X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Observatory Backpackers Reviews

235 Lower Main Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
66 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Unfortunately during this heat the hostel should really provide fans as otherwise sleep at night is made impossible. Staying in some rooms is also noisy with people walking above but overall it was a good stay.


71%

The staff are nice and helpful, was in a dorm and the wood bunk beds move/squeek a bit when the other person moves around. but the 4bed dorms look very nice. nice that they give fresh towels to use. parked my car offstreet and it was safe enough that the windows were not broken. kitchen well equiped with all utensils and clean. the entertainment area is nice and spacious with multiple social spots making meetin people quite easy.


94%

This hostel was such a change from most of the other hostels I've stayed in whilst in Cape Town, it was extremely clean, very chilled atmosphere, the staff were so helpful and welcoming and I've already booked to stay there again the next time I'm in Cape Town. The location is cool it you are into vintage shops and interesting cafes/bars but ifor you're someone who wants to see all the sights it's probably not the best.


91%

We will be back next time around in Cape Town.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall the rooms and especially the bathrooms felt fresh and modern. Awesome garden on the backside. Atmosphere was kind of chilled and quiet, which we enjoyed. If you want to party there a lot of places to go to on lower main, when you get home to sleep it's nice to be able to actually sleep.


86%

Nicest hostel we stayed at on our garden route trip. No drama 😆

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Beautiful Hostel, spacious rooms, perfectly cleaned, just like the facilities. Nice garden behind the house, staff is very friendly. Just down the street is a good choice of nice restaurants and bars.

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Spent two weeks here while studying up at the hospital - great place to live out of. Good cooking facilities, really nice outdoor space (occasional braais), really helpful staff. Easy to get one of the minibuses from up the road straight into town at very little cost, and Lower Main Road itself is full of nice places to eat (and vintage shops). Great little bakery just next door too - recommend the cookie cheese cake and the breakfast offer. Thank you!


94%

This is a lovely hostel where you can feel at home. Different spaces and areas where you can create your own little corner. Big couches, which is also nice to relax and watch a movie. Spacious garden. Clean kitchen. Hostel manager Teps is a USP on its own. Makes sure that everyone is ok, knows people by name, knows the neighborhood. I recommend this place!


86%

Great place! Nice location, very central.

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Once Again thanks to Observatory Backpackers, had a lovely stay, I love this place. My second time and Tebogo is always full of good local advice. Great staff, clean , good wifi. Love the new room that has been added and the Garden is looking amazing. You get the feeling that the owners really care and keep trying to improve... good work. thanks again and will be back.... hopefully not to long from now. :)

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place, I have recently stayed at Observatory Backpackers and it is by far the best backpackers I have stayed at. The place is clean, the staff are brilliant and their garden is absolutely amazing. It is very quiet and peaceful. They are situated in the heart of Observatory which is great as it is super easy to get around, Cape Town CBD is a mere 10 mins away. Great place, will definitely be back.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Not a bad place to stay, but location is horrible if you are trying to see Cape Town. Staff could be a bit more helpful in recommendations and advice on getting around.


63%

This hostel is brand new thus all the facility are in good condition, however should you need to get to town its about 10 minutes drive away.


74%

Location, location, location. Some hostels have it and some don´t and this hostel definitely doesn´t, unless you have a car. It´s relatively far from the center, hiking, the waterfront and the nearest bus stop. Also, the neighborhood just doesn´t really feel safe, especially walking from the bus stop. Also, the staff sit and watch TV all day so it´s kind of awkward to watch TV sometimes. Other than those two complaints, this hostel is very, very cute, clean, comfortable and well put together.


97%

Very clean and comfortable bedding. I really enjoyed my stay. Thank you very much for a very comfortable and clean atmosphere.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was clean and modern, with nice places to sit, and a lovely outdoor area with a patio and chairs to sit in. We had a double room that was clean and bright, and the bathrooms were new and clean. There was no breakfast provided though. The staff were really helpful, and friendly too. The area wasn't the best - there were bars and restaurants on the main street, but it wasn't amazing.


94%

Very good hostal, excellent facilities. I suggest to work on the atmophere for travellers, like activities, bbq, etc.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent place. The Staff is very helpful. Nice restaurantes and supermarkets nearby. For sure a good choice in Cape Town


94%

The guys at OB were a great help with recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The room was clean and the internet reliable. Great location if you're looking for something toward Observatory.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback