Hostelworld.com

Old Town Lagos Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
Old Town Lagos Hostel Located at Rua da Barroca, 70, 1º, , Lagos.
Old Town Lagos Hostel
Portugal
Lagos Lagos/Algarve 8600 Rua da Barroca, 70, 1º
91% 646
37.1014930 -8.6714583
Old Town Lagos Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Apr 2016
9.7

Had a blast in Lagos! Good crew at Old Town Lagos. Thanks Nicky! Good luck in your next venture.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.6

Very good stay at this hostel, staff are quality and become your mates instantaneously, they are helpful in helping you book activities and have loads of advice on what to do. The lockers in the room are a bit worrying and small but the main doors are big. Overall very nice stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

the hostel was nice and clean, very near to the old city square, 1 minute walk. i liked it, but i didn't like the atmosphere probably because i didn't like the people staying there at the moment. which is not hostel's fault :p

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
9.4

It's tough to say too much about the atmosphere of this hostel because there really wasn't anyone there when we went due to it being super low season. It's in a great spot and it seems like it's set up to have a good atmosphere for backpackers. Aside from the 24h reception, there isn't much in the way of security. They have some wooden lockers but my mid-sized backpack didn't really fit inside. The staff do a great job at taking care of the hostel, and Nicky is the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2016
6.0

The location is awesome. The staff were average, not really enthusiastic about helping. The lockers were super small, and the room doors weren't locked, so security wasn't that good. The loungeroom had the worst smell, and there were stains on the couches. The floors were so dirty, always wear shoes. Breakfast was okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry to deny your comments, but certainly this review does not refer to our hostel because we have daily cleaning, never had stains on our couches and all the doors of our rooms have new locks. Our lockers measuring 60x50x45 cm, higher than in many hostels. So I think you made a mistake with comments relating to our hostel because it does not correspond to reality. I'll give you some advice, try to be fair when you make comments on hostels that welcome you, because your freedom to comment also compels you to a greater respect for our business, unless you have a premeditated intent to harm our place

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.3

The staff were famtastic - super knowledgable and approachable and made sure everyone was comfortable, mingling and making the most of their stay. Reception was 24hrs too. Big plus. Facilities are a little tired and worn down, clean enough none the less. The best location in the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • akbuffington3333
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Nov 2015
10.0

What a great hostel! We got a private room with an ensuite for a great price. Prime location, great staff, and a filling breakfast that is included. The staff hung out with us at night and showed us the best bars, they took us out on hiking tours, and the best was the sea cave kayaking tour with Hugo! So many activities here and a great atmosphere to meet fellow travelers. In my 3 months of backpacking, this little gem goes down as one of my favorite hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Nov 2015
9.1

I had a Fantastic time at this hostel, if you are travelling alone and want to meet people this is the best hostel for it. Hugo Nicky & Carlos are all extremely friendly & always encouraging everyone to spend time together. They set up movie nights, pub crawls, game nights, wicked kayak tours & a night tunnel tour. By the end of my stay it was like a little family. Favourite experience so far in my Europe travels! The hostel is also in a great location I would definitely recommend it to all! TY!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
20th Nov 2015
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed in during my 7 month pilgrimage.. The kayaking and cliff walks offered are brilliant.. The hostel is in the perfect location to get to the beach, restaurants, bars etc. & creates an excellent vibe itself, depending on what you're into. The kitchen is well equipped & the breakfast is satisfying. Beds are comfortable with lockers in each room. Still, the BEST part about this hostel is Nicky & Hugo.. Actual legends.. Can't thank them enough for their hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Nov 2015
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay. We extended from two to five nights. The atmosphere Nicky created was amazing. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and having a great time. The hostel was very clean and the relaxed, social vibe makes it a great place for solo travelers as well. We will be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.