Hostelworld.com

Old Town Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
Old Town Guesthouse Located at 119-1, Jalan Temenggong, , Melaka.
Old Town Guesthouse
Malaysia
Melaka 75000 119-1, Jalan Temenggong
93% 150
2.1953549 102.2543692
Old Town Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
9.4

I stayed here for only two nights, but wish it had been more! Pros: hostel has the cutest hand painted decorations EVERYWHERE and has a ton of common room space. The owner sits you down and explains all "must dos" in Melaka. Breakfast is toast with ~10 different jam selections. Less than a 10 minute walk to Jonker Street. Cons: common room area is quite hot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.4

This place was pretty damn nice, owner was very friendly and full of knowledge and tips, really helped me out. Was very quiet when i was there only one other couple so atmosphere was much more relaxed. But apart from that i loved this place and would happily go back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jun 2016
9.7

Perfect place to stay in Melaka! Chua is the best! Highly recommended. Everything was spotless, good location and really comfortable bed. We will visit again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurenaisha
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at Old Town Guesthouse. Chua was an amazing host. The place felt more like a home stay, really bright and happy. Chua welcomed us and gave us all the info we could need about Melaka, maps,recommendations and also great tips of finding veggie food. The room was great, clean and comfortable, with ac and fan. The house has lots of communal space and tons of info on things to do. The art is brilliant and fun. The location is perfect, lots of great cheap food nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
9.4

My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights at the old guesthouse and we loved it. This place is just so quiet, and clean! But the real highlight of our stay was how warm and helpful was Chua to us. He took a full hour when we checked in to tell us about Melaka, good local restaurants, places to visit in Malaysia, etc. If you are looking for a quiet hostel, we highly recommend this one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
10.0

love the place... good food are just around the place...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german98gm6745
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
10.0

Everything was perfect. the owner is a good person, always willing to help with whatever you need. The last day the man invited me to breakfast at a place of local food. I recommend this hostel why it is very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Feb 2016
9.1

Chua was a great host! Communication was easy and he was very accomodating and even booked us a taxi very early in the morning. The common areas and hostel in general look totally different than on the pictures. They added murals and couches, tables and chairs, it's a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2016
10.0

Our stay could not have been better! Chua made everything possible to make us happy, we ended up in a bigger room, we got free laundry and breakfast, we arrived a day earlier than our booking. He even got early in the morning to say goodbye and have arranged a taxi for us. Also the location of the guest house is really great. You are in walking distance from the main attractions, but you are on a quite street. If we go back to Malacca again would definitely stay at this guesthouse again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
9.4

Sehr netter Gastgeber, kennt sich in Melaka und auch Ausserhalb sehr gut aus und gibt Tipps. Sehr sauberes Hostel. Das Frühstück könnte optimiert werden , Toast mit Marmelade ist ein bisschen wenig (zb. Butter,Milch, Müsli, Obst)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.