Hostelworld.com

Oban Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Oban Backpackers Located at Breadalbane Street, Argyll, Oban, Oban.
Oban Backpackers
Scotland
Oban PA34 5NZ Breadalbane Street, Argyll, Oban
91% 523
56.4177233 -5.4731869
Oban Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
6.3

Not bad, not great... Typical for an older style backpackers... Internet not great, rooms old and typically smelling of old shoes... Nothing amazing to report.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

A place where you can relax and imagine you are in the idyllic community in the movie 'The Beach' (before that nasty accident happened). Chilled music, cool decor and a guitar you can pick up and strum wistfully.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.7

The atmosphere at Oban Backpackers was fantastic. I loved the big main room where everyone hangs out - it made it incredibly easy to meet people and get advice on day hikes or cool stuff to do around town. The rooms are big enough that it doesn't feel crowded. Although there weren't lockers, the rooms all lock and I didn't feel insecure about my stuff whatsoever. The plugs are a little far from the beds (in the 12 person dorm where I was at least!). I would recommend this place to friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
7.4

very comfortable hostel but the door to my room was left propped open after staff had finished cleaning and I had been gone for half the day. they don't provide lockers or anything so everyone's bags just sit out in the open

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.9

I enjoyed my stay at Oban Backpackers. It was a great base for exploring the Hebrides Islands close to Oban. The staff were extradorinarily friendly and helpful and I really appreciated their pointers for my time touring on Mull, Iona, and Skye in the Hebrides. It was nice that the hostel provided free tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. Showers were tight for space and unisex. Lockers not provided. Wifi works slowly in the evening when many people are on it. Would recommend overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jun 2016
7.1

The location was great. Right up the road from the bus station, train station and ferry. Besides that there wasn't really anything remarkable about the hostel. It was clean. Bathrooms and showers incredibly small. Wifi SUPER unreliable. Only 2 outlets for a 6 person dorm. If you're looking for a few nights in Oban it's fine. Not bad, not excellent but just ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
10.0

Nice place and people! I strongly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
10.0

Friendly, helpful staff. Good sized room with a comfy bed. Nice social space at ground floor with free tea and coffee and a good value make your own breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
9.7

Had a great couple of days stay in Oban backpackers, the only reason I marked down security was other people I was sharing with had left the door to our dorm open on occasion. However that is not really a criticism of the hostel itself. The facilities available were great, and showers/toilets very clean. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and the variation of people staying added to the great atmosphere. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Oban backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.6

I enjoyed my stay very much. Communal areas were bright and cheerful. The staff at reception were knowledgable and friendly. No hesitation in recommending this place to a budget traveller

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.