Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Located at 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria.
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1N9 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC
83% 1149
48.4275631 -123.3620452
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

For me, this place was ok and has its pros and cons Pros Offers breakfast Has an onsite bar with entertainment Central location Offers discounts on some trips such as; whale watching Cons Beds are rock solid, they are a plastic mattress and very uncomfortable and hot Pillows were also hard and flat Our room was crazy hot, we had 6 fans and the window open and we all spent the night sweating Noisy street outside. It was good for a short stay but not much longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.3

My only complaint is that the bathroom wasnt clean. We paid for a private room with ensuite and the tub had something brown dripped all over it, the shower curtain had mold and there was a dirty towel with makeup hanging on the back of the door. Can't beat the price for location though. Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that your private bathroom was not cleaned to the proper standards. We have informed our housekeeping supervisors that this occurred so that they may be more careful in the future when checking these bathrooms, as they should not be missed. Overall we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you do come to stay with us again! Take care and happy travels.

13th Jul 2016
10.0

Good overall stay not really any complaints. The bar is where everyone hangs out. Meet lots of awesome people. Will stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear about your stay with us, and invite you to come back again sometime soon! Until then, safe and happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
5.7

The rooms are tiny and beds are not very comfy but there's lockers and a fridge which is handy. There is no fly screens on the windows and the window was open all day because the rooms get really hot, so I was attacked by Mosquitos in the night. I was on a ground floor and if I were to leave something infront of the window it would easily be stolen. Common area was not inviting or social and the bathroom had hairs all over it. Breaky was basic Toast and Bananas only. The bar had a lot of locals.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the dorm beds to be comfy - we use medium firm mattresses which we have found the majority of our guest's prefer, but of course they are not right for everyone. We appreciate your comments about screens on the windows, however Victoria has never had a mosquito problem before this year, but we will take this into consideration. Our bathrooms get cleaned three times a day, however one messy guest can cause a bathroom to appear unclean. Due to your comments we will be implementing some extra checks by our supervisors. Overall we hope you enjoyed the city of Victoria. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
5.7

Staff was incompetent and the rooms were way too expensive for what we got

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re very sorry to hear that our bar staff was less than friendly to you, especially as we pride ourselves on our friendly service and make great efforts to maintain a positive relationship with our guests. If you are unhappy with our staff at any time, we encourage you to ask to speak with a manager, who will be happy to resolve the situation. Our rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes and we work hard to make sure our guests get the right room for them. If you had mentioned that you were looking for a larger room we would have done our best to accommodate you. In summer time the average price for a room in downtown Victoria is $180.00 for double occupancy. We pride ourselves in the fact that even our most expensive double occupancy room is much cheaper than this. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice staff, easy walk from town centre, it was really helpful to be able to leave my backpack there on day of arrival and departure. The kitchen was a good size and well maintained. I didn't find the bar/communal area particularly conducive to meeting new people but I was busy during the day so perhaps I wasn't trying that hard. I found the bunkbeds to be small and squeaky and the room was noisy as we were right over the main road and needed the window open to keep cool. The bathrooms were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our bag check service, friendly staff, and clean semi-private bathrooms. We appreciate your comments about a communal space, as we will be doing renovations in the fall and any feedback is appreciated so that we might apply it to these renos. As for our beds, we do check our bunks regularly to stop squeaks and creaks but given your comments we will have our maintenance staff make some extra checks! Though some of our rooms can be noisy due to our downtown location, we do have many rooms available on higher floors or towards the back of the building where we can switch our guests if they have troubles sleeping. Our 24 hour front desk staff are always happy to accommodate these room switches - or provide complimentary ear plugs! Overall we hope you enjoyed the beautiful city of Victoria. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.9

Very friendly hostel. Lots of different types of rooms available to suit your comfort / budget. Lots of bathrooms available as they aren't assigned solely to your room which is a bonus. The free breakfast was only bread and bananas but they had nutella which had been lacking in all our other hostels! Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Very warm welcome at reception, 4bed dorm was a little crowded but everywhere was clean. The bar downstairs was great to meet people. Toast and banana for breakfast. Coffee came with coffee mate...I'm not sure if that was just a once off because something happened to the milk because it seems quite odd.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. Our four bedroom dorms are cozy and are perfect for getting to know your fellow dorm mates, as well as of course our bar/lounge area. Our morning free breakfast is something that is new to Ocean Island, we do offer coffee mate as well as powdered milk for those looking for their morning jolt of caffeine. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and we are very happy to hear that your welcome to the hostel did not fall short. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
7.7

Ok so I stayed at this Hostel for three nights, first off I want to say that every member of the staff that I interacted with was fantastic all super friendly and helpful. I do have to ding this place a few points for the bedding situation though, the blanket that was on my bunk had 3 large rips in it " about 4-6 inches each" it wasn't a big problem since the weather was nice and I'm sure if I had asked the front desk they would have gotten me a new one but still a little annoying .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We apologize for the oversight of your bedding, our housekeeping staff check all the bedding to ensure that it is in good condition. You are absolutely right that if you had brought it our attention we would have changed it right away. We take a lot of pride in delivering excellent customer service and are very glad to hear that you though so as well. We hope to see you again, in the mean time safe and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
7.4

Good location, reasonably priced. Plenty of food at free breakfast. Stayed in a mixed 6 bed dorm which was quite small and cramped. Hostel offered bar crawl the night we were there but as there wasn't enough interest it got cancelled. Overall was good location and price and was fine for a night - but wouldn't stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments about our great location and free breakfast! Though some of our rooms can be considered small, we do have many larger dorms and private rooms available often for only a few dollars more. Unfortunately our daily events are dependent on whether or not we have interest in them, so we apologize that you did not have the opportunity to experience our wonderful pub crawl! Overall we hope you enjoyed the city of Victoria. Take care and safe travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.