Hostelworld.com

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Located at 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria.
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1N9 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC
83% 1088
48.4275631 -123.3620452
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • quentinraffaelli523
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.7

Great place to stay! It's clean. Gerald and Abby are the nicest people and extremely helpful. The place is smoothly run. The living place is a great place to chill: it has lots of board games, instruments, and an old juke box. It's right at the entry of the Rockys and for a superbly affordable price. This choice is definitely a no-brainer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

Nice place to stay. No problems

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel! Kinda big, but still a nice atmosphere :) There are lots of bathrooms on each floor and the hostel has a nice small bar. I will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tylerforsberg6720
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th May 2016
9.4

Only stayed for a night but would defintely go back. Super clean and right downtown. Friendly staff and very helpful. Good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our friendly staff as well as our amazing housekeeping team who work hard to ensure everything is cleaned to a high standard. We look forward to hosting you again, in the mean time safe and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel in good location few minutes from heart of downtown. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Can't comment on the bar as was closed for renovations while I was there. Rooms are a good size and very clean. The existence of the wifi in the building is much debated among both philosophers and scientists alike.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As to our wifi, the device you are logging on with may vary in signal strength, as well as our system also requires you to re-log in every 24hours or if you have removed the device from the building. There is also a wifi password available from the front desk should you have any further issues. We are glad that you enjoyed our location it is very convenient to everything Victoria has to offer. We hope you keep us in mind for your next visit.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th May 2016
7.7

If you book for multiple people you have to specify that you want to be in the same room because you are choosing a type of room, not a specific room. There are only 6 parking spots available in the tiniest possible lot. It is misleading and disappointing that the hostel was not clear on this. Breakfast is just toast, and they are so cheap they only offer powdered milk. Location is an easy walk to everything you want, the bathrooms were very clean and the bed were decently comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are truly glad you enjoyed our downtown location, your are exactly right it does make getting around very easy! We do apologize that your whole group was not able to stay together in one room, one of the down falls of third party sites is that, as you say, it only specifies the type of room. If you choose to come stay with us again in the future contact us directly, that way our staff will be able to reserve you a room all together. As we are downtown parking is always an issue for any business, we do our best to ensure our guests know about all parking options available to them if they are not satisfied with our lot. The free breakfast is a new feature we are trying out and like anything there is always room for improvement. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our facilities and are always glad to hear that our guests took notice as well. Thank you again for the review we wish you safe and happy travels and hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.0

Please air conditioning System !!! It would be much better because the rooms are very small, which is normally no Problem, but if there is no air condition it will get too hot in the rooms... :O

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We are in the process of replacing our older room fans with new, more powerful fans, especially for the sunnier rooms. If you’re too hot, we can always give you an extra fan! We hope you enjoyed the beautiful city of Victoria, and wish you safe and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

i only was there for one night but i would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Victoria that wants to be downtown. It was very easy to get to and in a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We always love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and took advantage of our great location. We hope you come and stay again. Happy travels.

12th Apr 2016
8.0

Satisfying stay. ….friendly staff, reasonably clean tho I would opt for less number to a room(maybe 4 instead of a 6 to a room).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff friendly and facilities clean. Our front desk staff are always happy to accommodate room switches - including dorms, from 6 beds to 4, availability permitting. Ask about our different dorm options next time you're here, and we'll do our best to make sure you are comfortable with your room. We hope you enjoyed Victoria, and wish you safe and happy travels!

11th Apr 2016
9.4

Rooms are nice to stay in, breakfast is good. LOcation is good too. Everything is good !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast option - and everything else! We would love to see you here again soon. Safe and happy travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.