Hostelworld.com

Oliver St. John Gogarty

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 3,959 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 3,959 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
Oliver St. John Gogarty Located at 18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Oliver St. John Gogarty
Ireland
Dublin 18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
80% 3959
53.3454020 -6.2616920
Oliver St. John Gogarty
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

Great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.0

Very loud but the hostel is directly above the very popular bar. Party hostel for sure, if you are looking for a quiet stay do not stay here. Showers/toilets were fairly clean, directly in temple bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
6.0

Perfectly located and fun pub. The breakfast was very decent. The sitting area was locked in the evening when we wanted to sit down for a chat when others in our room were asleep. Room faces the smoking area of the pub and therefore couldn't open window which made the room a steam bath. Our room was also very loud given it's location. Somehow we managed to sleep like babies though. We weren't allowed to store our luggage after our stay. The staff was a bit ignorant and we didn't feel welcome

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
8.3

The location was great, not far from O'connell Street. I stayed in 4-mixed dorm, ensuited. The bed's comfortable. The shower room was ok, not dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Excellent location and great value for money. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
4.3

The room they gave us wasn't ready at all, craftsmen were still working there. They did not clean the bathroom, the floor was full of hair. There was a lot of mold in the room and the curtains were full of mold, too. On the outside of our window was a huge spotlight and it wasn't possible to darken the room, so it wasn't possible to sleep for some people in our group.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
7.1

The best thing about this hostel is the location, you can step downstairs and find the best bars and entertainment! The hostel itself felt run down, and amenities are very basic. Our room had 8 beds but half the storage drawers (for locking away your belongings) were missing, and they were terribly loud to use. There were also not enough electrical outlets. However, the bathroom and beds were clean and the staff helped us out. For the price this hostel is not bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
6.9

There were good aspects of this place such as tea & coffee etc. but there seemed to be no kitchen for sel-catering and the lounge was locked around 9 pm, no crack here at all, I had a terrible night because the dorm was too hot with a locked window; alright for some but not for me: I like a bit of crack with cool air at sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

i wasnt long here except to sleep. Kitchen closed a little early i thought. It was avarage hostel in a busy part of Dublin. Id like to return sometime soon to check out pub

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
8.6

I can verify your current superbness. A suggestion for the future; if there is a non invasive way of asking your visitors of their sleeping behaviors and manners that could be part of the booking process. This way you could pair up people that wanted silence in the room during daylight hours or match up snorers if possible. We understand that it is partly the experience but we also see a potential in this area. A special thank you to the desk staff for their kindness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.