X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3192 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Really cool place! I only stayed one night but the location was perfect, the staff ver y helpful and nice (they even stored my bags the whole day for free), and the breakfast so complete. I would definetely repeat if I go back to Dublin.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is both fantastic and bad. It's in the middle of Temple bar, making it very central, but also very noisy at night. People were screaming and singing outside every night. The rooms were also too hot, making it hard to sleep. Each room has also only got ONE key, which is madness. Every night people had to knock on the door to get into the dorm, waking everyone up. And if no-one was in the room but had left with the key you had to find them. Why WHY aren't there more keys to the rooms?


46%

We booked for 4 nights 2 beds in the 4 bed Dorm and checked out after the 1st night. We stayed in many Hostels around the world but never had to deal with things like just 1 key per Room or that the staff lets an old guy, totally drunk, with no luggage, into the dorm at 4 in the night (behaving like no other hostel I know would accept). After complaining, staff didn't even bothered to check the room. Sayed that, the Pub downstairs is really loud until 3am. There are much better places to stay.


57%

One key per room??? Doesn't make any sense. Means anyone can walk up and ask for the key and get access to the room. When you ask for the key at reception and they don't have it they expect you to knock on the door and get someone to open it for you. Try doing that in the middle of the night. On the flip side you have people knocking on the door in the middle of the night waking you up. How about keys for everyone and if they get lost people pay to get them replaced which is the system 99% use.


86%

The beds are quite short, people taller than 180cm can't strech their legs.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Paul on reception was fab! Very helpful.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Awesome location and the room was all right, only thing that bothered me was the fact that there was only one key per room. In the afternoon i had to wait to get into the dorm because the girl who was there was in the shower, and in the night, when i came back from a pubcrawl at 2 am, i had to knock at the door for several minutes until someone woke up and let me in


69%

Only one room key per room so all rooms were pretty much left open during the night to allow guests access without waking up anyone else. Toilet/shower area was not the cleanest place I've ever seen and the kitchen area closes really early. I just don't understand their room key situation. Peculiar.


97%

Absolutely fantastic....planning my next trip already!!!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I was in a room with 9 others and there was only one key for the room, so we kept having to disturb one another to get into the room or leave the door open. The facilities were ok, didn't see many people using them - like the dining room or common room. They no longer have laundry service, but the staff was nice enough to let me know of places close by. Location is the best thing about this hostel, as it's right in Temple Bar but surprisingly, the noise at night was very minimal.


80%

A big problem for me is the only key for a four people room! we were awaked all the night!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This hostel is poorly run. They overbooked the room and the staff was very unhelpful. The security was very poor... Anyone could come in at any time and the mixed dorms remained open all night. The bathrooms were very dirty. Overall, we would never stay there again.


60%

I was very disappointed on my last evening, i returned to the room to find that there had been a party going on, the was clothes, beer can & bottles, spirit bottles all over, the bathroom was a disgrace, and the sink was full of sick, i went downstairs to complain and was just told there was nothing that they could do, i tried to explain that these people would be back through the night and that the party would go on, i was told that it would not, not only did it carry on, but for a hours.


97%

I stayed in a mixed 12 bed room. One of the beds was missing the cage below to securely store your luggage and this caused the people who arrived earlier to store their luggage in cages under different beds. Other than this and a few beds being taken, everything was great. Was pretty loud on July 4th but that didn't bother me much.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Only big problem was with the key situation. It's a pain in the butt only having one key per room, not mention a possible security problem.


91%

Nice place in a prime location. No complaints here. They even give you a free small glass of beer when you get there.


89%

Great location, great hostel. Every time i come to Dublin I want to stay here

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Loved staying at your place. It was very well located and your staff was very responsive. My only suggestion would be to change the key system. Elsewhere we used the cards like in hotels and that was smoother, especially in rooms where people were returning at all hours of the night.


51%

Staff not very helpful made you feel bad for asking questions when it's their job. As a solo traveller hostel was bad to meet people, just a bar with beds up top really, common room and they close it at 9pm so pretty hard to meet people Wifi was the worst, it kicked you every time you connect after 5 min other times you couldn't even connect


97%

Perfect place to stay if you want to have a fun-time in Dublin. Location is awesome for partying and stuff is very nice and helpful. We didn't miss a thing.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback