X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2989 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Me and my friend stayed here for new years and really rated the hostel! It was literally in the middle of everywhere we wanted to visit and the staff were very helpful. There are cages under the bed to secure belonging if you bring your own padlock and the desk is manned 24 hours. The breakfast was very good considering it was included in the price and there was free tea and coffee all day.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I loved the hostel and will go back one day. However, the key system is awful, there is only one key per room and the other people in our dorm always took it out with them so every time a member of staff had to come up and open it for us. Other than that it was a great place to stay and the location could not be any better!!!


71%

The staff were all very friendly and cheerful. The room was nice and clean, and having free tea and coffee throughout the day was brilliant. The only issue we found was that there was only one room key so we had to leave it at reception every time we went out. That would have been fine but the other 2 girls in our room kept forgetting so we had to get the man on reception to come and open it for us. So it would have been a bit easier to just have 2 keys.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The one-key system isn't ideal, and we had no curtains/blinds in our room, but besides from that we had a very pleasant stay. The staff are very helpful and knowledgable. I love the art work and decor in the common areas. However the 4 bed room was tiny - you had absolutely no choice but to become friends with the other sharers!

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff were brilliant especially the young girl who is on in the morning. Bald guy who does nightshift is rather unpleasant though. Except from that it is a great place to stay. Right in the centre of Temple Bar and the bar downstairs is cracking!!

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very well located. A few step from the main points in Dublin. The rooms should have a better security system, 1 key per room is not the best option when 12 dfferente people share a room.


100%

A fantastic experience, and the Gogarty more then met the needs for me and my friends trip. Can't fault anything- the location was fantastic, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great value for money, and overall there is nothing I can really criticise.

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Having little to no knowledge of the best areas for living in Dublin, a few reviews helped lead us in the direction of temple bar, an area perfect for people looking to have a good time. Gogarty's has a prime location and homey feel. The receptionists were kind and very accommodating. Especially Ronan, he will help you out with anything that you need and even let you know local events happening. Ask him! He has an amazing beard.


100%

Great Hostel!!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The bed was clean but the floors were gross and we didn't shower because the trash was overflowing, the sinks were dirty, and the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a week. We had people in our room that weren't staying there that were being way too loud for the small space, so we complained to management and management said they couldn't move us to another room because it was "past midnight" (it was 12:04!) Stay at one of the other dozen hostels in the area.


91%

This is the third time we have stayed at gogarty's would recommend to anyone going to Dublin on a budget .... Excellent value for money!

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel with a great location. Good breakfast. Safes on the ground floor are too small to fit e.g. an Ipad, so give it to the staff. Didn't have too much interaction with the staff. Great tours. Good kitchen. The common area is a little bit lacking. However there are 1000 bars around. If you go to ra pub-crawl, you can use the same wristband the next evening, so don't thow it away. What is a little bit weird is that the last person in the room has to return the key to the reception...


63%

Location is right in the centre of the party, this means it involves LOUD music till 3:30 AM. Front facing rooms are brighter than day till 3:30 AM. The staff were awesome, consistently, especially Ronan. They only have 1 key per room, super inconvenience, unsafe, could easily be fixed, and would make a big difference, as would propper curtains. Anybody could walk up the back steps from the pub and enter the kitchen and thus the hostel at any time, (combine that with they key issue = unsafe)


94%

Staff here are absolutely lovely and very helpful. One of the best hostels I have stayed at in Dublin. Very well situated in the heart of Temple Bar, but surprisingly noise was never a problem. Great breakfast and good kitchen facilities. Comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Nice relaxed vibe. Could do with a better common area. All in all a great choice if you're staying in Dublin.


77%

Bed was uncomfortable and there was a draft from the window. Other than those, it was fine. Great location and the pub has a great atmosphere.


91%

Great hostel overall. We are a couple in our 20s so were keen to hit the pubs around Temple Bar. The hostel was noisy during the night with drunken people on the streets and stumbling into the hostel, but it didn't bother us. Location EXCELLENT. Really easy walking distance to attractions and city centre. And the lovely brunette in reception really went over and above to help us during our stay - her customer service was second to none. And breakfast included!! Would definitely stay again.


83%

The only issue I had was that the initial room I was put in didn't have lockers, so I had to go and change at reception. That wasn't a problem though, and the 2nd room was great. It was a bit bright at night though- the window was right behind a MASSIVE neon sign that stayed lit until 3 or 4am... All good though- you sleep with your eyes closed anyway!


100%

Fab hostel very clean, right in the centre of temple bar. Staff very helpful and friendly would stay again.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who wants a cheap bed for a few days to explore the city of Dublin!!!!! Good deal! Decent place! And the bar and restaurant downstairs is great!!!! Walking distance to everything!!!!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was ideally located in temple bar and the facilities were great. The bar and club weren't too loud despite other reviews suggesting it was far too loud. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Dublin again


(75 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback