X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oaklands Lodge Reviews

5A Oaklands Road, Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
381 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel was really nice. The staff was friendly and everything was clean. The best about this hostel is its location: It's out of the city but in no way remote since you can get into downtown Auckland by bus which takes less than 20 minutes and costs less than 2 NZD. Since it is out of town you'll sleep like a baby. Absolutely brilliant hostel.


94%

Excellent hostel, you feel like in home!!! It permits also a good night for sleeping, very quiet during the night, it was great! Very very close to Mt Eden, so it is very easy to go to its summit and see a great sunshine wirh the best view of the city! A little bit far from the center, it could be a problem to the lazy people ;-)


89%

Really nice and comfortable stay in Auckland! Mt Eden is a great location, very relaxed and still full of life. 15min away from the citycenter by bus. Every room is superclean and the atmosphere is just great and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay!


97%

This is such a nice place! It's quite and there is a familiar atmosphere. If I'm in Auckland again this would be my first choice.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Such a nice place to stay. Staff and backpackers are very friendly. Mount Eden is a very good district, calm and beautiful. Buses to the city center are nearby the hotel. Go for it !!


91%

This was the first hostel I stayed at in New Zealand, and most definitely the best! It's small and cozy. I stayed only four days but within those four days everyone was so friendly and I actually felt right at home. The location is only a short bus from the city, and therefore YOU CAN ACTUALLY SLEEP AT NIGHT. Awesome hostel. However, If you are looking for a party hostel: this isn't for you.


97%

Lovely old villa turned into a backpackers.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Carnt falt the fantastic service and room

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Hi we enjoyed our stay at Oaklands Lodge. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The hostel is lovely, its clean and tidy and in a beautiful location. Thank you Rhonda

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Even though the reception is not open 24 hours a day they figured out a safe way to check in late which I really appreciated since my plane arrived at midnight. You just need to send them an email. If you are staying in Auckland for only a couple of days I would strongly recommend you get a place to stay closer to the middle of the city. The colors of furniture/walls could have been more welcoming and warm. I personally don't like men and women sharing same bathrooms.

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place but people make a lot noise after 10pm and most the people who makes noise are the same people that work there!!!


100%

Excellent staff and very helpful with questions to get anywhere.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Beautiful spot right at Mt Eden. Dorms with only 4 beds and super cheap! And nice, friendly stuff of course :) I'm really happy I could come back for the end of my travel.

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really nice hostel, good room, nice kitchen and big shower! :) A little bit far from the supermarket and everything, but i would go back anyway! The guys working at the desk was really nice and helpful!!


97%

We are grandparents enjoying adventure and truly appreciated the professional staff here. The facility was spotless with attention to detail for the comfort of all. A nice perk having free internet card upon check in, and free local calls was most helpful. Proximity to bus transportation was excellent,...just a very nice experience. THANK YOU Sebastion and fellow staff!

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thoroughly enjoyed having you both staying at the hostel! We are pleased that we could make your stay one never to forget and hope to see you on this side of the world again!

94%

Nice and quiet place only 10min bus drive from City Center. Nothing to complain about except that wifi is limited to 200mb per guest...

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am so pleased that you really enjoyed yourself for the duration of your stay. The Free Wifi, which is given on arrival is limited to 200mb, but you can purchase additional Wifi during your stay.

94%

Lovely friendly hostel at the bottom of Mount Eden. The kitchen is huge and great for cooking. Lovely garden area to relax. Bathrooms shared but VERY clean. Staff (Sebastian and Jonathan) were really friendly and went out of there way to help.


89%

Really nice relaxed place, felt right at home there. All the facilities are great and staff are friendly and helpful. Mount Eden is a lovely part of the city to stay in, cool cafes and shops etc. It's away from the CBD but only a ten minute bus ride to get there so still really handy to get in and out of the centre.


91%

Good all around. Stayed for a few days over Christmas, it's a nice quiet spot only 10 mins out of the city and only 2 mins walk from a bus stop, although the supermarket is a big of a hike. Staff are excellent, and put on regular activities to get everyone mixing and social. Very clean, and great kitchen and bathroom facilities. Most of the guests are long term, and tend to keep to their groups, but are friendly enough.


83%

Nice wooden house, large convenient kitchen and lovely little garden. Bathroom a bit small and bunk beds not very stable - like in most hostels :-)


(220 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback