Hostelworld.com

Oban Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Oban Youth Hostel Located at Corran Esplanade, Oban, , Oban.
Oban Youth Hostel
Scotland
Oban Argyll PA34 5AF Corran Esplanade, Oban
88% 149
56.4201564 -5.4805576
Oban Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2016
6.6

I felt a bit let down by the hostel. The atmosphere was poor, even though it was oban live weekend everyone in my room was in bed before 10pm. There was nothing to do within the hostel, I had thought there was a tv room to relax in before my early morning boat. It is in a beautiful location, right on the bay though. Feel it was pretty overpriced, AND they then charge for breakfast on top of that.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.4

This is a large and popular youth hostel, it was busy when we stayed. The room had a magnificent view and an ensuite shower and separate toilet. The kitchen is large and plenty of room for cooking and eating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Spot on. Great location easy to find smashing facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic. Our room looked on to the water which was really lovely first thing in the morning, the room was very clean and the facilities were great. There was no room in the TV which we came to love in the end, also the staff were so lovely and helpful. I would definitely recommend this Hostel to people, it's a mere stone through away from the amazing markie dans pub!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Great Hostel on a nice location. The receptionist Ursula was great. She helped us a lot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jeanreidharris3940
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2016
10.0

having been in the hostel before, I found the improvements very impressive. the hostel was quiet and excellent value for money congtatulation to SYHA managemet team Jean Harris

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
7.7

The Hostel was very affordable and had everything we needed. My only complaint was the water pump or mechanical noise in the closet outside of our room was very loud. We moved to another room and noticed the same thing. The floors were also very noisy from the people staying above us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • spemcintyre6546
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Mar 2016
4.3

The hostel is about as far from the city center as you can be, I was "greeted" by a very rude young lady at reception, and this was the most expensive hostel I've ever been to, both for room and breakfast. Absolutely no sense of community or friendliness like you expect in a hostel. You are asked to do your own laundry and bed making, even though you are charged for both. Overall it is poorly located, overly expensive, and not in any way what I look for in a hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • christopher4220
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jan 2016
8.6

Positive: The shower was very good, great facilities all round, not far from town. Negative: Staff members weren't the happiest of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Dec 2015
9.7

Beautiful location on the coast -- easy walk into town and beautiful views. Six bed dorm was spacious enough and well appointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.