X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Reviews

791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
790 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Average place.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Overall a great hostel. It's pretty cheap but well worth the money. Everything you need, friendly staff, safe and secure. Bring a lock and towel, or rentals are reasonable. Bar downstairs is fun and well stocked, just don't expect anything huge - it's Victoria after all

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

People are nice. A staff to be, Eva was helpful and cheerful. Great location, about 15-20 mins walk from bus terminal. Everything else mostly just around the corners.


80%

가격대비 위치도 좋고 분위기도 좋습니다. 다운타운에 있어서 다 걸어다닐 수 있는 거리입니다.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and the pleasant atmosphere that greets you as you walk through the doors. Please don’t hesitate to come visit Victoria again soon. Safe and happy travels!

74%

Close to all in Victoria. No homeless, like has been mentioned in a few reviews. If your there now, try out the museum and In springe/summer/ autunm-whaling watching (many companies like prince of whales). Good open mic most nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for taking a few moments to write us a review. We truly appreciate your kind words! Our downtown location and awesome guest discounts (such as whale watching) are only a couple of the many perks guests get to enjoy when they book a room with us. We are happy to hear you took advantage of our cafe lounge and got to sit in on one of our open mic nights which always showcase both local and international talent. We hope you come visit again soon, safe and happy travels!

86%

Not great not bad Bathroom was spotless I am 6'3 and bed was too small :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy to hear you were pleased with how clean we keep our bathrooms. Our housekeeping staff pays special attention to detail to make sure that they are spotless all throughout the day. However, we are sorry to hear you found the bed too small. All of our mattresses are standard lengths, but we find either our double rooms or our queen rooms are suitable for our taller guests. Safe and happy travels!

100%

I love the cafe. The prices and food are fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so pleased to hear you got to experience our cafe during your stay and sampled our food menu. We work hard at achieving quality, while still being affordable so our guests can enjoy a great meal and not break the bank! We hope you come visit again soon, our cafe and inn doors are always open. Safe and happy travels!

74%

Our room smelt really musty

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there and thanks for taking the time to review us! We are sorry to hear that you found your room had a musty smell. Our housekeeping staff works hard to ensure all rooms and common areas are fresh and clean after every guest. Please contact us directly with the room number you stayed in and we will be sure to investigate further. Safe and happy travels!

100%

Loved the Ocean Island Inn! I found the staff to be very friendly and able to answer any questions I had. The place was very clean and managed very well. Would recommend staying here than anywhere else in Victoria.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there happy traveler! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are so glad to hear about your fantastic stay! Your kind words about the service you received will be passed along to our lovely staff members. We take cleanliness seriously, and it’s great you experienced how hard our housekeeping team works. Please come and visit again soon. Safe and happy travels!

91%

Nice hostel, didn't try the bar or the food, but the rooms and facilities were clean and the staff were super helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for taking a few moments to review us, we appreciate your kind comments! It is great to hear you noticed how hard our housekeeping team works to keep the hostel tidy and clean, and our friendly front desk staff. We hope you come to Victoria again and try our cafe lounge to enjoy a local pint and some tasty food. Safe and happy travels!

71%

Stayed two nights 1st week very happy so b'ked same room for Thurs b4 leaving Victoria. BUT given different room at front across corner of building. I felt like I was... sleeping in middle of the intersection.. it was so noisy.. traffic & people talking...even with windows shut all night @ 5am it was shocking. If that had been our first nite we wouldn't have returned. I'm being honest. It needs sound proofing. We love using hostels when traveling & most times have no problems..SORRY!!!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Enjoyed my staff and was quiet..I could sleep

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, and thank you for the review! We are all very happy here at Ocean Island Inn to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Safe and happy travels!

71%

I stayed in a private room in this hostel. The location is fine, everything is walkable. It is located next to a homeless shelter and there are many homeless people around. It wasn't a problem but not ideal either. The hostel wasn't overly clean. It was ok. The facilities felt old. The hostel could probably do with an update. My two night stay was enough for me. It was fine overall, not too bad, not too good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for reviewing us. Our central location in downtown Victoria makes it very convenient for our guests to enjoy all the amenities the city has to offer, but as with any city there is the issue of homelessness. In any case, we have security gates as well as a locked front door at night time to ensure our guests feel safe. Ocean Island is in an historic character building and we have a full time maintenance person to ensure our building is up to date. Happy travels!

80%

Well equipped kitchen. Open mic was great. Unfortunately no free breakfast and no outside alcohol allowed because they have an own bar. In total a good hostel to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear you got to use our facilities such as our kitchen and lounge and enjoyed the amenities! While we do not offer a free breakfast, we have very affordable breakfast options available in the hostel and our friendly front desk staff can recommend you to some great breakfast restaurants in downtown Victoria just steps from the hostel. Safe and happy travels, hope to be seeing you again!

69%

Make a "Any Alcohol found in rooms will be removed sign".

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your feedback! Due to British Columbia’s liquor regulations, alcohol is not allowed to be consumed in any public unlicensed areas, including dorm rooms. All liquor must be stored away, which is why we provide lockers in every dorm room. We are sorry about any confusion and hope you had a pleasant stay in Victoria! Safe and happy travels!

86%

Clean,convenient with friendly staff who obliged with extra fan and help with electric switch. However room on Main Street was noisy and warm and if the room had had 5 occupants instead of 3 it would have been very cramped .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking a few moments to write us a review! Many thanks for pointing out our friendly and helpful staff, we will make sure to pass along your kind words! Due to our location right downtown there is some street noise which is typical in all cities, but our staff is more than happy to relocate you to a quieter side of the hostel or a larger room style if needed. Hope you enjoyed Victoria, safe and happy travels! -JG

71%

Nice room setup, friendly and helpful staff, and close to attractions.


80%

Only stayed one night but enjoyed the stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us, despite the short stay we are very glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully you had a fun time in Victoria, safe and happy travels!

86%

Enjoyed our stay. Even the weather was great. Thanks

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The Hostel was amazing and the location was great. But 5 bathrooms on the 4th floor is not enough when the hostel is fully booked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for reviewing us. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location and found our hostel amazing! In most cases six bathrooms on every floor is plenty even during our busy summer times - though they can be quite busy during high traffic times in the early day (such as right before check out). If bathrooms are ever too busy on a floor there are always six more on the next floor! Safe and happy travels.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Victoria Hostels

Please give us your feedback