Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Town Alur Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Mar 2017
8.6

The first thing that strikes you on climbing the stairs, is the scale of the building. High ceilings and big rooms abound. No lockers in the rooms though. These are situated outside and you can't use your own padlock. I had a problem with how I was charged, but this was quickly rectified. In terms of security, I've never been to a hostel with so many secure doors to pass through! The atmosphere in the dorm was a bit subdued though - but I was probably just unlucky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
5.7

Positives: good location, some helpful staff Negatives: Arrived very early in the AM & couldn't check in until 2pm, upon return "hungover" staff checked us into a room with dirty towels/unmade beds. At one point waited 30+mins for a free toilet. Check out: reception was closed "until 8am" without warning, emergency contact "unaffiliated and can't help", missed our transport, by 9:15, no one showed, got locked out in snow, searched through hostel to find someone. Did reimburse us but massive pain

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel, nice staff, decent wifi, good atmosphere. Maybe i got unlucky with my timing but I would not recommend this place as a place to get a good nights sleep. All three nights i was there people were extremely loud in the rooms and halls. Reception can't hear it from their desk so you have you go to tell them every time. Unfortunately it spoiled my experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.6

Good location and nice staff. But there's only one bath room for the whole floor so need to queue to get a shower. The rooms in first floor are very noisy and you could hear any one pass by, or go up and down for the whole night. Couldn't fall asleep at all if u also have an early bus to catch.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

my stay was great, the staff are so helpful, i recommend this hostel. and also close to everywhere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff was super friendly and the location was great. They even taught me a new card game we played.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
10.0

It's located within the old town so it's really convenient to walk from this hostel to everywhere in the old town. The kitchen there is very well equipped. Love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.6

We arrived at the Alur on Christmas eve and the staff had prepared a lovely meal for the guests. Christmas away from home was much better that way. The location is perfect very central and right in the heart of old town. The hostel is also very clean and safe. Would definitely go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Old Town Alur Hostel is more like a hotel with bunk beds, but it's great if you need a good night's sleep after partying your way through the Baltic countries. The location is right in Old Town, so everything you could want to see or do is almost literally at your doorstep!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Really cute hostel in a nice location, with really friendly staff, a nice kitchen, good rooms and facilities. Only drawback was that even though theres a good space to meet people, it felt almost empty. But this is probably because it's off season in November

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.