Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oaklands Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 689 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 689 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
Oaklands Lodge Located at 5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Oaklands Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden
88% 689
-36.8807705 174.7631478
Oaklands Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2016
8.0

Far from center, but good place to park the car and go to the center by bus in about 20 minutes and avoid parking fees. It got all you need for few nights: hot shower, confortable bed, kitchen, lounge area... Kitchen is quite big, so it was possible to find your spot even at rush hours. Anyway, the fridge wasnt enought big for many guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.4

Hostel is very clean and beds comfy, good atmosphere and staff were helpful with information about Auckland and tours etc. Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.9

The location and staff are fantastic!! I've never felt so at home after just a few hours! Everyone is incredibly welcoming! Mt. Eden has some cute cafes around there and a grocery store nearby. The bus stop is also super close. However, the people just really make this hostel amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
10.0

I only stayed for one night but I was royally treated. This hostel is a delight and I recommend it, especially because of the warm and welcoming personal service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

clean and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Had an excellent stay at Oaklands Lodge, I booked one of the private doubles for a few nights to help get over my jet lag and explore Auckland. The staff were very polite and helpful, the facilities were clean with excellent showers and a heater & blanket was provided in the room for the cold nights. Atmosphere was a little quiet with lots of long term stays in the hostel; but to be honest this is a common theme with NZ hostels in the middle of winter. Mt Eden village is great, 20 mins to CBD.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.9

Its ok :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are always wanting to improve every area of our business, so please send us an email with more details of what you think needs improving. We provide an extremely clean hostel with great staff. If you did not think we offered you this we would like your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to hearing from you soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.1

Stayed for three nights, one was an additional night, which was added no problem. We were also upgraded to a double private at no additional cost which was great after a long haul flight! The staff are very friendly, and made us feel at home right away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

Only stayed there for one night, but it was a nice hostel. Big kitchen with lots of stove tops. Wifi is free for the first 200 MB (barely enough) but doesn't work very well. Was a bit frustrating as we had calls to make. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location is not that great, Mount Eden is a bit boring and has very few food options. Bus stop is really close though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.4

As usual staying here is always a great experience, the staff are friendly and helpful and the guests are very pleasant. I would stay here again over any other backpackers in Auckland city:-) two thumbs up from this nomad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.