Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Located at 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria.
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1N9 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC
82% 1223
48.4275631 -123.3620452
Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
5.7

Suite rooms are way too expensive for what they are: very noisy and people lingering under the windows talking all night long. Windows not airtight. Bath tub was blocked.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
6.9

I stayed at many different hostels on the west coast, this one was by far the most infriendly and unwelcoming. Also very small and over crowded rooms. I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
2.0

Well hostel world won't give back my deposit of 80 bucks. Ocean island inn was not this bad but they did ask me to pay in cash even though I put 80 down. So eather ocean island inn sucks or hostelworld....I'm going with hostel world. I'll change if they fix.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
9.4

This is where I stay in Victoria because it's a great location, affordable by local standards, and I appreciate being able to socialize downstairs but also having a private room or a quiet dorm to rest in. They run a tight ship and I imagine I'll be back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing us such a nice review! We're so happy that you liked your stay so much, and hope you were able to make some new friends while socializing with our other guests in the common areas. Please come back to visit us again sometime soon! Safe travels.

6th Sep 2016
10.0

Good hostel, Decent price in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us --come back again soon!

  • adambuxton
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
6.9

For people looking to work in the hostel and in victoria, this seems like a very popular place to stay. Beds in each dorm are occupied by hostel employees or other people in victoria for work purposes, rather than for pleasure. For us, this made the experience a bit anti social. For those of you travelling alone, keep aware as the homeless community is huge surrounding the hostel. However, The hostel itself is great.The bar is sweet and the complimentary breakfast is a perfect money saver!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you found your experience to be anti-social due to some of the other guests. Though we do have some short term housekeeping staff staying here, we have not before had a complaint about them making others feel less than welcome. Our ideal downtown location means that we do have to deal with typical downtown issues, such as homelessness. That being said, Victoria’s streets are known to be quite safe. Our building is very secure, with multiple locked doors and 24 hour front desk staff to help our guests feel comfortable. Despite this, we hope that you enjoyed your visit to the city, and wish you safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.1

This place is actually a step above any other hostel I've been too, a really clean homely place. I will be booking it for my next stay in Victoria

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review! We're so happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us, and hope you come back to visit again soon. Take care and happy travels!

28th Aug 2016
9.7

Loved our stay -- we were there 4 nights. Very well organized, and an excellent vibe. Loved the free breakfast, the delicious food in the pub/cafe, and the well-equipped kitchen. Location was great, with one small caveat -- the intersection is one of the noisiest in Victoria, so if you're on the street side, beware! However, earplugs solved that problem, and they're free at the front desk. If we make it back to Victoria, we'll definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us such a nice review! We really appreciate all of your lovely comments, and have passed them along to the rest of our staff to read and enjoy. Please feel free to come back again soon! Happy travels.

  • mattdrouin642485
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.7

Nice place with a great location. Staff was nice just lacking in knowledge about anything outside of the city. Still a great hostel. Would recommend to others. I would stay at this hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our central downtown location, and that you would be happy to come back again! Please do so, and until then, safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Really decent helpful staff, good security and a nice vibe. Clean with creaky beds. Good value and it's got a bar. Breakfast was a bonus (but basically only toast and coffee).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to enjoyed our wonderful staff, and that you felt safe and comfortable while staying with us. Please come back to stay with us again soon! Until then, safe travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.