Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oleander Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • annahedger
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
4.6

Stayed in a 10 bed room (paid for a 9 but not really a problem) the room wasn't big enough for 10 people. Everything really dirty. Only one shower. Two toilets (one in the shower room). Close to everything but the road it is on has cars speeding past all night, so is hard to sleep. No lock on bedroom, and most the time the two front doors were open. Basically no security apart from a small locker. Common room supposed to be closed at 11 but loud music played until late. Really wish hadn't stayed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
6.9

1 shower for the whole hostel. Always a queue for the shower (unless you are in the hostel during the day when everyone else is doing stuff, you loser) atmosphere is depending on who else is staying here. Wouldn't recommend for solo backpackers as most people here are traveling in pairs and groups. Typically groups and couples travelling don't like meeting people from my experience. Location is great. Breakfast is cornflakes/toast/free coffee. Payment upon arrival only. Cheap place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kowsouy
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.7

Anyone who says this hostel is bad shouldn't be traveling in hostels. It's clean, good atmosphere, great location, and comfortable beds. You definitely get your money's worth, maybe a little more

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

I have stayed for 2 nights, and their hospitality made my tour a wonderful experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

Very friendly staff and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
6.9

Excellent location but the building was very run down. Staff were friendly and helpful. Main issue was that there is only one shower for all guests to share, this meant there could be a queue in the morning. Great price for what it is; you pay for what you get.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2017
9.1

This hostel feels like you've gone to stay at your friend's house in the centre of Budapest. Keypad then key entry meant guest only access and was also provided with free padlocks for lockers. Kitchen, rooms and shower were simple but effective. Staff were very helpful sorting a doctor's appointment (never easy when abroad!). Definitely would recommend to anyone on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel. I will come back. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
8.6

nice hostel with a very friendly staff..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Kitchen provided, simple breakfast, shower has warm water and soap provided. I really enjoyed my stay here - the owner was nice and friendly, and I met some really cool people here. It's the cheapest you can get for such a good location, and the amenities are more than sufficient. Will definitely be here again if I come back to Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.