Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On the Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • aljones10013526
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.0

This hostel is different: broken up into multiole sections, each with its own kitchen and lounge. Bathroom area is very very small; no privacy except in toilet stall or tiny damp shower stall. Peoole habe to brush their teeth in public in tiny tiny sink. Kitchen ok. Young people stayed up late drinking in lounge outside our door and kept us awake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.7

The 4 bed dorms were really tiny, and didn't have lockers, it also got quite hot at night as the rooms were so small. It's a driveable distance to the hot water beach and cathedral cove, but couldn't walk there. However I did really like the apartment style with kitchen and TV areas. So felt quite homely, and was easy to make friends. Only 200mg of wifi for the night allowed though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

Really cute hostel, wish I could have stayed longer. My only real complaint is how thin the mattress was, it was difficult to get a good sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.4

Rooms were pretty small. Bathrooms and kitchens were only shared with a small number of other people. WIFI did not work properly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
7.1

the location is nice but unfortunately I got a very bad mattress so my back was really hurting the next day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Lovely stay at this hostel! The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Felt very relaxed during our stay. Location was perfect; right next to the beach and a short work to the centre of town and the ferry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.3

3 of us stayed here for one night while travelling around NZ. Staff were friendly. The hostel was across the road from the beach which was nice and it was a 15 minute walk from the main town. The bathrooms were tiny and twin bedroom was really small with barely any room to stand when the 2 of us were in the room. The single room didn't feel private with a porch door leading outside, and there was no window that could be opened.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.0

Beautiful location, staff is very kind and willing to help. Bathrooms both inside and outside rooms are very small

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
9.4

I was only here briefly but I don't think there was a better hostile to stay at in whitianga. Absolutely wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kittykat222
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel! Really comfortable bed and the bonus of not having a bunk was amazing! Really clean and good facilities. Only two downsides- the shower has zero pressure and the internet doesn't really work... but overall really happy with this place 🤙🏻

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.