X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oaklands Lodge Reviews

5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
395 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Quiet location away from the city centre, but easy to get to the city ($2 by bus, frequent service.) Plenty of shops, cafes and pubs nearby in Mount Eden village; supermarket about 15 min walk - open until midnight; on bus route to airport. And that's in addition to the friendly and helpful staff and clean facilities, which all adds up to a great place to stay.


100%

It was simply the perfect start for my adventure in New Zealand. Who doesn`t want to be stressed by Auckland`s city center, should definitely choose to stay in the Oaklands Lodge within the beautiful Mt. Eden Village! Recovering from jet lag, planning and sorting things and just arriving. Great people and all in all just an amazing overall package! Best choice :) Thank you guys! Cheers, Petra

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. Johnny was very helpful and answered all my questions. WiFi was sketchy sometimes, buy Epsom library is fairly close for faster WiFi access during the day. Definitelu recommended.


69%

Good location close to amenities and Mt Eden crater.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A lovely place to stay and the staff were delightful.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

great stay .Will come back again and recommend

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Has a great second stay at Oakland lodge! The only thing that made me wanted to look for a flatshare quickly was that they don't allow long stay in the hostel from now on. that means that I wasn't able to stay more than 2 weeks and that the family feeling won't exist anymore! Sad about that!


94%

Friendly staff and accommodated all of our needs!

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Martin and Jonny are lovely and very helpful.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to begin my adventure


97%

Really enjoy my stay at Oaklands Lodge. In fact, I just booked today for 3 weeks!!! The hostel is very clean, the staff super friendly as the other guests and it feel very safe. It's almost like a home away from home,except that to have to share a room with total strangers!! ;) Totally recommend this hostel to anyone.


91%

We have a very good stay in this backpacker and recommand it, Jonny, the manager have help us a lot by advising us and say all we should know. People there are respectfull and friendly, beds are good and rooms are calm.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

quiet and clean place away from the city center. nice to avoid the party hostels in the center. bus to city center costs you 2$ only. i also like that its a flat building with just one floor up, it has a garden and you can climb up mount eden in 20 minutes. some comments complain about guests staying on long term. yes you will meet them and they can tell you a lot about their experience in nz! and you will also meet a lot of short term stayers. around 50/50 for my stay. i liked it that way!

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a lovely stay at oaklands lodge the staff there are amazing and really helpful. Really clean, great location only 15 mins on the bus to the city and lots of local shops. All the people who stay there are friendly and chatty. There is a good sized kitchen with all that you need, bathrooms were spotless as are the bedrooms.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We would return any Time we stay in Auckland


86%

Place is really wonderful. it is close to Onehunga town. So anyone can walk into nice pubs and restaurants at nights

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice hostel with really friendly staff and a perfekt atmosphere. But it takes an hour to walk to the city center

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy that we have made your stay a lovely one and hopefully one to remember. It does take about 45 minutes to walk into the city but there is regular bus (every 5 minutes during the week) that takes you into the city centre for $2.00 and only takes 10 minutes.

80%

A good place to stay.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Such an unforgettable stay with cool mates I got to know thru stay here. Staff were excessively friendly and kind enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing us for your choice of hostel in Auckland. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your traveling and look forward to seeing you again.

71%

The kitchen, bathroom and common room are nice. Well located in Auckland if you wanna stay close to Mount Eden (great place to stay btw). The rooms are quiet nice, you have only simple beds which is nice. However, they wanna save energy so the plugs turn off every 45 minutes and you have to restart it again... The problem is that the heater is on the plug... so the rooms are really freezing in winter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. The plugs are on timers which lasts for 90 minutes, not 45 minutes. We do provide additional blankets in all our rooms with doubled up duvets and if you require more blankets we are more than happy to supply them. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ and we look forward to seeing you again.

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback