Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oliver St. John Gogarty Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 4273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 4273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
8.0

The hostel is in a great location if you are after a lively stay. It can get fairly loud at night but if you're out quite late this will not bother you. They allowed us to drop our bags off before we checked in so we didn't have to carry them round for the few hours before check in time. The rooms were a good size and on the surface looked quite clean however the duvets and pillows under the sheets were quite stained. The bathrooms were not very clean. The toilet & shower were stained.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • hugosantibanez8794
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Sep 2017
7.7

Best location ever,great and famous bar downstairs with the best Irish parties, nice and comfortable beds, Too noisy in the room, hard to sleep as the windows were not soundproofing : there was no difference between the open window and a closed window

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2017
7.7

Good clean place. It has a pub downstairs which adds another dimension of fun. Value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Aug 2017
7.1

Very expensive on Friday night (everything in Dublin is, though). Just above one of the bars in Temple bar. Noisy in the night, but you could expect that. Clean, but the building is old.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
9.7

Best hostel in Dublin. I come back every year! Good breakfast and lovely staff! Plus free wifi and the location is perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2017
6.9

Positives - Location, 6 man room was very clean, met some cool people in the room. Amazing bathroom! Negatives - No hostel run events (there was nobody ever in the common room), staff are helpful but aren't excited about their jobs and are just going through the motions which really dampened the mood every time I spoke to them. Windows are not double glazed so earplugs are compulsory. 2 plug points in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
9.4

28 of us stayed here as part of a Dublin based cricket tour. Great price, especially considering the location - Right in the heart of Temple Bar! The rooms were very basic, but clean. Absolutely ideal for our stay. I would definitely recommend 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Aug 2017
8.0

If you're planing a trip to Dublin with your friends this is a really good option, because its located in the heart of Temple Bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.0

Perfectly situated in Temple Bar. Nevertheless, it was not too loud during the night. Room was clean and there were possibilties to lock in the luggage. However, it was not possible to leave the luggage at the hostel on the day of departure to explore the city a bit more. This service was only offered to incoming guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
9.4

Great. The most centrally located hostel I've ever stayed in, in any city in Europe ever! Right in the heart of Temple bar with traditional Irish music venues all around. Lots of places to eat out or buy food to eat in. Good kitchen facilities with free tea and coffee most of the day and free breakfast. Good for public transport and easy to get to/from the airport by bus from the next street. Nice cheap laundry service around the corner to if you need to get your shirt ironed as I did!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×