Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On the Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Shower/bathrooms were a bit small, but definitely adequate. Locks on all the doors and the place is spread out across different buildings, so we basically had our own cabin, kitchen, and hang out room. It was great! No individual lockers, as far as we could tell.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ajwatson_1016622
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.6

Friendly staff and great location. Would definitely come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
9.4

Amazing location right by the beach and with all sorts of beach equipment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

I can't actually think of a problem with this hostel, nice staff, spacious, comfy, free bikes.. nice place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.9

Great place for a casual stay, and staff very friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
10.0

Great place. I was in a 4 bed dorm in a 3 room apartment with own entrance & terrace. The other 2 rooms were doubles, so 8 in total. The living room/dining room/kitchen was set up like a normal family vacation home. . We were all stuck in Whitianga due to landslides and flooding during a major rainstorm, so ended up staying an extra night until the roads were clear. We all hung out (ages 19-78), all Germans plus me (Cdn). Staff (Sue) was really friendly and efficient in a stressful situation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.7

The staff is absolutely fab! Super friendly and cheerful, gave us a nice short tour of the place and facilities as well as suggestions of what to do around the area. The free loan of shovel was very useful at the hot water beach. Our room has a gorgeous view of the sea and we woke up to amazing sunrise. The 12 bed dorm is spacious and has tons of space for your bags and stuff. My only complaint is the sink in the toilet is too small for brushing teeth and no free WIFI. Had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JacobWattenbach
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic place to stay, with the location right next to a bus stop. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in the four bed room which had its own shared kitchen, showers and living area, meaning there's plenty of space and a relaxed atmosphere. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aljones10013526
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.0

This hostel is different: broken up into multiole sections, each with its own kitchen and lounge. Bathroom area is very very small; no privacy except in toilet stall or tiny damp shower stall. Peoole habe to brush their teeth in public in tiny tiny sink. Kitchen ok. Young people stayed up late drinking in lounge outside our door and kept us awake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.7

The 4 bed dorms were really tiny, and didn't have lockers, it also got quite hot at night as the rooms were so small. It's a driveable distance to the hot water beach and cathedral cove, but couldn't walk there. However I did really like the apartment style with kitchen and TV areas. So felt quite homely, and was easy to make friends. Only 200mg of wifi for the night allowed though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.