Hostelworld.com

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Located at 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria.
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1N9 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC
84% 1068
48.4275631 -123.3620452
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

i only was there for one night but i would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Victoria that wants to be downtown. It was very easy to get to and in a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
8.0

Satisfying stay. ….friendly staff, reasonably clean tho I would opt for less number to a room(maybe 4 instead of a 6 to a room).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff friendly and facilities clean. Our front desk staff are always happy to accommodate room switches - including dorms, from 6 beds to 4, availability permitting. Ask about our different dorm options next time you're here, and we'll do our best to make sure you are comfortable with your room. We hope you enjoyed Victoria, and wish you safe and happy travels!

11th Apr 2016
9.4

Rooms are nice to stay in, breakfast is good. LOcation is good too. Everything is good !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast option - and everything else! We would love to see you here again soon. Safe and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.9

Got a top floor roon with a sink. Comfy bed, nice view. Wasnt thrilled with every homeless person on the island hanging around the front door but whatever. Go to the bar there for the beer and board games but maybe skip the food

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear that you found your bed to be comfy, and enjoyed the view from your room in our historic building! Due to our downtown location, we sometimes face usual city issues, such as homelessness. However, we take many precautions to ensure the safety of our guests, such as 24 hour front desk and security cameras. We hope you come back to see us again soon - and make it to try our brand new menu! Take care and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Ocean Iseland is little jewel in the best possible spot in Victoria. This is my second visit to this ocean oasis. + very flexible to book and rebook your stay to meet your needs in any way. + excellent for disabled people being so close to down town. + clean, homy place, where you can have fridge, cook in big kitchen, have fun in the evening with a different entertaining programs. + new feature, nice complimentary break fast in the morning! + lovely personal that CARE FOR YOU! + THANK YOU

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear about your experience with us here at the "Ocean Oasis". We're thrilled that you found our booking system flexible, and that you found it to be clean and homey here. We hope to see you again soon! Safe and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
8.6

The staff were wonderful and helpful. The cafe wasn't open when I was there. Bummer. The room was all that I expected. The best thing about the room was the fan that was provided!!!!! It helped cool the room from the afternoon sun. There was a $10 key deposit that was returned in Canadian dollars. I'm from the USA. I needed to use the cash, so I bought breakfast and had change leftover.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that the bar was not open during your stay with us! Unfortunately we do close on certain during our slower seasons, but soon enough it will be open 7 nights a week! Thank you for your kind comments about our complimentary fans, and we hope to see you back again with us soon to enjoy a cool brew in our cafe/lounge. Safe and happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Ocean Inn is a good hostel in a good location. Victoria is a small city so you can walk everywhere, and this hostel is in a prime position. We stayed in the private queen with ensuite on the top floor, it was clean, comfortable and quiet. Didn't use the kitchen but the facilities looked great to cook if you wanted to. The bar is small but fun, and the staff are there to make your stay enjoyable. Two nights in Victoria wasn't enough!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We're happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your queen suite, and hope that next time you're here you get to experience our kitchen facilities. We loved hearing about your experiences and wish you safe and happy travels! See you soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

This place was really lovely and I'm definitely staying here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you back here sometime soon. Safe and happy travels!

22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Loved this place!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us, and look forward to your next visit! Safe and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
8.9

A little noisy throughout the night, but it's a hostel so you get what you pay for. Overall not bad though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear you experienced some noise during your stay. Unfortunately our ideal downtown location can lead to some noise from the street. However we have many rooms available on higher floors or towards the back of the building which are must quieter, and our front desk is always happy to give out some complimentary ear plugs. Overall we hope you enjoyed Victoria and wish you safe and happy travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.