Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.4

Clean hostel with good location in ipanema. Small kitchen, good to cook, no where to socialise. Only one person who works there speaks English which is okay, he is very informative and helpful. Good hostel overall, definitely not a party hostel or meeting people hostel as there is no common area. No breaky is a bummer aswell, awesome health food/ natural restaurant next door!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd May 2017
6.9

Pros - nice shower, good location, cheap, decent kitchen. Cons - staff (with the exception of the British guy) were either never around or didn't seem interested in giving out any info. There are no real common areas so it's not a great vibe and not the place if you want to meet people. All in all, if all you is a cheap place to sleep, this place will be fine... but for us, it left a bit to be desired.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Apr 2017
6.6

It's a great location. However, the staff is always not at the reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aceplyaev1664
  • Russia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.7

I loved everything: great location, exceptional cleanliness, fantastic kitchen. The surroundings are super safe, shops are close, bus stop is just seconds away. A great lagoon and the botanical garden are super close. We even wanted to extend our stay but the place was booked solid (for a reason!). The only problem was our communication with some receptionnists who don't speak English or Spanish, but this is really nothing compared to all advantages of this friendly and safe place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Probably the best hostel I stayed in so far! Really clean, nice kitchen and great staff, thanks Manu for the great time in your hostel ;) Beijos

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.0

+: great kitchen, great shower, nice common space, great location in the heart of ipanema and very clean (accept of some ants in the kitchen). -: reception worked in strange hours, 10-22, and sometimes during the day you couldnt even find them and the front door left open. We stayed in a private room and had a key so wasnt much of a concern for us, bit still.. Would recommand in overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.0

We really enjoy this hostel! The only thing you should know is that if you need anything talk to the owner - the rest of the staff doesn't know much. The kitchen is well equipped and there is Netflix in the hostel .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Other than some water pressure and hot water issues in one of the four washrooms, I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.3

We booked private room. The room was converted from attic- extremely hot with tiny window. The fan wasn't too much help. Narrow staicases, if you have a suitcase, ask for a room on a lower floor. Showers had cold/luke warm water only and pressure was very bad. The water was barely dripping from the taps in the sink in 2 out of 3 bathrooms. Great location, just few blocks from the beach.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.9

No bells or whistles with this hostel. Very small lounge area, very little sitting space in kitchen. Dorm room, linen and beds are very old. However it's a hostel and it's good value. Owner was a legend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.