Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On Top Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

I will happily stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

Overall the hostel was good. Very good location and atmosphere. The free pool tables was a unexpected plus. The kitchen was a bit small, very cramped at breakfast- although it was free. The plugs were annoying, you have to activate them every hour, and the USB portals were limited. The free word was small, but more vouchers were easy to get. The beds were v comfy and showers were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
8.0

The staff where friendly and the location great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.4

Ideal location, clean and new. Delighted with our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.3

Very good kitchen and lounge facilities. Electricity sockets have a button which allows you to have 1 hour of electricity - bit annoying for overnight phone charging. Wifi is really good - free, fast and no limits (rare in NZ). Night atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers. Great location close to the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.0

The pool bar downstairs is really cool and free if you're staying there! Good hostel with secure rooms. Rooms are a bit cramped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
20th Feb 2017
7.7

False advertising - Terrible internet. Room was ok. Hostel was interesting. Well located.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.4

One of the better hostels i've stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostel! Felt very spacious, loved all the natural light and the open kitchen and lounge, and the sundeck. The bar below didn't get too loud and it was nice to go shoot pool for free (unavailable Friday and Saturday nights, but that's fair). Location seemed pretty central from what I could tell--I spent a lot of time outside the city so I didn't get to explore as much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Nov 2016
9.1

Free parring was a bit far away and hard to find avalible spots. Staff was very helpful. Wifi was very good and you got plenty for free. Kitchen a bit small. All in all great stay though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to here you enjoyed your time with us. All the best :) Ontop Management.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.