Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Ocean Hostel Ipanema Located at Rua Barao da Torre 175, Casa 15 / House 15, Rio de Janeiro.
Ocean Hostel Ipanema
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22411-001 Rua Barao da Torre 175, Casa 15 / House 15
88% 276
-22.9833585 -43.2010513
Ocean Hostel Ipanema
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.3

This hostel was very clean and in a great location. Nice kitchen and info about the area. The staff could have improved we were told on two occasions there was space for us to stay another night when there in fact wasn't. One of these times left us without anywhere to stay. It would be nice if the price included breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay and amazing wifi even in the dorms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
7.7

Good: - Good location - Friendly staff - Clean - Good kitchen Not so good: - Our room (double room) had one wall which was in fact more a folding shutter that let the light and noise from the staircase and the bathrooms come into our room. The ceiling was so low that are person taller than 1,75 can't stand upright and the bed was not very comfortable. - Atmosphere: There is just a small, quite dark living room. They have a good kitchen but not really a table where you could eat comfortably.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.9

I'm very picky about how clean a place is and this one is super clean, better than some hostels in Europe, that I had previously stayed. Great location, staff is very nice, towels, lockers and bed sheets included, it's complete. I had stayed at El Misti before which was the complete opposite. Next time I stay in Rio, this will be the choice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
6.6

Good bed, good location, good shower. But the common areas are very small, which can be good or bad... Sometimes when someone doesn't stop talking at the only common area, you don't have any place to run, its where the tv are, the sofa, etc.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.9

Superclean, good location to be in Ipanema. Staff are helpful. No place to stay if you're looking for the typical hostel life feeling, because its not a very social athmosphere here. But if you just need a good place to sleep its definitely perf.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2016
9.1

Great location close to the beach and subway. Also close to many restaurants. Clean and roomy double room. Clean bathroom. Quiet stay while we were there. Not real social area. Helpful and friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Really great hostel. Staff very helpful with lots of information. We stayed there for nearly a week because location so good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2016
6.9

Not a hotstel atmosphere. Insufficient air con.big lockers. Excellent location. Friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.