Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On Top Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
On Top Backpackers Located at 12 Filleul St, Dunedin, Dunedin.
On Top Backpackers
New Zealand
Dunedin 9016 12 Filleul St, Dunedin
81% 223
-45.8723293 170.5027484
On Top Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Perfect location and has a great bar at the bottom where you can get discounted drinks and play pool! Plug sockets turn off every hour (annoying) and the cleanliness of the bathrooms where not great. Enjoyed our stay however!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the extra features we have to offer here at Ontop! The hour limit is for safety, but there are other power options, just pop down and ask at reception and we will be happy to help you out in the best we can :) We apologise about the bathroom standard during your stay! If you have any further comments or any suggestions for improvement please email us at ontopbackpackers@hotmail.com, your opinion matters to us so thank you once again. Kind Regards, Ontop Backpackers

  • poolswift
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Hostel is above a bar with cheap drinks and you can play pool for free before 7pm (if there is space). Great vibe. Staff were really friendly to us and gave us many recommendations on what to do. Hostel common room has a TV with DVD player and there is always some movie playing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.1

Really great location and super friendly staff! Great morning breakfast! Our top bunks were comfy in our dorms but having to walk outside to the bathrooms was freaking cold! But they were very clean which was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback and kind comments about our staff, the free breakfast we provide and acknowledging the cleanliness of the dorms. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! All the best, Ontop Backpackers.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
6.0

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in, however the location is perfect. I suppose with Auckland you don't get much for your money, but there are other hostels I'd choose over this one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

A strategically located hostel, near to city center, Countdown and bus drop off point.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback! Happy you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, Ontop Backpackers.

8th Apr 2016
9.1

Definitely a good hostel! Great location, and nice rooms. The staff at the reception was not really friendly and the wifi is sometimes really slow, but I would still recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
9.1

Cool hostel seconds walk from the Octagon. Good bathroom and kitchen facilites. Free pool and discount drinks in bar downstairs. Closed by 2230 every night we were there though. Common area has cool TV and massive selection of dvds too!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Great place to stay, the bar downstairs was cool and cheap, and right next to the city center. The wifi was good but it disconnects a lot and it doesn't reach the rooms. Also the bathroom floors always seemed wet. But I still highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments. Pleasing you enjoyed your stay :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.