Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oleander Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Apr 2017
5.1

The staff were not very friendly and did not enforce the house rules. The place was also rather unclean and we got bites that look and feel like bedbug bites

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Pretty small hostel, so the people staying will somewhat dictate the atmosphere. Staff is helpful when available, but is sometimes hard to find. Prime location, close to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ejk05638
  • Lebanon, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.1

I felt like home at Oleander's. It's a small apartment where everyone meets around breakfast or in the living room. It could be a burden for those who wouldn't like to share two toilet/bathroom with 30 other people (if the hostel is full). At night everyone would gather after the parties. some people were already sleeping and the noise can easily be heard inside the rooms. All in all for three days, it was a blast meeting the other people in the hostel and getting to explore Budapest !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jordan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
2.0

Very bad hostel , very bad atmosphere , I had booking and there was no enough beds , I slept on a half bed , it was really bad experience .

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.6

The staff wasn't there at times... had to let guests in a couple times! Met awesome polish people though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.1

We've stayed at the Oleander Hostel in Budapest, and were quite satisfied. The location is unbeatable, the hostel is in a very typical Budapest building, we were at walking distance to Vaci street, the Central Market and the old town in Pest. The place is clean and the staff are very helpful. This is a very unexpensive option to stay in a very beautiful city. We felt safe and cared for while staying at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Very good place! Very friendly staff and great location. Ideal for solo travellers or small groups. I really recommend it. If i come back to Budapest again i would choose this place. The price is good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.7

I had a short but great stay. This little hostel makes me feel at home. It was quite empty because of the low season but the owner was cute and super friendly and made my stay very pleasant. :-) There is a kitchen where you can cook on the stove or even an oven to cook pizza or whatever you want to cook. Grocery around the corner and everything is within walking distance. I will come back for sure if I have the chance. Thumbs up! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
5.4

We couldn't lock the room and at 6 a.m. A person from another room entered our room and woke up everybody, we thought he wants to steal something and we were scared all night. There wasn't hot water almost all of the time. One bathroom for around 20 people and the hot water is enough only for 3... that was a huge problem. But from the other side we had great time in the hostel because we met amazing people and due to the common area we could bond with them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.