X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Reviews

791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1026 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great time, great area.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Ocean Island is a perfect hostel in Victoria. The private room was very clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms were spotless, always hot water in the showers and the place feels very safe. Love the little bar downstairs and the fact that they had Dark Matter on tap. So good!

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us such a lovely review! We're happy to hear you found your private room to be clean and comfortable, and that you appreciated our bathrooms. We'd love for you to come by to enjoy a local brew in our cafe lounge sometime soon! Safe and happy travels.

77%

Nice enough hostel, rooms were a bit small and there were a lot of long term stayers there so it felt a bit clicky - but the staff are nice and helpful. Area is a bit sketch at night so be wary especially if you are a solo female traveller.


100%

Whenever I visit Victoria, I always stay at Ocean Island. The beds are comfortable, the staff are incredibly friendly and the hostel is exceptionally clean. The bar is also very social and the events they run every week are a lot of fun. I would highly recommend Ocean Island if you plan to stay in Victoria.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! It seems you've managed to get the full Ocean Island experience every time you stay with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, cleanliness, and unique cafe lounge. We'll see you again soon! Safe and happy travels.

94%

Clean, affordable. Very close to public transport. Staff was helpful and kind.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our central downtown location, cleanliness, and helpful front desk staff. We'd love for you to come and visit us again soon! Safe and happy travels.

89%

The staffs are friendly and the hostel is worth for the money being spend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review. We're happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and that you felt you got a good bang for your buck! We'd love for you to stay with us again soon - safe and happy travels.

60%

Doubtfull "value for money". The unfortunate situation with Victoria's homeless people gives the hostell a very " seedy" atmosphere. Come on Victorians- you are the gateway to a magnificent island- surely you could offer decent Backpackers accomodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review. Our ideal downtown location means that we do have to deal with typical downtown issues, such as homelessness. That being said, Victoria is known for being a safe city, even downtown at night. Ocean Island ensures every guest’s security with our locked front door and interior doors, and 24 hour front desk staffing. Also, our front desk staff can assist you with directions if you feel wary of any specific locations downtown. Take care and safe travels.

71%

Basic, clean and tidy hostel. Friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and facilities to be clean. We hope that you took advantage of our central location to visit all of the unique and wonderful things that Victoria has to offer! Safe and happy travels.

100%

Overall a great place, value for money compared to twice the price over in Vancouver. Friendly and helpful staff, ok little bar downstairs. Some of the live music that gets played in the bar is a bit odd but I guess it all just adds to the experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind words about our fair price and friendly staff! We're glad you got to appreciate our cafe and some of the live events. It's true that we get some very unique performers - especially at our open mic nights. We feel it adds to the unique experience at Ocean Island. We wish you safe and happy travels.

100%

Ocean Island was a great place to stay. I was greeted with friendly smiles from the front desk, and check in was a breeze. The room was great for my needs and the bathrooms and facilities were clean. I hung out in the bar in the evening and met some cool people who stayed and worked at the hostel - and got some cheap drinks and dinner. The atmosphere was cool with a diverse group of people staying there. I'll definitely stay here again next time I'm in Victoria.

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear you had a great experience with us and got to meet such a diversity of guests and friendly staff alike! We're also glad you found our facilities to meet your standards as well as cleanliness is a top priority for us. Hopefully you got a chance to enjoy some of the events in the cafe lounge, as well as the budget-friendly food and drinks. Sometimes it's nice not having to cook for yourself! Safe and happy travels!

100%

Ocean Island is absolutely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. I got a private room with a fridge and blackout blinds for $30 something a night, I usually pay that for a bunk in a 6-bed dorm! I stayed on the 4th floor which was lovely and quiet, and the bed was super comfy so I got plenty sleep. I had dinner at the cafe, the veggie burger and fries were delicious. OI is warm, colourful, friendly with plenty amenities and in the heart of downtown Victoria.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the amenities that come with it, such as the black our blinds, fridge, and free wifi. We'd love to see you again in the bar soon next time you're in Victoria! Safe and happy travels.

83%

stayed one night - overall, good. except for the beds which were unstable and the bed sheet kept sliding off the 'rubber/plastic' mattress hence bad nights sleep. other than that, OK. kitchen / bathrooms were clean. they have a dedicated full-time cleaner (middle-aged lady) doing a great job in the morning. wish all the residents were like her.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear you found our kitchen and bathrooms to be clean! We use these rubber mattress types for hygienic reasons, but we appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration. We will be passing your kind words about our morning cleaner to her, we're sure she'll be thrilled! We hope you enjoyed Victoria and wish you safe and happy travels.

63%

Dirty linen, awful room!

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It's unfortunate to hear you did not enjoy your experience. We apologize for the dirty linen, and would like to encourage all of our guests to let our front desk team know right away if an instance such as this occurs. We also have many larger, more hotel style rooms available for only a few dollars more than our budget rooms. Safe and happy travels.

100%

Really cozy hostel. The staff was very helpful, they helped me to find the bests place In the city and in general they were very helpful during all my staying. It was easy to explore Victoria because the hostes is very good located. As a female traveler for me the most important is to feel safe and spend my resting time in a clean and comfortable environment. Ocean Island Inn had everything what I expect from a hostel. Both the bathroom and the kitchen were clean and nicely equipped. I really l

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! we're happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful and that they provided some great information about the city of Victoria. Our priority is to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests, and are always happy to know we have accomplished that. We will pass along your kind comments all of our staff members. Safe and happy travels!

100%

Great stay to this hostel, good price, good location, good people!

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you had a great stay, and that you met some nice people. We hope you took advantage of the central downtown location to experience all of the amazing things Victoria has to offer! We'd love for you to come stay with us again sometime. Safe and happy travels.

83%

Pretty nice hostel. Rooms could use more outlets, and it would have been nice if the doors locked automatically, as no one in my room bothered to lock it. Not much common space unless you wanted to hang out at the bar. Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were clean. Close walk to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the location, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Unfortunately some of our dorm guests do not lock the doors when they leave - mostly because they trust the other guests in the hostel. However we are aware that this can make other guests in the room feel uncomfortable, which is why we provide lockers inside the rooms and hallways for guests to lock up their valuables. Safe and happy travels.

66%

The price is very fair for Canada and also it's a good place to meet people as it's very big and there's a bar and a shared kitchen. Otherwise the Hostel is nothing special. First night, I spent in the dorm with vey little space for my belongings. There were multiple longterm-people there with lots of luggage and food. Second night, I took a single room which is very basic but okay. Could be cleaner and walls are thin. Also the number of showers/baths could be better. Staff is average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you found our prices fair and met some new friends! We do have many larger dorm and private rooms available often for only a few dollars more, and our front desk staff are always happy to accommodate room changes when availability permits. If you feel as if six bathrooms on every floor is not enough we also have a few rooms available with an en-suite bathroom! We hope you enjoyed Victoria and wish you safe and happy travels.

91%

Friendly, helpful staff. Pretty good atmosphere. Wifi on level floor was a little patchy at times but still pretty good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad you found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the unique Ocean Island atmosphere. We have currently been upgrading our wifi system to a faster, stronger connection which unfortunately lead to some glitches in the beginning. Luckily we have finished upgrading and our wifi is working at 100% again! We hope you enjoyed Victoria and wish you safe and happy travels.

74%

Location is good and they can provide parking for a fee. There's no real separate common area to the bar except for 2 sofas in the lobby. Although there is a kitchen its not very well equipped, there were only about 4 cups or mugs in the place. Overall OK, I would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to writ us a review. We're glad you enjoyed our central location! It's unfortunate you found our kitchen to not be fully equipped! We have just in the past few days re-stocked all of our kitchen inventory, so we hope next time you stay with us you will have better luck finding mugs! Safe and happy travels!

80%

Great place to stay to see downtown. Staff was helpful. Beds were comfortable. The room was a bit stuffy/hot even in October, but the provided fans helped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and comfortable beds. Unfortunately our old character building is not equipped with air conditioning to freshen up the rooms, which is why we provide fans in all of our rooms and encourage our guests to open their windows to let in fresh air. We hope you enjoyed Victoria and wish you safe and happy travels!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Victoria Hostels

Please give us your feedback