X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Observatory Backpackers Reviews

235 Lower Main Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
34 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The guys at OB were a great help with recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The room was clean and the internet reliable. Great location if you're looking for something toward Observatory.


91%

We spent two nights at Observatory backpackers. We booked a double en-suite room. The room was spacious, the bed bed excellent with clean good quality linen. Large bathroom with excellent shower. All that we needed ! Thank you.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Situated in a quiet area outside the city center but some nice restaurants and bars around; public transport to the city center available; felt a little like home...


89%

We stayed in a standard double with en-suite, the room was really spacious and the bathroom nice and clean. Towels were provided which is always a bonus. The kitchen was always nice and clean and the communal areas had a nice atmosphere. The staff were knowledgeable and willing to help. There were a handful of nice restaurants a short walk away (hello sailor and opposite that a nice Mexican) I would recommend if you have your own transport or if you want to be away from the city centre.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely place! The rooms are so beautifully made up it does not look like a hostel. I really enjoyed staying there and the staff is awesome. The safety of cars parked outside and the general safety of the area is unfortunately not too great, but that is the only complaint I have.


97%

I found the hotel extremely clean and tidy - the cleaning staff do an amazing job every day. We found the other staff (Particularly Mandi) very helpful. Beds and showers were excellent. Good kitchen facilities.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a perfect place to stay. It has the perfect balance of a relaxed and safe atmosphere and a social, upbeat, partying atmosphere. It is very clean, big, relaxed, and the staff are always available and very fun!!! I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

+ Very comfortable, clean and nicely designed rooms with an eye for details + Great facilities and outdoor place * The hosts (staff) were very friendly but a bit to talkative in my (our) personal opinion. Great for unaccompanied travellers. * Parking is in front of the hostel, which is OK. I always felt safer when the car was somewhere inside the hostel area. * Can't say much about the location since we only spent our last day there, had a rental car and didn't go out in the area.


100%

OBSERVATORY BACKPACKERS is amazing space! everyone is so friendly and they ar every efficient in making you comfortable with the neighborhood. its in a great location nears the bars and its very student friendly. DEFINITELY GOING BACK!

  • 29th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Cool place.

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It;s a bit out of the way, and a bit quiet.


77%

Observatory is what they usually call and "up and coming" area. There are some nice places (Hello Sailor cafe is awesome) but the streets for the most part are filled 24 hours a day with dodgy homeless people following you around and begging for money. The hostel is very nice and the staff are great, but if you're looking for somewhere to walk from this isn't the place. It's close to the metro, so getting down to Simon's Town or into the city on the train isn't that hard.


100%

For me this was centrally located for my purposes, spice shop down the road, a natural foods store close, nice mix of restaurants in the area, the staff are friendly and foster a atmosphere of community and the staff are very accommodating. I would recommend this place for any wary traveler that needs a home away from home. Very nice space and shared kitchen and free internet if you need it. They also have WiFi, but not everyone carries there laptop with them.

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The place was very cozy, stylish and clean. And the staff was amazingly friendly! Staying here made our trip to Cape Town even better :)

  • 6th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved staying here. Some great bars and eateries nearby, easy to get into town with just 3 stops on the Metro. Very helpful friendly staff, great kitchen and book exchange plus free wifi. Hope to stay again sometime.


97%

whay a surprise - really nice place

  • 14th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Fatastic place , thanks for a great stay and the information.

  • 28th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

What a nice surprise! This place was really enjoyable and the staff was super helpful. It's in a great area because there's lots to do just down the street and you're still able to get some peace and quiet. I'd definitely come back!

  • 27th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female
  • (1 review)




← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback