Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ocara Hostel Reviews

Travessa Rotary, 72, Centro, Manaus, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained


105 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We booked 3 beds in a 4 bed female dorm with private bathroom (Deluxe 4 Bed Female Dorm Ensuite) but when we got there we were told that there is none such.. The only rooms they have seem to be a private double bedroom with bathroom and than two 6 bed mixed dorms. one with Ventilator only, which is eventhough it has a nice small balcony , not really an option in a city like Manaus. the other one with AC is ok but people from the private room walk through it. Please correct


Staff very helpful, quite a central location for walking the theatre amazonas and port.

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Alright, small familyrun hostell. Not many speaks english but the receptionist Anne speaks grreat english and is also very helpful and friendly! Not a partyhostel but definitely value for money. Breakfast could be better and bathrooms cleaner but overall a great stay :)


Well located near the historic centre and lots of restaurants and bars as well as having good transport links to the airport via public bus. Variety of languages spoken by the front desk were helpful. Nice social space with lots of sofas and hammocks as well as hand washing facilities outside. Breakfast was ok, but could have had more variety.


We managed to book the only dorm without air conditioning. It was a billion degrees in Manaus at the time (August), and the room was an oven. I personally found the website disingenuous, because it implied the hostel was fully air conditioned, but if you look carefully, ours was the dorm that only had "ventilation". There was no laundry service provided, despite "the money back guarantee" on the website. Very few of the staff spoke english, making it awkward to communicate.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are really sorry for all the inconvenience, we strive to provide all our guests a service that caters everybodys needs , this is why we have different styles of dorms. When we set up a page on hostelworld we feed the information in english, but the translation is done by them and unfortunatly it's far from accurate this is why when u´ve booked the dorm you weren´t aware that was without aircon. Very soon you will recieve an email asking for details so we can refound you.


Very inexpensive but good hostel. Next to one of the main street and very close to the main square. Fabio, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. I got a dorm with private bathroom and A\C the first night for R$35 but during the night there was no water. the following night I got a dorm with shared bathroom without A\C for R$28. Everything is basic but worth the price. Good breakfast included. Free transfer from and to the airport.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


This hostel was one of the worst I have stayed in. It was dirty, infested with ants EVERYWHERE, and horrible staff! One of the guys at the reception wanted to get more money from us and overcharged us because we arrived before check in time at 12:00pm, arriving and checking into the hostel are different. The receptionist was really rude and tried calling the cops on me because I argued with him over overcharging us. THERE ARE ANTS, I was afraid of ants crawling in my face and my private areas!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest - OCARAhostel has ZERO TOLERANCE POLICY against people with lack of respect towards any member of our staff and/or guest, and due to your disrespctfull and deceptive behavior I believe your review does not reflect the facts and reality, but Let´s real travellers decide. For this reason OCARAhostel will be giving a FREE accommodation as long as anyone wants if arriving at OCARA hostel and finding our HOME dirty! Fabio Marques - Owner


Felt like a second home. It is full of great people, the owner Fabio is a mensch, and the location is perfect. The common area on the bottom floor is great for relaxing and chatting. For R$60 they'll send a driver to get you to or from the airport at any hour of the day. If you go in the next three weeks you'll meet Max!


The staff was so helpful and friendly.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Nice host in a good location just around the corner from the tours offices, bus stop and various museums. Had a clean room with a fan, staff were friendly and helpful. Nice courtyard and recreational area with a cute cat running around.Only downfall was the kitchen, very basic and old with dead and alive ants on the counter tops constantly.

View all Manaus Hostels

Please give us your feedback