Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Town Lagos Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 775 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 775 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Old Town Lagos Hostel Located at Rua da Barroca, 70, 1º, , Lagos.
Old Town Lagos Hostel
Portugal
Lagos Lagos/Algarve 8600 Rua da Barroca, 70, 1º
89% 775
37.1014930 -8.6714583
Old Town Lagos Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • katyensch9060
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.0

I only stayed one night here, but i think i would have stayed longer if i could. It's in the perfect location, in a quiet area but still less than 5 mins from the centre and the beach (which is beautiful!). It's cute and cosy, beds not great, although comfy the bedding was kinda old and damp which i think was just down to the time of year. The staff were really helpful, checking bus times for me and even offering to send my phone charger as i forgot it, really nice guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andi5334
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Nov 2016
3.7

The hostel is located at a second floor of an apartment. When I arrived, the apartment has no lights so it's very dark. Hostel itself is very small and the room is not clean. There are ashes on my bedsheets; pillows and blankets were in an old cupboard. I had a feeling that it's been long since the bed was last occupied. People in this hostel seldom talked with each other, and the staff was in the living room watching tv all the time that made me feel a bit unwelcome.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We regret not having fulfilled your high standards of demand that seem to be more typical of a Hotel than a Hostel. Regarding the cleaning, we have to inform you that the rooms are cleaned every day, but we can not of course have cleaning employees 24 hours a day just to fill your requirements. If you had booked a private room just for yourself you certainly would not find it untidy. The concept of "Hostel" implies a more friendly treatment and close to our clients, socializing with them thus creating an atmosphere conducive to friendship and good mood. We regret that you were not a social person because you did not even try to join the other clients who socialized in the room. For these reasons, we regret this type of comments that do not fit in with the other comments that our clients and "friends" make of their stay in our company.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.1

Awesome hostel would totally stay again. Location, staff, and vibes were great. Thanks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
10.0

Jason and Sean were absolutely amazing!! They made this stay perfect with their energy and friendliness. This is the best hostel I have ever been to and all future ones will be ranked against this. Thanks guys for everything!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
9.1

Jase is a top lad, so good to meet mum too. Great vibes and super chilled .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Oct 2016
10.0

So good we came back for a second time! The hostel is smaller than other ones we've stayed in before which we prefer as it gives it a more personal & homely vibe. Very clean & comfortable. Special mention to Jason for being the best host you could ask for. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking at going to Lagos. Thank you Old Town for one of the best weeks we've had during our travels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.3

Hard beds, showers are a bare trickle, kitchen is small and awkward, breakfast dull, wifi patchy, and the ventilation throughout the hostel sucks. Waking up with a headache because the room is stuffy does not inspire awesome travel adventures. Trying to chill in the lounge area while getting lungfulls of smoke coming in from the people on the enclosed balcony is also less than ideal. You do get nice big storage cupboards. Nothing else positive to add. A pretty disappointing stay overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel in a beautiful city. Jason really cares about everyone that comes in and recommended activities for us to do as soon as we came in. My friend and I originally signed up for 3 nights but ended up staying 5. My only complaint was that the beds were extremely squeaky but aside from that everything was great. Very simple bread and cereal breakfast and the pub crawl was awesome (2 for 1 drinks @ black cat FYI). Would recommend the catamaran and kayak tour as well if you have time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel!!! Had a great time here. Excellent vibe and was great for meeting people. Would come back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
6.9

Friendly staff. Great location close to the town center of Lagos. Close to the bus and train station in case you are arriving that way. The in house dinners are good, and the daily breakfast is your typical small hostel breakfast with cereal and toast. Minus stars because of the extreme noise level from 1 to 4 am in the morning ( hostel is located adjacent to a bar), and minus a few stars because one of the tours that was strongly recommended by staff was an absolute ripoff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.