Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2017
8.9

It's a solid value! Breakfast, dinner, and a cocktail are included with the room. The food was decent. I got the smallest single, which was tight but affordable...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.1

Excellent location in the middle of downtown Victoria. The free dinner turned out to be two curries on rice or a pasta dish, all vegan, nothing fancy but reasonably good. The shared bathrooms were very clean and we didn't have any trouble finding free ones. My only complaint is that there was no way to close off the fan unit in the window, so it got quite cold at night (the staff helpfully provided an extra blanket though). Would recommend John's Place next door for brunch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there and thanks for your review. Happy to hear you had such a great time here! We are certainly ideally located, in the heart of the downtown Victoria. The hostel makes an ideal base for downtown adventures and when done exploring, you can come in and have a bowl of our free dinner.Furthermore, our bathrooms get cleaned three times a day, so we are happy to hear you find them spic 'n span as well! Still, we are sorry to hear that you had issues with the window fan. We recently installed these new fans for the summer. Even though Victoria usually remains at a moderate temperature year-round, it can get a little warmer in summer. We've installed these fans because they can suck out the hot air so that all of our rooms remain at a pleasant temperature. Even though they were installed with our best intentions, we've noted your comments and will keep an eye on the situation. To end, we definitely agree with the recommendation for brunch at John's Place, which is just steps away from the hostel! We hope you enjoyed Victoria and hope to see you again soon. For now, we wish you happy and safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jul 2017
7.1

Great hostel, in good location with easy access to the main attractions in Victoria. Big bonus was the free dinner and free breakfast - not amazing but very decent given they're free! Staff friendly, rooms clean, facilities good - all you need in a hostel. Would definitely stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

Brilliant Wonderful Great stay! !!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay. We want to thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon! For now, we wish you happy and safe travels. :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

This is an excellent hostel! Very close to downtown, private bathrooms, very secure and welcoming feeling. My only small complaint would be that the rooms were quite warm but with free breakfast, dinner, and cocktail daily I am not one to complain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there and thanks for your review. We are always happy to receive 10's, 10's, 10's across the board! Moreover, we are also glad to learn about your stay with us. We are indeed very close to downtown and are in close proximity to many points of interest. We have multiple security doors and together with our 24 hour Front Desk staff, we hope to give people a fun and friendly atmosphere in a safe environment. Furthermore, we are happy to tell you that we installed new window fans in all of our rooms. These fans can suck out the hot air from the room which makes for a "cool" experience. Still, we are delighted that you loved our free breakfast, dinner & cocktail! It's a triple treat from us to you! We like to thank you again for your review and hope to see you again soon. For now, we wish you happy and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
8.0

We had a private double room which, as described on the web site, was basic, but clean. The hostel location is excellent for exploring downtown Victoria. The staff were very helpful. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there and thanks for your review on Hostelworld. We are happy to hear you had a good stay here. We certainly have a great location in downtown Victoria and are close to many points of interest. Moreover, our staff is always ready to help you with directions, tips and much more. We are glad that you enjoyed Victoria and hope to see you again soon. For now, we wish you happy and safe travels. :)

5th Jul 2017
9.4

Excellent dedicated team of staff! Super helpful and friendly. Luggage and bike storage in locked basement. Great generous meals, Had an error with my bed assignment so they gave me an empty room in the end: bonus private! Only negative thing I noticed is the common area tends to get loud with voices...all stone walls and no dampening fabrics (could be easily fixed with some wall hangings). Totally glad I stayed here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for your glowing review! We certainly appreciate it. Our staff are definitely the crème de la crème and will go the extra mile to be helpful! They can help you with luggage and bike storage, directions and can also give you hot insider tips on what to do in Victoria.Also great to hear you liked our free dinner and even more awesome to hear you got an upgrade! We noted your comments about the noise from the common areas and will check what we can do about this. Thanks again for sharing your review and we hope to see you again soon. For now, we wish you happy and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
3.1

Room was so hot, fan sucked in the room. Room was small. Front desk girl forgot to give us our room key- had to ask for it. Girl running the bar was nice and helpful. Bathrooms were really clean. Cops were on our floor dealing with one of the guests- not the most comforting knowing about problematic guests. Overall did not enjoy for the price of 90 bucks for the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for your review. Although your review mentions positive comments about our bar staff and bathrooms, we are sorry to read about your less than satisfactory stay at Ocean Island. We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. Here at Ocean Island, our rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes and we work hard to make sure our guests get the right room for them. And though Victoria usually remains at a moderate temperature year round, for those occasional days when the temperature climbs too high we do as you mentioned, include fans in all our rooms. Moreover, we are pleased to let you know that we've just received brand new window fans that we will be installing in the next weeks. Still, it's a shame to hear our front desk agent didn't gave you the keys to your room, but it seems like you got them quickly after check-in. In regards to your comment about the police, we did have a problem guest that night who had to leave our premises. Ocean Island is a place we want to be fun and friendly but above all it needs to be safe. Therefore, we dealt with this problem guest effectively in order to avoid any other disturbances. Again, safety is our highest priority. Once again, we sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations during your stay. We all work hard to make Ocean Island a great place for the young and the young at heart and are sad that we couldn't give you this experience. Safe travels!

29th Jun 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed at! The staff were really friendly and their rooms were nice. I loved that there was a bar in the hostel and that they offered us free breakfast, dinner and a free welcoming drink! The location of the hostel was still in good walking distance from the main attractions but still far enough to where it wasn't to busy. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks so much for your glowing review. We are definitely happy to read about your time here! Our staff is from all over the world and are skillful in customer service. Additionally, we want to maintain a social and fun atmosphere at the hostel hence why we want to offer our guests free breakfast, dinner and an included cocktail so that everybody can get together and mingle a little bit. Lastly, our location is definitely very central and we are in close proximity to several points of interest. We hope that you enjoyed beautiful Victoria and hope see you again soon! :) For now, we wish you safe and happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
6.0

We got broken into our room and lockers. I didn't feel safe at all, my roommate got her money and passport stolen. It was clean but very noisy, I could hardly sleep. I didn't feel comfortable in the common areas. Breakfast and dinner were a plus but only if you are there for short time, after a while you are tired of the same food. The staff was nice but they kept messing up my reservation, didn't seem very professional. I don't think I would go back to stay there again unless no other choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, and thanks for your review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience staying with us. Our guests usually feel very safe staying with us because of our 24 hr service at front desk and locked security doors. We always encourage everyone to lock their room doors to prevent theft from happening. Theft in rooms is definitely not a common occurrence here and this is in fact the first incident of this kind. Again, we are very apologetic you were affected by this but are glad to know nothing was personally stolen from you. We sincerely apologize for the confusion with your reservation and rates. We do take responsibility for any inconvenience due to the rates confusion and hope you can have a better visit with us in the near future. As for your other comments, we are sorry to hear your were uncomfortable in your room and common areas during your stay here. We do our best to maintain a social and fun atmosphere in our hostel and are sorry this wasn't the case for you. Furthermore, we think that our breakfast and dinner are a great way for our guests to save some money but are again sorry to hear you only liked it for a short time. Despite all of our shortcomings, we hope that you still were able to enjoy beautiful Victoria. For now, we wish you happy and safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.