Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On Top Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
2.6

I'm not sure what smelt worse ... the urine stench in the kitchen/tv room/communal area or the rank odour in the bedroom that made me gag when I opened the door. Everything felt dirty and I couldn't sleep at night because I thought I was going to be contaminated by unimaginable diseases. Enter at your own risk.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • adammlang1810
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
7.4

Bathrooms always seemed to be dirty, dorm room had no operable windows or ventilation. Location is quite close to Octagon so very central. WIFI wasnt working.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th May 2017
8.0

Perfectly adequate hostel. Fantastic location. Nice to have the free breakfast, and was clean but otherwise unmemorable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
7.7

Wouldn't have stayed here had I known about the kitchen and bathrooms being closed from 10am-1pm everyday for cleaning. I've stayed in so many hostels but have never seen this before, it made all of us in the room pretty frustrated having to plan our days around it. Seemed really unnecessary. Reception staff did not seem very welcoming or helpful. Location of the hostel was great though, and the kitchen was well equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
8.6

Good place but they need to replace lightbulbs when they blow, the kitchen and bathrooms were dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback :) If you make reception aware of these issues we can fix them as soon as possible for you! All the best, Ontop Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
7.1

Great location just 200 m from the Octagon and Main Street. No staff anywhere apart from in the bar downstairs. Messy kitchen but good fridge space to store your food. Dorm room clean enough but very average wobbly bunks, reasonably nice bedding. Basic small bathrooms shared with many. I would not stay here again based on noise, wobbly beds and in our case a smelly dorm mate who seemed to be long term rather than genuine backpacker. Lack of apparent staff disappointing, breakfast :-(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Great location, nice service, good vibe. Hope bathroom will be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.4

Descent hostel at a good location. A bit of a walk from the Intercity stop, but close to pretty much everything else. Nice breakfast and bar downstairs with pool. Rooms a bit small and beds very rocky and not too clean. Good toilets, showers. They close everything at 10(ish) till 1 pm for cleaning, which was annoying! Kitchen, all toilets, rooms and bar/reception, so really no place to be if you aren't going out for the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.9

I enjoyed this facility, although the top bunks can be a little haphazard to get into and out of. Maybe a different set of steps to decrease chance of injury? Breakfast was simple, but that is to be expected. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
7.7

Always cleaned but sometimes not all things are removed from the room. Free breakfast though it's only cornflakes and toast. Free pool which can pass time and right by most sites to see. Staff were not very sociable and most people just stayed on their phones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.