Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oban Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Aug 2017
7.7

Good basic hostel - has everything you would need for your stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.3

A sweet little hostel, however could do with some improvements. The lights were so weak as as there are no individual lights, it makes it hard to see!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.7

It was perfect. The only thing that bothered us was the mixed bathroom. But it was a great stay and the atmosphere was very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stevenforster924
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel. Very friendly and clean. The staff are superb. The only bad point was the Wi-Fi which was worse than useless but I understand an upgrade is imminent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yippychoy
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
8.6

We had a great stay at the Oban Backpackers hostel! The staff were super friendly and accommodating, the place was clean and they even fold your laundry after cleaning it. It was a great value as well and the beds were quite comfortable. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.7

Friendly and welcoming hostel. Great for our stop-over on the way to the isles. Free WiFi, free tea and coffee facilities and very facilitating staff. Some board games too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
9.1

Wifi was a bit iffy throughout, but other than that no complaints. Staff were friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
9.1

Homey hostel, with great main room hangout area and ample kitchen and fridge space. Knowledgeable and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
4.9

This is another case of "you get what you pay for". Questionable concept of H&S (no notices of wet floors, overloaded wall sockets, trailing cables to name a few). The kitchen was filthy and smelt badly. My feet stuck to the floor. Very noisy too as it overlooks a busy road with bars - good luck if you are trying to get some sleep. Not enough sockets in the rooms which makes it a pain to charge your appliances. Not in a rush to get back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2017
7.4

Meh. This is an average hostel - nothing too special. The rooms are small and smelly (mine was). Bathrooms and toilets were not very clean. I also did not like how there were no lockers in the rooms, though you could leave your stuff with the front desk. I did like the staff though - they were incredibly helpful and very polite. Location is good. Breakfast was nice but very bare bones.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning, Thanks for taking the time out to write your comment. We are always happy to know where we can improve - and a lick of paint in the toilets will be the first stop! We thoroughly clean the showers and toilets daily and I apologise that they weren't clean enough during your stay. I hope you have a good onwards journey. Thanks, Ruairi

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.