Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oaklands Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Apr 2017
8.9

very good place to stay...!! not too expensive not too cheap, I would say average value for money. The Staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and no issue with it whatsoever. Location is good. close to Mt. Eden. you can climb up for about 15-20 min. that's kind of cool. Kitchen is very nice. big with all facilities. only thing I was looking after was the Price for dormitory. for me was a bit high. rest is very happy experience. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
8.3

Stayed for 6 nights. Good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • k-b143376
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.7

Loved it! Free parking right on the street outside, lovely rooms and big kitchen/lounge/dining areas which were all super clean. The location was quite a way out of central auckland but a really cheap and quick bus ride and Mt Eden Village itself has plenty of cool shops and cafes. Friendly atmosphere and sad I could only stay one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the great review! Were glad you enjoyed your stay here. We pride ourselves on ensuring the hostel is kept to a high level of cleanliness at all times so is nice to hear positive feedback. We're in a great location just 10 minutes from the City Centre and surrounded cool bars, restaurants and of course the beautiful MT Eden. We hope we can welcome you to the hostel again soon!

3rd Apr 2017
9.1

Great location- just outside city- great for parking! Beautiful village, friendly locals. Green, scenic, safe! Loved our stay. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the nice review! Our hostel is perfectly located in the heart of MT Eden and ideally placed just a minutes walk from MT Eden itself. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having a great atmosphere here and are always looking to uphold a harmonious environment. Hopefully we can see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.7

A well run hostel in a quiet tree lined residential street close to Mt Eden the highest viewpoint over Auckland, on the bus route from the airport and 20 mins bus ride from the city centre. I stayed in 4 different rooms from private to 11 bed dorm. Comfy beds, big kitchen and variety of chilling out spots including the back garden

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are in a great location, not far from the city centre but far enough away to get the quiet village feel of Mt Eden town. We offer great facilities for all our guests at exceptional standards of cleanliness. We hope we can welcome you back again at some point in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2017
10.0

A great place to stay, I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
9.1

I really like this hostel. Its clean, comfy, and has good facilities. Decent atmosphere, and nice relaxed location outside the city. Free wifi, and parking. I recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! Were really happy you enjoyed your time here. We have just upgraded our Wifi system which has always been free and unlimited.We pride ourselves on keeping the hostel clean and welcoming at all times so it is always great to here a review like this.

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
6.9

It's an ok place. Convenient location especially with a car. Average prices. Stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. Bathroom and kitchen not very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Sorry you felt our kitchen and Bathroom was not very clean. All out staff are always looking to ensure the hostel is kept clean and tidy day and night so it is disappointing to here a comment of this nature.

6th Mar 2017
9.7

I liked how Oaklands was a bit tucked away but not too far away from Downtown Auckland. Being near Mt. Eden was a big plus for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Glad you like our location, we are ideally placed within walking distance from MT Eden as well as a small bus journey into the Auckland CBD.

2nd Mar 2017
9.7

The hostel is conveniently located just a block away from the bus stop and maybe another 8 or so houses down said block. It is located in a residential neighborhood, so I would often say hello to Charlotte, the sweet redheaded gal next door. All in all, the facilities were clean, the staff were super knowledgable and kind. It is about a 20-25 minute bus ride into downtown, but then again, I was looking for something a bit out of the city, right in Mt. Eden. Beautiful scenery around & hiking!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.