Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
10.0

I had a great experience at Ocean Hostel. It is located in the heart of Ipanema, surrounded by restaurants and nice spots. The staff is full of great people who are willing to help you with anything you might need. Thank you,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Aug 2017
9.4

Short but good stay. Very clean. Polite staff. Clean kitchen. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Cheap private room in a fantastic location, the hostel lacks atmosphere and has no real common area but is clean and pleasant in all other regards!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Great value hostel in an amazing location. Our room was a little noisy and there weren't always bathrooms free but can't really complain given the price! The Mexican staff member was particularly excellent and really helpful. WiFi was very good, and the hostel is just two blocks from the Metro in a safe area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christiehartney9006
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
7.7

Only stayed a night but the hostel had a weird atmosphere, like a lot of the people in our room were living there maybe. My mattress had some really gross stains. But great location near beach. Rooms were a good size and lockers great. Bathrooms clean. Cheap but would rather pay an extra few dollars to have brekky included/fun hostel vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Wow! Such a great hostel! Definitely the cleanest I have ever stayed in. You can tell the staff really cares about keeping their guests happy. It is a 2 minute walk from the beach, the rooms have air conditioning and there is even the most adorable hostel cat, Lana, to greet you. Also, as an English speaker with little knowledge of Portuguese it was great that the staff all speak English along with other languages. I can't wait to go back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
9.7

Great place to stay and wonderful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.4

Clean hostel with good location in ipanema. Small kitchen, good to cook, no where to socialise. Only one person who works there speaks English which is okay, he is very informative and helpful. Good hostel overall, definitely not a party hostel or meeting people hostel as there is no common area. No breaky is a bummer aswell, awesome health food/ natural restaurant next door!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
2nd May 2017
6.9

Pros - nice shower, good location, cheap, decent kitchen. Cons - staff (with the exception of the British guy) were either never around or didn't seem interested in giving out any info. There are no real common areas so it's not a great vibe and not the place if you want to meet people. All in all, if all you is a cheap place to sleep, this place will be fine... but for us, it left a bit to be desired.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2017
7.1

Nice location and good price. Showers with hot water and clean. Half of the staff speaks English. We went there twice and both times our bedsheets were a bit dirty. In private room 1 there were lockers, in the other there weren't (number 2). Also, number 2 is in the middle of the hostel, so you can hear everything and smell when someone is cooking. There is luggage storage, but without a lock. Overall, okay for the price, but not the most cosy hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×