Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

On the Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Jun 2017
8.3

Kitchen was a little small but kept clean, v friendly and helpful staff. Good array of movies, esp NZ films which I liked. Right on the beach and close enough to other coromandel attractions to easily explore by car (difficult otherwise). Free spade lent to us for hot water beach. Small, but cosy and nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
9.1

A lovely place to stay with very welcoming staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed in. Great layout + location just across from the beach. The staff are amazing and very helpful. Was awesome that all the equipment was free as is the unlimited wifi!!! Will defo stay here again if I'm ever back in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st May 2017
8.6

I was given a key on checking in but apparently the door lock was broken and therefore the door was always unlocked. Not very safe. Apart from that it's a nice small hostel with a fantastic view

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location with excellent staff! The lady really went out of her way to help us get to hot water beach and cathedral cove without having to book expensive tour. Shared a kitchen with hardly any people so felt really spacious and a bit like a chalet. We were travelling in a pair and booked a room of 4 but ended up having it to ourselves the 3 nights we were there. Very much appreciated this. Loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Shower/bathrooms were a bit small, but definitely adequate. Locks on all the doors and the place is spread out across different buildings, so we basically had our own cabin, kitchen, and hang out room. It was great! No individual lockers, as far as we could tell.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ajwatson_1016622
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.6

Friendly staff and great location. Would definitely come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
9.4

Amazing location right by the beach and with all sorts of beach equipment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

I can't actually think of a problem with this hostel, nice staff, spacious, comfy, free bikes.. nice place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.9

Great place for a casual stay, and staff very friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.