X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Old City Hostel Reviews

Bestekar Osman Sokak,no :9 Divanyolu Cadeesi, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
93 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Big thanks for a warm welcome. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very convenient location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable bed and bathroom, decent breakfast. What else to expect from a hostel? :) Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

Hostel Stuff was really friendly and helpfully. Hostel is next to all important mosques and places Atmosphere: it was to noisy, there are a lot of bars arround..to much bars.. we could not sleep well.. Cleanliness: needs to be improved


89%

perfect location, short walking distance to all old city attractions and steps away from the sultanahmet tram stop. friendly and very helpful staff. ac and locker in the dorm, double plug to every bed, and (basic) breakfast included. downs: it gets really noise at night because of the bars on the street; lots of mosquitos in the room; although the bathroom was well cleaned daily the drain stunk really bad.


80%

perfect location in the old city, next to tram station, the mosque... everything within walking distance! very friendly staff. definitely recommended!


100%

Excellent hostel!!! Staff, location and rooms are great. Very clean and near of the typical touristic sights. I would defenetly stay again

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The place has a lovely terrace, where you can spend relaxed evening. However, there was an unpleasant situation; one evening around 11 p.m. the manager (?) of the hostel attacked us, saying we shouldn't be in the room, in which we were staying. After some talk we found out the staff didn't tell us we need to change the room that day. In general, the staff is nice, but they don't give much information on arrival (e.g. free city maps, when is the breakfast, wi-fi...).


97%

The hostel is located in the center of the old city and 5 minutes from the blue mosque and many other sights! the hostel is really safe with keys to enter the room and big lookers inside, and they also provide padlocks for free...the room and bathroom were really clean! the staff itself is really friendly and helpful! they also have some nice guides to explore the city! the breakfast is okay, i missed some eggs! awesome atmosphere and i will definitely stay there again!


83%

nice people nice staff wifi didn't reach my room,

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel in such a central location, right near the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofya. Staff were really helpful and assisted us to book things. Would definitely recommend a stay here.


97%

Great hostel! The facilities were excellent - free towels, hair dryer in the dorm, free lock/locker. The only very minor downside is that's its very central, a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque and all that, which is very convenient but means you get hassled by restaurant touts when you walk out the door. The staff are also incredibly helpful. Definitely recommend!!!


100%

The best in Old City


100%

Certainly the best hostel we slept in. The staff is kind and helpful. The localisation could'nt be better, the view on the terrace is wonderful. Cette auberge de jeunesse est un petit paradis,les chambres sont propres,nettoyées et rangées tous les jours. Le petit dejeuner sur la terrasse est copieux et la vue y est magnifique. L'équipe est très serviable, Tarik prend le temps d'écrire sur une carte de façon détaillée toutes les choses à ne pas manquer!un coup de coeur!

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A hostel that served its purpose, facilities were clean, nice roof deck and centrally located. Left before breakfast so didnt get a chance to have that though it sounded very nice. Staff was helpful and informative


69%

The location was good, but the room space was a little small, and the door of the bathroom made noise. The restaurant of hostel on ground floor was expensive, and the food was not cooked by the hostel but ordered from another restaurant.


80%

The staff was nice and accommodating to us when we arrived. Bunks are pretty nice with outlets next to each bed and room doors that lock when you close them. It was also nice that there was a small breakfast included. During our 3 night stay though, the phone lines were disconnected one night and the power went out twice while we were there.


94%

The hostel is clean and the position is great. Excellent choice!

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best stay of my whole trip. Owner is the nicest human being on the planet and he's always there.


54%

The Hostel is okay. I really enjoyed being close to all the main attractions in Old Town. However, I experienced quite a bit of problems with the Hostel owner/manager. He had changed prices on me 3 times within the course of 3 hours. He also told me he could change the price through hostelworld.com due to only a few spots remaining. The guy is looking out for himself and his pockets. He would shower us with compliments when we knew we were not happy with his services. Be careful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi MR. Jimmy, Thank you very much for yopur writhing and recommendation, But It is not real and nobody bleave you for this our price is ollways change because it is depend of season and we can not do anything, it is not problem of hostel it is just prpblem of your mind.So your writing just emotional your shame Please be honest. Have a good day. Old City Hostel.

89%

We had an enjoyable stay in the hostel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were lockers in the room and the hostel was in an excellent location near most attractions (ie. Blue Mosque) and close to the tram. The only common area was where breakfast was served and there is no kitchen but this would not prevent us from staying here again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback