Hostelworld.com

Oban Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Oban Backpackers Located at Breadalbane Street, Argyll, Oban, Oban.
Oban Backpackers
Scotland
Oban PA34 5NZ Breadalbane Street, Argyll, Oban
91% 495
56.4177233 -5.4731869
Oban Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
9.7

Had a great couple of days stay in Oban backpackers, the only reason I marked down security was other people I was sharing with had left the door to our dorm open on occasion. However that is not really a criticism of the hostel itself. The facilities available were great, and showers/toilets very clean. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and the variation of people staying added to the great atmosphere. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Oban backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.7

Everything was great there. Wish there were more plugs in the walls, but hey they had extension cords. Shower is a bit tight but manageable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

Colorful and cute hostel with lots of information on trips and excursions. The rooms were spacey and comfortable. No lockers but didn't feel I needed one. Lobby is cute and they have free tea and coffee. Good spot in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

A lovely place to stay - clean, friendly staff, good facilities. Only complaint I might have was the top bunk bed - it was very high up which was great for the person in the bottom bunk but the bottom rung of the ladder was very high from the ground making it difficult for short people like me to climb up. A minor complaint though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel with awesome staff... but no lockers (don't think they advertised having them). They did have a storage closet but it was not in the staff desk area and I wouldn't have felt comfortable leaving anything in that closet. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Hostel would be a straight up 10 if they just had a place for you to lock up your stuff. Just need some cabinets with a bring your own lock thing. Otherwise, security was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
8.0

I was in Oban for a couple of days and had a terrific trip. The place is gorgeous and looks incredible in the sun. The hostel was mostly just a base to travel from but it certainly did the job. Staff were friendly and there was an atmosphere similar to University halls, except there was no binge drinking or exam stress! Good mix of people, though. The beds were basic but that's what I expected for the price. I wasn't too impressed with the showers though. Poorly maintained.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th May 2016
9.7

Everything was great! Power plugs by the bed would be handy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
9.7

friendly staff set the tone. provision of breakfast & drinks quite adequate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.4

Cheap & cheerful, great staff ,braw location, cracken place to visit ,try it you'll love it 👍👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.9

Friendly staff, nice big common room and kitchen, wifi was a bit spotty and no security lockers but other than that no complaints! Central location and good atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.