Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • aceplyaev1664
  • Russia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.7

I loved everything: great location, exceptional cleanliness, fantastic kitchen. The surroundings are super safe, shops are close, bus stop is just seconds away. A great lagoon and the botanical garden are super close. We even wanted to extend our stay but the place was booked solid (for a reason!). The only problem was our communication with some receptionnists who don't speak English or Spanish, but this is really nothing compared to all advantages of this friendly and safe place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Probably the best hostel I stayed in so far! Really clean, nice kitchen and great staff, thanks Manu for the great time in your hostel ;) Beijos

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.0

+: great kitchen, great shower, nice common space, great location in the heart of ipanema and very clean (accept of some ants in the kitchen). -: reception worked in strange hours, 10-22, and sometimes during the day you couldnt even find them and the front door left open. We stayed in a private room and had a key so wasnt much of a concern for us, bit still.. Would recommand in overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.0

We really enjoy this hostel! The only thing you should know is that if you need anything talk to the owner - the rest of the staff doesn't know much. The kitchen is well equipped and there is Netflix in the hostel .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Other than some water pressure and hot water issues in one of the four washrooms, I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.3

We booked private room. The room was converted from attic- extremely hot with tiny window. The fan wasn't too much help. Narrow staicases, if you have a suitcase, ask for a room on a lower floor. Showers had cold/luke warm water only and pressure was very bad. The water was barely dripping from the taps in the sink in 2 out of 3 bathrooms. Great location, just few blocks from the beach.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.9

No bells or whistles with this hostel. Very small lounge area, very little sitting space in kitchen. Dorm room, linen and beds are very old. However it's a hostel and it's good value. Owner was a legend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kaddieckel9053
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Dec 2016
9.7

Our stay at the Ocean Hostel Ipanema was just wonderful! The staff welcomed us super friendly and the room and beds were very clean. We stayed in a 10-bed-room and had very nice people to share it with us. The bathrooms were a little dirty after half a day, but still not too much. It's only 5 minutes by foot away from Ipanema beach and there are many good restaurants in the neighbourhood. I loved that you get free towels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.3

Great location to Ipanema beach and still walking distance to Copacabana beach. The receptionist who checked us in was great, very helpful with tourist information but he seemed to be the only one who spoke English and wasn't there most of the time we were there. Everything in the hostel seems brand new and is maintained and kept very clean. The hostel advertises on hostelworld that no one over 35 stays in the dorm and must get a private room but this wasn't the case.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

Mano- the hostel owner was extremely helpful! Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.