Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oleander Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
3.1

The only positive to this hostel is the location, the 4 bed private room we were allocated was filthy, dust, hair and nails all over the floor, the sheets were used, there was still trash around the room from previous guests. Was treated poorly by the manager when we requested a refund. Could not stay more than an hour there, had to quickly book another hostel for our stay in Budapest

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Sep 2017
4.6

We stayed for three nights, and it was one of the worst hostel experiences in Budapest. Firstly, they charged more than it says on the website (even with the tourist tax) Unbelievable! Secondly, the place is a very dirty apartment with one bathroom and around 25 beds. Bathroom is full of dirt and dust. Floors are even dirtier. You can find dozens better and cheaper options in Budapest,please do!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
5.7

Don't have employers all the time there. THe building is really old. The staff is really good(I only see one guy on the morning, after that if you need something you need call for someone to go there). Is not really clean, the bathroom looks like old as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2017
9.4

Proper sick go hostel, would recommend and go again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mrronankelly1496
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Aug 2017
7.4

Pretty cheap in comparison to other hostels in Budapest. I was worried it would be horrible but it was actually alright. The free breakfast isnt much and there is only one shower. Shower was hot. Kitchen facilities are also small. It is a small hostel though so easy to meet people. Staff were nice but I had to wait an hour to check in as there was noone there when I arrived. Other guests let me in. After wairing around we discovered the guy was actually asleep in the next room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
7.4

All good. Breakfast is fine- cereal, coffee, bread, milk. Location is great. The weak area of the hostel is the bathroom- for about 20 people- 1 shower/bathroom and the other is just a bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
6.0

TOO SMALL for so many people! Have to add a cot yet into small room for ten? DAVID IS GREAT! Location is great, but I'd certainly look around first.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2017
7.7

Decent hostel in a great location with easy access to the metro that can take you all around the city. The bedding provided is pretty minimal and where the dorm are supposed to be 9 people it's more like 11 crammed in at certain times. Security lockers are really good and overall I felt pretty safe staying here. My main problem is the fact that there is only one shower between 20 or more people which can be an issue unless you're prepared to get up early or shower later in the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
5.7

This hostel did not look at all like the pictures. I was embarrassed to bring my group here. It is definitely a low-budget low-grade hostel meant for back-packers, not just students looking for a quick trip. My friends and I did not feel safe leaving our valuables here just given the atmosphere of the place. The place was run-down and the floors were very dirty. At least they had wifi. They only had one key for the entire room. Mattresses were super thin. Would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
7.4

I was really just looking for an affordable bed to crash in for the night at late notice - so this was ideal for me. I think it appears a bit unclean, but actually its just quite old furnishings, bathrooms etc. Would advise you to have a shower before bed, rather than in the morning if possible, as there was a long queue for the one shower. Fortunately there is a separate toilet. Staff were very nice and chatty over breakfast (free, yay!). Rooms not airconditioned, but there was a fan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×