Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On the Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
On the Beach Backpackers Located at 46 Buffalo Beach Road, , Whitianga.
On the Beach Backpackers
New Zealand
Whitianga 3510 46 Buffalo Beach Road
88% 243
-36.8357670 175.7002990
On the Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

Such an awesome hostel! Right on the beach, just a short walk from town and the supermarket. Absolutely amazing staff, good atmosphere, and love that you get a little home to yourself with own kitchen and toilets/showers. Would definitely stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.7

Loved my stay here! Met such a wonderful group of people. The hostel is relaxed and right next to the beach which is beautiful both in the day and the clear skies give you a great view pf the milky way at night! Kitchen and washing facilities fab. Lockers under the beds. Only thing i didn't love was the n d it was not great for the spine but for the price I didn't mind!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.6

Across the road from the beach. Very bright and cheerful '90s style decor. Friendly manager. Well-priced. Small rooms and nothing to write home about but overall would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.1

The staff and the atmosphere were great. The big dining table and cozy seating area in the kitchen/lounge make it a good place to chat and make friends! We got a dorm room with a cute little alcove where we could shut the curtains as a partition from the rest of the room when we wanted some rest. The location is good for the ferry where you can walk to a number of beaches. Unlike a lot of hostels the wifi allowance is actually enough to last for your stay and it works relatively well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

Had a great night in on the beach backpackers. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
8.3

Not much shower pressure, everything else was good though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

7 of us spent stunning 2 nights at On the Beach Backpackers - Sally was very helpful, friendly, willingness to help, funny and in general amazing to us! She arranged that we would sleep in 8 Beds Dorm instead of 12, which was amazing, because we had a private space. THANK YOU SO MUCH! Wishes from Lithuanians, Dutch, German, Swiss girls, Belgian! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.6

Everything was awesome except the heating. I was cold most of the time I was at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Location is right on the beach. We came during off peak season and were upgraded from a 16bdr to 8 bdrm. The 8 bdrm had two 4bed rooms coming out onto a shared loungeroom and kitchen. Was a little outdated but it had all the facilities we needed. Colourful exterior of the building is nice! Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.