X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Ocean Inn Rio Botafogo Reviews

Rua Paulo Barreto 63, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
45 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Trough Hostelworld we found this hostel and the name is misleading to start with. No oceanview. No disaster, but a little weird right? The dorm we were given was more like a closet, stuffed with 4 beds and no window. The only airsupply came from the AC, but during the day the room developed a funny smell. Not too nice. The owner was actually rather unfriendly and the breakfast sucked. Actually the only good thing about this hostel was the location in the middle of Botafogo near the metro.


71%

Good location, friendly staff but the pictures in hostelworld are not from this Hotel. Very small kitchen. Breakfast is ok. Wifi is not available in the rooms on the 2nd floor.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Love it ! :)))


54%

The double room is too small. You feel like a hamster in a small box. There is no space or support for backpacks and luggages. Common area is realy bad and dirty. No place to sit and relax. The stairs until the rooms are very dangerous and without coverage...so, you will cry if rain. The hostel is cheap but is not good.


60%

We liked the hostel, but after leaving it dawned on us, those million itchy bites we had in our bodies were from bedbugs!! Very aggressive ones!


60%

A reception/bar/tv room does not work very well. The staff were always around making alot of noise so the tv was pointless. They were always trying to get everyone to party. The television was turned on at 3.30am. The cleaning staff were rude! Hunting us out of the way because she was cleaning. Also the breakfast we had the second morning was leftovers from breakfast the first morning. Not good enough. I must say the staff on at check in wre very good, told us everything we needed to know.

  • 7th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your concerns, they are very valuable to us. We've been improving our premises revieing our policies and we have a new staff team. Look forward to serve you better next time.

34%

First we had to wait for more than 2 hours in the street because nobody opened the door for us at 7 in the morning while we had announced our arrival. When they finally opened te door for us we saw that the boys had slept at the reception all that time. Then we asked if our room was ready and they let us wait again they were very unfriendly! So we left, later we found a very nice hostel... Rio Nature

  • 10th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

worst hostel ever... spend a little bit more money and choose a decent hostel. The rats in the kitchen were the smallest problem...


34%

This is a terrible hostel and not worth the money!! We booked a double room which was so small we had to keep our bags on the bed to be able to walk in and out! The staff were extremely unfriendly and when we asked if we could cancel our next 2 nights we were told they would charge us regardless, we ended up losing our money and booking in to another hostel anyway as there is no baggage lock up so if you fly out in the evening and have to check out at 11 you are stuck wondering Rio with bags!

  • 1st Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Rio in carnival was always going to be expensive - Ocean Inn, though was the best option available money wise. The location (Botafogo) I wasn't sure about before arriving, but actually loved the neighbourhood. Very safe, loads of shops / bars and sandwiched perfectly between Ipanema and Lapa. The Hostel dorms were alright, the owner is a lovely lady and the main communal area was cool and a good place to be social with other travellers / take some pre-night out drinks... )

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment and hope to see you again!

74%

It's clearly a new hostel and they're trying very hard to create a good atmosphere and the facilities were being improved all the time I was staying. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. The rooms aren't very spaceous at all, there isn't much room for luggage but it does all you can hope for. It has lots of character and potential, great location, breakfast is good (free if you spend 25+ Reals). The only thing that really let it down was the kitchen, too small and basic. Give it a go

  • 5th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. As we have been improving our facilities, now we have a very big locker indeed for each single person in our lovely hostel. The kitchen is still small and we are thinking in a way to make the kitchen bigger and more confortable for our guests. We offer breakfast for the ones who pay R$25+ a night. Hope you come back.

63%

Close to amenities, buses and metro. Dorm 8 bed cramped. Kitchen small but functional. Staff speaks english well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. You might have had a bad impression because we didn't have lockers in the room by the time you were here, but now we do have big lockers for everyone inside all rooms. By the way we don't have any 8 beds dorm.Hope to see you again

63%

New hostel and we can clearly see it ! We booked 2 beds in a dorm but when we came they Said they just have one bed left so we had to sleep together in 1 single bed. When we slept we saw there were many beds free so they are not professionnal. There is not enough lockers for everybody. Kitchen very small ! It can be noisy at night because people watch TV very loudly in the patio.Staff is weird, young and unexperimented. Very clean and Good mattress.

  • 26th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes! We are a new hostel and like every start, things tend to be a little messed but we do know what we doing. We're for what happened, that doesn't normally happen as we are putting all our effort to make things improve and we've get nice feedbacks. Hopefully you come back and see our development.

86%

hostel was good, abit hard to locate given there's no signage but its indeed located next to the bar. just that at night, you cant really identify. overall, the location was great, close to a few eateries and within walking distance to the metro and bus stops:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we are working on that. Hope to see you again.

74%

Very gentle staff, very helpful Triple beds are really bad and dangerous!!!

  • 13th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Staff, best Hostel in Rio

  • 19th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

When we stayed there the hostel just opened a week ago. They lowered the prices because they didnt get everything they wanted. We stayed in the 10bed room which is directly behind the always opened entrance door and no-one would have noticed someone entering. They didnt have lockers till that time. The kitchen was for use and ok: enough toilet and shower-rooms. The personal is very friendly but just the owners can help with informations about the city. the breakfast is just ONE sandwich!


97%

the stuff is very friendly. They helped us with the flight-tikets and every other questions - and we had a lot. it was fantastic.

  • 7th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback