X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3542 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Many snots in the 12 people shared bathrooms were from previous days. Rooms need a little air during day to keep smells out.Only one bathroom for all is way too little, specially if you clean it (I hope) once a day. One key per 12 unknown unrelated people only lead to room door opened 24x7. I don't ask for a key per person but at least per group.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Smack in the middle of the Temple area, everything is on your doorstep, no need to go far!!! Pub

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location, comfortable beds


43%

I was in a room with 10 very young people. Most of which were 17-19 years old, so it was a bit too young of an environment for me. The room was a total mess, and they give you ONE key for all 10 people to share which is totally unrealistic. At one point someone lost the key so we were all screwed getting into the room until it was found. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned in several days, so it was just wasn't a very good place overall. Would not recommend


77%

A very good hostel, in the center of temple bar. Really nice place, with many facilities, tea at any time, quite clean. A staff very pleasant in globality. Unfortunatly, nothing to secure our luggage in the room and only one key per room, even if it's a 10 beds room...

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good points - excellent location, nice kitchen, Bad points - 1 key for a 12 bed room? Really?! We went to bed at two in the morning the first night and couldn't get any sleep because of people banging on the door trying to get inside the room. The location is excellent, but it also means that you hear outside noise until 3am. This was our 4th trip to Dublin, and it was the worst hostel so far.


54%

The front desk staff were absolutely terrible. Extremely unhelpful in almost every sense of their job. And the wifi doesn't work here! I had a room on the 4th floor and the wifi would repeatedly lose it's connection, even if it ever connected in the first place. A HUGE annoyance at this hostel is that each room only has one key. This means that if somebody goes up to the room, they keep the key, and have to let anybody else in who arrives to the room. Only redeeming quality here is the location!


63%

The key system is ridiculous and unsafe

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Golden location, perfect for discovering Dublin.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

They only have 1 key per room, so the first who arrives gets the key and there is always people getting locked out, people having to knock to get in, anyway, a mess! The staff simply does not give a s*** about you, they were rude, made fun of us in our faces for asking some stuff, if people are being noisy and not letting anyone sleep they just don´t care at all! There are no lockers, the rooms and kitchen are VERY small (there was never place during breakfast time) and the price was NOT low.


74%

Great central location. Better shower and washing facilities would help.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff did not seem to know what was going on. There was no lockers in the rooms so we were told we had to leave our passports with the receptionist but later found out they have safety deposit boxes for that. One key per room so you're expected to share a key between you and however many other strangers which is ridiculous and was not explained to us properly by the staff. Receptionists can't really answer questions about things like bar crawls, are pretty unfriendly, cold atmosphere

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

lack of room keys made getting in and out of room a hassle

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It would be better if there were more keys for bedrooms,even if if we have to pay a caution to have one more key. It could be helpful in order not to let the door opened... I came twice, and I'll probably come back, but in the 2 bedrooms I slept, the showers were not clean, I mean there were limescale older than one month for sure, it could be better I think.. The 2 best things are without any doubt the location and the continental breakfast!

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Ridiculous place. They don't give you a key to your own room, just tell you to "knock on the dorm door and somebody will let you in" when you come back at 4am, even though everybody is sleeping inside. Stay somewhere else...


91%

Great Hostel in a great location, looking forward to my next visit!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location in th centre on temple bar. Hostel itself was nothing flash but was fine for the price!


89%

Very good location


100%

Extremely good


94%

Great hostel in perfect location x

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback