Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oban Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
Oban Backpackers Located at Breadalbane Street, Argyll, Oban, Oban.
Oban Backpackers
Scotland
Oban PA34 5NZ Breadalbane Street, Argyll, Oban
91% 536
56.4177233 -5.4731869
Oban Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Great location, Friendly staff and nice rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.9

The street is very very noisy until late

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jordanrhallas861
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

Really cozy hostel in a really cute beautiful town. The kitchen is huge and there are tons of games and books and even a fireplace. The beds were comfy and everything was clean! Would've loved to have a locker in the room though. Highly recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
8.9

Nice place to stay, room is spacy and clean. Must be great if provide individual electrical outlet. Toilets and bathrooms are also clean and have hooks and shelf to put stuff. The only thing i don't like is shower head, cannot adjust. It spread out, no water directly on my head.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
7.7

Excellent location, just a few minutes walk into the main shopping and terminal area of Oban. Very friendly helpful staff. The old building it's located in definitely needs some sprucing up though ! eg. fresh paint work, newer carpeting. Some lockers would be handy for securing personal items.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.3

Not bad, not great... Typical for an older style backpackers... Internet not great, rooms old and typically smelling of old shoes... Nothing amazing to report.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Feels like your living with your mother with a curfew. Lame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

A place where you can relax and imagine you are in the idyllic community in the movie 'The Beach' (before that nasty accident happened). Chilled music, cool decor and a guitar you can pick up and strum wistfully.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.7

The atmosphere at Oban Backpackers was fantastic. I loved the big main room where everyone hangs out - it made it incredibly easy to meet people and get advice on day hikes or cool stuff to do around town. The rooms are big enough that it doesn't feel crowded. Although there weren't lockers, the rooms all lock and I didn't feel insecure about my stuff whatsoever. The plugs are a little far from the beds (in the 12 person dorm where I was at least!). I would recommend this place to friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
7.4

very comfortable hostel but the door to my room was left propped open after staff had finished cleaning and I had been gone for half the day. they don't provide lockers or anything so everyone's bags just sit out in the open

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.