Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
5.7

Good enough for a couple of nights. Seem's to be alot of long stayers and locals there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2017
6.9

It's a massive building with a hippie vibe. The beds are clean, but the bathrooms are really bad (dirty floors, hairy tubs, and no toilet paper). Warning to those that are allergic to febreeze, they use it a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.6

Located in the heart of Victoria, you have easy access to loads of stuff, you only have to keep your eyes open especially at dark since the area has been object of some local residents' complaints for not being the safest. Friendly staff -a pity I could not stay longer and have some chats- and very high level of cleanliness will make me very likely to come back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.1

It was very busy and my son and I could not be in the same room as we had booked. But the facility was very well managed and the food was really good. I had to stay with three men in a small and very warm room, rather stuffy but I slept well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
5.4

Please remedy the shower situation. The shower curtain blows around and sticks to you, which besides being unsanitary, allows all the water to flow out of the shower pan onto the floor. Since I had to unexpectedly pay a $9 deposit and $1 payment to rent a towel, I was not inclined to mop up the mess. There were no paper towels in the bathroom either. There was hair in the shower and pee in the toilet. I don't feel we got the value the website indicated. We got a cheap room, for a med/cheap pric

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Top notch. Couldn't ask for much more at a mere $ 36.00 a night. 10/10 would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.9

My stay in the hostel was really nice. The location was great! Near one big mall and Jjst 10 or 15 minutes walking of the touristic center. The staff was very nice. The breakfast was only until 10am, so I missed, but they sell a great breakfast at any time you want for $6.95, in the front desk they sell snacks 24/7 for a great price, the only bad thing during my stay was that the hot water wasn't available during one day, when the water heater was broken.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
7.4

Nice and fun, you get what you pay for. It's good to stay for a while as you look for permanent accommodation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Dec 2016
10.0

I had a fantastic time at Ocean Island Inn. The staff were super friendly and really made me feel welcome. They even invited me out to farewell drinks for a coworker of theirs. The rooms were a little cramped but the beds were soft and not rickety. Liked the private bathrooms and free bfast and dinners! Overall an amazing place and would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.6

Everything was great but we unfortunately had to wait for 4 or 5 hours to check in, which changed our plans. Other than having to wait to check in everything was amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.