Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On the Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
On the Beach Backpackers Located at 46 Buffalo Beach Road, , Whitianga.
On the Beach Backpackers
New Zealand
Whitianga 3510 46 Buffalo Beach Road
85% 225
-36.8357670 175.7002990
On the Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
8.3

Not much shower pressure, everything else was good though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

7 of us spent stunning 2 nights at On the Beach Backpackers - Sally was very helpful, friendly, willingness to help, funny and in general amazing to us! She arranged that we would sleep in 8 Beds Dorm instead of 12, which was amazing, because we had a private space. THANK YOU SO MUCH! Wishes from Lithuanians, Dutch, German, Swiss girls, Belgian! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.6

Everything was awesome except the heating. I was cold most of the time I was at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Location is right on the beach. We came during off peak season and were upgraded from a 16bdr to 8 bdrm. The 8 bdrm had two 4bed rooms coming out onto a shared loungeroom and kitchen. Was a little outdated but it had all the facilities we needed. Colourful exterior of the building is nice! Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
10.0

Wow wow wow! Can't say enough good things about this place! I would stay here again in a heartbeat! The facilities are clean and spacious. Amenities are not lacking. And the front desk agent (Sue, I think her name was) was so nice and extremely helpful! I wish more backpackers/hotels/hostels had people like her! Also, the city is adorable and the view is really nice. Plus, only a stones throw from the beach. (Hence the name I suppose.) Two thumbs way up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
8.3

Only stayed 1 night, but enjoyed my stay. Stayed in a 12 bed dorm, which was quite spacious with bits partings off with curtains. I even got a single bed! Good homely atmosphere. Staff really friendly and helpful. Great location right out onto the beach front.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
10.0

only stayed one night. arrived late and they left the key for me at reception which was very nice. location was nice right across from the beach and close to the ferry stop. The showers were good and the kitchen was clean. The beds are pretty uncomfortable with little support but overall fine. would come here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anniewelby
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Lovely cosy homely hostel. Really friendly staff, recommended a pub in town that served good food and we weren't disappointed. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

Super nice lady at the reception! The property grounds were nice, good location by the beach, not too long walk to town + near the Lost Springs hot pools (super relaxing and cool especially when it's dark and no kids around!). The hostel has units; ours was 2 bedrooms, kitchen+common area, bathroom and balcony. Sheets were clean, bed manageable, toilet and kitchen well cleaned but a bit old though. Unfortunately our kitchen area had just awful rotten meat/old fish smell, felt sick of the smell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.9

The lady who owns the hostel gives great advice on places to go and things to do! A comfortable hostel (:

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.