Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Town Alur Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2017
5.4

I didn't even July my stay here - there was one shower and toilet for the whole floor which was always filthy, it's a very noisy building and you can hear conversations through the walls and there was a couple of other things. The location was really good and it was easy to find

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Good location, friendly helpful staff, great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

I loved it! The Old Town of Tallinn is an extremely beautiful part of the world to be in, and the location of this hostel cannot be beaten! The staff were all friendly in the short time I was there, and their recommendations for where to eat and what to do were on point! Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
5.7

Staff was useless. Never around when you needed something and when they were around it was like you were bothering them when asking a question. Didn't get a map or any suggestions on where to go or what to do like at most hostels. Have to ring a door bell to get in every time. I waited for 20 minutes just to get in one night when a guest finally heard me and came to open the door. Bed was by far the most uncomfortable i have used. Only two toilets on the floor was inconvenient. And very noisy

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
8.6

The first thing that strikes you on climbing the stairs, is the scale of the building. High ceilings and big rooms abound. No lockers in the rooms though. These are situated outside and you can't use your own padlock. I had a problem with how I was charged, but this was quickly rectified. In terms of security, I've never been to a hostel with so many secure doors to pass through! The atmosphere in the dorm was a bit subdued though - but I was probably just unlucky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
5.7

Positives: good location, some helpful staff Negatives: Arrived very early in the AM & couldn't check in until 2pm, upon return "hungover" staff checked us into a room with dirty towels/unmade beds. At one point waited 30+mins for a free toilet. Check out: reception was closed "until 8am" without warning, emergency contact "unaffiliated and can't help", missed our transport, by 9:15, no one showed, got locked out in snow, searched through hostel to find someone. Did reimburse us but massive pain

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel, nice staff, decent wifi, good atmosphere. Maybe i got unlucky with my timing but I would not recommend this place as a place to get a good nights sleep. All three nights i was there people were extremely loud in the rooms and halls. Reception can't hear it from their desk so you have you go to tell them every time. Unfortunately it spoiled my experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.6

Good location and nice staff. But there's only one bath room for the whole floor so need to queue to get a shower. The rooms in first floor are very noisy and you could hear any one pass by, or go up and down for the whole night. Couldn't fall asleep at all if u also have an early bus to catch.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

my stay was great, the staff are so helpful, i recommend this hostel. and also close to everywhere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff was super friendly and the location was great. They even taught me a new card game we played.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.