Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Located at 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria.
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1N9 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC
81% 1261
48.4275631 -123.3620452
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.9

We were literally only there overnight. Everything was perfectly average

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel, lots of rooms, great price, free breakfast, larger lockers, great people. would suggest, 10 out of 10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review. We're so happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us! Looking forward to your next visit!

18th Nov 2016
10.0

Really great hostel, I enjoyed my stay here. It's located in downtown, so it's walkable to get most places. The staff was super friendly. I liked the bar in the lobby, their food was really good and affordable. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! We agree our location and staff are unbeatable and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Ocean Island. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Nov 2016
3.1

Worst hostel I experienced in Canada. A mouse ran across the floor as soon as I walked up. Bugs crawling in the bedrooms, which stink of rotting food and mould in the lockers. They claim the mice are due to 'local construction' but it's because they don't clean the rooms/food storage area in the rooms, and never check for old guests rotting food in the cupboards. Bathrooms disgusting. Kitchen and equipment so dirty. Never a free laundry machine. Awful wifi. Stale bread for breakfast. Don't stay!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.4

I loved staying at this hostel. The staff were friendly and informative. I had a private queen room with ensure, it was big enough for me and my boyfriend and could easily be good for one. I learned that Hostelworld keeps all of your deposit though and will not be using this service again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear about the things you loved during your stay here at Ocean Island, such as our wonderful helpful staff! We hope you come to stay with us again sometime soon. Until next time, happy traveling!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel mostly positive.only negative points where plastic coated mattresses that made noise every time you move and the sheets slipped off constantly and the lack of even the most basic cooking supplies it would have Been nice to have some salt pepper and oil in the kitchen as most hostels do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review! Our mattress covers are Important for hygiene cleanliness, and have a mattress pad on top of each bed for comfort. Most guests don’t seem to mind, and take comfort that they can be sure of their hygiene and comfort we provide. The vinyl cover ensures a clean and hygienic stay for all our guests, & mattress pads provide additional comfort. Our sheets fit our mattresses, but perhaps the housekeepers accidentally put the wrong sheets on your bed. Due to your comments, our supervisors will be implementing some extra checks to make sure all sheets are correct. We feel that providing the lowest possible rates in Victoria means the most to our guests, which is why we focus on maintaining a minimum nightly rate, rather than providing complimentary items which not every guest will use such as salt and oil. That way, each and every one of our guests benefits! However, our front desk staff are always happy to hand out a salt/pepper packet or two for cooking. We hope you enjoyed the city of Victoria --take care and happy travels!

15th Oct 2016
8.9

Decent place to stay. The location is what makes it awesome your within walking distance to most things, there is a cute little bar in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Island. We agree that our wonderful location gives our guests quick access to all of Victoria's amenities. We are also glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in our lounge! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
8.0

room too small showers not maintained (splashing) kitchen not equipped with basic so I can prepare food (oil, salt, pepper, sugar etc.) all public area very noisy bed lamp not working dirty blanket excellent staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you had a less than ideal stay with us. In terms of cleanliness, our bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned once a day and inspected and cleaned as needed several times more. However, splashes from the shower can give some people the mistaken impression that the bathrooms are not clean. Additionally, our rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes and we work hard to make sure our guests get the right room for them. Our very small rooms are quite popular with guests looking for the least expensive option, but we do offer larger rooms for a few dollars more. We feel that providing the lowest possible rates in Victoria means the most to our guests, which is why we focus on maintaining a minimum nightly rate, rather than providing complimentary items which not every guest will use (such as oils and spices in the kitchen). That way, each and every one of our guests benefits! Overall we hope that you enjoyed the city of Victoria, and are happy to hear that you found our staff to be excellent! Take care and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
8.9

Great place to stay if you are only in seattle for a night or two because it's close to most of the major attractions and also near some great dive bars, nice bars, restaurants and the Pike Market is only 10mins away. Friendly staff who pointed me to some great vintage stores and were really accommodating. Bathrooms were also some of the nicer ones I've seen in a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
7.7

The dorm I was in was way too small for the amount of people in there, not a lot of rooms for bags n stuff. Wifi was a bit cack as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a review! Our rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes and we work hard to make sure our guests get the right room for them. Our very small rooms are quite popular with guests looking for the least expensive option, but we do offer larger rooms for a few dollars more. Next time you're here, ask our front desk for a larger room! Take care and happy travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.