Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • everyoneelses6541
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th May 2017
9.1

Dorm was tiny but I didn't want more than have a bed for the night so that's ok. Free dinner and breakfast were great, wifi works perfectly, staff is friendly and helpful. Common area is bit small but bar is nice and you can sit there and meet people just fine. Location is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled to hear your positive comments about our free breakfast & dinner, as well as our WiFi, staff and location. We recently improved our free breakfast and dinner by adding more options and we improved our WiFi as well by adding more routers and upgrading to a better internet package. Our central location makes it easy to get around in downtown Victoria and therefore we hope you enjoyed the city and your stay here! For now we wish you safe and happy travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2017
7.1

Our room was good but the door didn't lock automatically so when you're in a dorm this isn't super secure. The bathrooms weren't always very clean. The common areas were mostly the bar, but the free breakfast and dinner was good. The location wasn't the greatest however, as that bit of downtown was a bit dodgy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for leaving us a review here on Hostelworld. We are sorry to hear your negative comments about the dorm safety, bathrooms and location. Our dorms don't lock automatically but we encourage our guests to lock their dorms when going out. As for the bathrooms, we have several bathrooms on each floor for our guests to use. We clean them three times a day to keep them in tip-top shape, so we are sorry to hear this wasn't the case for you. As for our location, we are ideally located in the heart of downtown Victoria, but this means that we do have to deal with typical downtown issues, such as homelessness. That being said, Victoria’s streets are known to be quite safe. Still, we want to thank you for your positive comment regarding our free breakfast & dinner and hope you enjoyed Victoria. For now, we wish you safe and happy travels! :)

10th May 2017
8.0

We only stayed here for one night. It wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed and it wasn't the best either, but it's cheap and you pretty much get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your review! Here at Ocean Island, we want to provide great value for our guests by offering them the lowest rates for rooms in Victoria. It sounds like you got just that! We hope that you have enjoyed Victoria and wish you safe and happy travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
8.9

Quite happy with the hostel. Staff was friendly, 24h reception, and both breakfast and a simple dinner are included. There is also a small bar on the ground floor which is pretty cool. What I didn't like though was the noise from the street; In the corner room I barely managed to sleep because it was so loud. The other room was slightly better, but it was roasting in there and it smelled like paint, which wasn't the most pleasant either. Pretty happy with the facilities etc though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for writing us a review on Hostelworld. We really appreciate your comments regarding our 24 hour front desk, staff, bar and our free breakfast & dinner. We are sorry to hear that you experienced noise disturbance in both your rooms. We do have quieter rooms available at the back of the hostel and can switch you to one of them, if they are available. In addition, we have free earplugs available at our front desk to help you get a good night of sleep. Still, noise combined with a hot room and paint smell is not the best recipe for a good night sleep, so we are very sorry about that! Still, we hope that you enjoyed your stay here in Victoria and hope to see you again. For now, we wish you safe and happy travels! :)

4th May 2017
7.4

Some of the staff would go outside late at night on the sides of the building and do drugs every night I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for your review. We are shocked to hear your comment regarding drug use by our staff. We take your complaint very seriously and are currently investigating this matter. We want to let you know we have consulted our staff about this to ensure it will not happen again. Here at Ocean Island, we are working very hard to provide a great experience for every guest.That’s why we have a 24 hour Front Desk service available, who are happy to help you anytime. Additionally, there's always the option to speak to a manager about your issues. We still hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria and wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
8.9

Great vibe, great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our vibe and location! We want to maintain a fun and friendly atmosphere here at the hostel, as evidenced by our events and café & bar. Furthermore, we are indeed well located in the heart of downtown Victoria. We hope that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again! Until then, safe and happy travels! :)

1st May 2017
8.6

Great hostel overall, good value and lots of info on exploring Victoria. Not the best atmosphere, some weirdos but would definitely stay here again. I came here more for the sights and not really to party. Awesome centra location, and right on the bus line.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for reviewing us here on Hostelworld. Good to hear that you had an overall great experience but we're sorry to learn that you didn't like our atmosphere. We try to create a fun atmosphere as evidenced by our events and our bar and lounge. Still, we hope you enjoyed the beautiful city of Victoria! Until next time and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
9.4

Very good hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you for leaving us a review! It sounds like you were happy with your stay here at Ocean Island! That's we way we like it! Until next time and happy traveling!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.3

Breakfast and dinner were awesum. I found that the mattress wasn't that comfy, and the sheets slipped off if you rolled over. Wi-fi could be a bit patchy, but good location - easy walk to the city and easily accessible by public transport. Staff were friendly and pretty social lounge area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review! It's a shame to hear about your mattress not being that comfy and that the sheets slipped off.. We have noted your comment and will take a look into this slippery mattress! We want you to know that we are in the final stages of improving our WiFi, by installing more routers and upgrading our internet package. Still, good to hear you took advantage of our unbeatable downtown location, our free breakfast and dinner, and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and lounge area! We hope that you enjoyed beautiful Victoria and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Have stayed at Ocean Island a couple of times now. Would definitely recommend it! great staff and location and the facilities are great (including a great bar with specials every night). FREE DINNER AS WELL

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for your great review! Thanks for your kind compliments regarding our staff, location and facilities. Our staff are working very hard to ensure a great experience for our guests. We are glad to hear you took advantage of our bar and our free dinner as well! Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back in Victoria soon! Until then, happy travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.