X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3573 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

They only have 1 key per room, so the first who arrives gets the key and there is always people getting locked out, people having to knock to get in, anyway, a mess! The staff simply does not give a s*** about you, they were rude, made fun of us in our faces for asking some stuff, if people are being noisy and not letting anyone sleep they just don´t care at all! There are no lockers, the rooms and kitchen are VERY small (there was never place during breakfast time) and the price was NOT low.


74%

Great central location. Better shower and washing facilities would help.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff did not seem to know what was going on. There was no lockers in the rooms so we were told we had to leave our passports with the receptionist but later found out they have safety deposit boxes for that. One key per room so you're expected to share a key between you and however many other strangers which is ridiculous and was not explained to us properly by the staff. Receptionists can't really answer questions about things like bar crawls, are pretty unfriendly, cold atmosphere

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

lack of room keys made getting in and out of room a hassle

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It would be better if there were more keys for bedrooms,even if if we have to pay a caution to have one more key. It could be helpful in order not to let the door opened... I came twice, and I'll probably come back, but in the 2 bedrooms I slept, the showers were not clean, I mean there were limescale older than one month for sure, it could be better I think.. The 2 best things are without any doubt the location and the continental breakfast!


51%

Ridiculous place. They don't give you a key to your own room, just tell you to "knock on the dorm door and somebody will let you in" when you come back at 4am, even though everybody is sleeping inside. Stay somewhere else...


91%

Great Hostel in a great location, looking forward to my next visit!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location in th centre on temple bar. Hostel itself was nothing flash but was fine for the price!


89%

Very good location


100%

Extremely good


94%

Great hostel in perfect location x

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

There were a bunch of guys yelling and wrestling and it sounded like throwing furniture around in the room above us at 4am, and the free morning buffet is a pretty loose definition of "continental breakfast," but the location is fantastic, the people are super nice, and I would absolutely recommend it and/or stay hear again

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The only good thing is that staff was really friendly. I would NOT consider to stay there next time as it was very noisy, people in the room was drinking alcohol and messing around whole night, staff couldn't take them under control. Another thing is that there is only 1 key per room, so to get in, you have to knock the door and wake somebody up. Other way you have to leave the door opened, but then anyone can enter the room and take anything he wants.


77%

Good location and facilities but a bit under staffed at reception.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

We had a good time at Oliver St.John Gogarty. It's right in the middle of Temple Bar, so it might get a little loud at night (there's live music everywhere until around 2.30am), but with the help of ear plugs, it's perfectly fine. Located in the heart of Dublin, so you can reach everything easily and on foot. Would go there again. :)

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel that I enjoyed very much. Next to their own live pub, serving a very good breakfast with even cheese and some fruit. This is for sure one of my favorites hostels in Dublin.


71%

It's very noisy, the commun toilettes weren't clean; neither the toilette of the room; although you know that a big part of keeping this one clean are the guests. On the other hand; the hostel has a very good location: 2 minutes walk to the temple bar (red bar), 5 minutes to Trinity College, 7 minutes to the Spire. And you have a very good breakfast.


43%

Too much noise and no peace of mind

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was well placed. The staff was not especially friendly - a few of them tried to rip us off multiple times (not returning the amount of money they were supposed to when borrowing a hair dryer, trying to tell us we needed to pay more for the room even though we had previously seen the price online, etc.). It would have been nice if the common room was heated (it gets a bit cold during the winter).


57%

Broken door knobs, moldy window, mattress too small for bunk bed, hole punched in bathroom door, staff was alright, breakfast was nothing to rave about, bar below and other bars surrounding are very loud, walls are paper thin, there was supposed to be no visitors allowed but our roomates gave their friends the key and woke us up at 4:30 to offer us crack...... not cool. If you're getting wasted and need a bed, it's fine. Don't expect comfort or relaxation.


(73 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback