Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On Top Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
9.1

A little chilly at night and sadly lacking a side table even if small

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We have heaters in every room and spare blankets at reception if required all you have to do is ask :) We hope you had a lovely time in Dunedin. Kind Regards, Ontop

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
2.6

I'm not sure what smelt worse ... the urine stench in the kitchen/tv room/communal area or the rank odour in the bedroom that made me gag when I opened the door. Everything felt dirty and I couldn't sleep at night because I thought I was going to be contaminated by unimaginable diseases. Enter at your own risk.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, this was an interesting review to receive. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We really wish you expressed these unusual issues with us on arrival. I have looked into your booking. There were many things we could have done for you both. We had private rooms available the night of your stay which may have helped provide you with a more comfortable, peaceful nights rest. Unfortunately the smell in your room must of come from another guest of which often happens in shared dorms. Staff would've kindly assisted yourself and the guest to solve this issue and make for a much better stay for everyone in the room not just yourselves. As for the urine smell in the kitchen and lounge area - we had no reports of this from any guests. It would've been very helpful to be told so we could look into it seriously. We do not wish anyone not only in this Hostel but in their life time to have to smell urine anywhere at anytime, especially in facilities people cook and relax in. There are no diseases in this Hostel. We clean twice daily. Often we get complaints at how long the facilities are closed for cleaning for and management actually do a lot of the cleaning themselves as it is a main focus at Ontop. I really hope you do not have to experience anything like this again, and if so - please make staff aware so they can look after you then and there and not wait for a review as our goal and purpose is to provide a great experience - not a miserable one. Ontop Management

  • adammlang1810
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
7.4

Bathrooms always seemed to be dirty, dorm room had no operable windows or ventilation. Location is quite close to Octagon so very central. WIFI wasnt working.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :) All dorms have windows, you access them form the top bunks to pull them open and closed. We are glad you enjoyed our very central location! We apologise if the WiFi was not efficient for you during your stay. There are many areas close to the Hostel like The Public Library across the road or anywhere in The Octagon which have FREE WiFi, our friendly staff will suggest this and assist with directions if you urgently need access to internet. Kind Regards, Ontop Management

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th May 2017
8.0

Perfectly adequate hostel. Fantastic location. Nice to have the free breakfast, and was clean but otherwise unmemorable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback :) We are happy to receive your positive comments about cleanliness and glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast we provide to all guests daily. Kind Regards, Ontop Management

8th May 2017
7.7

Wouldn't have stayed here had I known about the kitchen and bathrooms being closed from 10am-1pm everyday for cleaning. I've stayed in so many hostels but have never seen this before, it made all of us in the room pretty frustrated having to plan our days around it. Seemed really unnecessary. Reception staff did not seem very welcoming or helpful. Location of the hostel was great though, and the kitchen was well equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your feedback! :) Yes, we clean the Hostel between 10am - 1pm daily! This is because check out time is at 10am and check in time is 1pm. Cleanliness is very important to us here at Ontop and the amount of time it takes to clean facilities depends on how messy guests have been. We are sorry if this was an inconvenience to you and your friends. Its unfortunate you thought our staff seemed unhelpful, we are happy to do what we can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Lovely comments about the location of Ontop and kitchen area :) Hope you made some great memories in Dunedin! All the best!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
8.6

Good place but they need to replace lightbulbs when they blow, the kitchen and bathrooms were dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback :) If you make reception aware of these issues we can fix them as soon as possible for you! All the best, Ontop Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
7.1

Great location just 200 m from the Octagon and Main Street. No staff anywhere apart from in the bar downstairs. Messy kitchen but good fridge space to store your food. Dorm room clean enough but very average wobbly bunks, reasonably nice bedding. Basic small bathrooms shared with many. I would not stay here again based on noise, wobbly beds and in our case a smelly dorm mate who seemed to be long term rather than genuine backpacker. Lack of apparent staff disappointing, breakfast :-(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback :) It is great to know you appreciated the central location of our Hostel. Hostel receptionists and management are on the ground level at The Pool Bar and Cafe between 7:30am - 10pm DAILY. Hostel management live onsite 24/7 for security and safety reasons. There are numbers in the foyer you can call after hours for urgent assistance. Cleaners and receptionists also live in the Hostel and are often floating around through out the day. We like to give our guests the freedom of knowing that there are not staff members watching them all the time and most are aware that if they need anything at all, reception is where we take our inquiries. This could be a good or bad thing about being spread across two levels depending on how you look at it. We clean the kitchen twice daily, once in the morning between 10am - 1pm and again at night time once the gas has turned off. Due to disrespectful Hostel guests it can get messy through out the day. If there is any noise disruptions feel free to let reception know or call the after hours number and staff will sort this immediately as we do not want our guests leaving tired. If there is a guest that is unhygienic which often happens in shared dorm situations, please let staff know and we will kindly resolve the problem. We have many dorm rooms and private rooms available and would've been happy to swap you. We try our best to provide a complimentary breakfast keeping in mind the value for money. We hope you enjoyed your time in Dunedin. Ontop Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Great location, nice service, good vibe. Hope bathroom will be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great feedback! :) We try very hard to provide a fun, relaxed atmosphere for our guests. Hope you enjoyed your time in Dunedin. Ontop

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.4

Descent hostel at a good location. A bit of a walk from the Intercity stop, but close to pretty much everything else. Nice breakfast and bar downstairs with pool. Rooms a bit small and beds very rocky and not too clean. Good toilets, showers. They close everything at 10(ish) till 1 pm for cleaning, which was annoying! Kitchen, all toilets, rooms and bar/reception, so really no place to be if you aren't going out for the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. The intercity bus stop is in an unusual spot, we are one of the closest Hostels in proximity. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the complimentary pool games and breakfast we provide our guests. We clean bedding daily. If you have any issues or worries PLEASE let reception know so we can make your stay the best one possible! Cleaning takes place between 10am - 1pm. The time it takes depends on how messy the guests have been. There are night toilets at the end of each corridor you can use if the main bathroom is closed. The areas are only temporarily shut and you can remain in your room through out this time but we do love to encourage guests to venture out into Dunedin city and make the most of this beautiful place and all the coffee and museum hot spots it has to offer. Kind Regards, Ontop

30th Mar 2017
8.9

I enjoyed this facility, although the top bunks can be a little haphazard to get into and out of. Maybe a different set of steps to decrease chance of injury? Breakfast was simple, but that is to be expected. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! We are looking into attaching the beds to the walls to make them less wobbly. We have to finish other renovations in the rooms first before we go ahead with this. We try our best to provide the best breakfast we can considering value for money, we appreciate your understanding of this :) All the best, Ontop Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.