Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Nice quiet hostel with breakfast and dinner put on every night. Really clean bathrooms and friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Because it is located right downtown ...it can get noisy....also if you need parking it will cost 10 / day if available. ....a bonus which I hadn't expected was free breakfast and dinner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
10.0

It was a good experience. We have enjoyed it. Thank YOU.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Location was ideal. Value for money was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! Compared to the average nightly cost of $150.00 in Victoria, you are absolutely right that our prices can't be beat. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ideal downtown location. Happy and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything works excellent! The only advice can be put more current connector near of the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to your concern about current connectors, I believe that you are referring to electric outlets in the rooms, and your suggestion is noted! We wish you safe and happy future travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff were really helpful. Facility is a fairly old but kept clean. Great bang for your buck. Right downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We’ve done our very best to convert this ideally situated 1891 character building into the bright and upbeat backpackers inn that it is, and to ensure the very best staff to accommodate all guest needs. We are pleased to hear that all of this, including the cleanliness of the building, was to your liking. You are right - our wide variety of spacious and budget conscious room offerings is the best in the city! Thanks again and safe and happy future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
5.7

Good enough for a couple of nights. Seem's to be alot of long stayers and locals there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that the atmosphere was less than ideal for you. During the winter months we do offer more variety in terms of stay duration for our guests which includes the option to stay nightly, biweekly or monthly. Our nightly events, music acts and bar/cafe are also open for non-guests to enjoy, but the utmost concern for guests' safety is always a priority. We take security very seriously and implement such measures as 24hr front desk reception, locked access doors and CCTV surveillance to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests. We hope you would consider staying with us in the future. Thanks, and we wish you safe and happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2017
6.9

It's a massive building with a hippie vibe. The beds are clean, but the bathrooms are really bad (dirty floors, hairy tubs, and no toilet paper). Warning to those that are allergic to febreeze, they use it a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that you found the state of our bathrooms was not up to standard. Our bathrooms are cleaned 3 times a day and we do ask guests to mop up after their showers, but if you don't find them to your liking we have 6 bathrooms per floor and you are welcome to use any one of them and/or alert our front desk staff about the state of the bathrooms so we can ask housekeeping to clean them. We also have rooms with private bathrooms if you'd rather not share with anyone. All of our bathrooms have been upgraded within the last few years. The only issue that remains in some of them is the bathtub surface, which is old but serviceable. For this reason, we are currently in the midst of replacing all bathtub and shower units. For your convenience and comfort we have signs on all our bathroom doors directing you to the nearest renovated bathroom. Our heritage building is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, a city known for it's relaxed island vibe - we hope you enjoyed the similar atmosphere here at Ocean Island! Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you safe and happy future travels.

28th Jan 2017
8.6

Located in the heart of Victoria, you have easy access to loads of stuff, you only have to keep your eyes open especially at dark since the area has been object of some local residents' complaints for not being the safest. Friendly staff -a pity I could not stay longer and have some chats- and very high level of cleanliness will make me very likely to come back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.1

It was very busy and my son and I could not be in the same room as we had booked. But the facility was very well managed and the food was really good. I had to stay with three men in a small and very warm room, rather stuffy but I slept well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our weekends here due tend to be pretty busy, however it does give our guests a great atmosphere to meet new friends. We are sorry to hear that we could not accommodate or were not made aware that you and your son were not in the same room! Our front desk works hard to be able to accommodate all of our guests. Very glad to hear that you slept well, we do supply extra room fans for those that feel the rooms are getting a bit too warm as well. Thank you for your review, we hope we see you again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.