Hostelworld.com

Oliver St. John Gogarty

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 3,985 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 3,985 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3
Oliver St. John Gogarty Located at 18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Oliver St. John Gogarty
Ireland
Dublin 18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
78% 3985
53.3454020 -6.2616920
Oliver St. John Gogarty
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Very good value for money. The wifi was not always working. Bring a lock with you your luggage under the bed, they do not provide one. I'd not recommend to stay many days, only if you pass by, because I didn't like to use their bathrooms and showers much. The staff is really nice. Be aware that you have to checkout before 10:30 AM and you'll not be able to leave the luggage there. You can let it at a tourist office for 5 euros/luggage. Their penthouse apartments are better than the hostel rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel for great price. I'd complain about the internet conection, that's the only problem, the connection won't work sometimes, but for me this is important.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rfrassenei2325
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2016
6.0

The location was fantastic but that's about it.... The staff weren't super friendly, the facilities were average and the place was filthy!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.4

Our second visit ... Lovely place lovely people and amazing atmosphere .. our only complaint is that the room was basic and outdated few broken lights and missing handles on wardrobes etc but that's hostel life rooms just need a little TLC

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2016
10.0

If you want to be in the heart of the Temple Bar District, then this hostel is for you. Location was great, within walking distance to most attractions. Value for money was good too! However, getting a good nights sleep, is not an option here, unless you are a heavy sleeper. Being above a pub, at night gets quite loud. In the end, I wanted the location so for me it was worth it. I just brought along ear plugs! The staff was friendly and helpful. Oliver St. John Pub was fun too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jun 2016
3.7

Would not recommend this hostel to my worst enemy. The showers are disgusting and really old- you have to pull a cord from the roof and then wait 5 minutes to get hot water. The hostel is above a really loud pub so you won't be able to get a decent sleep and you can't even close the windows to make it quieter because it's ridiculously hot in the room. The staff are really unhelpful- the guy on the desk couldn't tell me basic details like where the nearest ATM or laundromat was.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
5.1

Room was unbearably smelly and poorly ventilated. If windows were open, conditions were tolerable, but the bars downstairs are incredibly loud until 2am. With windows closed, room was like a sauna in the morning and smelled of pure BO. Ensuite bathroom floors were sticky and smelled faintly of urine. Room was so odorous that two men that were supposed to stay in the room one night left to stay with friends instead. Windows were moldy. Never felt so grimy after a night's sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
6.6

The area and staff are very nice but the room was not very clean and the bathroom was horrible we had to ask for cleaning supplies and clean up ourselves. Would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
6.9

Stayed in a 10 person room. Stuffy and smelly, but gets the job done. Shower was hot which was nice. Probably wouldn't stay here again, but the prices were hard to beat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.6

In the heart of Temple Bar and attached to a very fun pub itself! Wonder music pub crawl every night. The hostel has decent breakfast every morning and the staff were friendly and knew their stuff! The room had 10 people in it, I happened to make a friend because of that! Everybody I stayed with was respectful and quiet. The sheets and bed linens were clean and fresh, the mattress though thin, was surprisingly comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.