests to enjoy and that the rooms are always neat and tidy with fresh sheets.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
9.4

Amazing time at Oaklands Lodge for a week ! The location near the Mount Eden is perfect and very quite. I had never seen a nice and helpful Staff like that. Everything you want is available at the Lodge. The perfect place to meeting world travellers and have a good time in Auckland !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Great to hear that you had such a great time here with us and that you appreciated the peace and quiet outside the city. The village has some lovely restaurants and cute little shops and you are just a 15 min walk/hike away from Mount Eden. We are very helpful if extra assistance is required and always here to help. It is a good mix of long termers and travelers who only stay for a few days, coming from different countries as well. We hope to see you at the end of your journey and you can tell us all about your adventures.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
8.9

Very clean bathrooms and showers. Clean, spacious rooms. Will probably stay at again on my way out of NZ. Plenty of parking available. Cute downtown area and just a buss stop away from the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the peace and quiet outside the city. The village has some lovely restaurants and cute little shops and you are just a 15 min walk/hike away from Mount Eden. We pride ourselves in being extremely clean and make sure all our guests are happy while they stay with us. We hope to see you at the end of your journey and you can tell us all about your adventures.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
8.0

Good Hostel in nice quiet neighborhood. Despite being not in the CBD it's quite easy to get into the CBD by bus. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comment. With us being 50m from the bust stop (to the airport and the city) it is really easy access to the CBD and only $2.50. Mt Eden volcano is only a 30 minute walk to the top (at slow pace) and with perfect views of the city, it is definitely a "must-see" for all our guests. We always enjoy talking to all our guest and making them feel at home.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.3

Stayed there 2 nights and was happy. You can dry your washing in the garden and everything is really clean. It was also ok to bring my bags one day before I checked in. Friendly and helpful staff. It's just a bit annoying that the power plug in the room turns off after a while, but other than that no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hostel is trying to do it's part for the environment, therefore we do recycle, offer to hang your clothes outside in the sun instead of using the dryer and we have switched sockets in the rooms to save energy. We are also very helpful if extra assistance is required and always here to help.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.