Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oleander Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
Oleander Hostel Located at Szep u. 5, , Budapest.
Oleander Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1053 Szep u. 5
74% 367
47.4928016 19.0576851
Oleander Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.4

Apart from the security, I didn't see a great positive to this place. Everything was filthy, looked the bathroom hadn't been cleaned in months, bed was uncomfortable and was overpriced for the service I received.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • leighmartin2491
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.4

Although I met some great people here and the staff were really helpful, this hostel is honestly one of the most disgusting places I have ever stayed. I didn't see it be cleaned the whole 5 days I was there. The bathroom was horrendous and the shower often floods. In spite of this I did have fun here but that was completely down to the people staying there at the time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.4

Close to Astoria Metro Station. Good place for the money. Reception is okay but not good. Not satisfied with the cleaniless. Had a bathroom and a toilet for around 12 people. My friend got a broken bed. So unsatisfied with the facilities and less space in a room. Recommend for a person who need a place to stay close to city for a cheap price. Not for someone who is looking for comfort..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
14th Aug 2016
6.0

There was construction going on in the complex. Impossible to sleep the time wanted. Shower wasnt that clean. Quite time was meant to be 10 but they kept blasting the bt speaker for another few hours. Bit annoying when you have a flight at 3am. Would go else where next time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.6

The place is small but as most facilities. There is only 1 shower for 22 guests though. Between 6pm and 8am there is no staff around so it can be noisy until well past midnight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

Overall good atmosphere and locale but... I arrived a bit late and was locked out, I was a bit late and was left notes to call, not being able to get in or call I was stuck. Luckily after that everything was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • millyatkinson
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

Most friendly and sociable hostel we've stayed in, felt like home. Only 1 shower for the whole hostel, but it's really small and we got by without any problems. Amazing kitchen with great facilities. Helpful staff, great location, next to a supermarket and 5/10 mins from the centre!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel. It is quite small which was good because it allowed us to meet new people. We went out as a flat on one night which was good fun. Overall, probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Overall a good hostel in a good location with friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Stilettobackpack
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.9

Close to the city center and very good price. The building was under renivation when we were there and there was only one bathroom and one shower for about 20 people which I could see being a big problem in high season but it wasn't too bad while we were there. The night time receptionist was really awesome! He gave us great recommendations on things to see and do, and chatted with us for a bit. They provided a pad lock for the lockers as well which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.