Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oldtown Hostel Otter

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2017
8.6

The breakfast at the bar was amazing! I would highly recommend eating there, even if it costs you 7€. Most rooms smaller than the huge mixed dorms get the breakfast included though. The woman on staff I found to be very nice and helpful! The man was more quiet but he would still help you. The only negative is the shower. It's a curtain and I really think for security that it should be a door. I would have locked the door but I felt bad since there's 2 showers in there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asiftoor55
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
4.9

They cancelled my booking even i paid security 6.3 doller They was demanding me detail of my card.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
8.6

This hostel provides lockers with locks, towels, and lots of outlets. It was one of the best hostels I stayed in. It's in a great area and the people are great. It's slightly pricey but worth it for its position and in Zurich (it can be expensive there). I would definitely stay there again. Just be warned though your CARD will be charged for the stay. You do NOT pay cash when you get there. This was a surprise to me when I got there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.1

Great hostel environment, very good atmosphere. Location is very convenient. Basically everything was really nice except for the price. Switzerland is expensive that's basically what you need to know.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
9.7

One of the best hostel i have ever stayed! Its location is so close to city center(15mins walk from main station or 3mins walk from the nearest station), also in walking street. The hostel is a bit small but other things was perfect! . There's also an elevator so you dont have to carry your heavy luggages by yourself. The kichen is good. Wifi in sleeping room and there are plenty of plugs in the room. Really recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
8.6

Location! Location! Location! Close to all tourist attractions. Lockers everywhere! Which is a nice touch. Safe surroundings. In the old town. Small rooms but manageable. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.6

Had an enjoyable stay at the Oldtown Hostel Otter. Perfect location away from most of the overly commercial spots in the city. Loved the cafe and bar downstairs; although it did get quite noisy at night, I think that's just Zurich in general. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Met a diverse range of travellers. Overall, very satisfied!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
5.7

I stayed here for just a day. I did not have a pleasant experience. The woman staff member was not helpful in directing me to places around the city and the man staff member was virtually nonexistent. Almost zero atmosphere. Security was fine, but you are in Zurich... The only real noteworthy trait was the location, which was accessible. Overall, this hostel is less than mediocre but gives you a place to rest

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
8.6

Relatively clean, provided with a towel and lock with large locker which was nice. One toilet and one shower per floor. Have to strip your own bed before leaving (not a problem, but I left at 4 am so I'm sure my roommates didn't appreciate it). Lack of outlets or lights per each bed so the main light had to be turned on whenever anyone wanted to read or came in late. Overall decent hostel and nice staff. Good specials at the bar and lively atmosphere there. Would stay again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Jul 2017
6.9

Would've expected better for the price we paid. Two showeshowers on each floor, a small common room and and little customer service. Good location and safe and clean though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.