X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3465 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Too much noise and no peace of mind

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was well placed. The staff was not especially friendly - a few of them tried to rip us off multiple times (not returning the amount of money they were supposed to when borrowing a hair dryer, trying to tell us we needed to pay more for the room even though we had previously seen the price online, etc.). It would have been nice if the common room was heated (it gets a bit cold during the winter).


57%

Broken door knobs, moldy window, mattress too small for bunk bed, hole punched in bathroom door, staff was alright, breakfast was nothing to rave about, bar below and other bars surrounding are very loud, walls are paper thin, there was supposed to be no visitors allowed but our roomates gave their friends the key and woke us up at 4:30 to offer us crack...... not cool. If you're getting wasted and need a bed, it's fine. Don't expect comfort or relaxation.


57%

Security : A friend of mine got his SD card stolen from his phone while he was charging it in our private bathroom. We were 9 friends and 1 other unknown people in that room... Cleanaliness : 1 shower + 1 WC for a 10 persones room is not enough at all. I found a condome under my bed. The common WC were dirty


77%

Just one key per room.. you have to wake up someone to open the door for you!


77%

A good place to stay!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The way how they control the bedroom's keys is not the best thing. Ther wis only one key per room and the guests have to relay it between them. If there is one person in the room, the key is it's responsibility. So, if someone arrive late, one of the other guest has to opens the room's door. And generally it is late night and someone has to wake up to open the doors... This is not a smart decision!


60%

The hostel has the perfect location in temple bar! There are lockers under each bed but only one key per room so it usually ended up staying open. Also, our 10 bedroom dorm was rarely cleaned.


74%

Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. System of one key per room did not work well - would suggest at least one key per group checking in. Room did not get cleaned daily, however staff was receptive of this and ordered it cleaned right away. Overall a pretty good stay and would stay again!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Totally unusable showers. Arcane and arbitrary security rules. They won't even give you a key to your own room. I've stayed in many hostels and this ranks amongst the worst.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Only 1 key per room is an unbelievable thing. As others have said, this results in open doors all night, I guess because no one wants to wake up to open the door to a roommate that arrives late at night. Rude receptionist told me it was obvious that if the key was neither in the reception nor there was no one inside the room, then it would obviously be on the table inside the room! Many thanks to the kindness looking at me as I was retarded. Only good things: location and breakfast


100%

Nice Hostel in the center of pubs street,good breakfast.Key system doesn t work that well,a small problem.


69%

This was a nice enough hostel and our stay there would have been enjoyable if it hadn't been for a few details that ruined our stay. On the first night, we couldn't close the window all the way so ALL of the loud noise and cold air from outside came right up to our room, making it impossible to sleep. To make matters worse, the beds were extremely small and uncomfortable, and the pillows were terrible. And to top it off, the showers were the worst I've ever used.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

This was well located and cheap, but security was very poor. Some young guys who had arrived the night before had their money and credit cards stolen by an intruder. There was only one key per room so the room was left unlocked most of the time and the thief just walked in pretending to be a guest. Also the hot water was only barely lukewarm which is an issue in a Dublin winter.


77%

Front desk staff nice and competent. The woman cleaning cold and brusque. If you don't want to be grossed out by filth swept into the hallway, check in after 4pm. The bathroom in the room nice and clean.The bed linens new and fresh. It is quite noisy, as there is a bar and pub directly next to the hostel. Blinds had been knocked down and stored in closet, so it was practically daylight level of light from streetlights. Great place to crash after partying all night in Temple Bar District.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The shared bathroom should held more tidy. the waste box should drained daily and the shower cabin cleaned also daily to avoid mold and athlete's foot to other visitors.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Exactly as advertised. Staff very friendly & efficient. Booking, checkin, stay& checkout all problem free. Have stayed several times before & would not hesitate to stay again.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Fairly average as a hostel in general - pretty cheap and cheerful, but the location is so good that I would stay here again if I went back to Dublin. You get a free drink and free breakfast however I missed both of these so can't really comment. It was really cold in Dublin when I visited so was worried about the hostel being cold in the night but actually it was the opposite problem - the room was incredibly hot to the point where it was uncomfortable! Overall good value for money I thought.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Beds comfy, rooms warm, good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. However pity about only having one key for an 10 bed dorm - we had to wake someone up at 2.30am to get in as the door was locked and the key wasn't at reception and the free drink was only of use if you checked in before 6pm.


100%

Great and cheap!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback