Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

On Top Backpackers Reviews

12 Filleul St, Dunedin, Dunedin, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


150 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


One of the main staff members we dealt with was very rude. He never smiled and seemed to want you out of his presence. A day after i stayed there I realised that I forgot my jar of sand from the Hostel so I called to see if they could find it. I dealt with the same man as before on the phone and he again didn't seem to care. He said he would call me back in 5min but after 20 minutes i called back to which he hastily said that he couldn't find the sand and hung up. I honestly think he didnt check

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, As you know we found your sand and contacted you via email. We were unable to send it as it would be a bio-security problem for Canadian Customs. You have since contacted us and said you understood this. Kindest Regards Mathhew


Really good hostel clean good staff helpful

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


This place was cool, except know that you have to go outside to get to the bathrooms, which sucks when it's old. Also there's only half a wall between the girls and boys bathrooms, so you can hear the boys go the bathroom. Also the reception is in a bar, which is a little odd.


A really great, centrally-located hostel, just a couple of minutes from the Octagon, with all its bars, restaurants, shops and statue of Robbie Burns :) The lounge is very homely, with lots of DVDs available to watch, and in the evenings, generally a bunch of people hang out there - both long-stayers and short-term stayers. The hostel has great security (card locks), and even has a free breakfast between 7:30am - 9am. What more do you need? :)


Excellent place, tidy and clean, the location is very good and the staff is very kind and helpful, and the people are cool...


CON The night toilet wasn't in a good condition PRO but the staff was really nice.


Great location, but the beds were uncomfortable. There was no curfew on the level of noise, therefore we kept getting woken up throughout the night by other residents at the hostel drinking!

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Excellent hostel, very friendly staff. Free breakfast, free pool downstairs if you're a guest. The rooms were getting smelly with BO but that was the only negative. Also right in the city center, so you're close to everything,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We try and air out the rooms everyday as part of the cleaning process but unfortunately due to guests closing windows and having heaters on, rooms can get a bit warm. We wish you safe and happy onward travels.


Great place to stay. Very good value. The rooms are extremely clean and very luxurious. Free towels were much appreciated. Quiet and secure. Got some much needed rest. Excellent service from the staff.


Really cool hostel ! FREE BREAKFAST ! Not to big but hey free coffee free toast free milk free tea free peanutbutter and free jam ! And free Cornflakes ! Awesome ! Downstairs is a massive cool pool bar ! And it s really central ! And all you need is close !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to the peninsula :) We wish you safe and happy onward travels.


One of the better hostels we found in NZ. Staff in particular were lovely and so informative and it's kept to a very high standard. Would stay again

View all Dunedin Hostels

Please give us your feedback